Dunlop D404 Rear Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop D404 Rear Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 20 Reviews

Return to Dunlop D404 Rear Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop D404 Rear Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GARBAGE!!

Andrew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA VTX1300C

Comments On Jul 14, 2014:Bought the tire new in 2012, have only ridden on it for two seasons max, no aggressive cornering or hard braking or anything! Tire is now completely bald! Don't waste your money! I will never be buying this tire again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!! Thanks Rockymountainatv!

calvin in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 TRIUMPH American 800

Comments On May 20, 2014:For one rockymountainatv had this tire to me in exactly 3 days time, so I will always order from them for now on. Let's get to the review.
The dunlop d404 came factory on my 2003 Triumph America so I figured it would be good to get a new set. I didn't realize how bald the old tire was until I got the new one, this is what made me quesiton getting the same tire. I had problems with the worn out one braking and it skidding easily, once I got the new tire I can emergency brake quite hard without skidding and the cornering is superb. I also have ridden with the new tires in the rain and had excellent traction braking and cornering and never felt uncomfortable. I recommend this tire to anyone with a cruiser who wants a fairly priced tire with good tread life and plenty of traction in dry or wet conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No life tire

Robert in Louisiana

Comments On Apr 23, 2014:I bought a 2011kawaski vulcan 900 classic lt (new) in january 2013 that came with the dunlop 404 tire. I've just gotten 4000 miles on the bike, no silly riding or burnouts. The tire is worn out. Mostly single riding. The tire rode great, handled very well on wet roads, and handled very well in curves. But of all the bikes and tires I've used, this tire wore out faster than any. Pressure was checked several times by dealer, so that was not the reason. Just a low mileage tire. Won't be replaced with one for sure.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

D404 - Great grip and performace, low mile tire

Vera – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA VT600CD Shadow DLX

Comments On Aug 16, 2013:I've been riding on the Dunlop D404 tires since I bought my bike 7 years ago.
The good: The tire is soft and grips the road like nobody's business. I feel 100% comfortable hitting a sharp turn at high speeds and leaning the bike so far over the pegs scrape, and even then it feels completely stable and solid. Amazing performance in the rain, tho I ride safer during those times I've not noticed any difference in how they grip the road when wet. They don't start feeling soft or squishy as they wear down, either. You can expect the same performance from them until they are completely shot.
The bad: I have to replace them every season, which really starts adding up. I average between 5000 and 8000 on the tires before they need to be replaced.
The ugly: Once they start going bald, they go bad super fast because the rubber is so much softer down by the cords.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

FAST FAST FAST

Zach in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA VT1100 Shadow

Comments On Jul 16, 2013:bought the tires at 10:14 on Tuesday and by noon Wednesday it was here by the way I'm in Ohio.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good product for the price.

James in MO

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:These wear well and run well in rain. The downfall is they are a little harder to extend their life and you give up a little in sticking to the road for cornering. They work well for commuting in town.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

D404 rear tire

Dave in Florida

Comments On Apr 09, 2013:I have had several D404 rear tires that are on a 2003 Yamaha 1100 Custom and the one I have now has 11,000 miles on it and just now is needing replaced and I will certinantly buy another one

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:this tire was for my '02 yamaha v max . has a nice smooth ride and corners nice with confidence. i proly put 500 miles on it and it still looks good ,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Disapointed

Bernard in Ontario

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:This is an extremely poor tire quality made in a foreign country [ Model D 404] . You get what you pay for. Installed 1 rear tire in the spring of 2012 and travelled approximately 4000 miles solo and the tire is shot. Not advertised anywhere as a lower quality tire. BEWARE OF WHICH MODEL DUNLOP YOU BUY. For my part I will never buy a Dunlop Tire again and will not recommend to anybody

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tires

shaun in UT

Comments On Nov 09, 2012:Great tire on my vstar thats what it came stock with. Wish it got a little better mileage.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

it is the best tire for the price

BOBBY in AL

Comments On Nov 03, 2012:i am on m set i have been averaging about 15000 per set second

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

GARBAGE....JUNK TIRE

Jules in PA

Comments On Oct 21, 2012:What a piece of garbage tire....2600 miles and it's bald????? Did some research online and found a HUGE amount of complaints on this tire. Go ahead....I've already heard it...."you must not know how to ride"....27 years of riding and have NEVER seen anything like this garbage tire!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good tire

Tom in NV

Comments On Jun 30, 2012:This tire has good grip and handles well when you lean it over in the turns. But with the good grip of a softer tire it wears faster. You could get a tire that would last longer but sure it wouldn't handle as well. Also I shop around when I need a new tire and JW always has the best prices. They ship fast and have excellent customer service.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

reasonably priced tire

JAMES in NH

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:good traction wet or dry

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable price's

Alan in SA

Comments On Oct 05, 2011:Can't believe the pricing difference between USA and AUSTRALIA very happy with tyres , can't beat a Dunlop.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good balance of grip and tire life

VAN in IL

Comments On Feb 22, 2011:I have had several Dunlop D404's on the back of my plated CRF450X. The other tires I tried would easily spin on wet pavement while accelerating and wore quickly. The D404 has better wet weather grip, is very predictable, and provides about a year's worth of tread (3,000 to 4,000 miles riding very aggressively). I plan to buy another when the current one wears out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rear 404 tire

CHARLES in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2010:Great price but does wear quickly. About 6,000 miles on a Harley dynaglide

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tire life not long, excellent cornering

Wesley in TX

Comments On Jun 03, 2010:ive put 25,000 miles on my honda shadow and ive had to replace my tires 3 times within that time, 2 out of the 3 times ive used the Dunlop D404, and i am not exactly pleased with the life of the tire. And although they wear more in the middle on highway and interstate travel, they do corner very well.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tubeless Tires

Ehren

Comments On Apr 13, 2010:I bought this tire for a Honda Shadow with spoke rims. The product page doesn't mention if Jake Wilson ships tube or tubeless tires, but I received a tubeless tire. I wanted to write this review so people know that they are getting a tubeless tire. This wasn't an issue for me, I was able to verify with Dunlop that you can install a tubeless tire with a tube. Be aware that if you go to an Honda authorized shop for tire replacement they may give you grief about using a tubeless tire on a rim that needs tubes, but it can be installed.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Dependable tires

CURTIS in AL

Comments On Dec 07, 2008:Right now, the Dunlop 404 is the best tire for the money. It is the best mix of the "big three". " Tread life, grip and miles per dollar". Also, my experience has been that all the Dunlops I get are recently manufactured. Some of the higher priced tires (other makes) I have installed for others have had older mfg dates.

Was this review helpful?