Tusk Quiet-Glide Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Tusk Quiet-Glide Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 25 Reviews

Return to Tusk Quiet-Glide Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Quiet-Glide Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Frank in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Apr 07, 2014:Great skid plate Ordered another one for my new RZR 570.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It fits a jagged x

Dusty in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 4 900

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:I bought this for my jagged x rzr. I was really impressed with the quality of the product very easy to install yes it fits the jagged x awesome Sid all around. I took it out it held up to some mean trails thank you tusk and thank you rock mt for your service and products

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk skid for the jagged x

Dusty in Oklahoma – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 4 900

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:I got this skid plate for my jagged x it fits perfect had no problems to install package was roughed up but all my supplies was there ..... I took it out crawling worked great no more snag on the bottom felt very protected.held up to some rough stuff thanks tusk... And thank to rocky mt for the great customer service and products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

ron in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 4 900

Comments On Dec 23, 2013:Was almost perfect just two of the skid plate holes didnt line up just had to redrill them,wasnt real big deal drilling holes anyway!

Additional Comments On Dec 23, 2013:package was a little rough ,hard wear had been opened but all but a few bolts were there , skid plate it self fit good only two bolts didnt line up had to redrill them not a real big deal since i was drilling holes already, looks good and tuff ! I would buy again for price and free shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great skid plate

SANTANA in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:this thing has saved me from many things. it well worth the money and was the cheapest I found

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great fit

ryan in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 4 900

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:skid plate fit machine very good and EZ install!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Quality Product

Gordon in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER RZR 570

Comments On Aug 30, 2013:I Installed The Tusk Skid Plate on My RZR Yesterday Seems to be A High Quality Product and The Instructions were Ok & Everything Fit as it should even the Hardware appeared to be High Quality,The Tusk Skid Plate Offers Much more Coverage/Protection Than The Stock Plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2,000 miles of rocky trails and it worked great.

Michael in Arkansas – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On May 29, 2013:It was easy to install and worked great. We ride lots of rocky trails in Arkansas with lots of creek crossing with hidden rocks. After the first oil change I did drill some new holes where I could change the fluids and it helped the mud drain out too. I traded and now have a new 2013 RZR and need another full skid plate, I just don't remember the first one being so expensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Average but nothing better

JOREN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:First of all I read the reviews on many skid plates when I was trying to decide which one for purchase. The Tusk seemed great. Was I wrong. I dont know if the people who bought this got something way different than me but it wasnt a simple install. 1. To drill any of the hole you will need a center punch 2. The skid plate needs to be bent like the stock one for proper fit, I hope the 4 bolts on the rocker panel dont break on the trail, the holes dont line up, it can be seen that a cross threaded bolt isnt proper and could break off. I had to remove the right side rocker panel and drill the holes out on the skid plate. The driver side wasnt much better. 3. The drain hole on the rear of the front skid plate is half a hole off, thus when the time comes to drain it you will not be able to remove the plug. 4. Install takes a few hours dont be fooled by the reviews. I would have returned it if I knew it would be that much of a hassle. The rear diff skid mounts okay but its work from that point.
Overall I just hope it doesnt break and lasts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plates

Elizabeth in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Jan 26, 2013:I got the Tusk Quiet Glide 3/8" thick skid plate. It's good and sturdy. I was surprised at how heavy the material is. The install was simple. The only small difficulty was the self tapping screws under the rocker panels. They didn't quite line up exactly right. No big deal, but a small annoyance none the less. Very pleased with the plates. I would buy these again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy install, Good bottom protection.

Vern in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:Plate install easily. Covers much better than stock piece of junk. Could use more oil and fluid drain holes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This skid plate is awesome!

Jason in IN

Comments On Nov 07, 2012:This is a must have product if you want to protect your machine. I have beat the crap out of mine and you cant even tell it. These molded plastic ones are the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WAAAAAAAY better than stock

paul in KS

Comments On Sep 21, 2012:This skidplate fit my 08 RZR perfectly! Stood up to everything I put it through in Colorado this year! Like I said, much stronger than stock. 5 stars!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Massive failure

Matthew in NY

Comments On Aug 12, 2012:These skid plates do a horrible job of protecting the underside of my RZR. On a recent trail ride a root broke the entire front half of the skid plate off and then punctured through my floor boards and almost impaled my passenger. Horrible product.

Additional Comments On Aug 14, 2012:After speaking with Tusk, they warrantied my skid plate and replaced it. Tusk and rocky mountain continue to impress me with their excellent customer service. If anyone is considering these skid plates and you ride on rough terrain often, invest in the .5" thick skid plates.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must have

Brian in WV

Comments On May 19, 2012:This is a must have for any RZR owner. Should be one of the first things to buy along with a winch. Hardest thing about install was finding easy way to access bottom of RZR with out laying on the ground. Protects everything but A-Arms. Wish I would have bought it sooner.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid, Great fit, Great price

Riley in SK

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:This is a great skid plate system, fits like a glove! does require some drilling for install but nothing serious. only had 1 problem on the install, but it was polaris' problem not tusks, one of the original bolts (which you have to reuse for the new skid) broke off in the frame...overall i would rate the install a 3 out of 10 for difficulty and the product itself a 9.5 out of 10! looks like it could run over a land mine and be alright (compared to the stock junk) cant wait to test it out

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Instructions need clarifications

John in CO

Comments On Feb 29, 2012:Product arrive quickly and cost was less that the Factory UTV skid I have on another rzr. Just as Easy to install as the Factory UTV Brand Skid, but watch out to not pentrate all the way through side rails when drilling as instructed. The angle of my drill was off a little and I nicked a $750 RZR XP tank. Ultimately my fault....But instructions should warn of potential hazard as the Factory UTV skid instructions do so and you are aware of it.... Rocky mountain did give me a $50 credit for my troubles. Had I not been able to self repair the tank in my garage, I would have been a little more upset.
TECH NOTE: Instructions have been updated to warn of potential to hit fuel tank.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome skid plate

Darik in WA

Comments On Feb 08, 2012:We bought this for our 2010 rzr 4 and it is awesome. Took about two hours to install it by myself. I used a chain lift and picked up the front end of the rzr about 6 feet. We ride in the mountains and I run over everything! Now I slide over stumps and rocks with ease instead of getting hung up! If you ride hard you need this skid plate!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough tough tough

Stan in ID

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:This UHMW skid has been unbelievable! My RZR is so low it hits every rock on the trail and thanks to my quiet glide...i'm not worried...at all! I have hit some things pretty hard andslid right over the top. the price is right and though it is scratched up a little, it keeps on keepin on! the 3/8 inch skid is on the wifes RZR and i put the 1/2 inch heavy duty on mine. if you have an RZR you need a UHMW skid

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not an easy install

NATHAN in MO

Comments On Jun 26, 2011:How much more money would it cost to provide instructions with photos that you can actually see? Had to cut and trim on it to get it to line up with holes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must Have!! Waaaaaay Better Than Aluminum!!

JONATHAN in MN

Comments On Jun 15, 2011:I've now had this skid on for over 2000 miles of serious abuse and it still looks great. The main benefit of this material over aluminum is that it will allow you to glide over rocks that would normally stop you in your tracks with aluminum. Some folks are concerned about the 2 pc main skid design, but the way the two are attached and over lap, it's a non-issue. Buy this skid and never look back!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a must!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Where i ride, you have to use the bottom to slide over and off rocks. I am extremely happy with this purchase. i beat the crap out of it and it hardly shows. if you have a UTV and ride in rocks, you have to have this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rzr skid plate

jim in ID

Comments On May 25, 2010:installed easy no problems

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Smooth and Tough

Glenn in CA

Comments On Apr 26, 2010:Easy to install, very tough material,I don't forsee anything coming through this thing. Looks good, and it covers all the way out to the sides, which will save me having to buy rock sliders. Can't beat the price for such a good product.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Product for the RZR

Craig in AE

Comments On Nov 11, 2009:The fit is perfect and the strength is amazing. I had an aluminum plate on my RZR before this one and it was noisy,hung up on rocks and eventually got too bent up. This plate is way quieter when it hits the rocks and tends to slide right over them without getting hung up. Great quality at a great price, Thank You Tusk!!!

Was this review helpful?