Akito Desert Motorcycle Jacket

Customer Reviews for Akito Desert Motorcycle Jacket

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 15 Reviews

Return to Akito Desert Motorcycle Jacket Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Akito Desert Motorcycle Jacket Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Jacket seems nice, sizing is for the scrawny!

Thom in OR

Comments On Apr 17, 2014:Just got this, and I am bummed. I've got a big ride today and was excited to wear this, but the sizing is way off. I got a large (6ft, 190 lbs), and I can't even close my arms together as the chest/back is far too small. I will return it for a larger size, but be warned that the sizing runs "Japanese" small. Yes, I am slightly large through the shoulders, chest, and upper back, but I usually wear a large in most jackets. Now I am going to need an XL which will no doubt bag out around the stomach. Build quality seems good, though I note that stitching is off in places. Armor seems sufficient. It is a cheap jacket, so I am not going to grade it too harshly- it looks like it will fit the bill. But get a larger size than you think you need unless your chest is concave.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Value in a Jacket

Tom in CA

Comments On Feb 28, 2014:One never knows about apparel unless it's tried on. Purchasing a jacket on faith is always a risk, so I was a little reserved when I ordered this one based solely on the reviews and appearance.
Short version: This is an EXCELLENT jacket. I'm very satisfied and want to go riding, except it's raining in So Cal, which is very, very odd.
The jacket has three layers. The outer "shell" which is very substantial all by itself. Two inner layers zip inside, nesting, to create layers of warmth if it's cold out.
The material is heavy, with zippers to allow for breathing when it's warm. The elbows and shoulders are protected, and everything fits great.
I'm 6' 4" tall, and weigh 215 pounds. I bought an XL, and it fits perfectly. The sleeves are plenty long. It's almost as if the jacket was designed around my body double.
I'll be using this for many years to come. It looks great, fits great, has all the features outlined in the product details, and makes me feel great, too. Like it's possible for a jacket to make me feel anything... well, this one does. Rain or shine, hot or cold, this one will keep me covered.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Buy

Milan in NC

Comments On Jan 21, 2014:This jacket is fantastic. Especially for the price. It has done great in the rain, in the cold and even some hot days. Vents work pretty well. Have done more than 5000 miles with this jacket with no issues. Definitely a great buy. Wish they had more products for sale but the jacket and pants are great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Gear, even better price!

Dmitry in Ontario

Comments On Dec 08, 2013:Purchased the Desert Jacket and Pants Combo. Fantastic gear, especially for the price. Warm, durable (crashed multiple times in the dirt in it already, including a real scary down-hill tumble) and looks fantastic. Armor is food, well affixed, worked well in the crash.
The liners do severely restrict any chance for ventilation when wearing with all 3 liners in, but that's the case with any non-Gore-tex 3-1.
Great buy, would recommend to anyone looking for realistically-priced gear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great value

jaeron in ID

Comments On Apr 21, 2013:jacket is a good fit. It has kept me pretty warm riding about ten miles to work in 20-30 degree weather. i dont think you can get a better jacket for the price. I did have a broken zipper right away and rocky mountain took caee of it right away. has been great since then.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent jacket but needs a better outer zipper.

GARY in CO

Comments On Dec 01, 2012:I am very satisfied with this jacket. Great protection yet decent movement. Lots of pouches and pockets. The only negative is the outer zipper is of low quality. Akito needs to use the higher quality zipper that some of their competitors and add a few bucks to the cost of the jacket to make up for it. Have rode in 40 degree temps and it is very comfortable. I bought the matching pants and I have received lots of compliments about how great the outfit looks which says a lot because I'm really ugly. 5'8" 170 with a 42" chest. Ordered the XL and I like the fit. I could fit the Large but I like the looser fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

you get a lot for the money

DAVID in VA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:size info was spot on, i am 180 and 6ft and a large fit perfect. while this is not a $700 jacket it is every bit as nice as a $400 one for less than half the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

ALEXANDER in CA

Comments On Sep 13, 2012:I received the jacket today and for the price, it can't be beat. Sure, there are plenty of $ 600-$800 jackets out there that are probably better quality, but this jacket isn't too far off. With the liners in, the jacket feels very warm, but not too bulky. I got the pants too, so now I have the full suit. Before I found this brand, I wasn't excited at the prospect of shelling out $1,500 for a full dual sport riding suit. Now for less than the price of another brand's jacket, I have a full suit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Akito Desert Motorcycle Jacket

JOSEPH in NSW

Comments On Aug 28, 2011:Great Jacket

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good looking jacket

Dwayne in BC

Comments On Jul 01, 2011:Took this jacket to Baja with me. With out all the liners it was still too hot during the day and I had to take it off. I wish the arms would zip off like most jackets. In the cold it works great. Zips right up and deflects all the wind.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent value

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Feb 23, 2011:Great Jacket. Nice looking, warm, and versatile. Lots of pockets and durable.
The quilted liner zips to the rain liner and then the rain liner zips into the Jacket. But the quilted liner does not zip into the jacket on it's own. I find this to be a bit of an oversight as it would be nice to not HAVE to zip in the rain liner too.
Overall very happy with the Jacket and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Akito Desert Jacket

DAVID in WA

Comments On Nov 17, 2010:Great Jacket, incredible price/value for product received. The size runs very small however. I ordered an XL even though I normally wear a large. It was still to small and I returned for a XXL. As always, Rocky Mountain provided great customer service, great prices, and extremely fast shipping!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic value

Rick in MB

Comments On Sep 19, 2010:I have owned, and continue to own several different makes and styles of riding jacket. I have to say that not only for the money (great value), this is a very good jacket. I was originally attracted to the style and colour of the jacket (also bought the matching pants)but was fully expecting the quality to match the low price. I was very wrong. The jacket is very comfortable, not stiff like many riding jackets (textile types). It has sufficient protective devices that are easily removable when wanting to wash the jacket. It has a removable rain liner and quilted liner. The venting, while minimal, does actually seem to work (liners out of course). While it does not provide hot weather relief like a full mesh jacket, it is quite bearable as long as you are not riding in extreme heat. The zippers for the vents are of some kind of waterproof design and do seem to keep the water out. I have ridden in huge downpours and for the most part stayed pretty dry. Like alot of jackets, eventually the sleeve bottoms allow you to get wet. Some nit-pics...the main zipper could be a bit heftier, it is a very fine toothed affair, but has not created any problems just yet. The snaps are the same ones used on the pant, and don't have a nice solid feel to them, and sometimes just come undone on their own. Warmth: the jacket with liners will provide for a warm ride up until those late-fall rides. I would'nt count on it to keep you warm once the temps are much below 8 degrees C, or 45ish F. For that type of riding I use an Alpinestars that is much heavier. Sizing: sizing seems abit on the small side, generally a Large leaves me a bit of "clearance" but this Large is almost snug. I had also tried an XL, but there was quite a differnce in sleeve length and settled on the Large. I get alot of comments on what a great looking outfit this is (especially when coupled with the pants), and it is without a doubt my most comfy jacket. Again, this is a great jacket, even more so when taking the the price in to consideration.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

riding jacket

Gary in NV

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:It runs small I would like to had a xxl instead of xl fits good with the liner and rain liner out .
i was warm all day wile setting our G.P course on the last weekend of may when it was raining and snowing

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very impressed

Chris in VIC

Comments On Feb 05, 2010:I purchased this jacket for wet weather commuting and weekend trips here in Australia. It has been dry here lately but the morning after the jacket arrived we had rain so I got to give it a good try out.
The overall quality is very good. The materials used and their placement is well thought out. Normally I wouldn't care but the manual was remarkably well presented which added to the overall feeling of quality - why can't everyone else do this?.
I'm 6'1" and 210lbs with lanky arms and usually have trouble getting a jacket to suit me but the fit and adjustability is very good. Comfort on the bike in an upright riding position was also good.
On a warm and rainy day I used the waterproof liner and had no isses with water leaks at all. I did find it a little hot but it was a hot day so I guess any waterproof jacket would be the same. Ona cooler day I added the winter liner and found it insulated well and remained comfortable.
I'm very happy with it's performance and have now ordered the pants.

Was this review helpful?