Alpinestars Bionic Neck Support SB

Customer Reviews for Alpinestars Bionic Neck Support SB

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 40 Reviews

Return to Alpinestars Bionic Neck Support SB Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Alpinestars Bionic Neck Support SB Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Stefani in ID

Comments On Jun 25, 2014:works great for my 14 year old son

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent neck brace

Tony in Connecticut

Comments On Apr 06, 2014:As far as the comfort goes, this brace is excellent. The first time I wore it I had never worn a neck brace. After the first lap I forgot I was wearing it. May all of us never need to test their performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Neck Support

Marshal in IA

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:Seems well made, looks good. No problems with fitment. After a few rides with it, you really don't know its there. Definitely want to order the other strap, the one it comes with is pretty worth less.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Neck Support

Porter in NV

Comments On Mar 05, 2014:This neck support seems to be built well and looks very nice. However, it is a little heavy in the hand, but isn't very noticeable when you wear it. I would recommend buying the A-straps if you are looking for comfort as well as functionality. When ordering this product know that the sizes run big if you are a skinny guy/gal. When you first open the package though it was kind of disappointing because the black part that goes above the neck looks really, for lack of a better term, plasticy but a simple solution of stickers will fix that as well as give it a custom look to it. Great product that can save your life, highly recommend this item!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Vincent in QC

Comments On Nov 21, 2013:very good neck for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good!

BENJAMIN in MD

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:It seemed to run big. I just made large on the size chart but really needed a medium. DEFINITELY buy the straps!!! The straps it comes with are no thicker then shoelaces. All plastic. cleans well. Not uncomfortable in the least.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not so much

Mark in TX

Comments On Jun 07, 2013:I bought this for my son because it got good reviews and was a little cheaper than the Leatt. It didn't fit and the construction was pretty cheap compared to my Leatt brace. I sent it back and ordered him a Leatt as well. In my opinion, there is no comparison. The Leatt is expensive...but you know the saying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Neck Protection

Ronald in PA

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:Excellent, worth every penny knowing the extra protection is there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit, great protection

Eric in Ohio

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:I bought this neck brace because it fit great and was very comfortable. Even when Im riding I dont even notice its there, it stays put and doesnt move around. I recently crashed while flat track racing (quad was shoved into wall and rolled, flipped me off the quad) and Im glad I was wearing it. My neck is a little sore yet (2days after). It could have been alot worse. Thank You Alpinestars!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money. Great fit and finish

Brian in ID

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:I love my neck brace. I can't even tell it's on when doing all my off-road riding. The straps that come with it suck, but it's fairly easy to make a strap that works (much like the one they sell). It is easy to clean and still looks new after a year of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

CHRIS in CO

Comments On Apr 18, 2012:Perfect sold my leatt and the fit o the astar is so much better for my body type. I have a short neck and this fits great

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Medium did not fit, ordered too small.....

Jeffrey in VA

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:I am 6'1" and 203 pounds, chest measures 44.5", reading other reviews I thought for certain the medium would fit since others have said that they run to big. It was too snug, had a little side to side wobble, and I noticed my chin hit the front which is dangerous due to possibility of biting tongue or having a concussion from impact. I liked the overall quality of the product, and I am awaiting the large to be shipped. I am certain that will be the correct sizing. The return process was hassle free and they paid for shipping back to RM and then back to me. Overall I am impressed with alpinestars vs. leatt because the alpinestars does not contact near the collarbone and has plenty of gap between the brace and the collarbone, so I feel it will protect the neck without increasing risk of collarbone fractures.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have

patrick in NM

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:It fits perfectly and is very light. I love the brace and will never ride without it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Saved my life..

ANTHONY in TN

Comments On Oct 10, 2011:This neck brace saved my life the 1st time I used it..I have been riding for a long time and I never had a neck support until recently. The first time I used the brace I had an accident where all the weight from my bike and body was placed on my neck. Thank God I bought the neck brace because it took all the strain and not my neck.. Thanks Alpinestar!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

JUSTIN in PA

Comments On Oct 05, 2011:Fit great, don't even notice that its on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit!!!!

Mark in TN

Comments On Sep 02, 2011:Not bulky and just a great product. Truly recommend if racing or just riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Won't work with Fly Pivotal Roost Guard

Paul in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2011:Didn't have chance to use the brace as it didn't fit with the Fly Racing Pivotal Roost Guard.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bionic neck support

Michael in OH

Comments On Jul 27, 2011:I received my alpinestars bns, and realized right away that I ordered a size too big. I was surprised because im 175 pounds with a fairly muscular build so I chose the medium (I also measured my chest). I called right away and sent it back. I had to pay 20 dollars to send it back to Utah. Im still waiting for my "small" to arrive. But build quality is good. I would give 4 stars out of 5. I don't particularly like the key on the back that locks the spinal support to the main frame. But overall I think its a great product for the money. Pumped to get the right size and ride with it! Great mobility with a helmet. This "poops" on the EVS neck brace lol.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's alright

Neil in UT

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:I don't know if I quite like the alpinestar neckbrace. I'm getting a neckbrace to protect my neck and in doesn't do that on the sides very well. I'd go with a Leatt

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

Gregory in NY

Comments On May 24, 2011:Best neck brace ever stylish and effective I wouldnt wear anything else!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it better than Leatt

Matt in MT

Comments On Apr 19, 2011:I have used both this and the Leatt, I like this one better. The fitment is a bit more tricky with the alpinestars, but once you get the right size I think it works better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bad size!!

Cody in OR

Comments On Dec 28, 2010:I'm 6'1 175 and the medium was way to big, so i got the small it was better but still lose. i wouldt wast your money go with the leatt!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Neck Protection gone bad

Francine in UT

Comments On Dec 18, 2010:The neck brace does not come with the needed straps to hook to the chest protector. The velcro straps given broke in one use, does not have any padding EXTREMLY over priced

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Great, Works Even Better!

Mac in AZ

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:I'm 6'2" 195 lbs and this one fits me a lot better than the Leatt Brace.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another great Alpinestars product

christopher in CO

Comments On Dec 19, 2010:i have to applaud Alpinestars for making a product that fits riders that dont fit the average 5 foot 8 150lbs motocross rider. The size XL fits me and my son who weigh in the 250 range. Thank you alpinestars

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Five Stars

Walter in CA

Comments On Oct 21, 2010:This is typical Alpinestars quality and workmanship. This device is far less restrictive than the other brands yet still gives maximum protection. Five Stars to Alpinestar...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for me

Jim in MA

Comments On Sep 14, 2010:This fits perfectly for me with a Fox airframe. I modified the rear plate of the Fox frame slightly to allow for the short support ridges in the neck support. And zip tied the neck support to that rear panel. Fairly painless. Now it is a one piece unit that I slip my head through - no need to open the neck support at all. Simple.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great neck brace

JOSH in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2010:neck brace fits perfect. Once on you don't even know its there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Didnt like it! Went with the leatt

Josten in UT

Comments On Jun 08, 2010:I am 5'10" 165 lbs! I have a pretty skinny chest! I first went with the medium, thinkin it might be ok! way to big! so got the small! still too big, rocked back and forth and didnt sit right and wasnt right according to the owners manual! So i got the extra small! The extra small fit the best but still didnt like the way the front and back peice fit! I hate how they dont adjust at all, and the padding is too hard! I thought they would be good since chad reed rides with em, although his is free and probably custom made! So I decided to switch to the leatt! best choice ever! I love it! so much more comfortable! it also has different clips to change the length and a shimmy to adjust the back piece! I love it! plus the leatt comes already with the nice strap! the a-stars comes with a cheapo one and makes you buy the nice one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome product

Lee in UT

Comments On May 20, 2010:Im 6'0" 200 pounds and the medium fits me perfect. it feels good and i dont even notice its there. i hope i dont have to use it but im glad i have it .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Fit

DANIEL in AZ

Comments On Apr 22, 2010: This brace is nice. The sizes run Large so if your sizing is on the cusp go smaller I hope I never have to use it but If I do I?m glad it?s there. It also work Perfect with my Ogio hydrator backpack it helps keep the brace in place.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome brace

ALBERT in CA

Comments On Apr 04, 2010:I'm 5'10" 230+ and the size large fits me perfect, it took me less that five minutes to get used to it, I still wear my TLD chest protector and it still fits good.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice looking brace

Shannon in OK

Comments On Mar 08, 2010:This is a really nice looking brace but once again size is a real issue i have a 45 inch chest 5'11" 215 pounds and the large was really loose in rocked on my shoulders 2" between chest and back so i am sending back to try a medium
Additional Comments On Mar 14, 2010:was a really nice looking brace but compared to the leatt braces this brace has very little adjustment unless it fits you perfectly out of the box it probably wont work for you and the medium is so popular it is very hard to get your hands on one if the large is to big i had to go with the leatt brace will see how well i like it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sizes run a little big

Wyatt in IL

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:I ordered a large and it was way too big. I weigh about 175 lbs. The measuring chart put me between a medium or a large. but thanks to RM i didnt have to pay shipping to return it which is a huge plus.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best bang for your buck!

Joanne in VIC

Comments On Jan 20, 2010:Fit is great, finish is good and I barely notice it when I ride.. You only really notice them when your going down hills. In my opinion, these are an essential part of bike safety.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome piece of protection!!!!

MICHAEL in FL

Comments On Jan 17, 2010:Just got done with my first day of riding with my new brace and I was very impressed. I've had the $180 EVS and the $395 Leatt and IMO A-stars did this one right. I felt limited in motion with the Leatt and I like the EVS better but at times I felt hot under the collar while riding. No problems with this brace, great motion and very cool under the collar while riding. I'm sure the $600+ A-star brace maybe a little lighter in weight but for half the price, my wallet sure feels a little heavier. Safe Riding!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Brian in CA

Comments On Jan 11, 2010:As a Desert Racer with District 37 I found this to be the most comfortable barace on the market. IMHO it has to be one of the better built. Leatt Braces limited my range to much and sat right on my coller bones...I bought the Large ABNS and I am 220 pounds and it fit perfectly but I also have a big chest so be careful when ordering!! I raced my first Hare and Hound event of the year yesterday and did not even realize it was on until I went to take it off. I will never ride without it and do not understand why EVERY rider/racer does not use one...Is $290 really worth sitting in a wheel chair the rest of your life? Better yet just talk to somebody that has broken there neck and had to go through a recovery process!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Its alright

PEDRO in NV

Comments On Dec 12, 2009:Its a excellent neck brace...... if it fits. The sizes are very weird and couldnt find one that fit my son. Also this brace is on the heavy side. If compared to the leatt or the other Astar this is very heavy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Neck Brace!

darrell in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2010:I bought 3 one for me and my two sons,Fits better and better price than comparable Leatt brace. They do run large!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

this brace is awsome

kyle in AZ

Comments On Dec 14, 2009:This is the best fitting brace i have tried so far. This brace is much more comfortable than the leatt, especially if you are a larger guy the large size is great. The SB model isnt that much heavier than the carbon fibre one, when your wearing them its not even noticable. The Alpinestar bionic SB is the best bang for your buck in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?