Dunlop MX71 Geomax Hard Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop MX71 Geomax Hard Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 69 Reviews

Return to Dunlop MX71 Geomax Hard Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop MX71 Geomax Hard Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA XR100R

Comments On Apr 20, 2014:It has been a good tire for my sons bike. It seems to be wearing well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great performance

Josh in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Apr 11, 2014:these tires work great on hard pack, as they say they do. Hooks up really well and amazing power to ground. They are also holding up pretty well, not ripping off or rounding out much in 5 rides. I ride alot of hard dry dirt, but sometimes it turns to powder dust, and the tires do seem to want to wash in the front on me when getting into the loose dusty powder. Running MX71 in front and back

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome! !!

joe in Kentucky – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:I have been through some tires none have lasted this tire has not good is slop but it says hard terrain and it is perfect for rocks roots hall roads hard dirt corners and goes if it ever wears definitely getting another one I ride west Kentucky trails

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires!

Bryson in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Apr 05, 2014:Stick good and don't wear out fast!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire.

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 14, 2014:Holds up well. No flats yet from riding single track. Rounds off a bit fast but otherwise great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than the intermediate

braden in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:lasts a little longer than the intermediate, but I think there are some better choices out there.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best tire

chad in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2013:I have never been disappointed with the products purchased at Rocky mountain. They give back to the community and have my business.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front Tire

Derek in Pennsylvania – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF150R

Comments On Oct 09, 2013:I got these for my son and he loves them. VERY puncture resistant.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tires ever

Larry in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Sep 20, 2013:Love dunlop will never go away again after seeing these tires hook up

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wrong tire for woods

EINAR in WA

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:I live in the Northwest, and this front tire washes out and inspires little confidence.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX71 Trail Riding

Rob in New York – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 150 SX

Comments On Sep 06, 2013:I use my 2009 KTM 150SX for fun trail ridind and was not happy with my last softer front Pirelli tire that ripped knobbies off in a row of 5 at a time! The MX71 is still in one piece after 5 rides over the same rocks and trails so I'd say it's darn good. Not a 5 star because the front end washes out a little when the bike needs to turn sharply but thats the trade off in picking a hard tire that won't chunk off?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mx71

Keaton in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Great tire in hard packed tracks and not to bad in the loose tracks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty awesome

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:love it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hard Tire

Rob and Kristen in CO

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:Holds up well to rough terrain (Tincup Pitkin County, CO type stuff), but way harder to get on and off and I liked riding the intermediate better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MX71 Front

Christa in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Aug 19, 2013:This tire rocks in every terrain! I have ran almost all of them and I always find myself crawling back to this tire. Works in rocks, sand, mud and is the best in those situations where the soil is just right after it rains. If you do enduro riding where you come along at least 4 different terrains this is the tire to run! Plus it's awesome at the MX tracks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very durable

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:lasts a long time and grips well . i will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Confidence inspiring, hold up well

Larry in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:Put on rm250. Really stick in corners, even though a " intermediate / hard terrain compound" . Ride mostly dry rocky terrain with lots of deep silt and no twitchiness at all. Much more stable than Pirelli mx extra x's I had. Wearing very well so far , should last quite some time. RMMC killed everybody price wise.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesnt wear well.

David in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:I used this tire for riding hard pack trails with rock, and it did not wear well at all. We all know that edge is gone after the first ride but this looked like my michelins after 3 or 4 rides after just the first ride. Really wasnt impressed with how it hooked up either even when brand new

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop quality.

Ryan in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RM85L

Comments On Jul 20, 2013:Great tire. cant go wrong with the geomax series

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX71 tire

Chris in BC

Comments On Jul 20, 2013:long lasting tire but when it is time to replace, it is hard to replace by hand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Money!

Austin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 28, 2013:This has been an awesome tire so far. I have 5 or 6 rides on it and I haven't noticed it pushing in the corners yet! Iâ??ve ridden Maxxis for years but their front tire doesnâ??t even come close to this one. The last Maxxis front tire I had was shot after 4 rides.... MX71 all the way!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

Everardo in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF230F

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:this tire does well in intermediate to hard terrain. but once it gets into the soft stuff, it just moves around, but i didnt expect it to dig in to the extremely loose dirt. overall i am very happy with the tire, i will buy it again, and it wears great, it still looks new after a couple months of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

mixed feelings

MATTHEW in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 250 EXC

Comments On Dec 07, 2012:I like this tire on the rearof my ktm 530 exc. I have it new on the front of the 250exc and I think that the bridgestone hard terrain is better in the rocks. but two different bikes make it hard to say for sure.

Additional Comments On Jun 06, 2013:I do not like this as a front tire. it seems to be stiff and hard to to deal with ruts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX71

Royal in UT

Comments On May 19, 2013:Great all around tire for Utah. Hooks up very well in soft or track prepped conditions. Also handles the off road abuse very well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Carlton in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On May 13, 2013:Great tire lasts very long have put 20 hours on it so far still in great shape

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good grip and fairly durable

JOSHUA in ID

Comments On May 06, 2013:Easy installation good cornering grip

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Jeff in BC

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:Really like this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough

DOUG in NV

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:i use this tire cause it is extremely tough in the conditions of the Nevada Desert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

makes great sand dune tire

Frank in WA

Comments On Mar 17, 2013:It is so much better dune tire than the so called sand mud tires that I have tried. It floats nice and at 8-9 psi still corners good, straight line stability is great. I know its a hard terrain tire but believe me it is a good dune tire and in the 90x199x21 it is wider which also helps the float.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Scott in CO

Comments On Mar 09, 2013:Works great on a variety of surface conditions. Knobs are wearing better than MX51. Running it on a 450 KTM. will buy another one. Tire is directional, so you can't flip it over. Bummer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SIMPLY THE BEST HARD TERRAIN TIRE

RAMON in COA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Mar 07, 2013:THIS IS THE BEST HARD TERRAIN TIRE I EVER USED, IDEAL FOR OFF-ROAD ENDURO, SINCE I USE THIS TIRE I NEVER HAVE A FLAT

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop Tire

Mitchell in MN – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ85

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:This tire works great! Gives me great traction while going around the track.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BAD A$$ Trail /MX tires

Ed in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 20, 2013:My family of riders from 65-450 race bikes use this tire for trails in the harsh granite sand paper trails in Colorado and on the tracks during race season every weekend. This tire holds up to the abuse better than any tire we previously used. With five bikes I used to go through 20 rear tires a season and now I go through 10.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Jordan in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Jan 20, 2013:This is a great tire I would recommend this tire to any one it lasts along time!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Craig in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA TTR125E

Comments On Dec 21, 2012:This tire has been awesome! We ride pretty much every weekend and it has lasted the whole year! well worth it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love hard terrain geomax

JAMES in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:this tire has held up great!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really like the front tire

Adam in IA

Comments On Dec 06, 2012:Seems to work well on a variety of terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice tire

Tyler in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Nov 22, 2012:Tire hooks up well and last way longer than any tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SCOTT in RI – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HUSABERG FE 390

Comments On Nov 17, 2012:Good traction in most conditions. Really good in rocks. Once the side knobs start to go change it. Last me about 2 months of riding every weekend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears like iron!

Billy in CA

Comments On Oct 10, 2012:Great hard terrain tire, last forver..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great hard pack terrain tire.

Jesse in CA

Comments On Sep 21, 2012:Great tire for hard pack terrain. I ride in northern California where even the most groomed MX track turns to hard pack at the end of the day. My YZ450F has never hooked up this well with any other tire.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My go to front tire

Brian in AZ

Comments On Sep 16, 2012:I ride 70% desert both in AZ and Baja and 30% woods single track. This tire lasts! Can make an entire AMRA race season on 2 tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire in along time

SCOTT in WA

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:This thing grips dry, dusty fire roads like crazy! When cornering at high speeds on flat roads and trails, this thing sticks where other tires would break loose and slide out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Geomax MX71 CRF250R

Justin in PA

Comments On Aug 14, 2012:The tire hooks up good on hard packed terrain like on haul road, power lines or well worn in truck paths. O.K. on mid terrain, you can feel the tire spin leaving a corner or under hard acceleration but still pulls hard and gets traction. On very loose pack like sand or silt the tire digs right down and throws dirt out like 10 feet, little traction. On rocks it bites and gets good traction. After i had the tire on for about 3 months, it still has half tread, not one knobby is ripping off or torn. And i ride the roads a lot and still has traction. Good for a long lasting tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good

brian in AZ

Comments On Aug 10, 2012:like the hard compound rear, wish i got a medium for the front

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

derek in CT

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:Love dunlop products..This tire will last you seasons without rplacing. exclent hook up in corners.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop-MX71-Geomax-Hard-Terrain-Tire

LOUIS in LA

Comments On Aug 02, 2012:This is a great tire I put these on all my bikes Never wash out anymore

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears great, traction not so great

Carson in UT

Comments On Jul 30, 2012:So far my tread wear has been better than I expected. My 450 rips up tires on the rocky single-track trails. These have already seen some abuse but no chunking yet. Not as good of traction as I expected but this is also due to super dry trail conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tire

Austin in VA

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:This tire is great if u want a tire that is good for the track and for home and will last a good while.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for AZ

Chad in AZ

Comments On Jun 03, 2012:First time using the MX71 in the rear with great results. Ran a 60 mile enduro with the tire and shows little wear and gripped the AZ rocks perfectly. Ran the Michellin M12's for years, but they wear WAYYY to fast. Still have a Michellin M12 up front that I still prefer in front of me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't mind the hard terrain

Matt in AZ

Comments On Jun 01, 2012:I love this tire, I ride in very rocky hard dusty slippery dirt 8 months of the year and this tire makes it bearable.The MX 71 is the best front tire I have ever used for hard pack.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Brian in AZ

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:The hard Terran tire is great on the back, would not Recommend for the front. Did both and the front washed out often in the hard pack AZ desert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Happy with this tire

Tiffanie in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:This is a good tire! Very pleased with it. Reasonably priced, as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good front, not so good rear.

Daniel in NV

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:The MX71 front tire on my bike works great and its been lasting pretty long so far. I was pretty disappointed on the life of the rear tire and they wore down pretty quickly. I'll be trying out a rear MX51 here pretty soon to compare.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MX71 on a ktm 450 08 exc

tony in VIC

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:I put this on as a summer tyre re dry and rocky but big rains came and I was surprised at how well it also handled the hard wet clay. not for off my mx 51 and lasts better. happy camper

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PRODUCT

Mike in CO

Comments On Feb 01, 2012:really good on hard terrain works pretty good in sand also.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best track tire out there

BRENT in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:This is my new favorite tire. The front is excellent in almost anything, and the rear is comparable to the MX51, and might even last longer. Excellent tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop-MX71-Geomax-Hard-Terrain-Tire

James in NV

Comments On Jan 03, 2012:I like the tread design. Tire works good in rocky terrain.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop MX71

Jeff in NM

Comments On Sep 06, 2011: Never a problem at all. I get six months out of each set I buy. Can't go wrong with these!!!!
Jeff in NM

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A.K.A. "The Donelop"

Stephen in NV

Comments On Aug 12, 2011:I live in Northern Nevada and the terrain here has a large variety of every type of desert conditions you can think of. After hearing the rave about this tire in Dirt Bike magazine I figured I'd give it a shot. Well, I'm extremely disappointed with this tire. I was only getting about 100-120 miles out of the tire, then knobs were shot and the tire turned into a slick basically. If you enjoy riding on the beaches in Baja then this tire is for you and will probably last forever but for the ultimate desert tire, my money is on the Maxxis Desert IT, nuff said.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire for AZ.

RYAN in AZ

Comments On Jul 13, 2011: I'm running this tire on my YZ426 and after 4 months it still got good knobs. Better then the Maxxis IT Desert IMO. Tire hooks up great on sigle track and on tight turns I rocket out of with very little spin. Well be buying again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tire hooks up Great!!

Mike in OH

Comments On Jun 30, 2011:Installed tire on a lil RM80 and bike picks up 1st-4th now... Love it!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

MX71 front

Clinton in ID

Comments On Jun 19, 2011:I ride in the high desert mountains, lots of rocks, and powder on hardpack. This tire has been very consistant with good feedback, it is easy for me to tell if traction is getting scketchy, and back-off, instead off a nasty washout. With my experience with this tire, I'd say the new generation of Dunlop tires are tought to beat if matched to the right terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My two cents on the mx71

CHRIS in CA

Comments On Jun 12, 2011:I purchased this tire for an upcoming dualsport ride 3 weeks ahead of time. By the time the ride weekend came it was going to rain cats and dogs. I had already mounted the tire up, so I went with it. Definitely not the right tire for any kind of mud that has a clay base to it. I rode 140 miles on saturday in the pouring rain. I would hit patches of red dirt on some of the fire roads that was just like black ice. The tire would pack up with the mud and not be able to clean itself out. Until I got used to the black ice feeling , i almost went down several times. After riding 140 miles on the tire, it showed little wear. When I purchase a tire for dual sport riding, I try and cover a wide range of conditions with it. This is just not the right tire for any type of wet conditions. Usually I use the dunlop 739fa , but rocky mount does not carry that one. The tire seems to have a stiff side wall, when things dry out I will be able to try it in drier conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great front tire

MICHAEL in CO

Comments On Jun 05, 2011:this front tire is definitely confidence inspiring as far as sticking @ drastic lean angles.It is very stable under heavy braking on hard pack too. I know this tire is designed for blue groove, but the rear really is not good (bad) for deep, soft dirt. I run this MX71 in front with a mid/soft in the rear position.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Tire

CHRIS in AZ

Comments On Feb 23, 2011:I did the 90 plus mile Tecate Enduro on them and couple of local rides. They do well in rocks not much bite in the sand though. They have held up.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So far...Best hard terrain tire going.

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jan 27, 2011:2007 YZ250. I ride very techincal single tract and race hare scrambles. I recorded over 30 hours of use on the rear and near 45 on the front! I used to run the Kenda Carlsbad tires but since those are not made any longer, went with these and am very happy. Dirt Rider Magazine just put these on all their bikes in the recent 250 shoot-out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best hard terrrain

JAMIE in TX

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:may not hook up as good as bridgestone 22 but last a lot longer and doesnt break knobbies off

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

amazing tread

SHARON in PA

Comments On Jun 02, 2010:this tire is amazing the tread is so thick it hooks up like no other tire best tire i ever had

Was this review helpful?