Primary Drive Rear Chain Guide

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Rear Chain Guide

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 72 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Rear Chain Guide Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Rear Chain Guide Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent replacement

Matthew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Aug 03, 2014:I ordered this to replace the stock roller. It fit right into place and is working like a champ

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You'll need extra hardware

Andrew in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 1990 HONDA XR250R

Comments On Aug 02, 2014:This is a nice looking piece. The upper and lower guide blocks are nice and thick. The lower block has a ridge so the chain runs straight. You do need to figure out how it goes together yourself. For this particular bike, you'll need to buy two new top bolts (M6x60) to replace the 50mm it comes with. You'll also need an M6x20 bolt, washers and flange nut for the 3rd hole. The stock nuts are flanged as well, and they grip the aluminum side plates really well. I used blue thread locker just for piece of mind though. The washers are so the bolt heads don't dig into my aluminum swingarm. I used this in combination with a stock sprocket and it fits great. If you go bigger, you may have fitment or at least wear issues with the bottom block.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must for Kawasakis

Sam in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 22, 2014:Kawasakis eat chain guides and sliders for breakfast, so replacing them because just as frequent as replacing your tires, unfortunately.
The Primary Drive guide, however, has replaceable plastic blocks that will cut the price down considerably, not to mention those blocks are super durable. I've had mine on there for 30 hours of hard riding and it still looks great. This item is a must.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Chain Guide

Oliver in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:I have bought 4 of these now, for different bikes. 2 for KX250F's and one for a CR250R, which were all quick and straight forward to install. But the latest one I got for my YZ250 had me scratching my head for at least 40 minutes trying to figure out how I was going to install it. The bottom piece of acrylic can only go in one place and is obvious, but the top part is in two pieces. I finally figured that there is only one logical way to attach and bolt them on, but they look awkward and over hang the edges of the metal plate of the guide itself. I ended up cutting and filing/grinding the blocks to the correct shape, so they look ok. Since I have been extremely happy with these in the past I have only removed one star.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Inexpensive but quality compromised

ERIC in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On May 05, 2014:Looks nice, fits well. However, I wasn't very pleased with the durability of the product (It didn't even last 10 hours). I upgraded to a TM designworks guide(over a year ago) and its still on the bike! So, this product works in a pinch, but for some extra change you can have one that performs better and lasts way longer.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ballin' on a Budget!

Blatin in ND – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On May 07, 2014:Significant upgrade from the stock chain guide but sounds a little sketch at first until you get used to it. I definitely recommend upgrading your chain guide if you go up a tooth or two on your rear sprocket. This chain guide has enough extra room in there to provide the space needed for your new sprocket and chain kit...that's one thing I didnt think about when I bought a bigger sprocket...If you're a big dawg with mad cash...buy a more expensive one. You know, one made out of space metal or something so when you're busting' sick backflips off of moon rocks and your chain guide gets hit by space junk...it won't hurt it. This chain guide will stand up pretty well to earth rocks though so If you're ballin' on a budget...this is a good purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit. And works

leigh in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 02, 2014:It's does the job for the price. It's also taken some good beatings. But if your on a budget this will get you by.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits and works like it should

Drew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:Plastic wears a little quicker than I hoped, but it fits perfect and works just like it should.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain guide

alex in UT

Comments On Feb 01, 2014:easy to install looks great and gets the job done very durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product, fair price

Matt in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 29, 2014:gets the job done, looks decent

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I LIKE IT

Russell in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:I have had it on for a couple weeks now. I used lock tite on the hard ware and it seems to be doing well. Looks cool too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff!

David in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:I ran this guide all summer with no problems. Made the drivetrain quieter too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain guide!

Nicklaus in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:Fits good, seems solid, Little pricey though!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good block

Robert in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 24, 2013:Works good, took a couple rides to get used to the new chain sound.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I dont recommend this.

Steve Martin in Wyoming – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Oct 09, 2013:It holds up ok offroad, but it wore the plastic off the bottom where the chain rides and it ruined my o-ring chain. Spend the money on a TM Design Works the first time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great aftermarket part!

Josh in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:I replaced the factory chain guard, which I crushed almost flat, with this one. I've taken some really hard hits in dry/desert like rocky terrain and it has held its shape. I'm very impressed with how tough this thing is...especially compared to the junk that Honda used.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Chain Guide

Christa in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Aug 19, 2013:I have had this guide on for 2 years. Do woods riding and it has been a great product. I would purchase again! Easy to Install, self cleaning in the mudd and it looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

steve in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:worked well for me lasted long to

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain guide

Raul in PR – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Jul 18, 2013:looks good , easy to mount , good price and it works perfect also is durable and hard , wish it came in diferent colors

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exellent

Justin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Jun 26, 2013:Fits great, looks even better

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad for price

andrew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:kinda cheap but so is price still better than oem guide

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Smooth

brandon in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:I've recently bought this chain guide to replace my torn up oem one. I can honestly say that it works way better, its lighter and my chain and wheel roll much smoother and you can't beat the price. Rockymountain has amazing products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy Install!

Timothy in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 29, 2013:No complaints! Holds Up Great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You get what you pay for

Joe in AZ

Comments On Apr 21, 2013:Product looks good and is functional for the price. It is noisier than stock Honda parts. The raised portion that guides the rollers didn't line up 100% (chain was adjusted properly and even on both sides). Wear is quick but the replacement rub blocks are cheap and easy to install (no chain removal required). Once completely worn I will be upgrading, but if your on a budget... this product will get the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty rugged

chase in ME

Comments On Apr 04, 2013:looks cool and it its pretty rugged

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OEM OR TM

Joe in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Mar 09, 2013:I expected more longevity out of this product. Disappointed after only a handful of rides my chain wore through the bottom block and into the mounting screws! Now I'm looking for screws at a hardware store to replace them. Not my idea of a good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bwaaap

Ronald in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:Bolted on real easy, looks good, too soon to tell if it wears well and/or is going to last.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worked great and great price

DOUG in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ400F

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:No problems here and alot cheaper than most.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than oem

Michael in HI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Riding lots of greasy rock and roots, It held up very good, just a few scratches, not bent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does what it's supposed to. Holding up well.

Greg in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 30, 2012:.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Christian in MI

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:great price ! does the trick just as good as the expensive ones

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wimpy chain guide

jon in KS

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:After only a few races, the chain wore through on the inside where it rides. It wore through the bottom of the chain guide, and was wearing through the mount screws. Lucky I found it when I did. I put the stock chain guide back on, and have had no problems. This was on an 05 YZ 250.

Additional Comments On Sep 27, 2012:I installed this on a 05 yz 250, and after only a few races the chain wore through the block on the bottom, and was wearing through the mount screws. I also thought it was heavy for a chain guide..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

JUNK!!

Michael in IL

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:After 8 years the stock guide wore out on my KLX-400r. I thought I could save some money and add a nice look to my bike with this unit. WOW was I wrong! within 3 hours the chain rubbed notches in the aluminum side plates and the rub blocks. after 3 rides the chain has almost gone through the side plates and the rub blocks are shot. Now I need to spend more money for a new guide. Yes the chain was properly adjusted.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Works very well and allows for larger rear sprockets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice replacemnt

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Garbage

David in BC

Comments On Aug 09, 2012:No rubber on sides of guard. Noisy ride as chain rattles between aluminum side plates. Destroyed my Renthal chain in 2 rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good replacement

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:and lasts longer than stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain guide

KEVIN in TX

Comments On Jul 12, 2012:has been on for a year riding mx works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

VERY LOUD dont waste your time

John in VA

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:well, i ordered this with out looking at the reviews.... but honestly don't waste your time. put your money into something abit more durrable, and QUIETER. this thing is so loud.. also the block wore down after 9 or so rides! you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job

jon in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:this product fit fine and works fine. my 2 complains are it is very noisy compared to other brands such as oem. and if you bang it up some the bolts in the bottom get beat up making replacing the blocks a non issue as youll need to replace the whole thing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Broke off and lost it on the first ride

TYLER in AZ

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Just as the title says I installed it a few months after I bought it as my old one was still good. Well when the time came to put it on, it looked great! But that was the last time I saw it. Went for a normal weekly ride and after hearing my chain making some extra noise I stopped to find that it was gone. Only part left was a piece of a broken bolt which I had to then drill out to be able to use my old guide again. It looks good, but I think the bolts are very weak.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great chain for the $$$

RYAN in AZ

Comments On Mar 28, 2012:Got it on my YZ426 and so far no adjustments after 8 hrs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain guide

brian in VA

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:works well but seams to be wearing quickly

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Plastic. Wears Quickly

John in PA

Comments On Mar 18, 2012:DON'T BUY THIS! It's a waste of time. The wear block is made of cheap plastic and it will wear right through the bolts very quickly. I will never buy their products again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Replacement

Matthew in VA

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:Not a bad product, have it on 2 bikes. On the KTM I had to do a lot of shaving on the upper rub guard to get it to fit. It is noisier than stock but looks pretty good. If you need a cheap replacement it gets the job done for a fraction of the cost of other products on the market.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Stock Replacement

Kyle in OR

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:Came with all hardware and looks very sturdy. Fit perfectly on my 2006 WR450.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT

Paul in OK

Comments On Feb 22, 2012:FIT GREAT AND LOOKS GOOD

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for the money

Jeffery in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2011:Wears a little fast. Make sure that when you order the replacement blocks that they are for the right one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

waste of money

james in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2011:The housing looks nice but the guide wears too fast. It is also very loud. Not worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

Mike in CA

Comments On Nov 07, 2011:I put this on my YZ250. fit was perfect and it looks great. its holding up real good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no directions

Christopher in CT

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:Seems like a solid product, I haven't given it a true test ride yet.
NO directions? really!?! Not even a picture of it assembled. So once I was all done and packing up my OEM guide. I saw some bushings in the OEM one that probably should have gone in the upper blocks in the over sized bolts holes on this one. Go figure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much better than stock.

Daryl in UT

Comments On Sep 27, 2011:This chain guide has about 500 miles of technical single track and has been used heavily in rocky terrain. Wear is what I would expect to see after going this distance. One thing is for sure....I would have smashed the OEM chain guide long ago but this one has held up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CR 250

Kelly in WA

Comments On Sep 13, 2011:I have beat on this thing for a year, including 40+ hours in the sand dunes. Still holding up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Guide

steven in VIC

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:Seems good so far. Quality is good and nice sharp color. Fiddly to install but works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

Dylan in VA

Comments On Sep 01, 2011:Good product, could use some instructions tho.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time and money.

Andre in SC

Comments On Aug 21, 2011:This guide wears very quickly, on my 03 YZ-250. With stock gearing the chain starts to eat through the bolts holding the bottom guide block in around 10 rides. The stock one lasted for years. I am going back to stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Rear Chain Guide DRZ 400 E

Kevin in MI

Comments On Jul 04, 2011:After one 500 mile trip the chain guide has caused excessive wear on the chain and is very noisy. Would not recommend. Will put the cracked OEM guide back on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

product is solid

ERIC in NV

Comments On Jun 27, 2011:very good product i would buy again!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wears too fast

ADAM in IN

Comments On Jun 13, 2011:This block has maybe 6hrs of run time and it's worn down to the bolts.. At least it looks good and can get replacement blocks. Cheap initially but to keep up with the blocks you can buy a tmdesigns block cheaper in the long run..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2010, YAMAHA, YZ450F

Graeme in QLD

Comments On May 19, 2011:Fitted quick and easy , works well , would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok for kx 250

george in NY

Comments On May 04, 2011:works ok but not as well as oem guide. chain kinda wobbles in guide, im using a 520 o ring chain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does its job and then some.

MATT in NJ

Comments On Apr 23, 2011:Ran this through two hare scrambles as well as some play riding on a '05 YZ250F. My stocker was beat and I wanted a cheap replacement. This has taken a few hits that I know for a fact would have bent the OEM piece. I gave it four stars because the wear blocks appear to be wearing a little faster than I would expect but not bad. Overall I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good product

brian in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

plastic guides to hard

Craig in NV

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:The chain makes a sound like it banging against a ceramic plate pretty loud otherwise good replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Has taken some good hits so far

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jan 27, 2011:2007 YZ250. I ride alot of technical rock single tract and usually take the stock guide off and just run the inner softer chain block which will not take a hit, bend and derail you like the stock guide will. I noticed my block was wearing out and cracked so picked one of these up. Was not sure about the two piece design but it went on nicely and I have hit it on some rocks a few times now with no bends. I am noticing the blocks are wearing out faster than my stock one did but they sell replacements cheap. So far it is holding up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 YZ250

Thomas in NV

Comments On Jan 13, 2011:The guide looks great and is holding up well so far. It is a little tricky to get it on at first because it is in a bunch of pieces. For the price, you get a nice looking unit and is durable for MX riding. The trail riders that are constantly banging off of rock may have a different opinion. Replacement blocks are available. It woud be nice to have different color options but black goes with almost anything.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain guide

NATHAN in AZ

Comments On Nov 11, 2010:I've had my PD rear chain guide for over a year now and it works great. Impressed with the durability and aftermarket look.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ400F

DAVID in CA

Comments On Oct 03, 2010:This chain guide is designed with separate side plates and upper and lower rub blocks that all bolt to the swingarm. The materials are good quality but I think it would be much better design if it were one solid piece with bolt-in rub blocks. With only 3 rides on it, I can't say if it's a good lasting piece but there is no reason for me to think it won't. I just like simpler, studier designs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great replacement

Robert in NM

Comments On Jun 08, 2010:Bought PD chain guide and have put it to the test. Low signs of wear after two desert races and a whole bunch of riding! My TM design broke off in two rides this one saves my wallet along with sticking to the bike! Buy it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

holds up great

CLAYTON in UT

Comments On Feb 07, 2010:holds up good, i know i can get replacement blocks too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YEAH

Travis in CA

Comments On Jan 20, 2010:so far on about 5 or so rides its holding up really well. no visible damage or wear, and still straight! just check the bolts after every ride just to be safe. looks great too!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

So far so good..

NORMAN in CA

Comments On Sep 29, 2009:1 Race so far with this and it seems to be holding up well. Good fit to my bike. It comes as two pieces sandwiching the blocks. The upper blocks used the stock bolt spacers, so hang on to them. There is no bottom to the guide, so I guess you will know when the block wears out. Can't argue with the price though...

Was this review helpful?