Pro Armor Pro Series ATV Tether Kill Switch

Customer Reviews for Pro Armor Pro Series ATV Tether Kill Switch

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 78 Reviews

Return to Pro Armor Pro Series ATV Tether Kill Switch Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pro Armor Pro Series ATV Tether Kill Switch Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tether is fragile

seth in Utah

Comments On Sep 11, 2014:The tether clip broke on the first ride out. I'd look at other options next time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good kill switch

Dave in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jul 11, 2014:I run these on all my quads. They do last more than one season but it's good assurance if you're racing to switch these yearly to insure it functions properly and you don't get a DNF.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to install works as advertised.

Kevin in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On May 07, 2014:I would have given this product a 5 star rating if I didn't have to find the correct wire on you tube. A little more literature would be nice.
The product works well and is built well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kill switch

Lanette in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:Fits great and looks good! Haven't had to use it yet for its main purpose but i know it still works!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

Derek in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Mar 25, 2014:Bought this with the install kit and it went together and worked great in minutes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

broke but easy to install

hunter in Iowa – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 12, 2014:I broke the plastic piece on the teather emailed pro armor and they said that they didnt sell the teather by its self so I have to buy a new one other than that it was an easy installation

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Quality

David in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Mar 13, 2014:Straight forward and works like it should.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Josh in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:easy to install works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice switch

Joe in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 POLARIS PREDATOR 500

Comments On Jun 19, 2013:A well built tether style kill switch; I just wish it came ith the proper wiring kit for a professional and quick install

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

Kyle in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:the only problem i have with it is that there were no instructions on what wires to splice into i just went on youtube to find the right ones no problems worked great not to long ago when i hit a huge rut and it sent me over the handle bars also be aware of space on your bars if you have hand guards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

Mark in NV

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:I installed this on my 04 450R. Thankfully I have not had to use it but have tried it out. It was easy to install and works just like it's suppose to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

second on I bought

corey in SD

Comments On Jan 30, 2013:Awesome. lost my tether first race and call pro armor sent me a new one for free!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best kill switch they make!

JAY in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jan 21, 2013:This kill switch is the best one that I have used. It is super easy to replace the clip if you are thrown off in a race due to the little handles on the kill switch. Performs great and super easy to install!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice and fast

SHANE in UT

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:easy and nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best

Jacob in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:This is the best tether kill switch on the market hands down. Any build I do will use this switch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Installed on 2010 Raptor 250 - don't splice wires!

JASON in WA

Comments On Aug 01, 2012:Great kill switch but the wiring needs some work Pro-Armor. There is no wire adapter kit available for the 250 Raptor and the one for the YFZ450 is expensive. I suggest looking at the one for the YFZ450 and making your own for the 250. I did it for $2.30 Other than the wire harness everything else was easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy Installation

CHUCK in GA

Comments On Jul 17, 2012:The Pro-Armor tether kill switch was extremely easy to install on my TRX 450R. Purchase the installation kit also, makes installation a breeze.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Charlie in MD

Comments On Jul 06, 2012:This kill switch works great and looks great but could use better directions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro-Armor-Pro-Series-ATV-Tether-Kill-Switch

David in NJ

Comments On Apr 03, 2012:works great easy to install if you cant figure it out look it up on youtube.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Tomas in FL

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:Instalation instruction not included but a simple HOW TO INSTALL search in google or youtube and thats it really easy to install. Looks great and and works perfect. well i wish ill never have to really use it..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ltz 400

JOSH in VA

Comments On Jul 24, 2011:pain in the a to install read online how to do it, you can hook it wrong and mess up your coil....works great, DO NOT BUY A CHEAP NO-NAME!!!! BUY THIS ONE!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kill switch

Alan in CA

Comments On May 10, 2011:This is the best kill switch for the money, imo. Great quality piece. Looks awsome.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does its job

Joshua in IL

Comments On Apr 18, 2011:The instructions for this product are terrible at best. A quick install kit was not available for a 08 400ex so I had to make a jumper kit to complete the install. However, this product does what its supposed to once installed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ausem

Robert in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2011:i had no problems installing it. I just had to watch a youtube vid. Works great and will be the only kill switch i will ever use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ltr 450

GREG in CA

Comments On Feb 28, 2011:bought this in o7 and still using it great product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to install!

Andrew in MO

Comments On Jan 22, 2011:Put this kill switch on a 2001 400ex. Was very easy to install. Worked perfectly. No complaints here.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Switch

BRIAN in UT

Comments On Dec 14, 2010:This would be a five Star Switch IF! It came with better wiring diagram. It pays to do a little reserch on the internet or from your dealer on wire colors etc. Works perfect on my Raptor 700 (I T-taped the orange wire right off the coil and grounded the other side and it works with out any flaw)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what its suppose to

Larry D in TX

Comments On Aug 24, 2010:It was a pain to wire up on my 07' 400ex, but once we figured it out it does what its suppose to, a must have safety feature if you dont want to end up chasing your quad!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

CALEB in IL

Comments On Jul 23, 2010:works great excellent design

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best tethers.

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:These are the only ones I use for racing. I highly recomend spending the little extra on these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kill tether

AARON in CO

Comments On Jun 29, 2010:easy to wire, plenty of grip to get the key back on when your gloves are wet and muddy. works great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works good

JENNIFER in WA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:easy to hook up and works. no issues

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good switch

Tyler in MD

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:The kill switch works fine, but I would highly recommend getting the install kit, it's another $20 but it makes the install so much easier. Unfortunately they don't make a kit for the 400ex so I had to do it the old fashioned way. My buddy has the same tether for his raptor 700 and he got the install kit and it was a breeze.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy

LANE in NC

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:install was easy no need for the extra wiring kit im sure it helps to make it even easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Yamaha raptor 350 install was easy

CHRISTOPHER in MA

Comments On Nov 29, 2009:I put this switch in real quick. I was worried due to others problems with installation but no problem at all. DO NOT buy the wiring adapter. It's a wast of money. Go to the hardware store and get like six inches of wire and the right connectors for like a dollar. One you know what the stator is and the right spot to splice it takes maybe 5 minutes to install. If you don't then have a professional do it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Kill Switch

Robbie in PA

Comments On Nov 06, 2009:This kill swtich works great! I've seen others that are very difficult to get back on once it's pulled, but this one snaps back in place easily. I tried wiring it to the wires from the OEM kill switch and failed big time. Make sure you connect one wire the ignition coil and the other to a ground. (I should have read the instructions first) Also, many kill switches are either normally open or normally closed, but this is universal so you don't have to worry about which to get.
I highly recommend this switch. Whenever my wife lets me buy the new YFZ450X, I'll be buying one for that, too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

BRIAN in PA

Comments On Aug 25, 2009:can't complainit does its job i would recomend buying the install kit though if you have no idea what you are doing like me ha ha

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

07 TRX450R

DERECK in KS

Comments On Aug 13, 2009:Very easy to install with the installation kit. Works like it should.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what its suppose to

Adrian in AZ

Comments On May 26, 2009:Good investment for any Atv and or motorcycle enthusiast. Works like a charm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kill Switch is great

Matthew in WI

Comments On May 13, 2009:Easy to hook up. Get the quick connect kit and it works like a champ. Easy to install and mount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad instructions

Edward in IN

Comments On Apr 21, 2008:Great product. Bad instructions. I know it is impossible to include instructions for every vehicle out there but the Pro Armor website didn't even have better instructions for installation specific to my machine. It is not hard to install. You just have to have a basic understanding of what the kill switch is doing and generally how it needs done. Then you figure it out from there.
Additional Comments On Mar 23, 2009:After getting it on, it works flawlessly. I have not whacked it in a crash yet but I did roll my machine. Where I located it, is out of the way and it worked great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

don't get it

KARLA in IA

Comments On Jan 05, 2009:it says u need a darn kit, don't get the kit it don't even help just hard wire into your coil

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome kill switch

ALEX in KY

Comments On Oct 31, 2008:this is a great tether kill switch for anyone, racer or everyday rider. I bought mine to use in a gncc race and it worked perfect. the clip stays in very easy and is no too hard to pull out when you need to kill the motor. I say its worth the money to own this kill switch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Directions Are No Help

RODNEY in IL

Comments On Oct 20, 2008:Terrible product, Pro Armor or Rocky Mtn could tell me the correct wires to hook up to without damaging CDI.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lasted less than an hour

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On Oct 07, 2008:I bought this as it easily fit the oversized bars I had and had no problem installing it within minutes. The problem came about an hour into my ride when the ground cable came out and I was left in the woods to rig it back up, which meant ditching the kill switch. This turned out to be a complete waste of my money as the switch could not be salvaged.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well, installation instructions fair

MARIO in FL

Comments On Sep 28, 2008:See title.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

RYAN in IA

Comments On Jun 01, 2008:easy to install holds up to abuse great product!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as nice as they made it out to be

RYAN in CO

Comments On Mar 03, 2008:Instructions don't tell you anything and if you are putting it on a yfz they want you to spend another 20 bucks on a wire kit.
Tech Note: Installation kits are required for certain applications.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Daniel in NY

Comments On Mar 23, 2008:Does the job well and looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great stuff

JAKE in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:great tether! much better then others i have used

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LTR450

DAVID in CA

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:Be sure to buy the seperate install kit because the LTR isn't prewired for it. there are also cheaper products that are just as good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

MACK in UT

Comments On Mar 08, 2008:works good but the strength of the product is not that good, broke two switched already

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product, so-so instructions

Matthew in FL

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:The problem I found with this product is it is not listed as normally closed or open, come to find out its normally closed which was not what I needed for my application. I ended up re-engineering the product to be normally open. The actual product prior to me messing with it is top notch. Quality is awesome.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

ZACK in TN

Comments On Mar 02, 2008:The killswitch worked good and was easy to hook up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BEST ON THE MARKET!!!

AARON in TN

Comments On Feb 26, 2008:the best i've used ever. easy to install, looks great, and functions perfect. It is water tight unlike some of the others out there and it can handle some abuse. Great buy!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great quality great price

Troy in OH

Comments On Feb 13, 2008:This kill switch looks great and works great. I used this in conjunction with the wiring kit they sell. It was a breeze to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best kill switch I have found

BRIAN in OK

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:Very nice kill switch I love the T handle and I bought the install kit that made it a snap to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Kill Switch

robert in NY

Comments On Jan 25, 2008:must have for racing. easy to install and use. large T-handle easy to use when wearing gloves.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tether

BLAINE in ND

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:This tether is better than the others during a race. Easier to plug back in after a dismount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor ATV kill switch

HEATH in CA

Comments On Dec 23, 2007:Our racing series required kills switches on quads. Had a different brand on the quad prior and they cracked and failed easily. The other brands also would actuate easily with hard landings. Pro Armor works with out worry and we have never had one actuate without the need for it. Great product for racing applications.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Pro Series ATV Tether Kill Switch

RAYMOND in NJ

Comments On Dec 10, 2007:best tether kill switch i have ever used. the big "T" pull knob is great. can be mounted on either oversize or standard bars. simple to install. great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Jeremy in NC

Comments On Dec 10, 2007:Great product for the money, could use better instructions but overall good buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Pro Series Kill Switch

Ryan in KY

Comments On Nov 28, 2007:Excellent product. It arrived in perfect shape and installed very quickly on my Yamaha Blaster. Pro Armor is definitely the Kill Switch to go with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Kill Switch

GREGORY in AZ

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:Best price. Easy hook-up. Can't race your quad without it. Buy one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well

JOE in OR

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:The instructions were not too helpful. I would recommend buying the install kit for this kill switch. The kit made installation really easy. The switch has worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

BRANDON in NE

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:Works great. Easy install. The t-handle makes things a lot easier than other brands

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no instructions

Tyler in PA

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:the instructions dont tell you anything. you better get help with this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Amor Pro Killswitch

KATHY in FL

Comments On Oct 28, 2007:Fits on the bars awesome,easy to install, a must have!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

mike in WI

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:this product operates excellent

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor - Tether Kill Switch

JOHN in NJ

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Works awesome and easy hook up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fat bars??? Buy This!!

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:To race you must have a killswitch. This is the only one I know of that fits both fat bars and standard bars. This design uses a collar that is added for standard bars and removed for fat bars. If you have fat bars this is the only one that fits!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PRO ARMOR KILL SWITCH

NOEL in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:A+ PRODUCT FOR THE SUZUKI R 450 A MUST HAVE WHETHER YOU RACE OR PLAY. EASY INSTALLATION AS WELL.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Shaun in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Nice product and simple to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SWEET

JEREMIAH in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:SWEET

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy as 1-2-3

JAMIE in AB

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:High Quality, Low price, and easy easy easy installation. Takes a beating without fail. Perfect and a must for any ATV Racer

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Arguably the best available.

JOSEPH in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:There are maybe two other tether kill switches that are worth looking at - Pro Design and Pingel. Personally I prefer the Pro Armor's design to both, another Pingel costs considerably more. Unless space on your handlebars is extremely limited, I would wholeheartedly recommend this one. I've had no problems, and it's easy to get clipped on quickly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

INSTALLATION

Richard in MO

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The installation instruction for this product were incomplete.
I had to go to a couple of different websites to get the proper installation instruction for the wiring.
Apparently I was not the only one, as there were others with the same compliant.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome product

BRYSON in WA

Comments On Oct 20, 2007:Looks better then competition. User friendly with t-handle. A must have for racers.

Was this review helpful?