Cometic Top End Gasket Set

Customer Reviews for Cometic Top End Gasket Set

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 204 Reviews

Return to Cometic Top End Gasket Set Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Cometic Top End Gasket Set Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not sure

Everardo in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF230F

Comments On Aug 08, 2014:Not really sure how well these things work because my intake valve bent the first ride after i changed the piston rings but they looked like a high quality product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great gasket

christopher in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ85

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:no leaks and everything worked out great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comes with everything

Brandon in TX

Comments On Jul 14, 2014:Great kit for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great gaskets!

melanie in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:Ive bought cometic gaskets for all of my bikes and have never had a problem! great gaskets!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality!

Thomas in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jun 15, 2014:Good gaskets and seals. worth the extra money. made from great material and hold up well over time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic Top End Gaskets

Oliver in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:Great gaskets, wouldn't use anything else!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KX500 top end gasket kit

scott in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1988 KAWASAKI KX500

Comments On May 28, 2014:Much better then OEM. I have tryed 6 different ones and the Cometic is the best one. It has the metal lip around the cylinder hole. Never leaks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

Matt in NV

Comments On May 20, 2014:I used a Cometic kit on my Cr500, best base gasket period, has the metal in it and won't blow out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Chris in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On May 07, 2014:No leaks, would use again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best aftermarket gaskets!

Brian in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Apr 26, 2014:I did my research before I did my top end and Cometic is the go to brand that big names like Eric Gorr use and recommend. I've been running the top end now for a few months now and no leaks anywhere. Everything was perfect and priced right. Rocky Mountain rules, only takes two days for delivery!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good seal

Kyle in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 200 MXC

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:All gaskets seemed like good quality and will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Eric in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 SUZUKI LT250R QUADRACER

Comments On Apr 10, 2014:Cometic gaskets do a great job sealing. I just did a leak down test and not one leak. I'm very happy and will continue to buy their gaskets in the future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product, Great Price!

Mike in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:I only use Cometic Gaskets in all my bikes! Great product and the price is right too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

adequate quality

Brad in WA

Comments On Feb 18, 2014:This gasket set will do ok most of the time. If you are doing a more difficult job (4 stroke), I would get an OE set.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fit good

MATT in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 1992 YAMAHA YZ80

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:worked great, had no coolant leaks and my top end was back together

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Missing power valve gaskets

Sam in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jan 22, 2014:The Cometic gaskets are nice. However, this kit does not include the power valve gasket on the front of the cylinder. Also, the exhaust gasket o-rings are about as durable as cheese. I ended up going to my local dealer to pickup the correct thickness base gasket, head pipe o-rings, and power valve gasket. All I used out of the kit were the head o-rings, and the side power valve gaskets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 cr125

Randall in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF150R

Comments On Jan 21, 2014:Spray with Copper Coat and install. no issues

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfict Fit

KEVIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 16, 2014:Freshened the top end right up.Great quality

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DONT GO CHEAP GO COMETIC

Andrew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:Buying cheap gaskets can be one of the worst mistakes you wont make twice (I hope.) Last year after using cheap gaskets, I burnt a top end with 10 hours on the piston (wiseco) due to the o-ring head gasket failing and allowing water through causing my bike to overheat during a practice. Cometic cost more but for a reason. They won't fail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent kit

THAD in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:Only downfall was the head orings. The didn't quite fit and I pinched one torquing the head down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worked good, no leaks

BRET in WA

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:has all the gaskets needed and worked great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product will buy again

Scott in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 HONDA TRX 250R FOURTRAX

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:good product will buy again. works very well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality Gaskets

Steven in ON

Comments On Nov 15, 2013:Everything I needed for a top end job with high quality materials.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great top end gasket set for 250 XCF W

RICK in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Oct 08, 2013:Top end gasket set fit great and is working great. No leaks! I even overheated my bike on a technical up hill climb. No compliants, would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

don't waste your money on this

Jason in MS – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 YAMAHA KODIAK 400 4x4

Comments On Sep 27, 2013:rebuilt my yamaha kodiak bought this gasket kit it did not have all gaskets included and the head gasket blew out after a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic gaskets work for me

Richard in PA

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:Been using Cometic gaskets for about 8 top ends now and they haven't given me any trouble.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Gasket Set

Heather in UT

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:If your deciding between cometic and Tusk, I would just go with the cheaper one. It seems that they are basically identical and of same quality. No leaks no problems, good gasket set.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dependable Product!

Phillip in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX65

Comments On Jul 29, 2013:I have used Cometic gaskets on several bike rebuilds and never had a problem with these gaskets. Even after disassembly, they appear to be holding up well and would highly recommend them. They may be a little more expensive than others, but you are getting a quality gasket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Jeff in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:Used this kit on my 07 yz 250 about 4 months ago when i put a new top end in. Works great , nothing leaking or seeping product does what it should.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JACK in UT

Comments On Jul 18, 2013:no worries

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic is quality.

edward in IA

Comments On Jul 06, 2013:Works for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really good gasket

Jerry in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CR85R Expert

Comments On Jun 30, 2013:Really does a good job as long as you follow the factory settings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good set

BRIAN in WA

Comments On Jun 07, 2013:fit fine and no problems after 2 seasons of use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Scott in WV

Comments On May 17, 2013:good quality gaskets. definitely would recommend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Everything needed

andrew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 02, 2013:fits perfect includes everything needed

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kx 250

Brian in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Apr 24, 2013:Had every thing I needed to do the top end ans sealed up perffect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

Andrew in VIC

Comments On Apr 01, 2013:I have done about 15 hours on this new gasket. It has been fantastic so far. No problems, fit like glove.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:quality gasket kit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product. Great Price.

TABITHA in FL

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:Good Product. Great Price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good gaskets

JASON in WA

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:Always have had good success with these gaskets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Clayton in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 28, 2013:Superb fit and seal! Wish it had come with intake seal but still great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked great for me

DOUG in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ400F

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:No problems here. Did the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD SET

ROBERT in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:EVERYTHING YOU NEED

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I rode in a 2 hour harescramble and a few rides

JOHNNY in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:Worked as it should have after i installed it properly and took the abuse of overheating in a xc race where it was tight single track, if you install these right they perform well, as intended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic top end gasket set

Guy in ME – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CR85R

Comments On Jan 10, 2013:This set has everything you will need for a top end rebuild! Very satisfied, never had a problem. Wil continue to use Cometic gaskets

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gerat fit

Michael in HI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Put 2 sets inmy kx 125. Both fit perfect and no leaks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Gaskets

Shane in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Dec 21, 2012:They all fit the engine the way there suposed to, and are made of high quality material.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

richard in MN

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:worked fine

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cometic top end kit

MICHAEL in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 1991 SUZUKI RMX250

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:love the kit. all gaskets fit and i think they are definately better than stock and cheaper than most gaket kits..everything i needed in one package.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cosmetic

Daniel in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 1989 SUZUKI LT500 QUADRACER

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:Best you can get. Use with confidence.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

doing its job

Brian in AZ

Comments On Nov 22, 2012:all went together well, no problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Had almost everything.

ROBERT in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA XR200R

Comments On Nov 20, 2012:The gaskets were top shelf and fit nicely. The only issue I had is the kit did not come with valve guide seals. I have purchased other top end kits and they had came with the valve guide seals, that is my only gripe. Would purchase again and would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great set to get instead of oem

BEN in WI

Comments On Oct 08, 2012:good product , good quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Jay

JEREMY in TX

Comments On Oct 08, 2012:Worked good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NIce fit

MIKE in OK

Comments On Oct 02, 2012:Everything went together nicely. Had to use a Tusk head gasket in an emergency. Glad I had this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Nathaneil in NH

Comments On Sep 24, 2012:Awesome price and great quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Head gasket junk KTM 525 XC

Matthew in OR

Comments On Aug 14, 2012:The multi layer steel head gasket leaked externally and internally. I didn't even have the oppertunity to get all the coolant into my bike before it started to leak. I wouldn't recommend the Multi Layer cometic head gasket for any application. Defiantly don't use this on you KTM RFS engine, unless you where interested in twice work.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good stuff

brian in AZ

Comments On Aug 10, 2012:found cheaper gaskets, but these are good parts

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High Quality Kit

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:... As you would expect from Cometic. Everything about it is top notch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no leaks

john in MA

Comments On May 28, 2012:great product no issues

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Kit

Bret in MI

Comments On May 15, 2012:No leaks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worked well

DAN in IL

Comments On May 12, 2012:no problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

top end gasket set

EARL in WA

Comments On May 06, 2012:this set of gaskets gets the job done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good gasket !

Alain in QC

Comments On Apr 12, 2012:I choose other gasket kits for price but always came back to cometic !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good gasket kit except

Jonathan in MO

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:Everything I was needing and expecting except one of the O-ring head gaskets was WAY too big. Ended up having to use the old one. Not a huge deal but definitely not exactly PERFECT. Glad I saved my old gasket and didn't tear it up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Probably just play it safe and buy stock.

SHANE in UT

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:Lost the head gasket shortly after the rebuild. Could have been a warped head, although I'm pretty sure i checked it before reassembly. So did the bad gasket cause the overheating and warped head? Or did the warped head cause the gasket failure and the overheating? I guess we'll never know...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good gaskets

Joseph in MA

Comments On Apr 07, 2012:worked great on my 02 kx250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality product Made in USA

TIM in WA

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:Again another good product made here in the USA and is a deal when compared to OEM parts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Quality

alan in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:Nice set - everything fit well - i always try to buy Cometic - been using them for a long time and never had an issue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

lisa in FL

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:good product at a good price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good fit

Tim in TX

Comments On Mar 17, 2012:Gaskets fit good on my CRF250R and material seems to be of good quality. I gave it 4 stars since the top end kit does not come with valve seals like some kits do.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Only 2 gaskets

nick in LA

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:It takes more than 2 gaskets to rebuild the top end on a 4 stroke dirt bike. Last time I checked a gasket "kit" included all gaskets to do the job
TECH NOTE: TOP END GASKET KITS COME WITH AT LEAST A BASE AND HEAD GASKET. COMPLETE GASKET SETS ARE MORE INCLUSIVE

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't include all the gaskets

Eric in VA

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:The top end gasket kit for my 400ex didn't include a valve cover gasket, valve stem seals, or intake and exhaust gaskets. Other gasket kits include all of this stuff. Very disappointed because these gaskets are not cheap and I had to order seals and gaskets not included through the local stealership.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Greg in OK

Comments On Feb 12, 2012:Used for son's pw50. All gaskets fit well and were identical to factory gaskets. No leaks. Would purchase again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Everything is included

BRENT in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Great kit for your top end.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Base gasket missing a stud hole!

Barry in IN

Comments On Jan 15, 2012:Base gasket missing a stud hole! There were only three of the 4 holes punched out. After 17 years of using Cometic, I'm done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and seal

JARED in KS

Comments On Jan 06, 2012:It's hard to go wrong with Cometic! great fit and quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CR125

NOLAN in FL

Comments On Dec 29, 2011:High quality gaskets! Perfect, leak-free fit. Will look for these on every rebuild now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic Top Shelf

Clayton in VA

Comments On Dec 13, 2011:Way better than OEM and precise fit and never had a failure

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Great!

WALLACE in WA

Comments On Dec 12, 2011:Worked as advertised

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

CARTER in OR

Comments On Nov 16, 2011:these items work great. price is great too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic works!

DAVID in CA

Comments On Sep 16, 2011:Great gaskets at great price. YZ125

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very basic kit

BRIAN in OR

Comments On Sep 09, 2011:A little dissapointed in this kit. Included only top end and base gasket....no valve seals, o-rings, exhaust gasket, or cam tenshioner gasket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Absolutley low quality all around!!!!

Jamieson in MA

Comments On Aug 27, 2011:Incomplete kit missing carbureator insolator orings way to many crush washers the head gasket i threw away it was not lined up at all very very poor craftmanship DO NOT BUY!!!
TECH NOTE: YAMAHA RAPTOR 660 2002

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not A Complete Top End Kit

JOHN in CA

Comments On Aug 26, 2011:This kit came with just a head and base gasket, no o-rings, cam tensioner gasket etc. Totally not as described.
TECH NOTE: 96 YAMAHA BIG BEAR 350 4X4

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not a complete kit at all

Brian in AZ

Comments On Aug 15, 2011:This kit came with 4 o-rings, 1 exhaust gasket (bike is a dual out), and the gaskets between the head and cylinder and the base for under the cylinder over the case. Disappointing

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great gaskets

THOMAS in UT

Comments On Aug 16, 2011:This is a great product, very durable and will last you a long time. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good solid product

andrew in VIC

Comments On Aug 15, 2011:good packaging and sizes exact fit great shipping

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD PRODUCT

WARREN in PA

Comments On Jun 20, 2011: GOOD QUALITY

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

LONNIE in AZ

Comments On May 24, 2011:Great item

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic Top End Gasket Set

WAYNE in WA

Comments On May 15, 2011:Bought this set for a KDX200 and was suprised that it didn't come with the seals and Oring to service the power valve.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic Top End Gasket Set

ART in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:Good value. Don't waste your money on OEM

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ltr 450 topend

JEREMY in NV

Comments On Mar 15, 2011:gaskets fit good, but have blown, burning coolant now, wont buy them again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits perfect

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Mar 21, 2011:I've used this product serveral times over the years doing engine rebuilds. I've never had a gasket leak or not fit correctly. Works perfectly...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gasket

Brandon in IN

Comments On Mar 14, 2011:Good gasket kit, will buy again. Had no problems during install and seem to be holding up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cometic Top End Gasket Set

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Mar 11, 2011:Used for 2010 300XC-W. High quality gaskets at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good gasket set

Daniel in NV

Comments On Mar 03, 2011:this is a really good gasket set for the money, I will purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits like oem

jon in AZ

Comments On Mar 01, 2011:even included 2 base gaskets to set x dimension
perfect on 98 ktm 250exc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OEM fit for aftermarket price.

Mitchell in WA

Comments On Feb 24, 2011:I have never had a problem with these gaskets. They fit like OEM and cost much less.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400ex

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2011:These are not complete sets and are made poorly, would not buy again.

Was this review helpful?