Gaerne SG-12 Boots

Customer Reviews for Gaerne SG-12 Boots

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 71 Reviews

Return to Gaerne SG-12 Boots Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Gaerne SG-12 Boots Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One Word, Amazing!

Zach in AZ

Comments On Mar 21, 2014:The second you slip these bad boys on, you'll know what everyone here is talking about.
Feel amazing right off the bat, almost no break in. Ridiculously comfortable, yet secure and safe feeling. Would buy again in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gaerne boots

Matt in CA

Comments On Mar 21, 2014:These are the best boots I have ever owned. They fit like tennis shoes. I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as I hoped

TRACI in CA

Comments On Feb 20, 2013:Based on others' reviews I had hoped these boot would get 5 stars but after having my feet in these for about 10 hours worth of riding they can only get 4, because they are just not as comfortable as I expected. WHen the first go on they're pretty good but after 2 hours of riding there are pressure point at the lowest buckle and at the ankle bones that are all but unmanageable. You have to get out of them for at least a half hour break! I didn't have this issue with A Stars Tech 3 or 7. The support, protection and feel of these boots is quite good and the buckles are awesomely easy. I'm still hoping that they break in so the I can wear them for extended riding, but time will tell.

Additional Comments On Mar 09, 2014:More than a year in and the pressure point on my ankle remains. Everything else out the boot is great but the ankle problem makes them too painful to wear. Bummer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extremely tight ankle

Justin in CA

Comments On Feb 28, 2014:These boots are very high quality, the construction rivals the best, and they offer more protection than I have ever seen in a motocross boot. They fit my foot very well, and the sole is very comfy. However, I have to return them for one unforgivable flaw. The ankle is so extremely tight I can't even get my wrist in there, and after waking around my house a bit my ankles feel bruised. I do have a pretty bulbous ankle bone, but I had no pressure whatsoever from my astar tech 3s, or any other boot I've tried. I wish these would have worked for my feet because they are beautiful boots, but as it is I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far, absolutely amazing.

Dan in Indiana

Comments On Feb 26, 2014:Just got these bad boys from the UPS man today. Haven't ridden in them yet but been wearing them all day around the house and into town, I'm sure people at the gas station wondered about my choice of shoes! But so far these are night and day different than my Alpinestar Tech 8's. Those things felt like concrete boxes around my feet compared to these SG-12's! Doesn't seem like any break-in is required, foot bed is super comfy, and lots of protection! Will try and post update after this weekend when I do my first off road hare scramble in them, supposed to be a high of 30 degrees and 80% chance of snow so should be fun!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sweet

Dennis in Pennsylvania

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:Got these for a christmas present from my wife , took the time at a big local bike shop to try them all on only expecting to pay up to three hundred for a set of boots,¦ when i put these on i was like WOW !!!! didn"t have a issue at putting out the extra shekels for these babies. Just note that the left toe is raised up and you will need to bring your shifter up a notch, on one of my bikes i had to nearly destroy the shift lever to get it past the clutch cover. then found a different model shifter that fit perfect. they will let water in when blasting through creeks but invest in a good set of boot driers from Cabelas of 45.00 money well spent

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comfortable is all you need to know.

Rodney in ON

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:Left my Tech 8 for these and WOW what a difference it made. These are so comfortable and it feels like your wearing slippers. I will buy another pair when its time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SG 12

Brandon in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:This is really comfy boot with good support, a little heavier than my old Fox boots. I would suggest removing the screws that hold the hinge together in the ankle area and applying thread locker. I lost the the screw and metal filler piece after 3 rides, and Gaerne doesnt reply to emails. Probably not a big deal, but for a 500 dollar boot you would think the screws wouldn't fall out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit, Great Protection, Quick Break-in Time

Angel in TX

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:You get what you paid for, and the SG-12s boots are the perfect example. they fit just perfectly (bought A-Stars first and returned them because of the fit - not the SGs) and were broken in within a few hours as the feel has not changed much since. they have excellent protection and have saved my feet from some significant hits in roots and rocks. they did squeek for a little bit but the noise has since gone away - broken in period i assume. I have owned these for 8 months and I am considering buying a second pair as a backup when I ride in wet conditions and need a pair for a second day ride. It is a must buy product.

Additional Comments On Dec 31, 2013:bought a 2nd pair after i left the other pair in South America. the 2nd pair works just as the first one. it fits without a problem with the Asterisk knee braces as well. i tried teh SIDI Xfire2 but they would NOT work with the knee braces, thus, i went back to the known SG 12s and worked perfectly. they do feel like wearing a shoe and squeeke some but i care more about the safety and feel of the boot than anything else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Boots

Tom in CT

Comments On Dec 28, 2013:Way better than the A Stars. I was looking at the Sidi CRossfires. these boots are like slippers...no inner boot and break in quickly. Worth the $$. Saved my feet numerous times in the woods of New England.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Best IMO

Paul in CA

Comments On Dec 20, 2013:Took about 5 rides to break-in. Great support, don't weigh a lot, holding up well. Kinda pricy, but after reading all reviews on boots I was interested in, settled on these. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best boots

donatas in CA

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:then you go "Gaerne SG-12 Boots" you never come back!!!!! :) best boots ever, no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Ever

Adam in QLD

Comments On Nov 15, 2013:Awesome boots, comfortable and they are shaping up to last forever.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Boots Ever

Louis in TX

Comments On Sep 20, 2013:Extremely comfortable and durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome!

jason in MN

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:love them. better than my a-stars tech 10's hands down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Boots.

Todd in Alberta

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:These boots are awesome! The fit is great and buckles are better the Alpinestars. The only reason i give them 4 stars is because they dont have the best grip on the pegs. My feet slide off easier then my Tech 8's did but hopefully that means they have a longer lasting sole.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the cash

Joe in NM

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:After wearing a cheaper pair of boots I broke my ankle on a cased jump, Three weeks later I was back to riding "slower of course". Heel cups provide great support and keep everything in place. 40+ hrs on them now and no wear except dirt stains. Buckles are also best I have ever used. I wear a 10 1/2 shoe and size 10 fits perfect since they do not come in half sizes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth it

DAVID in VA

Comments On Aug 14, 2013:I was considering getting alpinestars, sidi's, fox's. I decided on these because of how slim they are, the built in protection, the sturdiness. They are very comfortable, the memory foam is so comfortable and the padding around the ankle is just awesome keeps everything nice and tight. The boots are not as bulky as the others. They do weigh a little more but they are built solid. Love them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great boot

George in CA

Comments On Jul 25, 2013:Awesome boots. True to size. Fit a lot tighter than the sg10, but in a good way, feels much more secure without being obtrusive. They feel smaller overall than the sg10. You may/may not have a temporary pressure point. All my gaerne boots have had one pressure point, the boots need to be broken in and once they do i have never had a pressure point return, usually takes 2-3 rides, just wear a thick sock until it breaks in. Rocky Mtn has got the cheapest price online too, even when compared to unauthorized sources. These will be my go to boots from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best MX Boot in Production

Aaron in California

Comments On Jun 05, 2013:You will not regret purchasing this boot. It is BY FAR the most comfortable thing I have EVER put on my foot. When you put the boots on, they don't feel stiff, and they feel extremely light. I had Tech 8 Light boots before these, and the SG-12 feels much lighter, and more comfortable. The memory foam in the boot molds to your foot, so eventually they fit perfectly. These boots weigh nothing compared to the clunky Tech-10s, and are just as protective. If you buy these, you won't be sorry. Best quality boot I have ever bought in my career.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You won't be sorry.

Joseph in OR

Comments On Jun 04, 2013:I finally decided to suck it up and buy these boots and let me tell you, they are the most comfortable boots in the world!!! You will not regret the decision to buy these boots!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comfortable

Joshua in CA

Comments On May 28, 2013:most comfortable boots ive ever owned. they fit great and everything is replaceable so no worries about a broken buckle. buckles are very easy to use unlike my tech 10's

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sg12s

antonio in NJ

Comments On May 24, 2013:Great boots look nice feel good ride good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best boots for the money!!

JOHN in PA

Comments On Apr 24, 2013:I have been racing and riding for over Ten yeas now and finally got the best pair of boots for the price!!! I was always trying to save money but after 3 pair of boots and my feet hurting after the ride- I had enough and was told to try the Gaerne SG-12 boots and I have been happy ever since and I even got a pair for my brother for his Xmas gift!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Proud to be an owner

Chad in IN

Comments On Apr 24, 2013:I had never purchsed the expensive boots before but safety safety safety kept ringing in my head after braking my collar bone. These boots are absolutely great. I will never go back I am a customer of theirs forever!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Brandon in IL

Comments On Apr 20, 2013:best boots I've ever wore. comfy, way better than my 200$ fox. boots. nicer than my bros alpine star tech3s. wish they were lighter but they're all heavy to have good protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Rod in WA

Comments On Apr 02, 2013:Not much else to say. These are excellent boots. They take a bit of getting use to coming from the SG 10's, but they provide much better protection and are much more durable. As with the SG 10's, they need to be oiled (sealed) every few months in order to keep the water out for our winter riding. We ride in the Northwest where it is wet most of the year so water is an issue with all our stuff.
A couple of my riding partners have the Sidi's and have as much, if not more, water issues with their boots. It's just a fact of riding in our climate.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best boots

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:Was a Alpinestar boot guy for a decade, bought these and was in Heaven

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing boots but $$$$ and plan on new soles

Royal in UT

Comments On Mar 23, 2013:Love the comfort and look of this boot feel great from day one on the bike. The reasons i didn't rate them five stars is the $$$$ and the soles do not hold up well. I keep my pegs decently sharp and these soles notice it. I have heard the sg10s soles hold up better but have never tried them. Make sure you keep an eye on your soles to buy replacements and have your local boot shop install them

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love em

Garrett in AZ

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:First pair lasted 225 hours untill soles were worn through. Just bought another pair. I wear a size 13 NIke which is a little big on me but a 12 gaerne fits perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

rootn-tootn-boots

grant371 in Iowa

Comments On Mar 20, 2013:going on 4 years and prob 150 hours on these super terrific rootn tootn moto boots! i am a very very very very very very super fantastic and good and fast rider!!! so because and i know how grood broots should freel. i did a wheelie to a step down and a jump and hardly knew with broots on my freet. so because it was easy!! i pick black this time as to i might had whit before. so now i pick black. so these broots probaly wont make you a bretter. but i will?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

lange in WI

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:im 30 and this is the first boot i have ever purchased and ive been riding since 12 dumb right? as you can imagine i was used to flex in my ankles so this was wierd to ride in boots. After geting used to boots Ie not bending ankles as much they were so comfy. they bent font to back better than expected and no side to side movement it only took 30 min to an hour to break in, would rec to anybody.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not a comfortable as advertised

Tom in California

Comments On Feb 19, 2013:First off, let me say these are well made boots and the buckles are terrific; way better than the a-star buckles. The fit of the boot is nice, at first, tight around the ankle with thick supportive padding. You have good feel through the sole of the boot. The boot top is a little stiff making difficult to get a good feel on the shift lever, but certainly good enough. However, there are two pressure point area that even after a few rides are still bothersome. One is at the location of the bottom buckle, the other is at the kale bones. Neither of these is apparent at the start of a ride but after a couple of hours, they get really painful. I'm hoping these break in with time, but after two solid days of use, they are still painfu and put a time limit on how long I can ride without taking an hour or so break from the boots. I know people have loved these but I found my a-stars tech 7 more comfortable and user friendly than the sg-12 for longer rides. That said, the support and protection from the sg-12 is more substantial.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These boots rock.

Mike in IA

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:Super comfortable. Easy to adjust.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gaerne boots

MARK in WI

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:Had problems with the gaerne 10, gaerne 12 are much better.Rocky stands behind there products too. You are better off buying from them than the company.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gearne SG12's

Chad in AZ

Comments On Jan 25, 2013:Best price on the SG12's anywhere. Fit and function are far superior. Break in time was fast. Will buy these boots again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gaerne

BRIAN in AZ

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:wow ...fit great....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SG12 = Excellent!

Shawn in AZ

Comments On Jan 13, 2013:I have been a big fan of Alpinestars Tech 8's for several years now. I have gone through two sets in the last four years. After wearing the SG12's, I will probably never go back to the Alpinestars! They fit like a glove...for your feet! And you can not beat the price at Rocky Mountain, and I get a good discount at a local shop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth every penny

Edwin in CA

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:love them love them love them. wow what a difference talk about a boost in confidence.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best boots ever!

MIKE in AZ

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:Didnt have to break them in like most other boots. Fits great and best of all doesnt feel like a typical MC boot, seems lighter and fits more like a tennis shoe

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome boots

Gary in CA

Comments On Nov 27, 2012:These boots are awesome! I have tried thor and then alpinestars and then these and these are by far my favorite brand boot. Ultra tough and flexible enough to shift and brake with ease. I love them, and I just ordered my second pair in white.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excelent boots

Euclides in FL

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:This boot worth the price, comfortable, good protection!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

Jay in WA

Comments On Nov 20, 2012:Really comfortable boot with excellent ankle support.
Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great boots!

krisztian in BC

Comments On Nov 09, 2012:Boots took about 3 hours to break in, where a bit stiff and hard to shift with at first. Once broken in great boot with good flexibilty and feels like it really supports you well, worth the money at rockymountain!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, very comfortable

Jaime in OK

Comments On Nov 07, 2012:I like them very much

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fantastic boot

kyle in RI

Comments On Oct 21, 2012:this boot may be expensive but it offers superior protection and with almost no break in time they earn 5 stars all day long

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Boots!!!

jonathan in IN

Comments On Jul 19, 2012:I have been riding dirt bikes all my life and have had several sets of the cheaper boots. And i have to say these are well worth the money! Wish i would have bought these boots years ago. They have a great feel right out of the box. I feel very planted to my pegs. Honestly never knew how much i would love these boots. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Comfortable Boots

Grant in KS

Comments On Jul 17, 2012:The second i put these boots on they just felt right. The first couple hours of riding i had problems with missed shifts. Once the boots start squeaking when you walk then they are broken in. I wish my boots could go a little tighter in the calf area. I am always getting dirt clods down my boots. I wear size 11 running shoes and my size 11 SG 12s fit perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Customer Service/Shipping

Joseph in WA

Comments On Jul 05, 2012:I placed my order from Australia on a Wednesday. excactly 7 days later I had recieved my Gaerne SG12's to my door. Absolutely unexpexted and extreemly happy with the shipping - even if initially I thought $80 postage was expensive!
The boots are by far the best I have ever worn. They do not run an inner booty but they are equally, if not more comfortable than my previous TCX Pro's.
Have not ridden with them as yet but I know they will be great.
The price of the boots beat any price in the USA by around $50-100. The same boots in Australia are RRP $700.
Well done RMATV, I will be looking at your website again for other purchases!
Joe.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good

Brock in MO

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:they should be good for the price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Out of the box comfort

Robert in MI

Comments On Jul 20, 2011:I was looking for the most comfortable MX boot and I found it. Putting them on day one and my feet feel at home once they get warmed up. Walking around is OK as well, it has just enough movement to walk yet is very supportive of my ankle. These were my top two concerns, comfort and support.
I took away one star from my review due to the latches and overall value. The latches and straps don't feel very high quality. The need readjusting each time and they just feel like they are going to be the weak point that breaks. They are very easy to operate though, on and off. One complaint I saw with other boots that I wanted to avoid was difficult latches and these are very easy to use new. Also for the cost of these I was expecting a bit ..more..
Sizing was good and the boot feels like it can conform a bit to different feet. For reference I usually wear a 11 wide work boot and these in an 11 feel a little roomy with a lot extra at the toe. The boot seems to adapt to my foot well and I can snug it up.
Overall I'm satisfied with them even if they seem a little costly. I would recommend them as a very comfortable boot that you can wear all day without discomfort. They feel supportive enough to prevent injury yet have just enough give to be comfortable. I have some concerns but overall they seem to be exactly what I wanted in a riding boot.
Additional Comments On Oct 23, 2011:After about 80hr of riding in these I will take back any negative comment I've made and move these back to 5 stars. They are worth every cent and I have had zero problems.

Additional Comments On May 30, 2012:Still going strong, love these boots!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

U can feel the difference as soon as u slip it on!

jonathon in MI

Comments On May 16, 2012:These boots r amazing! I've owned just about every boot that has come down the line in my 25 yrs of riding and I have to say NONE compare to the way this boot feels from the second u slip it on... This is real Italian workmanship here... Too bad alpinestars r now made in china ... I'm ditching my brand new pair of tech 8's I just bought for these an will never look back.. The memory foam feels like a bed to my foot an there is so much adjustment to fit anyone I mean anyone's leg... I have huge wide size 12 foot an monster size 21 inch calves and I have room to SPARE in these!! And that is a first for any boot I have owned... I will never buy another boot again Gaerne has done it right with the SG12!!! Thank you Gaerne for make the best boot on this planet!

Additional Comments On May 16, 2012:Comments On May 16, 2012: These boots r amazing! I've owned just about every boot that has come down the line in my 25 yrs of riding and I have to say NONE compare to the way this boot feels from the second u slip it on... This is real Italian workmanship here... Too bad alpinestars r now made in Croatia ... I'm ditching my brand new pair of tech 8's I just bought for these an will never look back.. The memory foam feels like a bed to my foot an there is so much adjustment to fit anyone I mean anyone's leg... I have huge wide size 12 foot an monster size 21 inch calves and I have room to SPARE in these!! And that is a first for any boot I have owned... I will never buy another boot again Gaerne has done it right with the SG12!!! Thank you Gaerne for make the best boot on this planet!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best price on the net...

Matthew in NSW

Comments On May 12, 2012:Great boots which fit and hold to the foot superbly. Size was consistent with other boots and shoes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent boot

Zach in IA

Comments On May 05, 2012:These require a half of day of riding before they feel as comfortable as my SG-10s did out of the box. The ankles were a bit tight, but after the first few hours they felt perfect like they molded to my ankle.
The only thing I feel that could be improved on the boot is the padding behind the shin guard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Epic

scot in HI

Comments On May 02, 2012:Boot is awesome. Feels like more ankle support than the sg10. Didnt ride in them yet. They feel slightly more bulky, but also more protective than the sg10. Either boot is amazing if you are on the fence between new/old model. If price is an issue the sg10 is a great buy. If you want the top of the line boot go with sg12. Cheaper on RM than anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Boot on the Market!

Matthew in VA

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:Finally replaced my old SG10s with a new set of SG12s. I wasn't sure how much better the boots could be compared to the SG10s but Gaerne improved on everything. The boots are very comfortable, well made, and look great. They took about 10 minutes of ride time to break in fully and are very easy to walk around in. The boots are slim and the inner leg area is well designed, nothing to get caught on the bike. They also seem to stay cooler inside than the SG10s and keep water out much better. From my past experience with Gaerne I expect these to last a very long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best product on the market

Denis in NSW

Comments On Mar 11, 2012:Awesome boot, will buy SG boots again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nothing better!

Natalie in UT

Comments On Feb 24, 2012:these boots feel like they were made for me. i bought them after i grew out of my Alpinestars tech 10's. the tech tens were kind of nice i would go race and the buckles would be undone when the race go over i ended up taping them before every ride. the sidi crossfires are also a great boot but still both of these boots do not even comepare to the sg-12's!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great comfort and support

Sam in VIC

Comments On Feb 18, 2012:great boots i have only had a handful of rides on them but so far they seem to be holding up well, the soles don't have a single mark on them and my bike is brand new so the pegs are still quite sharp as for comfort i used to have tech 7's and these are miles ahead of them, more importantly these are more comfy than the sidi's i tried i think i have found a brand i will stick with for a long time

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great boots

Matthew in MD

Comments On Feb 04, 2012:First off I would like to say these boots are very well made and make me feel like feet are indestuctible. I wear a size 11 street shoe and ordered a size 11 without trying them on and they fit perfect. They do feel very snug in the ankle where the memory foam is but in a good way. At first they are very tight but just need a little breaking in. I only have 2 complaints about ordering these boots. When I received them, the gaerne box was inside a brown box for shipping and when I took the gaerne box out it looked like it went through world war 3 to get here. It was all beat up and taped together. Second, when I examined the boots I noticed that a screw was missing from the metal toe cap which isn't a big deal but for a $400+ boot I expect perfection. Overall, I really like them and they feel very protective.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Boot

ALEXANDER in CA

Comments On Jan 08, 2012:I have a wide foot and didn't have too many options for a good riding boot. This one fits me well and has protected my ankle on a serious fall. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because of how expensive it is.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best I have owned

Don in OR

Comments On Oct 05, 2011:Best boot I have owned but also the most expensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best mx boots ever

richard in CA

Comments On Jun 17, 2011:they are the most comfortable mx boots i have ever warn .also very supportive easy to put on buckles very high qualty the entire boot is .would highly recomend

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than Sidi Crossfires for me

RONALD in NM

Comments On Mar 14, 2010:I used Sidi Crossfires for about 3 seasons and they were completely worn out (2 sets of soles). The Sidis were so good it was a very difficult decision to switch to the SG12 but I'm glad I did.
It took about 4 rides for the SG12s to break in so that I could shift properly BUT they have molded to my feet and are the most comfortable boot I've ever worn. My Crossfires were very chunky on the inside where you grip the bike, and the plastic pivot pin c-clip always broke and popped out. The SG12s are very smooth on the bike side of the boot and I can't see anything that is going to constantly break like my Sidis.
Both boots are great but I "feel" safer in the SG12s after coming off of a broken ankle. The SG12s are supposed to be heavier and I was concerned about this but I haven't noticed at all when riding.
Additional Comments On Nov 30, 2010:I see that Sidi's latest Crossfires have a cover over the c-clip that gave me all the trouble. This makes the Sidi/Gaerne decision even more difficult now... After a full season of riding my Gaerne's still feel fresh and supportive. The soles are showing some wear but that is it, every thing else feels just as good as it did right after break in. Great boots!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gaerne SG-12

Robert in TX

Comments On Jul 30, 2010:- I just upgraded to the SG-12's from the Alpinestar Tech 3's and the difference is amazing, there is no comparison.
- The SG-12's form to your foot and ankle immediately and require no break-in period. The gel inserts really support your ankle and foot to greatly reduce injury. Another plus is that you can walk normal in these boots without feeling like a robot.
- The boot design also helps grip the motorcycle and keep it straight through rough terrain. These are highly recommended especially for beginners like myself?.don?t skimp out on boots!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Impressed

Paul in NY

Comments On Mar 07, 2010:The boots are very comfortable and had great protection. These boots are great but the tech 10's are a very close contender. The tech 10's have a smaller toe box making it much easier to shift. These boots have a very tough sole unlike the Alpinestar tech 10's. The tech 10 sole will last well unless you own a Yamaha. Yamaha kick starters are different and it causes your boot to hit the foot peg which will rip a pair of tech 10 soles up real fast but the Gaerne soles hold up to it. I would say get tech 10's unless you own a Yamaha then gaernes are your best bet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

Stephen

Comments On Sep 14, 2009:These are the only boots I will wear from now on. The Memory cell foam is way more supportive and comfortable then a bootie. They allow you to take the boot off easier cause you don't have to hold the bootie. They are easy to put on and strap. They are a little heavier than my old competitive brand boots but you really have to try to notice the difference in weight. Break in is very easy. The pivot system makes them not so stiff. I have the white and they are fairly easy to keep clean. Basically these boots are amazing, worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best boots ever

KAARE in 1

Comments On Jul 09, 2009:Just back from the track using them for the first time. Break inn was easy,just wore them working on my bike for one half hour. they fit snuggly on my feet even before i tigthen the buckels.So i did'nt have tighten them very hard. Not overly stiff like tech8 and others i've tried. good feel with gear shifter and rear breaks.They rubber sides stick wery good to the bike witch i like very mutch.(not every one like this) This can only get better with time. hope they last a long time. :-) start saving up. They are worth it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I honestly want to make out with these boots

Brett in UT

Comments On Mar 24, 2009:These boots are SO comfortable. I don't know what I did without these. Every time you tighten a buckle you can feel the difference in the tightness of the boot in every specific spot. This allows for a very customizable and comfortable fit. The pads on the inside also feel great. The hinge points also make them more comfortable to walk in. The toe is nice and narrow for easy shifting as well. Plus, they just look awesome.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than Tech10's

JOE in WA

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:Gearne slimmed down the fit in the new SG12.Now I fit size 10's perfectly.Wow what a difference,I have been in alpinestars for years(tech 10's for the last four seasons) the SG12's are more comfortable,have better protection and I feel alot more connected to the bike!(I do wear knee braces and they fit better in the Gearne's) Thanks Gearne for producing the best MC boots ever!P.S. the Gearnes are four ounces heaver than Tech10's in a size 10

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great

saule in TN

Comments On Jan 03, 2009:awesome boot. very comfy, but a bit on a heavy side.

Was this review helpful?