Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line

Customer Reviews for Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 24 Reviews

Return to Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High quality brake line

Derek in IN

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:I was really impressed with the quality of the brake line. Helped regain feel and brake line is up there with the best. Mine came with washers and banjo bolts, great deal!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

DEAN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Dec 18, 2013:have Hondas from 2002 cr 250r, 2006 450r and a 2010 crf250r. The front brake line fits all models and works great. They are not machine specific. If ordering for a Honda crf the lines tend to be same length and Banjo bend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best upgrade made

kyle in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:Provides amazing feel at the lever and doesnt fade through a moto.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fits Perfectly

Nick in AZ

Comments On Apr 13, 2013:I tried installing this thing every way possible and the banjo fittings were not clocked properly. I was getting mad and then I remembered reading a review that said they were clock-able I looked at them several times and thought there is no way they are. THEY ARE, I used a P4 screwdriver (Phillips #4 it was close to the same size as the banjo fittings) and a pair of pliers. I stuck the screwdriver through the banjo and grab the hose fitting were it is crimped on to the hose and turned the screw driver. FITS PERFECTLY. Great look and quality product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Surprised

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:says Galfer on it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way Too LONG

Jeff in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:The quality of this brake line is good (4 stars) but it was 6 inches too long and the angle of the fitting at the master cylinder was not right. I buy lots of tusk products but disappointed with the fitment of this brake line. I can't even return it because some of the packaging is missing. I will be buying OEM next time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product - but not 1 size fits all

Russ in TX

Comments On May 07, 2012:As everyone else says, it's a Galfer brake line. Looks great, performs great, no complaints there.
My issue on a CRF250X is that it is too long. My specific bike holds the rubberized portion via clamp, and the flexible steel line has a red plastic coating on it that you adjust to connect to the caliper. This section is so long that it moves around and either rubs on the spokes, or I've also had the front rotor catch the line and tear the red plastic coating. Before you say I installed wrong, I did swap the cable thinking the same thing...same issue. Still works great, but I'll have to figure out how to keep it out of the rotor and from getting torn up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Actually a galfer line

CURT in IL

Comments On Jan 17, 2012:Unreal braking power and feel especially when matched up with a oversized rotor (I use a driven rotor). This IS the galfer line. Galfer is printed on the side with nothing that says tusk. Apparently they just buy the lines from galfer and sell them for less. It looks exactly like the picture of the galfer line. There is red on the top and bottom but a black sheath over the middle. It's the galfer line. I bought and used the line before getting the rotor. I thought the honda brakes were great before. The line brings them into a new league. The power is substantially improved. No disadvantages to getting one of these. The feel is improved too with a more progressive feel. Adding the oversized rotor later, gave another significant jump in performance. I'd say the line gave more power than feel and the rotor gave more feel than power but both feel and power were improved with each upgrade. I will never have a bike without a line and rotor. It's soo much better. All the top racers use both. Braking is a huge part in reducing lap times. Braking is really underrated (and talked about) in motocross, but is known to be of utmost importance in different types of racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well for the price

Mark in CO

Comments On Nov 06, 2011:Purchased a CRF450X front hose for my CRF450R to clear the head light. (have lighting coil, it gets dark in the desert) Found line fit very well but not as rock solid as you would think. The line said Gaffer on it and tusk on bag it came in. After many bleedings the brakes worked but lever never solid, allways could be pulled to bar with increasing effort. The brakes would allways lock but it allways was springey. After the first line broke (after two years and a crash cracked it) I ordered and installed anouther one hoping it might be different. The new line is the same. The springy feel doesn't bother me thats why I gave it 4 stars. But if you want a rock solid no give line, this is not the line for you. If you need a new line that works ( with a little give) at a good price buy this line. (the red looks cool to!)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fittings werent clocked properly

chris in BC

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:fittings werent clocked properly for 09 crf 250f chassis, 500 motor made it a little stiffer, even with it 100% properly bled i can still pull the lever to the bars
made by galfer
Additional Comments On Oct 22, 2011:THE FITTINGS SPIN AND CAN BE CLOCKED HOWEVER YOU WANT look carefully, its hard to see

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF450X

Ray in WA

Comments On May 10, 2011:Installed these on front and rear , planning on installing the pads and stainless rotors too.
Handle and pedal feel is improved , takes less effort to brake now .
Great deal for a renamed galfer product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great brake line

BILL in OR

Comments On May 01, 2011:brakes are back to like new again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great brake line

Brent in AZ

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:Great fit on my bike, tougher then stock lines and looks better too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Tyler in IA

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:fit my YZ perfectly and took out the flex the stock line had. i notice the fittings say galfer on them. i guess i know who makes it. Great stuff!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

work and look great

Stan in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:I like the look. It was a little longer than stock but that made it so i could run taller bars without a problem. perfect for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 KX250 Front Brake Line

Les in CA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:The brake line was the proper length and came with the new proper banjo fittings and crush washers. So far so good. When dry fitting the line I noticed that the lower bend would not allow for the front brake pads to be removed. The bend blocked the brake pad pin. I notified Rocky Mountain and they refunded my account without an issue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed

Dusty in UT

Comments On Apr 11, 2011:This brake line is a full 5-6 inches longer then the stock one which makes the brake line run about half an inch away from the spokes(1994 CR125). I use Tusk products a lot and this is the first one that was this poorly designed. The brake line says "Galfer" all over it. Is it a "Second" and that is why it is too long? I don't know but I won't recommend the product. Luckily, I had a Stock brake line handy because I bought a used master cylinder off Ebay to replace mine and it came with perfect stock brake line. I put that one on and took the Tusk one off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake line

Brendel in NJ

Comments On Mar 11, 2011:Awesome! These are made by Galfer. It says so right on the lines! Only they are cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just Ok

BRIAN in UT

Comments On Jul 20, 2010:It is an average brake line. you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

99 CR 250

Michael in WV

Comments On May 04, 2010:This is an awesome product. All the fittings are clocked correctly and it bolts right up. The fit and finish are EXCELLENT. It seems Galfer was the actual manufacturer of mine. I will buy these again if I ever get another bike!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Galfer brake line at a Tusk price.

Bruce in CA

Comments On Mar 20, 2010:As other reviewers have stated, this is a Galfer brake line in Tusk packaging. I purchased this for a '95 CR500. On the plus side, this brake line is 1/2 the price of OEM. It brings the braking performance back to like new condition. It?s also a great looking translucent red color. The only negative is it?s about 2 inches longer than OEM, but this doesn't affect performance in any way. I would definitively recommend this product. Note: a torque wrench is needed for proper installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still Galfer!

JIM in OH

Comments On Aug 03, 2009:Galfer quality at a Tusk price. These are a steal. Look a little bling too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SUPER!

MATTHEW in IN

Comments On May 30, 2009:Great price. Had Galfer printed right on it... great quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

clint in TN

Comments On Apr 21, 2009:my stock yz brake started feeling mushy so I got this. It made a huge difference. It works great. I notice it says galfer on it too. great deal!

Was this review helpful?