Tusk Bearing Remover

Customer Reviews for Tusk Bearing Remover

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 72 Reviews

Return to Tusk Bearing Remover Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Bearing Remover Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Bearing removal tools

KAYLA in CA

Comments On Mar 10, 2014:I can't imagine changing bearings without this set. What a life saver. Thanks Tusk & Rocky MTN. for great products and great/fast shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wrong sizes

MARK in NM

Comments On Mar 05, 2014:Be sure to make sure that the right size collet is included in the kit! My 2007 Polaris Ranger XP front wheel bearing is 40mm not included in kit! Rocky Mountain ATV was good enough to send the correct size free of charge. Best parts supplier around and there are plenty!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Time and Work saver

Kolby in UT

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:This bearing puller set is legit, makes the removal of wheel bearings a breeze and doesn't damage anything in the process. I would reccomend double checking that the collet your looking for is included in the kit. I had to order another for the back wheel bearings of my Raptor 700. All in all another great product from Tusk.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Time saver

Owen in OR

Comments On Feb 15, 2014:Product worked very well as described in past reviews. Saved time and was simple to use. Can't wait to find more uses for this kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MORE BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

David in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:Not going to name the other brand but this puller is the same EXACT tool
as the one that comes in the blue case. hgh quality tool that gets the job
done, blind input bearings on the clutch side come out super easy with
the big slide hammer, no complaints thus far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool Set

JOHN in OH

Comments On Jan 24, 2014:Love it! I had another automotive based puller set and was always struggling to find the correct size collets. Switched to this Tusk unit and always have the right sizes on hand for working on bikes. Can't live without it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fast and easy

Toby in MB

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:Tool makes it fast and easy. Saves me time and the customer $$$.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product for the price

Rod in CA

Comments On Jan 19, 2014:Have used many times already. Works well except for pulling roller bearings

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Functions great - few details wanting

Paul in MA

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:Did it remove blind bearings? Yes. Did it remove them easily? Yes. Was it easy to use? Well...
First nit: the 'fingers' of each of the bearing pullers were not concentric - and being fairly stiff/stout metal, it was difficult to compress them uniformly to fit through the bore of the bearing.
Second nit: The lip at the bottom of each puller is a 45° to the barrel - making this a more aggressive angle would like reduce the risk of pulling the puller through.
That said - they worked great. First bearing came out super fast and quick. I noticed some wear on the face of the 'expansion bolt' that spreads the fingers, so on the second bearing, I did not tighten quite as much. It began to slip through. Second set of bearings and two more pullers, both were very difficult to fit through the bearings. A good thing, because they really grabbed the inner race and pulled them straight out, despite how stubborn they were. Yes I would recommend, but there is room to make this an epic product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:helped remove my wheel bearings and swing arm

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Lots of uses

Brian in NJ

Comments On Sep 12, 2013:I bought it for my wheel bearings, But i fixed a small clamp to the end of it and used it to pull a tooth.... worked awesome near painless i would recommend to anyone who needs a bearing puller or a reverse hammer for dental work.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't live without!

Jason in SK

Comments On Jun 18, 2013:This is a must have for the tool box! i don't know how i did engine rebuilds before i bought this puller, used on everything from crank and transmission bearings to wheel bearings and even a stuck swing arm pivot shaft!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice set for the toolbox

Justin in NV

Comments On Jun 08, 2013:I did have a hard time getting some wheel bearings out, but it is still a good investment I feel. I pinched my hand with the slide hammer pretty good. It could be designed a little better, but overall I'm happy with the set.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed..

Pewte in California

Comments On Jun 05, 2013:Tried to use the tool on a 16mm ID bearing. The 15mm collet was too loose and pulled through the hole damaging the collet and the 17mm collet was too big. 16 mm ID is a common Honda size. The 'ears' of the collet are too soft and easily damaged also. Ended up removing the gearings on this XR400 the old fashoned way, with a hammer and punch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Dave in CA

Comments On May 31, 2013:Good quality for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super

Patrik in -

Comments On May 13, 2013:Works just perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bearing Puller made my life easier

RALPH in AB

Comments On Apr 29, 2013:All i can say is wow, the word over built comes to mind, for all the tusk products I have used, and in this business, overbuilt is precisely whats needed. Thanks Tusk for a great product at an ever better price. How do you do it? I could almost recover my costs on the value of the scrap alone LOL!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy It

Jeffrey in NY

Comments On Apr 09, 2013:I waited until the third season of working on my son's bikes to buy this tool. First bearing change this year with this tool was so much easier. Highly recommend Tusk for high quality at great prices.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I just works

TRAVIS in NV

Comments On Jan 11, 2013:This is the only way to remove bearings...period. It makes changing the rear axle bearing a breeze. It takes all the hard work out of the equation and I now replace my axle bearings every summer because it is so much easier than it used to be...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Hilary in MA

Comments On Jan 09, 2013:Bought it as a gift, only used once on wheel bearings, worked good, was really easily, can't wait to use it on more stuff

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality tools great value for the money

Phillip in NSW

Comments On Nov 22, 2012:Quality tools great value for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk puller bearing

Maxim in QC

Comments On Oct 22, 2012:I have bought this puller and I'm very satisfacted.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

MIKE in IL

Comments On Oct 08, 2012:Can't go wrong with this set. Work very very well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bearing removal

Rick in KS

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:made job easy fits bearings great removes with ease

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome tool

DAVID in FL

Comments On Aug 13, 2012:Well built and lots of dyes for different size bearings. No complaints and the price is right!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good price

Pierre in QC

Comments On Jul 18, 2012:nice tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk-Bearing-Remover

Ron in TN

Comments On Jul 16, 2012:This tool is very nice for the price. Take care of it, and this tool will definitely reward you with years of service in return!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth every dollar !

Tim in NSW

Comments On Jun 30, 2012:This tool is the ultimate time saver when it comes to removing wheel bearings etc ! Very, very happy with this product wish I had bought one ages ago !

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bearing Removal Tool

GREG in AZ

Comments On Jun 09, 2012:While replacing all of the bearings in my Suzuki LT-R450 motor (total rebuild), this tool worked flawlessly! There are numerous sizes to fit almost any motorcycle/quad bearing and it fit all the different sizes on my Suzuki except one of the crankshaft bearings was too big for the tool. Luckily there was plenty of space to press that one out. The tool is heavy duty and well made; I recommend it. One word of caution is that since the bearings are pressed in, you will need to figure out how to hold the case halves while you slide the tool back and forth. A vice with aluminum angle iron in the jaws worked well to make sure the steel vice jaws did not damage the cases.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tool, I would recommend

CHRIS in OH

Comments On May 21, 2012:This tool made changing the bearings in my 02 KDX 200 a breeze, and was at an acceptable price as well. I would recommend if you do your own work!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool great price

ROB in OH

Comments On May 01, 2012:one of the best additions ive put in my tool box. Saves alot of time and hassle of removing bearings. I wish it had bigger sizes included for axle carrier in atv's but those are easy enough to get out without it. Makes engine case bearings and front wheel bearings a cinch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does as stated

Geoff in VIC

Comments On Mar 15, 2012:Works well and for the price how could you complain..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

VICTOR in TX

Comments On Jan 23, 2012:Great price and quality. Worked perfectly on KLR 650 Tengai's front, rear and swingarm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

New to TUSK product

Kurt in MA

Comments On Dec 02, 2011:Purchased a TUSK Bearing remover to replace wheel bearings on my KX250. Usually do it the hard way, but decided to buy the TUSK product instead. This kit is the best. All tool parts fit precisely and worked perfectly. I will definitely be buying TUSK tools in the future. Thank you TUSK and Rocky Mtn. "dirt"

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price and quality

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:Great price and quality! I wish the case was designed to accomodate the optional collets too. I had to cut part of the case out to make room for them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality kit with a range of non-specific collets

MICHAEL in UT

Comments On Sep 13, 2011:I used this kit multiple times for wheel bearings on late model yamaha 4-strokes utilizing the 20mm collet. Worked like a champ.
When I did maintenance on the rear end of the bike, the only bearing you couldn't press all the way through was the linkage connecting rod. The ID measured 21.9mm. The 20mm collet worked but was significantly marred afterward and will require redressing. Might have been better to use a 2- or 3-arm blind bearing puller.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Davin in MN

Comments On Sep 03, 2011:Paid for its self the first time I used it. Cant imagine pulling bearings without it. Tusk makes great tools at half the price. All my engine tools I buy from RM because Tusk is the best. If your going to pull some bearings, Buy This!! Can use it on many other things besides your ATV or dirtbike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

SCOTT in -

Comments On Aug 09, 2011:Just finished using this tool to remove the bearings from my bottem half and it literally took me 10 minutes to remove 6 bearings with ease.. thanks again for a quality product from tusk and RM.. Highly recommend this tool, after i was done i was asking myself if it was really that easy, it was, buy it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't be without it!

Jay in QLD

Comments On Aug 08, 2011:I've changed bearing before without a puller and it was a nightmare.
A worthy investment!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!!!

Curtis in TX

Comments On Jul 23, 2011:Used this for my linkage bearings on my 01 CR250. Works perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just what I needed

Brian in NJ

Comments On Jul 23, 2011:Another great tusk product. Im able to quickly and easily change wheel bearings whenever i need, say and hour before race time!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good. Used a few times.

RICHARD in NJ

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:I just received these and I have used them twice. They do a great job as long as they hold up they will be a 5. So the only reason they get a 4 is it's too early to tell about longevity.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great!!!

Mike in AB

Comments On May 04, 2011:Works great for remvoing bearings...just make sure you don't get your hand caught in it...ouch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

brian in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Use it on all bearing removals easy to use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Brendan in KS

Comments On Apr 21, 2011:Bought this puller after the local shop wanted another hour of labor to cut the last 2 bearings out of my cases beacause the couldn't pull them. In less than 2 minutes I had both the "stuck" bearings out. Worked great. Should have bought this tool to begin with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent tool for the money

James in NV

Comments On Jan 26, 2011:Pulls all the bearings on 2 and 4 stroke motors with ease.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tool!

STEPHEN in AZ

Comments On Dec 22, 2010:Purchased this puller to remove all of my case bearings on my Yamaha Rhino. Amazed at how easy it pulled them out. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price!

Kyle in BC

Comments On Dec 14, 2010:This kit is essential if you plan any bottom end maintenance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

BRIAN in WV

Comments On Nov 15, 2010:This product works amazing and is a lot cheaper than motion pro. only complaint is I wish it had a 6 mm puller included

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

kenneth in ME

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:Very simple to use... makes bearing removel much quicker

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have tool.

BRANDON in OR

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:This tool is a must have for any do it yourselfer.
Wheel bearings are a snap with this little guy.
Buy it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WORKS WELL AWESOME PRICE GREAT INVESTMENT

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Oct 03, 2010:USED ON 2004 WR 450'S WHEEL BEARINGS. DID EXACTLY WHAT IT SAID IT WOULD DO. QUALITY IS GOOD. WOULD PURCHASE AND SUGGEST IT AGAIN.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good quality for price, worked great!

Craig in MO

Comments On Oct 01, 2010:I used this as soon as I received it to remove old wheel bearings from a 1981 YZ60 rear wheel hub that I'm restoring. I had both bearings removed in less than two minutes. The quality of the puller set seems pretty good (for hobby use.) I might see spending what the MP puller costs if I worked in a shop, but for the DIY type this fits the bill. Has more sizes available than what you would find at HF. I'm glad I've added this to my specialty tools collection; having the right tool for the job makes things go so much smoother.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk is a quality name at a fair price

Jeff in ON

Comments On Aug 27, 2010:This set is awesome, does the job perfect at a fraction of the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as intended

KEVIN in NC

Comments On Aug 02, 2010:A must have tool for striping your cases. Bearings with a blind bore - no sweat. Tool works like a charm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good investment

AARON in NH

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:this is a must if you work on your own bike, neighborhood bikes and the like. works so much better than a hammer and punch. what a time saver, now i dont mind dealing with bearings like i used to. How about the price, half of a motion pro kit!! it works plain a simple.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good price. Good quality.

Dennis in TX

Comments On Jun 09, 2010:Great price, great tool. Sometimes I still have to use a punch. This is half the price of the Motion Pro and it's the same thing as far as I'm concerned.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bearing puller two thumbs up

Tim in IL

Comments On Jun 04, 2010:the most surprising tool i've purchased.I used it to pull the bearings out of my 450 cases.I't was way too easy to pull the blind bearings.quality tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

you need this if you have dirt bikes

ANNETTE in OH

Comments On Feb 11, 2010:no more paying $50 to have those wobble wheels fixed.you might make $50. it easier to use then the slap chop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

MYLES in CA

Comments On Jan 18, 2010:I wish that I had one of these 10 years ago. I changed out the bearings in my Excel Pro Series wheel in no time at all. I highly recommend this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works on Big Bikes

Ken in KS

Comments On Jan 15, 2010:I struggled to remove wheel bearing from my BMW motorcycles, until I purchased this puller. I was concerned that this puller wouldn't work on big bikes. Most of the other reviews were for dirt bikes. However, the bearing puller worked exactly like the video. Without the use of a heat gun, the Tusk bearing puller easily extracted the wheel bearings factory pressed into the front wheel of my BMW R1100RT for the past 122,000 miles. It should work equally as well on my other BMWs, Ducati and KTM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

MANOJ in KS

Comments On Nov 19, 2009:perfect tool for wheel bearings, also took care of half of my linkage bearings on my 04 husqvarna cr125.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best gift I ever got!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Nov 03, 2009:My wife got me this kit for my birthday. I had no idea it would work so well. it pulls just about any bearing with ease. I look forward to changing bearings now because it is fun. this is a must have for anyone that works on their own stuff.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

30mm is a tight for KTM front wheel

RYAN in OR

Comments On Oct 02, 2009:Helpful tool. I can't imagine trying to do that with a punch.
The 30mm size is really 31mm and a KTM wheel bearing is 29.5mm. It will fit, but it takes more force than shown in the video.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Why didn't I buy this years ago!

NORMAN in CA

Comments On Sep 29, 2009:This is NICE. I had a wheel bearing that was seized up. I tried pounding it out, heating the hub and could not get it out. Used this slide hammer and got it. Took quite a few whacks, but I would have been cutting it out without it. On NORMAL bearings this thing takes longer to set up than it does to actually pull the bearing. I don't dread swingarm maintenance now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Aug 14, 2009:I am a do it yourselfer. I have always dreaded doing wheel bearings. The blind bearing puller makes this job very easy. No effort, no hammers, no swearing. All DIY should have this tool!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Tool!!!

Paul in AZ

Comments On Apr 23, 2009:I spent over 1 hour trying to knock the rear wheel bearing out of my 1983 CR480 and I could not get the bearing to move.....at all using a hammer and punch. I googled "motorcycle wheel bearing removal" and I found a video from Rocky Mountain showing this Tusk wheel bearing removal tool.
I ordered it and once it arrived I had both bearing out of the rear wheel in less than 2 minutes!!!
I can't believe I have spend so many hours over the years trying to knock motorcycle wheel bearing out.
This tool is a MUST have if you are trying to remove wheel bearings.
Best money I have ever spent, WELL WORTH IT!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Where have you been all my life!

clint in TN

Comments On Apr 14, 2009:This thing is great. Once i saw rocky mountains instructional video I was in love. It works better than I thought. I replaced all the bearings in my cases a couple months ago and it was easy. Did the wheel bearings easy too. Very cool. Wish I had it 15 years ago!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

KYLE in UT

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:I had some problems with some really stuck bearings but this tool really helped. The "T" part came out but I didn't really find it useful to keep in there. A great tool at a great price. I love Tusk products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome set!

MATT in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2009:Can't beat it for the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a must

nicholas in AZ

Comments On Jan 15, 2009:if you ride an older bike, this is a must have to Do It Yourself. Normally costs a lot of money an hour to take it to a mechanic and have them do a job. this is a one time flat fee and it works great!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

wow!

Mark in CA

Comments On Sep 18, 2008:This makes life a lot easier. made rebuilding my bike easy. I didn't think it was possible for bearings to come out so easy. A must have for any mechanic. By far the best price I have found anywhere too.

Was this review helpful?