Shinko 244 Series Dual Sport Tire

Customer Reviews for Shinko 244 Series Dual Sport Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 11 Reviews

Return to Shinko 244 Series Dual Sport Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shinko 244 Series Dual Sport Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!!

Debra in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Jun 25, 2014:Tire works awesome!! No problems or complaints!!! Great price!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Almost the perfect DS tire.

Daniel in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR250R

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:Feels nice and smooth on the road , and off road will get the job done in everything except mud. Dual sporting is always a compromise and I will take this tire over a super fast wearing DOT knobby any time , on the DS its all about taking a relaxing trail ride, not blasting berms and digging ruts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Glad I got these

Alan in MS – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLX250S

Comments On Apr 17, 2014:I debated and debated which tires to go with to replace the stock Dunlop D605 that came on my KLX250s. I'm not disappointed with these tires. So far so good. I was looking for a 50/50 street dirt tire and these fit the bill nicely. On the road they are smooth with very little side to side movement. On rough pavement they tend to track in the grooves but don't feel unstable. On the dirt they are awesome. The 250 is not known for its power to break traction, but these tires will break traction just enough to allow for a little slide the in the corners on a gravel road. But they are still controllable. They are squirelly on deep gravel though and sand is not their friend. But on roads, hard pack, loose dirt, and some gravel, they do great. They are perfect for my riding style.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great off road, Poor on road.

David in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 13, 2014:I purchased this tire as a replacement for the stock front Dunlop K270. I ride mostly to work, 13 to and 4 miles from on all pavement. The reason for the purchase was for hunting season. I utilize my motorcycle to deer hunt and was looking for a bit more aggressive front tire for off road and the purchase was made mid season.
On road performance is dicey. It feels as if you are riding in sand. The front tire is all over the place. I have checked for loose bolts and all the normal things. Off road the tire performs excellently and i have absolutely no complaints in sand, powder dirt, dirt, gravel, and rock. I have tried all combinations of tire pressures, from the manufactures suggested pressure to the bike pressure, above and below. To no avail the tire still feels like sand. The tire does seem to be better after 5-10 miles on the highway, however it is not as good as the stock tire, and I am very hesitance to go over 60 mph or take a corner as I did with the k270, in West Texas this is an issue since the slowest speed limit is 65 mph. I installed the tire at 6,828 miles and right now i have 7, 480 miles. The tire started with 11/32 and is now down to 10/32. Because of the on road performance I will not purchase this same tire and will be removing this one soon and choosing another tire. It was extremely easy to install, and was balanced right out of the box. As always shipping was super fast and very effective.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleased

Justin in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 12, 2013:90% Dirt + Short Commute. On my second set. Seemingly less traction than the Kenda 270 but lasts longer. 4k miles on the rear. 5k on the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Replaced stock front on TW200

Matt in AR

Comments On Nov 25, 2013:I've put over 3,000 miles on this since June and it's been nothing short of excellent. The stock front would slide on gravel roads and this one plants the front end firmly in the gravel. The tread is holding up great even though my riding style is 75% pavement. I highly recommend this tire for the TW200.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great deal

Joshua in OR

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:I commute every day on these tires then hit the trails on the weekend with them. They work. Not the best but by far the best deal. For their price they preform very well both on and off road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire with long life

KEITH in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:So glad I found and tried this tire, great off road performance and long life on my daily commute.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

KILLER TIRE!!!

Kenneth Lawrence in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:If anyone wants some good advice *Buy some of these tires INSTEAD of the MEFO 99's - these are KILLER TIRES - @ a really GREAT price.
Kenny.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good tires

Randal in Idaho – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:I bought front and rear 244s. After pinching 2 tubes, I had local shop install for $15 each. Seemed a little squirrily at first, but now seem to grip the pavement and have performed well off road. I got a "bounce" on the highway and put the beads in, it is better, but still a little out of balance. We'll see how long they last. Look good after about 350 miles on and off road.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The best tire for 50/50 dual sport use.

David in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On May 15, 2013:The Shinko 244 tires are by far the best deal out there for a 50/50 dual sport tire. These truly work equally as good on all types of pavement, plus gravel, dirt, sand and mud. I am on my second rear 244. I got 5,000 solid miles out of my first rear tire and my front looks like it's got over 90% of the tread left after 5,000 miles. I can literally drag my footpegs on my KLR650 on dry pavement, and wet pavement doesn't give any surprises. I've ridden every type of surface on these tires except ice and I strongly recommend them. The mileage they give you combined with the lowest price tire you can find makes me wonder why anyone would even think of another tire. You can spend hundreds more on tires that won't outperform the 244's for traction or life span.

Was this review helpful?