Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal

Customer Reviews for Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 215 Reviews

Return to Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Brake Pad - Sintered Metal Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AAAAA++++++

Richard in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Aug 12, 2014:AAAAA++++++

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price but Short Life

JOSHUA in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Jun 25, 2014:Brakes work well and had reliable stopping power but short life of less than 2000 miles of dual sport use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

They stop my bike

Christopher E in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 EXC-F

Comments On Jul 03, 2014:Work great, awesome price. Save your money and buy these instead of something more expensive. I ride bad conditions most of the time (wet woods) so mud gets everywhere; these bad boys have held up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value

Phillip in VA

Comments On Jul 01, 2014:Wears really well. Feels no different than stock pads. Like all Tusk products I have tried, these pads are the equal of more expensive options.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quick to wear out

derek in NJ

Comments On Jun 16, 2014:Lasted about 3 weeks, maybe 15 hours of riding before the pads were completely gone. My friend's lasted less than that. We ride in pretty dirty conditions but come on. I know you get what you pay for but wowzer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price Great Product

NICHOLAS in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 450 4x4

Comments On Jun 05, 2014:Good price for great brake pads

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Gene in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Apr 19, 2014:I have never been let down by any Tusk product. Low prices and great quality. What more could you ask for. Pads last as long as more expensive brands and work as good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Rob in CO

Comments On Apr 16, 2014:As always it was a seamless purchase from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit perfect on honda 350x atc

Michael in PA

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:Perfect fit and they stop the bike with ease!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

paige in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Mar 28, 2014:Works and wears good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome value

CARMEN in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:Great product fast shipping awesome value

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great pads

ben in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:these pads have a great feel and last as long as the OE pads did. I have tried several pads and these are my favorite.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fair at best

Andrew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:You get what you pay for. Cheap brake pads that barely last a season. Don't do it if you're a racer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

really a good deal

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Dec 26, 2013:Great brake pads for the price and easy on the rotors. have them on all our units

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stopping power

SANTANA in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:work great. great price will use again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great replacement pads

Josh in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 400 XC-W

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:great replacement pads

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake pads

KOREY in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 500 4x4 FOREMAN

Comments On Nov 28, 2013:These are a very durable brake pad. Fitment is great and I have put many miles on them and they are holding up great. They are a great buy for the price and the durability.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good price

anthony in PA

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:ok stopping power

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Go with better pads

MIKE in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Nov 13, 2013:These pads are no better than the cheapest pads you can buy. Do yourself a favor and buy decent pads.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

brake pads

SCOTT in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 XC-F

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:inexpensive and long lasting. no squeeking !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:Work fine, good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

blaster pads

Robert in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA BLASTER 200

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:These are good pads but nothing special does the job just fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great for the $$$$

Jess in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 700XX

Comments On Sep 13, 2013:Lasting well especially for the price. Highly recommend these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

Andrew in FL

Comments On Sep 06, 2013:I replaced my name brand pads on two bikes 20+ rides ago with these pads and have been very satisfied. They still have allot of life left and have the same feel, performance, and lifespan as pads twice the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:after trying almost every brand there is no doubt that tusk pads are the best for the money you spend. dont last as long as ebc or other pricey ones but they almost last as long and they are less than half the price. no comparison

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

they work well

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:they work just as good as any others i have used

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great brakes

corey in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI DR-Z 250

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:Great product for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great pads for the price

greg in TX

Comments On Aug 05, 2013:Last just as long as the more expensive brands and perform just as well too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Solid Brakes

Adam in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Aug 02, 2013:I have put these brakes on both of my quads I have had and they work well for me. I ride a lot of trails in Kentucky and need a dependable brake. Each set has lasted me a long time. I will continue to buy them as long as RM keeps selling them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ 125 Pucker power

Austin in WA

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:Been running these pads for about 2 months in Washington sand and mud. For the price they cant be beat. Was running EBC carbon pads that got mushy and faded fast, as well as, wearing out 2 to 3 mm a ride. Those pads lasted about 3 months of hard use. These tusk pads barely wore beyond break in. Have yet to find the fade point, and its been hot out here, hitting the upper 80s most times I'm out. Took a little bit to wear into the old rotor, but once they did they worked great (and still do!). If you run an old rotor make sure to sand it down a little, and then find a good straight to run up and down. I did a 3rd gear run and gun then dragged the brakes to slow down. Be easy on the pedal pressure cause they tend to be touchy and lock up during this period easily. Since break in I have backed off on fluid pressure because the feel is so consistent, and all for a low price. who would have thought?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dissapointed

Don in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 CAN-AM Commander 1000 XT

Comments On Jun 20, 2013:Installed a set of these on my Commander and didn't even get a full days ride before there were no pads left and it was metal to metal. I don't know if the pads just fell off or they worn out so quick either way just incase I got a bad set and have 2 more sets so I put another set on and if they do the same thing it'll be the last set of Tusk brake pads I'll ever buy. I've used alot of Tusk products over the last 20 plus years and have never had an issue so giving them 1 more chance sense I already have another set of these pads at the house.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent brake for the buck

Alex in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:Fit perfectly as expected. Excellent wear time. Good stopping power. Highly recommended over OEM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than what I had

Mark in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:I can't tell how well these brake pads perform, all I can compare them to is worn out pads on a bent rotor. They are holding up well,and stop good even when they're wet, with a new rotor. I'd probably buy the same ones again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk makes great parts

jon in AZ

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:ive used tons of tusk parts. the brake pads didnt let me down either.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid product.

Trenten in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Apr 29, 2013:I will purchase agian.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great brakes

josh in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Apr 24, 2013:love these pads. perfect feel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brake Pad

brad in IL

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

Einar in Washington

Comments On Apr 17, 2013:These pads are great for about one ride. I get 10 times the life out of Renthal or EBC for 3x the price. That makes these pads very expensive

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best price, good quality

JERROD in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:I had no complaints......they did what brakes do at a fraction of OEM or EBC price and wore decent on my quad in all different kinds of muck and slop

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

buy these

JAKE in ID

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:they work well and hold up against water much better than carbon pads.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Pads at a Great Price

Andrew in Florida – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Feb 16, 2013:I replaced my name brand pads with these tusk pads to see how they compared. They broke in quickly and and have excellent grip and feel. I could tell no difference between the tusk and the more expensive pads. They are holding up well on the Mx track and in the woods. And 10hrs of ride time they still have allot of life left. No complaints. Save money and ride more!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Would buy again.

Paul in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 05, 2013:Good pads, held up well on a 450 used for hare scrambles, and had good stopping power, as good as stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad for the price

Andrew in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jan 15, 2013:they had great stopping power but only lasted three hare scrambles and a couple of hours training however i feel that my rotor is the reason because it chewed through a half a set of brand new OEM pads in a 2 hour hare scramble.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Donald in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 CAN-AM Commander 1000 XT

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:Tried these pads after the factory pads went south and these pads lasted just as long or longer than the factory pads did. I ride in alot of mud so the mud eats at the pads but still getting a good 1000 miles out of them or more. The pads are quiet and smooth also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great feel

Michael in HI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Great feel compared to the ones that i replaced. Sold bike before they wore out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Brake Pad

DEAN in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Dec 28, 2012:Product works well and I haven't experienced any issues with them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK pad at a low price

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:I don't think these are as good as OEM, but they don't cost much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AS GOOD AS ANY

JAMES in UT

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:GREAT PADS!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High quality low price

Jacob in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:Nice sintered pads with a low price. They held up well for me in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't Beat the Price

Diane in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Nov 27, 2012:Can't beat the price for these pads. Even if they don't last quite as long as more expensive pads, you can just replace them more often and still end up saving money. Have worked great for me thus far. Good, cheap replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price

CARMINE in CA

Comments On Oct 19, 2012:They stop the bike well and fit great. What more can I ask for. Price was also inpressive. Thanks RM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Make sure your rotors/drum are stainless steel.

Dennis in TX

Comments On Sep 28, 2012:.....if they arent stainless, use carbon pads. If you arent sure, check them with a magnet. Stainless is not magnetic. Great pads for the right application.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Pads for the price

Tyler in KS

Comments On Sep 17, 2012:These pads fit great and are good pads for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like em!

Pat in OR

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:I ride pretty hard which requires durable brakes and this delivered! They survived longer than expected especially with the abusive amount of braking needed when riding the tougher trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

DAVID in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:tusk are great products cheaper than other brands

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

thick pads

Logan in IN

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:real nice stopping power but the pads are so thick it makes alot of drag im hoping itl get better with time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Above average pad

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Hard on the disk but stop well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bargain

Kristin in UT

Comments On Jul 31, 2012:These are actually a nice brake pad and the price is amazing. Used on race bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work well

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:Good stopping power and inexpensive

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

CHUCK in GA

Comments On Jul 17, 2012:Tusk products are the best for the money!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm replacement pads

JEFF in CO

Comments On Jun 26, 2012:Fit was good. Pads last fairly well. Only complaint was they didnt supply the retainer clip with pads that you will need on a KTM. Make sure you save retainer clip from prior pads.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Last longer than carbon

DENNY in UT

Comments On Jun 04, 2012:I like this pad alot more than the carbon they don't sqeul as loud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good pads for the price

Jeramy in VA

Comments On May 27, 2012:I was surprised. I put these on my old XR600 and they did well while riding in both scramble and MX environments. I wouldn't recomment them for serious racing or extreme conditions, but for basic off road riding they do well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

john in MA

Comments On May 28, 2012:they stop good and last good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stops/Wears Well

MICHAEL in CT

Comments On Apr 22, 2012:Great stopping power and excellent wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did not last.

ethan in WA

Comments On Apr 03, 2012:I purchased pads, fit was identical to stock. The pads only lasted 5 hours (stock lasted 38hr) before I was on metal on the piston side. I was riding in muddy conditions, I don't them recommend if you live in western washington. I won't buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horrible, very dissapointed in Tusk

Joshua in NC

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:Ive had great luck with Tusk and Primary Drive products in the past and was hoping these would not dissapoint. I smoked these rear pads in less than 10 hours. I went 35 hours on stock pads and 45+ on EBC's. It was like these things were made of clay. I'm a B class woods racer and take excellent care of my machine but this was just unexcusable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Stopping Power!

Jason in KS

Comments On Mar 29, 2012:Bought these to reoplace a set of EBC carbon pads on the rear brake of my KLR. Waaay better than the EBC's were.
Its a shame Rocky Mountain doesn't have Tusk pads for the front of my KLR!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stopped quickly

jon in PA

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:The tusk brand is good for hard parts, but for brake pads they aren't that great. They stopped great, but they wore out quick. I do ride hard, in alot of mud and creeks, but 20 hrs is pushin it. I wouldn't buy these for my raptor 700 again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good price for the performance

Eric in VA

Comments On Feb 14, 2012:Good pad for the price, wouldn't recommend using them on rear brakes on a sport ATV. A few hard rides in a lot of mud or sand will chew them up. But they are good for front brakes or if your just trail riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Pads!

melanie in OR

Comments On Jan 08, 2012:I bought these brake pads about 8 months ago and they still have alot left and i ride in the sand! overall great pads!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

over heat fast

collin in NV

Comments On Dec 01, 2011:great intial stopping power. but fade fast glaze up and ruined my rotors with in 10 hours. i had over 100 hrs on my last pads. i am not hard on brakes but these were shot way fast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pad on my Dual Sport bike

JEFF in CT

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:I have used these for over a season so far and am very impressed over the stock pads. These work so much better than OEM that it almost felt like I had air in the system with the stock pads (I didn't!). Great price on an upgraded pad. I only used this when dry, no rain riding, no mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not for serious riders!

JEFF in OR

Comments On Nov 13, 2011:I have had good luck with Tusk products in the past, so I decided to try there brake pads. The rear lasted one XC Race, that was about 3.5 hours of continues riding. I am not a brake dragger, I got over 50 hours out of the OEM pads that came on my KTM. So if you are a serious trail hound or MX guy I would pass on the Tusk Pads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked for me

Michael in TX

Comments On Nov 01, 2011:I don't race, but there are times that I test my equipment. I do trail riding, open field riding, and dunes. Braking force is fine. It stopped my TRX400EX which weighs over 400lbs and I am 180lbs. No problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good pads

Michael in TX

Comments On Oct 09, 2011:Cheap and they work well. What more do I need to say.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good inexpensive pad

JAY in VA

Comments On Sep 22, 2011:Put these pads on every machine i have owned at some piont. They are a good pad for the casual ridier, work well in all conditions but didnt last long under extreme conditions where the brakes were used alot. will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Tony in VIC

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:cheap and seems to be working well. perfect fit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stopping power

NATHAN in UT

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:These pads are good they stop a heavy XR600R well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

suck bad

BILLY in WV

Comments On May 20, 2011:I have not even ridden my 400EX 5 times on these brakes and they are shot. Tusk makes good stuff but brakes ain’t one of them don’t waste your money.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great pads

Brent in AZ

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:These brake pads are just as good if not better then any others out there. Not only that they are affordable....racing is expensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

brian in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KTM530

Stan in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:I really like these pads. I try different pads all the time but i keep coming back to these. They work well and they last a long time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

wear out too fast

donald in KY

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:didnt last a month!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Doug in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2011:Perfect fit and easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

ANIELLO in NJ

Comments On Mar 23, 2011:at a fraction of the other brands price , no issues since 2004 to today .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cintered brake pads

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 21, 2011:thease worked great for me i will order them again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No Problems Yet

Evan in IN

Comments On Mar 20, 2011:I don't ride my bike as often as I used to, but these pads are holding up fine for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Last as long as the top brands

Daniel in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:These seem to work as well and last just as long as OEM , or EBC brakes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just as good as my renthal pads

Robert in NY

Comments On Feb 25, 2011:For the price, you can't go wrong. I've raced an entire season on this set of pads and they stop just as well as my Renthal pads. Work great in the mud and stop exceptionally well. I had to adjust my brake pedal height because they locked the wheel up with little effort.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good buy

Vince in PA

Comments On Jan 02, 2011:Fit great work well

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff - Cheap!

GREGORY in MA

Comments On Jan 03, 2011: These pad work as well as any other. I use sintered pads on the rear of all of my machines, and carbon pads up front. All sintered pads sometimes squeak...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product, great price

James in MO

Comments On Dec 24, 2010:We go through alot of brakes racing in the woods. We use up about 4 sets of pads a year. I know that these pads may not last as long as others, but they are easy on the rotors. These pads perform well when the brakes get hot and don't seem to transfer as much heat as others. For what we do, these pads work excellent. If you want pads to last forever buy something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stops and lasts well, wet performance suffers

Joshua in MA

Comments On Dec 10, 2010:I fitted these to the front of my DR250SE. They took a surprisingly long time to bed-in, but after ~300 miles they began to work well. Stopping power is probably about the same or slightly better than stock. I have noticed no abnormal rotor wear. Pad wear is minimal so far (about 3k miles on them). Braking performance is noticeably reduced when they are wet and they occasionally make a bit of noise when wet as well. Not a major issue and they still work fine when wet, but they are more affected by wet weather than stock pads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price

David in FL

Comments On Dec 07, 2010:These are pretty good quality for a basic bark buster, one of the mounts broke on a hard crash on clay which was like hitting concrete, other impacts didn't faze them at all. I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good pad

JAMIE in TX

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:good pad for the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Work good when new, but....

ART in CA

Comments On Oct 12, 2010:These brakes work as good as any when they are new. After a couple of months, they started to squeak. Then there was no feel, either they would not work or just lock up. I took them off and they were no longer that golden color, they were silver. I filed away that silver coating and they work as good as new again.
Additional Comments On Nov 18, 2010:The longer I used the brakes, the more they contaminated the rotor. It got to the point that I had almost no braking power even after filing the pads. I had to sand the rotor to get the slick film off of them. Overshooting the downhill turns at Glen Helen is no fun.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than all but stock.

Zach in CA

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:If you want break pads that work than I have found stock is the only way. All other aftermarket break pads squeak and have no feel. The tusk pads are the only ones with the feel of stock. They just don't last very long and will actually warp once they get down in padding. I still run them though, because at 1/3 the cost of OEM they are cheaper and work just as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

Eric in CO

Comments On Oct 04, 2010:Dude, IGNORE the crummy reviews. '05 CRF450R...I drag my back brake all the time enduro riding and these TUSK's have held up all season. I bought the front and rear sets at the same time, and none of them ever made any noise after months of steady hard use. Almost didn't buy these because of some of the poor reviews, but these stop as good as any I've ever had, whether muddy/wet enduro riding or haulin' on the outdoor MX track. You'll be happy. I'm buying them again, but it'll be awhile, still not even worn halfway thru.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great price

MICHAEL in NC

Comments On Aug 19, 2010:The Sintered metal brake pads are perfect for bikes that run in dirt and water (woods riding). I'd buy them again and again

Was this review helpful?