SDG High Foam Complete Seat

Customer Reviews for SDG High Foam Complete Seat

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 45 Reviews

Return to SDG High Foam Complete Seat Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

SDG High Foam Complete Seat Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great seat, great price

charles in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KTM 520 SX 4 Stroke

Comments On Mar 04, 2014:Great fit and comfort !!! Easy install w no mods at all !! If you get a sore butt, this is the answer !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love the taller seat

anthony in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:kx125 cramped ride and im only 5,6'..this set me in the seat beat on bike..way plusher then stock seat

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Full Replacement Seat

Geoff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:Great comfort. Easy to replace, fit perfect. And affordable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stupidest looking seat EVER

CORY in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Oct 31, 2013:Fit and finish is great. SDG is a great manufacturer.....But...... this is the stupidest looking seat I have ever placed on a bike. Get the standard or step seat the tall is ridiculous looking.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Seat Ever

Kyle in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Sep 18, 2013:Money well spent. Old seat was torn with broken foam that was so flat there was no cusion at all. Might as well been sitting on plastic seat base which was broken also. Installed with no problems. Bolted right up. I'm over 6 ft. tall so I went with the tall height and it's perfect. Excellent upgrade for an older bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits the bolts

Chris in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Sep 17, 2013:the seat fits the bolt and mounting gear for the bike. Does need some serious trimming of the foam before use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comfortable

Andrew in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:The fit of this seat on my bike was perfect. The seat is good looking, comfortable, and quality. At first it was on the hard side but after the first ride it softened. I would highly recommend replacing the stock unit with this product especially if your around 6ft tall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big improvement over stock, Priced right.

A. D. in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 KTM 380 EXC

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:I got a sorebutt with the stock seat and finally decided on this one. Ahhh much better! I can ride all day. I wouldn't say it was cushy and soft but it is so much better than a stock KTM seat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BEWARE!!

Nick in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 28, 2013:If you are looking for any comfort at all from this seat you will be sorely dissapointed. Seat fit great but is hard as a rock. After 30 minutes of trail riding I already have deep muscle bruising. SDG has told me they offer diffrent foam densities but the one I got was definetly the harder foam. I have kept and used this seat for over a year now and I wear gell padded biker shorts and still get bruising that lasts 7 days after riding. Beware.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice seat

Jason in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jun 26, 2013:Fit was good but ended up being too high for my liking. It was pretty comfortable though. I wish it would have come in black/blue like the stock seat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for a tall rider

Jordan in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 125 SX

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:I am 6' 3" and this seat made my bike a lot taller and gave me way better riding stance on the track. This seat will go on all my bikes from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sdg tall seat

Patrick in WA

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:I bought the SDG tall seat because no one on the market provides a fat seat for my YZ. so i had no other choice...... the seat tore upon installing it on my bike. it is more comfortable but may return it if it continues to rip. if i do i will go to an upholstery shop nearby with my stock seat and make it in to a fat seat like i wanted to get originally.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great MX Seat, Not a trail riding seat

40+ Vet MX in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:This is a MX seat pure and simple. If you are looking for a seat for casual trail riding look at something else. This seat is rock hard as it should be for MX. I wish they had these 25yrs ago. Worksmanship is outstanding and the material seems to be of high quality. The brackets and tabs were certinally placed well enough that the seat fit without having to make any modifications. Yes it was a tight fit to get the two rear bolts in but if you just start one then the other before snugging them both down it went on fine. The extra height is great since I have a 35in inseam. Makes the transition from sitting to standing much more natural, especially since you don't sink to the frame rails on soft foam. I hope they keep making these for older bikes like my 03 RM250. I may have to buy a couple extras just in case. A heck of a lot easier and a lot less hassle than new foam and covers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor fit

Michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:A little to firm for my taste. Also does not fit well. Have to force into position.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

POOR FIT 03DRZ400

WILLIAM in NY

Comments On Jul 05, 2012:Rock hard, Then had to JAM!!!! plastic hook in to frame mount after switching to the stock rubber tab. It was still super tight against the gas tank. Had one on my 03 KTM 250sx and fit perfect.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First off ..... It didn't fit worth a darn

JOE in CA

Comments On May 08, 2012:I purchased teh SDG High Foam seat for my 09 KTM 450 EXC and right out of the bag ..... It didn't fit and I have to modify it, and had trouble removing and re-installing it from that point on. I finally got tired of it and re-installed the stock seat

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

SDG Tall Seat on 09 YZ250F

BARRY in OK

Comments On Dec 06, 2011:Poor fit. I had to grind down the two little plastic posts next to the rear mounts to get the seat low enough to put the seat bolts in. whoever designed this seat never tried to mount it on an 09 YZ250F.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

poor fit

Robert in CA

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:The seat looks great out of the box but then, time to put it on. It was very difficult to make it fit. I had to push down HARD to get the catch to fit under the frame crossbar which caused the seat to show a big wrinkle at the front. In addition, I would not call this a tall seat. It is barely any taller than the low seat that was on it. Returning for a refund and won't buy SDG again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

SDG seats have changed...

JEREMY in UT

Comments On Dec 19, 2010:I put one on my 02 about 5 years ago and loved it. Bought one for my 05 dec 2010 and it was super hard and about 1 inch narrower. I returned it. If you like your seat to ride like a 2x4 you will love these seats. Even looked at the standard seat and its the same. Sad....

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

SDG on YZ250

DEAN in CA

Comments On Oct 28, 2010:Poor fit, more narrow and hard than stock. Did not provide much if any seat height.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Holding up well

Phillip in NC

Comments On Oct 29, 2010:I installed this seat almost nine months ago and it still looks and feels like new. The fitment is excellent and the stitching is top notch. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

decent seat

Joe in NY

Comments On Jul 17, 2010:I like the seat other than the color. Functions great, fit is a little poor. For those who think it's too hard.....Stop sitting down so much. Would recommend for a tall motocrosser.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great seat

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:I have ordered three different seats over the years for my Hondas now I ordered one for the KTM. Great for giving me more leg room/ legs not as bent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big Fan

Chad in SC

Comments On Mar 04, 2010:Initial fitting took some persuasion. cover had some wrinkles too. After 1 ride, the wrinkles are gone and it fits perfectly.
One note- I initially ordered a blue/black one for my yz. It was purple. Yuck.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad Quality, worse fit

jonathan in MA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Bought the tall seat for my 2001 cr250, the tall seat is ROCK hard and does not follow the shape of the bike at all. The back of the seat sits about 2 inches above the rear fender and the mounts are about 1/2'' too wide. I would not purchase another seat from SDG and will build my own from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2008 yz450f, would not fit correctly

Shawn in WA

Comments On Dec 04, 2009:I had one of these seats on my 04 and it was great. I got an 08 and ordered one right away. But the hook was not right, I had to really push down to get it on which made the seat wrinkle bad. The mounts on the back were off by about 1/4 inch too. So I called SDG and sent it to them to fix. When I got it back it was exactly the same. So Rocky Mountain let me return it! I would love to recommend this seat because I know how good they can be, but for the newer yz I can only say try it but be prepared to ship it back. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product- Highly Recommend for Tall Rider

LANCE in IN

Comments On Sep 06, 2009:The SDG Tall seat fit well and looks great on my 06 KX250F. I'm 6'1" and was having trouble shifting my weight forward due to the amount my legs were bent. The tall seat allows me to shift forward and stand much more easily.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was disappointed

Pino in TX

Comments On Sep 03, 2009:I was really excited about this seat as I am a tall rider and was looking for a taller seat. It has a great look, and the gripper cover seems really tough and looks like a good grip material. Unfortunately it's natural curve did not match my bike well. (2005 YZ 250) It was straight enough that the seat pan made it really difficult to install, I had to force it to curve. This caused the cover to have really large wrinkles in it making it look like a poor fitting seat cover. Also, the foam was really, really firm. I almost want to say it was hard as a rock. Wish I had listened to the reviewers that previously pointed that out. I took it off and returned it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

- SDG Tall Works Great- Recommend

chuck in CA

Comments On Dec 28, 2008:Sitting to standing position was much easier. Looked all over for a tall seat and bought the SDG tall seat for my DRZ400E. The stock seat is super plush but too low and when I got the SDG it was distinctly firm to the feel and taller. The retro fit wasn't a exact match and had to take off the rubber grommets on the front where it was hitting the gas tank with no consequence. Otherwise had a immediate performance gain in riding and the feel is actually better for everything. The cover is a gripper Cordura look and may outlast the bike itself. Price/ Quality/ Value a definate recommend. (I'm 6-3" and good Int. Moto & Enduro Rider)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Finally Great Seat!

Hampton in NC

Comments On Dec 02, 2008:I am in the process of finishing the almost total rebuild of my Yamaha YZ 250.This seat is well worth the extra 10 bucks more than the stock.It fits well, sits well over the riding range and doesn't hurt my butt.Great looks, installed in 5 minutes. Buy it!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SDG= Great for tall riders

ANTONINA in CA

Comments On Oct 19, 2008:I bought the seat for my 01 yz250f And Compared to the stock one It's Great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SDG tall seat

ERIC in CA

Comments On Oct 12, 2008:Awesome seat, height and foam thickness are ideal for tall rider. Fit my 07 CRF450R perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just a seat

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:i'm not impressed or disapointed

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great For Taller Riders

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:If you are a rider over 6" tall I think this is a must buy to be comfortable on the track or in the woods.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD FIT

GARY in TN

Comments On Jan 21, 2008:GOOD QUALITY

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The product continues to disappoint

PAUL in UT

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:I've bought three of these seats for various bikes, the first one fit so poorly I took it back, the second fit okay and the third required us to play with the mounting brackets to get it to fit and it's still hard to put back on. The foam is harder than stock but for taller guys to get some more room the high foam is nice... Now I just buy aftermarket foam and build my seat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sdg tall seat

LANCE in WA

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:The seat foam is rock hard, unlike the oem YZ seat. It doesnt fit quite as nice as oem either. But, cheap alternative to buying a new oem one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty nice seat

James in GA

Comments On Dec 18, 2007:I have about one season on my seat. I thought it would have been a little bit more comfortable, but all and all it is a really good seat. If you like seats that keep you in one spot without sliding around, this is the one for you. Dries out pretty quick too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SDG Tall complete seat

JEFF in UT

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:Purchased for a 2002 CRF450. Sorry guys but this seat, although built well and fits well, is hard as a rock. and skinny! I Drilled lots of horizontal holes into the foam to make it bearable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Required some modification to fit properly

JOE in GA

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:This was on a Kawasaki KX 250. I had to remove the brackets, cut and re-bend them, then do some further tweaking. Once I got it fit correctly, it worked well. Very tough seat cover.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very comfortable

BRADLEY in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is a great seat, top quality and great selections of how the seat can be cushioned just for you. If I had to buy another seat I would go with SDG. Also at a great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice seat - hard as a rock

WESLEY in OR

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is a very well made seat. Excellent workmanship and materials. However, it is NOT soft. I bought the seat because it was advertised as being softer than stock. In fact it is as hard or harder than my stock KTM seat. It's still a nice seat though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SDG Seat

FREDRICK in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I purchased the SDB tall seat. Great product. It really is just a bolt on addition. Easiy installed and a huge improvement over stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect accessory for riders over 6 feet tall

BRADD in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The best accessory I've purchased yet. I'm a little over 6 feet tall, this made my bike feel much more comfortable!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

JEFF in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Why would anybody put one together on their own? These seats look good, last and are economical.

Was this review helpful?