Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 48 Reviews

Return to Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It ok.

christopher in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ85

Comments On Aug 03, 2014:It was good tire but seem to wear a little quicker than comparable Dunlop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front Tire is Garbage

Kyle in PA

Comments On Apr 25, 2014:I m not sure if I just had a bad front tire or bad luck but I have never gotten so many flats on regular trails from something poking through the tread pattern and putting a hole in my tube. The traction was great but after $60+ in tubes and all of the stress of just being pissed about having another flat in the middle of another ride and one after another I will never purchase another maxxis front tire ever. But on the other hand I would give the maxxis si rear a 5 star rating hooks up everywhere in everything especially mud and has a long lasting life. Great for Northeast riding where there is a variety of terrains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire I have used

Kyle in PA

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:I ride a lot of woods and single track along with a few gnccs/harescrambles where it ranging from all terrain types except sand and Id have to they not only hook up the best but also last a lot better than some of the other tires I have tried. these are the only tire I will buy. worth the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ride the sand and rock

CHRIS in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Apr 10, 2014:I ride the sand and rock in Moab , I will try just about any front or rear tire to get as many miles as I can. These front tires have worked out very well for me. Think I'll get me some more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Except for 1 problem

Jeff in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Mar 27, 2014:I have this on my 2013 450 XC-W. It is a great tire from woods to desert and hooks up really well in the soft stuff. You can feel the tire hookup in the loose stuff. The tire started tearing side knobs after the first high desert race. I now have a couple of knobs gone with about 4 good rides on the tire. My 2 buddies have the same tire (110/100-18) on their 250 2-strokes and have no knob issues so I will give it 4 stars instead of 3. The center wears really well. We are A level riders with B level physical conditioning. Great for hill climbs too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain Tire

Jeff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 28, 2014:I love using this tire combined with the Maxxis Desert rear tire. Last long with great wear. IĆ¢??m riding Cal City, CA areas and tracks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it felt awesome

Matthew in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 SUZUKI RMX250

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:This tire is amazing i used it on my rmx250 and my rm250 on the rear and front it gripping hard and soft dirt and really mushy mud and works great on a track takes a good beating in tight trails and i recommend this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes you feel comfortoble and safe

Angel in TX

Comments On Dec 31, 2013:purchased the set and i feel much safer now than ever before when making high speed turns and while riding on loose sand and wet sand. I had the OEM tire before and kept on falling on tight turns or in wet sand - not anymore. THe tire hooks better than anything out there. i know it will go out in 40 or so hrs, but i am ready to buy another one...SAFETY first - can't put a price on Safety and feeling comfortable during a race

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good tire

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:I have used this on my CR500 for a while now. It goes where you point it and takes a beating. Go ride and forget out what your front end is doing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet tire

Trent in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Jul 24, 2013:This tire has been awesome. It grabs super good and has lasted very well. I like how it rides on both desert and mountain terrain. This is the only tire I ride and I love it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great traction

KEVIN in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA XR400R

Comments On May 19, 2013:run on the front of my xr400 ride in mix of conditions from soft dirt to hard pack and rocks. does great in all conditions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I am a big fan of maxxis tires!

Ben in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2013:they always last a long long long time! and get good traction. I dont buy any other tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Product

Joshua in TX

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:Works great for our dusty area

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pain to install but still 5 stars

William in AZ

Comments On Aug 04, 2012:Seems to grip and wear well. Its a pain to put on, but thats only because of the strong side walls.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

impressed with the traction

Daniel in WA

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:I went 1 size up from stock. The traction was real good. I found the tire wear was quicker than expected, but I ended up riding on alot more hard surfaces than expected. I ride a CRF450. At about 30% tread left, I can see separation of the knobbies, but none have chunked off yet. I have bought another Maxxis, but this one is intermediate-hard terrain. The tire would have lasted longer had I stuck to soft-intermediate terrain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire in N.E P.a.

Justin in PA

Comments On May 28, 2012:I really liked this tire it lasted about 20 hours. We ride at a pretty moderate speed single track to full out 60-70mph power lines. And a good mix of rock, mud and sandy coal dirt along with leaf littered woods. This tire worked well everywhere. When it started to get shot, grip went away fast.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:this tire is great i love going into corners with this tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

MATT in NSW

Comments On Aug 03, 2011:Love this tire, wears a little quick, but great hook up in all situations.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Stuart in SA

Comments On Jun 09, 2011:Best tyres around IMHO. Only brand for me after trying many others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maxx Cross S/I Front

Jacob in OR

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:The tire hooks up great in the turns. No more problems washing out the front in the softer stuff and has held so far in the hard pack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

We'll See This Season

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Feb 23, 2011:I have ran the Maxx Cross Intermediate terrain tire on a few different bikes in a few races. RMC didn't have any of those tires when I went to order them in the fall so I picked up a set of these to try on my race set of wheels for the upcoming 2011 season. I'm excited to try them with all of the luck that I've had with the standard intermediates. I am expecting a little better traction out of these tires, but a little faster wear rate. I'll update my review part way through the season. CR250R

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great performance and longevity!

Kelly in AZ

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:I have had this mounted on my KDX for almost a year now and is just now needing to be replaced. I ride on average two or three days a week and I dualsport my bike as well. It has held up great. Also, traction wise it works great for the terrain here in Southern AZ and especially in sand. Will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great front tire.

Patman in KS

Comments On Nov 18, 2010:I bought the front tire and I love it. The tire holds on almost everything. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

80/100-21 on a YZ250f

Daryl in CA

Comments On Nov 14, 2010:Maxxis has always been one of my favorites for value AND performance. However, this front has me buying a different brand to replace the Maxxis after only 1 Hare Scramble. Course had some rocks, as most do... but nothing crazy. After the race I noticed that one of the side knobs was torn off. Not just the knob itself, but all the way down to the inner casing. The tire did not blow and the rim was not damaged so I guess it did it's job, but the tire should not have come apart like that. The tire performed well in all conditions, never felt a loss of traction or uncontrolled sliding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction

JIM in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:This tire provides great traction, but wears a little faster than I would like.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Front

Luke in CO

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:I ride desert and some high country.. This tire up front with a Desert IT in rear is a good setup.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great front tire

Tony in NC

Comments On Jul 07, 2009:I've ridden on this tire for a year now on the front of a KDX 200. Eastern woods riding - roots, rocks, mud. Grips good in all conditions. No chunking or knob breakage. Great wear - hardly looks worn.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

maxxis

erik in ID

Comments On Jun 28, 2009:great all around tire. if you like to ride in the mud this is the tire for you. MUD WILL JUST FALL RIGHT OFF THIS TIRE. GOOD BUY.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

WILLIAM in OH

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:Ive been running these tires offroad racing for years and they perform well in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

HOWARD in AZ

Comments On Nov 25, 2008:This tire works very well in my part of the country (Az desert). It wears well and the traction doesn't disappear as soon as the edges round off. Great rim protection too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well about everywhere

Lyle in AZ

Comments On Oct 20, 2008: The front is very similar to the Dunlop 756 but costs less and wears longer.
The rear wears quick and tears knobs in the rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stops all Overstear and Sliding

Melynda in ID

Comments On Jul 25, 2008:I bought this tire for a yz450. The stock tires are terrible and made it feel like a train off the tracks. The stock tires were very dangerous. I picked up this front from RM and it was really like riding a different bike. The handle was superb and I will always buy more of this one. The only complaint would be a shorter life span.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great front tire

NATHAN in AZ

Comments On Mar 03, 2008:I love this tire, stuck like velcro. If you use Maxxis, use only the SI on the front, the IT sucks. IT on the rear is great though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good traction

RANDY in IA

Comments On Feb 15, 2008:Last a long time for the intermediate riding that I do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TIRE

DUSTIN in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2008:Works very well. I will buy more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My first choice in tires.

BRENT in TN

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:For me, this is a good all around tire. I like the feel, traction and durablilty it provides. Thanks Maxxis!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

TROY in AZ

Comments On Dec 14, 2007:gives a bit more traction than the I/T.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

woods must have tire

CHRIS in RI

Comments On Dec 10, 2007:I replaced the stock tire with the Maxxis SI becasue of a recommendation and it has proven to be a reliable tire for rocks, mud and roots... I feel much more confident and seem to be able to push harder as the tire doesn't wash out like the stock tire.
This tire will soon be accompanied by an Maxxis IT on the rear and should be a great combo for New England riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

SCOTT in OH

Comments On Dec 03, 2007:I went with the SI front and rear and was very happy. They lasted all summer for me (don't ride as often as most). The yellow on the sidewall looks cool as well!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

must have tire

MICHAEL in IL

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:this is a must have rear tire.it works in mud and hard terrain

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Maxx Cross Soft/Intermediate Terrain

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Nov 03, 2007:I am sure that this tire works well for its intended purpose and when I am in loamy conditions it is fairly stable. Unfortunately, I have been racing mostly hardpack courses and practicing in rocky terrain. I have not lost any knobs and it seems to be holding up very well but when it gets wet it cannot be trusted when crossing roots. I really wish the knobs were a bit taller.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxx cross soft terrain

TOM in CA

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:good price

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great All Around

ROBERT in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:This tire works well as an all around but doesn't last long in hard rocky terrain. Really steps up in the soft, muddy stuff. Tire also has awesome side wall petection for saving the rim!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Max Cross Soft/IT

DAVID in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Unfortunately I chose the wrong tire for my application. Turns out I used this tire on mainly rocky trails (hard terrain) and as a result I lost a lot of side knobs prematurely. But it worked really well before losing knobs and the center is still wearing well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tires for 250 Dirt Bike

CHAD in KY

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:It is hard to find tires which will do everything for hare scrambles on a dirt bike but this the Maxxis Maxx does very well on dry or slick conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good performance and life!

MATTHEW in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I purchased this for my rear tire and it has held up very well. I typically use Michelin S-12's. The Maxxcross SI is an excellent alternative. I think the Maxxis lasts longer before break the knob edges. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

maxx cross S/I front tire

Davis in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:excelent tire feels very well planted responds very well to steering inputs and is great at changing line mid corner it's only real downfall is on hard pack where it gives up a little traction but my favorite in sand and soft terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Railing Tire

ALAN in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tire rails on edge exceptionally well, and lasts a long time (at A level pace in tough, Colorado terrain). Just wish they could get the price down closer to their other Maxxia tires.

Was this review helpful?