Boyesen Clutch Cover

Customer Reviews for Boyesen Clutch Cover

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 36 Reviews

Return to Boyesen Clutch Cover Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Boyesen Clutch Cover Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bling bling

Colton in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 23, 2014:makes my bike look like a factory bike. Awesome.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit great. Does the job

leigh in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 02, 2014:After cracking my oem cover and wanting to ride again soon. Ordered this up to get back out riding. Also ordered some quick steel, because without my buddy having some I'd been pushing my oil less bike a LONG ways. One thing I really liked about this cover is it has a real gasket. I always struggled with the oem gasket. I wish it was just a plan cover with no writing on it. But it was a fair price. And rmatv standard shipping gets to me in less than 24hrs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy swap, fits great, looks good

Timothy in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:Boyesen products are great. I am on my second Boyesen Clutch cover now, I broke the OEM and my first Boyesen by smashing into giant rocks. They definitely hold up better than OEM and they take a few hard hits before they leak or deform. I will replace my next one with another Boyesen. Be sure to use a new gasket when putting your new cover on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Okay

KEVIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jan 16, 2014:Good fit.The reason I gave it 3 stars is it does not use the OEM o-ring for the gasket seal.You need a replacement from Boyesen if ever removed.It is a paper gasket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Item

Arturo in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 18, 2013:Better material than original covers but they can inprove the gasket should probide an O ring

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clutch cover

SANTANA in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:looks great. better priced here on rocky mountain than boyesen themselves. gives it a factory look.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Product does not even merit 1 Star

Eric in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Oct 25, 2013:Order to replace stock clutch cover thinking this would be more solid/durable. To begin with it came with a cheap looking gasket instead of o-ring like the oem cover uses. After installing the part (torqued to spec) the bike began to like oil which it did not do before with the oem cover that was patched up with JB Weld. I never rode the bike after installing cover, it just sat for a week and I noticed it was leaking. I could only imagine the severity of the leak if the motor was hot. For the price I would expect a better quality product. Very disappointed!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clutch cover

warren in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Sep 09, 2013:Perfect fit. Looks way better than the old scuffed up stock cover. Just hope it holds up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

still going strong after 2 years -even with big of

tony in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Sep 02, 2013:I ride mainly enduro and this thing has taken the hits well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't use oem style o-ring gasket.(yz250)

edward in IA

Comments On Jul 06, 2013:Go with a cover that uses the oem style gasket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice product but hey RM, where are the colors?

William in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:Nice cover, fit and finish are excellent. Knocking off one star because it uses a gasket instead of an o-ring like the original part and the lack of any instructions/recommendations for installation. (i.e. bolt torque, gaskets sealers, etc.) Looked on Boyesens' website and saw that this cover is available in three colors, black ,silver , and magnesium. RM only sells the black. It looks pretty good but I would have preferred the magnesium!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better than stock

Nathan in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On May 11, 2013:came up short on a hill climb.. tipped over and got a hole from a perfect rock in my clutch cover. replaced with the boyesen cover. looks good and is a little thicker than the stock cover

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable and Looks Great

Jeffrey in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:This is a 5-star product all the way. Very well built, and it still looks new after a fair amount of abuse. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cover

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Much stronger than stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice upgrade

Jamie in MO

Comments On Mar 23, 2013:Looks great, works great, very easy upgrade!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is much stronger than stock..

Brian in AZ

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:Great item much stronger than stock cover. The only reason I did not give it a 5 wash the paint comes off super easy, not sure why the paint it i the first place.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good replacement clutch cover.

Nathan in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:Original clutch cover was cracked in a crash. The Boyesen cover was the most economical option that I could find. It looks good (better than the original) and seems to be more durable than the original. The paint wore off the original cover quite quickly, but I think the Boyesen cover is powder coated so it doesn't scratch as easily.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good quality, so-so design

ERIK in AZ

Comments On Dec 22, 2012:Stronger and better than OEM, but don't like how it uses a gasket instead of an O-ring (on a KTM).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I hope it is stronger than the orginal

TROY in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I have replaced my OEM Honda Clutch plate like 4 or 5 times
The Honda orginal clutch plate is very Thin and rocks and Break pedal loves to pinch holes in it
They need to make a strong one that rocks can not hurt
lets see how this one works in Moab...can we glue a silver dollar to it to make it stronger?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's a clutch cover

John in NV

Comments On Oct 17, 2012:It works. Looks cool wen you 1st install it, but black shows wear pretty well. Less expensive than OEM and a little thicker.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comes with a Gasket!

Steven in UT

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:I bought an aditional gasket because it didn't say that it came with one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great clutch cover for a great price

Benjamin in WA

Comments On Aug 30, 2012:I bought this for my 2012 ktm 250xc and it looks/fits great. Also it is made very well and seems to be more sturdy then the stock one. If you are in need of a clutch cover you wont find a better product for a price anywhere close to this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 YZ450F

Justin in NV

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:Same Price as Stock. Paint doesn't wear off after 5 minutes like the stock YZ cover. Does not use locater dowel pins on stock YZ450, which explains why I couldn't use Boyesen's gasket on the stock cover when i tried last year.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Is what it is and does what it does.

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Installed on a 2004 WR450 and the part fit and looks good. The Bike has been crashed in some rocks and the cover has not been punctured yet. Would purchase again and would recommend to a friend. Part comes with gasket!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice piece

Sebastian in NE

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:works and fits as it should. looks great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fit n finish

tj in ID

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:tuff durable and really looks good on the bike. if thats what your after then this is a great buy

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Lot More Protection

Sean in OH

Comments On Feb 10, 2012:The Honda CRF250X (probably other CRFs) has a magnesium clutch cover. I read on Rick Ramsey site that brake pedals could punch a hole in these as they are very thin. I put a very small, almost dent (size of an eraser) in the 1 o'clock position on mine. Maybe from moving it in the garage and hitting another a foot peg or a rock ??. The Boysen is much thicker wall and allows a little more oil in the tranny (1-2 oz.). It is about 2-3 oz. heavier. It does not interfere with the stock brake pedal location.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Rocky Mountain should say it comes with gasket

KEVIN in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2012:Cover is great and has held up to scratches much better then stock.
It should be noted that this cover comes with the gasket needed. It isn't mentioned in the part description and I ended up ordering the replacement gasket but it was not needed because one is included with the cover.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice!

TRAVIS in CA

Comments On Nov 19, 2011:Looks great and it tougher than stock. It does come with a gasket so don't buy one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

Brandon in KY

Comments On Oct 19, 2011:Nice upgrade to my bike & very easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great.

Clayton in KS

Comments On Oct 17, 2011:I bought this cover to replace a warped stock cover. It works great but the finish wore off fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does its job

john in MO

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:Bought this after a rock shot through my old clutch cover and cost about 700 bucks for the rebuild parts. Its done it's job to say the least. Only thing is that the black finish wears off after a while, but that doesnt matter..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet!

Cody in OR

Comments On Nov 27, 2010:Perfect fit, bolted right on. Good price, great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just excellent product

Nir in NY

Comments On Aug 20, 2010:Just excellent product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Buy

Nick in KY

Comments On Mar 06, 2009:I had to grind off the inside center tip to fit over my rekluse and also had to ditch the factory placement pegs. Other than that good part.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!!!

Ben in TX

Comments On Aug 11, 2008:The cover fit perfect and came with the gasket. i did end up replacing it but only because it sealed so good i couldnt get it apart with out tearing the gasket.

Was this review helpful?