A.R.C. Back Country Foul Weather Jacket 2014

Customer Reviews for A.R.C. Back Country Foul Weather Jacket 2014

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 34 Reviews

Return to A.R.C. Back Country Foul Weather Jacket 2014 Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

A.R.C. Back Country Foul Weather Jacket 2014 Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome value.

BRENT in UT

Comments On Jun 05, 2014:Yes you may need to sew on a little Velcro or do a few small things, but for the price you just can't beat it. I ride all year, the coldest I've ridden in was 5 degrees. Around town I stayed warm, I did stop at 5 degrees just because it snapped my speedo cable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Well

JOEL in ID

Comments On May 05, 2014:Jacket looks good and is very warm for offroad riding. It is a little bulky for storage, but is great when I have to wear it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the price

Waylon in MA

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:Fits really big in the chest/torso area and kind of long but tight in the arms and shoulders. Elbow pads are tricky to use and a chest protector with shoulder pads isn't going to fit unless your order a very big size. I bought this jacket for everyday use on a dualsport and it keeps me dry in the rain as well as cool on the hotter days.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Jacket

andy in CA

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:The first trip I took this jacket on was Baja. It kept me warm in the chilly morning through the Pine Forest yet kept me cool down through the desert. The vents do a great job and you have lots of mobility. Honestly I bought THIS jacket because of the price but I'm very glad I did.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Jacket

NATHAN in SC

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:This jacket is perfect for those nasty weather rides. Very comfortable to ride in and after 2 seasons of use I can say that is quite durable as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat it at the sale price!

KEVIN in OH

Comments On Mar 24, 2014:Works great, love how it folds into a fanny pack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Jacket

Eric in GA

Comments On Mar 22, 2014:Worked out well for me in the cold. Stayed dry and warm. Does not let the wind cut through either. Great buy for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

FRANK in PA

Comments On Mar 14, 2014:This Item was bought for a trip to Colorado in late Sept. 2013 the item was as advertised warm and dry

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Size Matters

Scott in CA

Comments On Feb 19, 2014:Great jacket made with quality materials at good price. Jacket and matching pants seem to run a bit small so buy with this in mind. I had to return for a larger size, which was easy with Rocky Mountain. This geat is good stuff.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best deal, hands down

Jeramy in WA

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:Bought these with the pants and they have been amazing. Kept me dry, maintained pretty good warmth for just a shell, and didn't break the bank. If you want to impress your friends, buy Klim. If you want to impress your accountant, but ARC.
To be fair, I did experience some minor zipper issues as other have said. Once that was resolved it works fine. You just have to play with it a bit until you find the sweet spot. Other than that, these are great for the trails in Western Washington.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

5 Stars = Excellent

Nick in TN

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:Based on the price , and the good quality of this jacket it is definately worth it. I'v been in cold down to 17 and warm up to 40. does really well with the vents opened. there may be better jackets but are they worth the extra $.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review of 2012 version of the ARC Jacket

MATT in WA

Comments On Jan 12, 2014:I bought this jacket in 2012 and wear it a few times a year when the weather is really bad or if I'm riding with my son (he's 9) and we are tooling around at low speeds and I'm not pushing hard.
For example, I took my son riding last weekend and it was 26 degrees and damp (Pacific Northwest winter where damp and 26 is like 15 and dry) when we started. We rode about 20 miles of mostly 1st/2nd gear stuff. This jacket is perfect for that type of ride because it gave my core enough protection that I didn't get cold. I always wear it w/o sleeves because I wear the Thor Impact rig and the elbow pads are too bulky for under the sleeves of this jacket.
Good jacket. Nice fitment. Almost too warm for most cases. When my friends and I ride hard and fast, this jacket is way too warm to wear, even if it's in the 20's. I can't count the time I've had to throw it into my Camelbak 5 miles into a fast ride.
I see the 2014 version has added features like the ability to adapt to a neck brace. For $80, I just might buy another one and give this one for a friend.
Good value!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Jacket for the Price

Ben in WI

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:Overall a great jacket for what you pay for it. I wore this in pretty cold/rainy conditions and it did what I needed it to. The fact that it folds up into itself is handy too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get's the job done!

Michael in TX

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:Wore the jacket for a cross country race last weekend with the temps in the mid 20's and 20mph winds. I was warm enough to stay loose but never got so hot that I wanted to take it off in a 90 minute race. Good quality item that looks like it's gonna hold up. Great jacket for the money.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Value Great Gear

VINCE in WA

Comments On Jan 06, 2014:If you wear body armor buy large I got XXL and I am 5'11" 195 and use fox titan body armor and It's a bit tight needed XXXL still works great and is adjustable via zippers This is good gear

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice jacket

Mike in NC

Comments On Jan 01, 2014:This jacket is very warm, blocks the wind, and has kept me dry in light rain. I started using it as my daily jacket for non-biking and am constantly delighted with how warm it is.
It is far better than most of the much more expensive "outdoor store" name brands that I've owned.
The tail is extra long in back.
Lots of easy to use vents to open as the temperature climbs as you ride.
Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT JACKET

TIM in PA

Comments On Dec 23, 2013:WE RIDE ALL WINTERS JACKET WORK GOOD FOR 10 TO 40 DEGREES. NICE VENTS THAT ZIPPERS

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Jacket for the price!

Jeff in WA

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:This is a great jacket for the price! Only issue is the front zipper sticks on mine, and has a couple of rough spots, may just be the luck of the draw!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice equipment at the right price

Andrei in NSW

Comments On Nov 21, 2013:Initially I thought I'll get some cheap equipment. But that was not the case. The jacket fits me perfect with enough space for my body armor. Vents are more than enough. It also allows me to wear the neck brace, so now I don't have to buy a new one when the neck brace arrives.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Lukasz in NY

Comments On Oct 07, 2013:Best Freaking Jacket I ever bought Rain and wind proof 100%, Love the Jacket and the pants you can buy to match. Great product,

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Shell

Jeff in CO

Comments On Sep 25, 2013:This jacket makes an awesome shell. Was out in Jefferson, CO last weekend in the pouring rain. Wore my jersey and a light weight fleece under this jacket and didn't have a drop of water inside. It was about 42 F and the jacket alone wouldn't have kept me warm, but it makes an excellent shell for $80. Great buy and will continue to be a customer. The only issue I have is the lack of reflective gear. I like the black color, but at night with black pants and a black jacket on a black bike I become a ninja. A little something reflective\high viz would be nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best bang for your buck

OWEN in IL

Comments On Aug 04, 2013:I have used this for eight rides, and have had zero problems with durability. The fit has true to size. The venting worked well. I would have gave this 4 stars, but the price bumps it up to 5 stars.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome at what it is

Nathan in UT

Comments On Jul 19, 2013:This is a pretty good jacket. It sheds water in a short drizzle, but I did get wet through it on a 30 mile commute in the rain. It keeps me warm down into the 50s, cooler with a sweater under it, and it breathes reasonably well, but not amazing, over 100 degrees. Basically, considering it is less than a third the cost of most of the other options I am perfectly ok with its few shortcomings and am glad I bought it for my commute. However, if I were touring long distance, or headed off for Alaska or Baja I would go ahead and spend the three times more on something that is actually waterproof and more breathable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A.R.C. Back Country Foul Weather Jacket 2013

MICHAEL in UT

Comments On May 08, 2013:Great Jacket....great price. I have worn this is 30 degree weather as well as rainstorms. Performs very well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

STEVE in CO

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:Great jacket for the money. As others have said, order a size larger for proper fit but you won't be dissapointed in the quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BEAUTY

tyler in BC

Comments On Apr 05, 2013:Great coat. Made well perfect for what i was looking for. highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice for the price

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Feb 27, 2013:nice for the price

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jacket

WADE in UT

Comments On Feb 23, 2013:Great fit, vents well. Sheds rain and water for those 'gotta hit slush-puddles'.
Be sure to order 1 size bigger than you normally wear. As others have indicated the sizes run small.
Would recommend this product to others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well worth it.

Kyle in Pennsylvania

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:After reading other reviews of this jacket I ordered a large (im a size medium). The large is a little big but it give me room for a hoodie. It seems to be well made with nice pockets and vents. Im glad I purchased this jacket. I used it on a 30 mile woods ride in the snow and mud it kept me warm and dry.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good for the price

Adam in Wisconsin

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:Great value and the fit is true I think, first weekend out riding I broke the zipper other than that there's many vents to control temp and great waterproofing. Besides zipper its a pretty sweet jacket for the price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Updated

Stan in Idaho

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:I had the old backcountry jacket, but it was getting a little beat up so i picked up the new one. it looks much more modern. i don't wear a neckbrace, but it has a cool zipper that would make it so i could. sleek look to it. pockets in the right places. I like it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard pressed to find better for the money

Stephen in UT

Comments On Jan 25, 2013:First of all, i struggle with anyone who knocks a product because they got the wrong size. Clothing is always going to be a little quirky with its own sizing, but once you figure that out, this is an amazing jacket for the price. It does run a little small. I usually get a XL but went with a XXL for this product. Quality is top mark, lots of pockets and the cut/design is very thoughtful and comfortable for riding. Wind proof, waterproof, and exactly what I was hoping for at a price that I would have expected. Very impressed!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jacket sizing is small

Mike McMahon in Oregon

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:I just got this jacket for Xmas and the sizing is way small. I wear X-large in all kinds of cycle gear and this is the first time I've had a problem. The sleeves are way too tight for my elbow guards to fit in there and the chest is too tight for my chest protector to fit underneath. I thought it was odd that the sizing went from X-large to XXX-large with no XX-large in between. Maybe now I know why.
I also got the pants at the sme time and they fit perfect, very happy with the fit. I haven't taken them out for a ride yet but they look sturdy enough.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

excellent jacket!

Mark in Colorado

Comments On Jan 22, 2013:I had an older model and loved it! I just got this new one for Christmas and it is even better than the old. If feels less bulky and has better pockets and vents. Still very waterproof as well. love it!

Was this review helpful?