Tusk Handlebar Grip Heater Kit w/Molded Grips and Digital Control

Customer Reviews for Tusk Handlebar Grip Heater Kit w/Molded Grips and Digital Control

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Tusk Handlebar Grip Heater Kit w/Molded Grips and Digital Control Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Handlebar Grip Heater Kit w/Molded Grips and Digital Control Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ruined one side

Steve in FL

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Haven't used them yet , have to order a new set , fit very tight on 22mm, Once on , unable to rotate on bar , to clear throttle , my fault.. Pay Attention to clocking , when installing .

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

to install

Landy in PA

Comments On Dec 07, 2013:USE WD40 inside the grip and the handlebar TRUST ME once the wd40 dries the grips will b like glue somehow and yes it works

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product SEE NOTES!!!

Joel in CT

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:This you will need to either wire in to your battery and be smart about not draining the battery. Or take power from another item that only works when ignition is on. Or wire in a relay (the right way) and power it through a relay switch. DO NOT listen to the reviews stating how difficult it is to slide the grips on. I have a 2012 z400 Quadsport. I listened to all the horror stories about how hard they are to put on so I ended up doing it twice. I used a tiny bit of soap with lots of water to help them slide. Then I slid them right on with my hands. No deadblow hammers or other nonsense. I slid them right on. So i removed them, used grip glue like the directions say, and re-installed. All set. I rode in 30 degrees the first day. High is too hot with gloves on too. Low is plenty warm. No complaints at all. And as always Rocky Mountain was perfect!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great.

Michael in UT

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:Put these on my Vinson 500 and like others have said are real tight to get on the handle bar. I installed a new handle bar so maybe that was the problem. Anyway once they were on work like a champ.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good heater at a fair price

Wes in ID

Comments On May 14, 2013:Used these on a honda rubicon 500. Installation was a breeze, however the grips were a PITA to mount on the handlebars. hence the 4 star rating. i LOVE how you have 5 different settings of heat!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

If you ride in the cold. They are a must

Donald in LA

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:Went to WV and rode in late November. Temps is the 30's and 40's. We rode all day and I had to keep them on low most of the time or my hands would almost get to warm. They work great. I would have given them five stars but I totaled my atv on the second day of riding so I have no idea how long they would have lasted... They seemed well made and also get the thumb heater accessory.. Works great too.....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice heat grips for the price

MICHAEL in AK

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Bought 2 sets of heat grips. One set got damage either during shipping or when I installed it and Rocky Mountain atv replaced them with no questions asked

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

Marcus in WI

Comments On Nov 08, 2012:These installed pretty easy (don't listen to the other reviews). Just pull the old grips off by rolling them from the wide end to the bar end (after removing the bar ends-1/4 turn and pull). Then using your kids bubbles or liquid dish soap and water, wet the inside of the grips and the bar. Use a soft faced, dead blow hammer and gently tap the grip on. 10-20 blows and make sure the wires are going where you want. Wires are way long enough for any application. The weak link is the control. It is cheap and may hold up to weather. You can mount it with 2 sided tape or a bar clamp. I used the clamp and put it low and out of the way. Just like my sleds, it heats good when on the throttle, but at idle just barely. I think it's worth the money if it holds up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not for technical riders!

Anthony in BC

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:I have had 3 or 4 sets of these atv grip warmers and they never failed. If you are a recreational atv-er that like to hunt or fish then these are great. HOWEVERâ?¦ If you are a technical rider that needs to hold on for dear life then get something a little better. I have hit the technical circuit recently and in less than a year the rubber wore down to a smooth finish. An as a result I have to change them. Itâ??s a shame because they still work great but they are just too slippery & smooth to use in the ruff stuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Joe in PA

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:Another great item on a cold day

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product and service

Don in OR

Comments On Feb 05, 2012:Easy install. Works excellent. RMATV always provides great easy shipping and service.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Garbage

Mark in ON

Comments On Feb 01, 2012:Hard to install, had to file&sand the bars to get the grips on. Worked great for the first 3 weeks, but now they randomly turn off and on. turned them off one night when i put quad away and next morning I came out and they were on and the battery was drained. They are also very thick and i find them uncomfortable to ride with. I do not recommend buying these.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Grips are a little cheesy!

Jerod in ID

Comments On Jan 23, 2012:So far I think they are just okay especially for the price. The grip itself is what disappointed me. It isn't even as good as the stock grip. We will see fow it really holds up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good heated grips

RICK in WY

Comments On Jan 04, 2012:Bought a set of these for my 2008 can-am 800 outlander. I had a set from can-am and they were junk and way over priced and did not last a season. Put these tusk on and they are great. Way better than the factory can-am ones. These are heavy duty and very well made. Easy to wire up and the digital control box works great and all the different heat settings is good. I have only to use the first two low settings so far and these are plenty warm for the hands. These do fit a little snug in going on and I never used grip glue to install them. I used a rubber mallet and a bearing driver tool to get them one so I don't think they need glue to stay on. Guess time will tell on that one. This is the only reason I never rated them at a five. If and when they do quit working I will by another set. You can not go wrong with these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

price can not be beat

Michael in ON

Comments On Dec 23, 2011:and you get the grips also . This price is better than the inserts than they have outthere

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Steven in AK

Comments On Dec 15, 2011:Kind of a pain to install real tight fit but now that they are on they work great. The thumb warmer isn't any where as close to as hot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk should add note to install

John in WA

Comments On Dec 09, 2011:Nice grips. Just note that you may need to sand off the paint from the bars and also heat the inside of the grip with a heat gun and then slide them on quickly. Following their instructions, I partially installed one grip before I realized that it wasn't going on, I tried to pull it off with no luck and had to cut it off with a cutoff wheel.
The second set installed perfectly after sanding the paint off and heating the grip.
Additional Comments On Dec 09, 2011:Update: RM made it right for me! :)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Work great, terrific value.

SCOTT in NY

Comments On Nov 10, 2011:Just installed these on my Sportsman. I was a little leery due to the fact that they cost so much less than other heated grips out there, but once I received them and checked them out they seemed to be pretty decent, not cheap looking at all. They installed without any problems (wired them into the harness that feeds the 12V outlet on the headlight pod) and they heat up hot and fast! Comes with a push button controller with lighted indicator for the 5 heat settings which you can mount on any flat surface or it comes with a bracket for the handlebars.
Good deal, I would recommend them to anyone without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very hot

Mike in CA

Comments On Nov 07, 2011:These work way better than the old ones. I was reluctant to buy them because i had some older molder grip ones that didn't work that great. These work awesome! Very hot.

Was this review helpful?