Shorai Lithium-Iron Battery

Customer Reviews for Shorai Lithium-Iron Battery

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 43 Reviews

Return to Shorai Lithium-Iron Battery Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shorai Lithium-Iron Battery Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best!

Jimmie C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 XC-W

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:Best battery I have ever had in a bike. It will absolutely blow your mind in the weight difference if all you've ever had was acid based batteries.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Battery

Brandon in TX

Comments On Jul 14, 2014:Has never let me down, lightweight

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Battery and Lightweight

David in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jul 12, 2014:This battery was so light, that one could almost hit himself in the head pulling it out of the box. Worked great in harsh environments on the 2012 WR450F. Purchased another set for the WR250F & DRZ400S !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easiest way to lose weight...

TODD in GA

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:and get your bike started! many thousands of miles on two different bikes definitely worth the $

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome starting power

James in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 12, 2014:This battery is so light and strong. Best battery ever, get the charger with it to make the battery last

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good!!!!!!

Norberto in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI GSX1300R Hayabusa

Comments On May 04, 2014:got that last year its little cold here but no problems so far.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great performance UNTIL...

Robert in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Apr 12, 2014:Performance was excellent... good current, good voltage, strong charge
Battery case is made of a plastic that is NOT resistant to brake cleaner... The top of the battery separated from the bottom... this was an unexpected issue

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lightweight and cranks better than stock battery

tod in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Mar 17, 2014:I highly recommend this battery for any electric-start only KTM owner. Fits well and they include a variety of foam pads to ensure a perfect fit. Noticably lighter than stock. Turns the engine over quicker than the NEW STOCK BATTERY.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth the $

David in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Feb 22, 2014:weight savings is sweet! been using almost a year with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This thing is the BOMB!!

Brad in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 18, 2014:Small, powerful and lightweight, cranks the engine over faster than when the bike was new. This a is a great replacement part or upgrade!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looking for a light weight battery

PHILLIP in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

Comments On Feb 08, 2014:Great product kranks better than stock battery saves weight to will buy agin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Battery

Caleb in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI ZR750K (Z750S)

Comments On Jan 24, 2014:Super light weight compaired to the stock battery. Awesome power, starts right up everytime. Had issues with power draining on the first one but was replaced with no charge. Will never go back to an acid battery.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product!

Nicklaus in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Nov 11, 2013:Battery was very light and very powerful! I don't ride a lot so after a couple years it started wearing down but first two years it would start the bike cold no matter what! Great Battery!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Mike in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Sep 22, 2013:Its light as hell and works great. Starts my 450 even in the cold. Never an issue. Get one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Crazy Light, Cranks hard, and drains slow

Jess in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 700XX

Comments On Sep 10, 2013:What more do you need? This battery is the best item for big compression / big displacement quads. No more hesitation when cranking it over.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cranks Harder Now

Kyle in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:My stock battery finally bit the dust. Put the Shorai in and it starts much quicker as it cranks harder. I can't feel the weight difference, but I wasn't expecting to be able to. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

John in Massachusetts – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Sep 02, 2013:Just got my Shorai battery for my 2008 KTM 450sxf and it is awesome. It came with extra padding for my battery box and it fits like a glove. The battery is so light and has a lot of power to start my thumper easily in gear without hesitation! Love love it, thank you Shorai for a great product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow !!

lesly christophe in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Aug 16, 2013:I'm amazed !! It's the first time that I purchased a new battery that spins my engine so fast every time! I use to pull the decompressor lever to help the starter so the bike could start. Now all this is over with that super light and compact battery! It also comes with those different size pads that assure a perfect fit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Battery

travis in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 XC-W

Comments On May 29, 2013:Always had problems with batteries holding charge due to my fan running all the time while riding in hot weather. This battery has never even come close to dying. Excellent purchase - I would rather buy one of these then three of the cheaper ones.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enough Power for the Big Bore

SHANE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On May 14, 2013:I have my KTM with a 570 kit in it. I tried the 4 cell Ballistic battery but it wouldn't hardly spin the motor. I replaced it with the shorai and it hasn't missed a beat. I am really impressed with the way the battery is packed. It has different foam cutouts that can be placed in your bikes battery box so the battery fits tights. Attention to little details like that make this battery worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect purchase

james in MI

Comments On Apr 01, 2013:arrived on time, fit is spot on ,the foam sheets make the fit perfect do not have to worry about battery moving, and they supply you with way more than you need.Will be buying charger for this in the future, but for now could not be happier with purchase.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Strong and light battery

Frank in AZ

Comments On Mar 28, 2013:My bike has an e-start and I have taken a few riding classes where I am starting the bike 10 to 15 times in an hour. The battery never seems to fade under this extreme use. It's also a fraction of the weight of original battery.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works but one went bad

JIM in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:I have had two 9 amp models and they seem to be ok. not sure if I would put it on my 4 strokes. but on the 300 it works fine. Strange that it seems to spin better after you use it a little.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awesome...worth every penny!

Eric in New Mexico – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Mar 11, 2013:This battery is so light that it feels empty. It has always started my bike through the whole year and has never been charged with a charger. It is even a little smaller, allowing you to move its location. It comes with many spacer cushions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! Best item I have bought in a long time

Brian in AZ

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:This battery is so light weight and powerful.. Wish I would have bought this earlier. Its worth every penny spent.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best ever

Edwin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:this is the best battery ever i run a fan a head light this battery does not skip a beat. when it is 15 degrees out side this battery still works. i wish i could give it 10 stars

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great battery

JASON in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 POLARIS OUTLAW 90

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:Have tried a coulple different lithium batteries. This one by a far margin is the best one I have found.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

alot of reliable power

CLARK in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:wow so small, but very powerful battery. i will never go back to a traditional battery again. great product, a must have for all offroad enthusiests

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Light and reliable

Randy in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:Wow am I impressed. The battery came with an assortment of fitting pads, making installation a breeze. I have had this for quite a while now and it has worked flawlessly. It cranks hard, even cold. It is remarkable because it is so light. Not only that, it holds its charge much longer than conventional batteries and it looks like it withstands the pounding of off-road riding way better. I will never go back to lead-acid or gel. It is well worth the extra few dollars.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works grate.

BRIAN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YFZ450R

Comments On Nov 16, 2012:Work grate. My HID lights do not flicker if I stall out then hit the starter. 5/5 star.
Also lighter and smaller then stock!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good idea poor product

Jeffery in FL

Comments On Oct 11, 2012:I have been through two batteries each lasted 3 months. I have ran conventional batteries for years and they last 4 years of heavy use. This battery does not stand up to competition off road racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money!

Tim in NC

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:This battery does the job! It may seem a little pricey, but gone are the days of pressing the start button and only to be dissapointed. My wife races in harescrambles with this bike and it starts quick every time. This battery combined with a Rekluse = instant holeshot.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Go Lithium, its the future, and for a good reason

KENT in ID

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:I can't compare the Shorai lithium battery to the other lithiums sold here, but if you are wondering if lithium in general is worth the price, I say yes. My Shorai Lithium battery is as advertised: (1) dramatically lighter in weight (two pounds lighter of very high weight under the seat on my 2009 KTM 300 EX-C), (2) faster turn over rate so the bike starts instantly (by starting instantly it doesn't have to turn over as many times, so the battery lasts longer and never needs recharged) and (3) I haven't had to recharge it in the 7 months I've owned it. I frequently had to help out the stock battery (non-lithium) by charging it if the bike sat too long or if I had to start it too many times on a ride. This Shorai has easily recharged itself from the bike while riding. Lithium is pricey but it is worth it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Battery

Mubeen in NC

Comments On May 04, 2012:Excellent quality and good weight savings.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cures finicky starting

Fitzhugh L in FL

Comments On Apr 03, 2012:After trying both a Walmart battery and then an OEM battery that both failed, I tried the Lithium-Iron battery in my Yamaha WR450F - an always finicky starter. When I got it, I thought "way too light to work" - wrong! Last week I did four days of putting up and taking down arrows for an enduro. This meant riding up to a tree, killing the engine, tacking the arrow, and re-starting while in gear. I must have done this about 500+ times with very little constant running to re-charge the battery. The Shorai got the big 4-stroke running instantly every time, which makes it well worth the extra money it costs. At the end of all this, the battery is fully charged - outstanding!!! Time will tell if storing the bike ruins this battery.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works very well.

Thomas in UT

Comments On Mar 11, 2012:Purchased this for my Vulcan 900. This is the heavy-duty version and is $20 less at RMATV than on the Shorai site.
Lighter and smaller than the stock lead-acid. Bike fired right up after install with no problem. Fired up the bike after a cold night with no problem. Spendy for a battery but I'm happy so far. Hope it lasts for many years.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!!!

leo in CA

Comments On Feb 24, 2012:Using this on a 2010 Husaberg Fe390. Bike wouldn't start in gear reliably with the stock battery. Now, no problems. Great value, RMATV has an awesome price! Make sure to order the correct battery as there are some where the + and - terminal are switched and can create a headache.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2009 crf450x

JOHN in CA

Comments On Feb 10, 2012:Great battery ! The bike starts better and a lot lighter than stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great battery

Michael in CA

Comments On Jan 24, 2012:This battery is amazingly light and has better cranking amps than the stock bettery in the KFX450r, definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS AN AWESOME BATTERY

Chris in CA

Comments On Jan 21, 2012:This battery will not let you down like stock batteries do!
A must have battery for desert racing specially when you have dead engine starts, you'll be the first one to the end of the bomb.
.....and is lighter than stock making your bike lighter!
I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

This battery makes my KTM 300 start INSTANTLY..

Brad in FL

Comments On Dec 24, 2011:I have a 2011 KTM 300 XC and the stock battery works OK if the bike is warmed up but if the clutch drags at all the starter may not turn over fast enough to start the bike. If the bike cools off the starter may not get it done which means you have to find neutral or you have to kick start the bike.
If you race Hare Scrambles that have a dead engine start then you can see the importance of getting the bike to start instantly in gear with the clutch pulled in. So I bought the Shorai LFX14L2-BS12 battery and it is amazingly powerful. It is much lighter than stock and is smaller they give you foam spacers that self adhere to the battery so you can make it fit perfectly. Shorai seems to think of every thing down to the nuts and bolts. There are little foam blocks on the bottom of the nuts so they stay up and stay put so the bolts are easy to get threaded. If you have put many batteries in you know what I am talking about. Very quality!
OK, so I dropped the battery in my 300 and hit the starter and with the bike cold it spins the engine over super fast. The bike now starts instantly with this battery even when cold. Clutch drag is not a factor. I am very pleased and I highly recommend this battery. It is well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Dec 24, 2011:Seems to crank just as strong as a stock ktm battery. Its basically half the size of a stock battery, and you'd have to feel it to believe how light it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so light!

Mike in CA

Comments On Nov 09, 2011:lighter than expected and cranks faster. I am glad I bought this!

Was this review helpful?