Clarke Fuel Tank

Customer Reviews for Clarke Fuel Tank

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 129 Reviews

Return to Clarke Fuel Tank Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Clarke Fuel Tank Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit and I love the extra range

Bradley – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jul 08, 2014:I was a bit skeptical on buying this tank after reading reviews on the fit, but if you know how to install it the fit is perfect. Once the tank was in place I started the rear bolt then started the front bolt and after they were both started just tighten them down. If you tighten one before starting the other then it changes the angle to where it seems the fit is off by a mile, but it is just the compressing of the rubber grommets.
I also bought a stock 04 fuel petcock to go with this tank instead of installing the stock one backwards. The 04 outlet is to the right so that the valve can face out. This way I can swap this tank for the stock tank rather quickly if I need or want to.
The tank is wider but it doesn't feel bulky or awkward to me. The added fuel weight doesn't seem to affect the bike that much either.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid Tank

Sean in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KAWASAKI KDX220

Comments On Jun 27, 2014:I originally bought an IMS tank but realized I could not use my stock shrouds. The clarke tank is cheaper and has more capacity. I have not had a chance to ride with it yet, but the fit is great, it is solid, and my shrouds fit perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good fit good looking

TODD in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:easy to install (wish they came with a new petcock..)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this piece of garbage!

Bryce in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jun 22, 2014:There is nothing you could do to save yourself from more time, anger, and frustration than to NOT buy this tank. The fit is absolutely horrific. You have to tack on an extra half hour to every project just trying to bend and contort this thing back into position. Save your money and your time and get something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit but not what expected

Travis in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 16, 2014:Only reason i didnt give it 5 stars was because this tank was quite a bit larger then the factory tank. I thought it would be a little bigger but not AS big as it was. If your looking for a larger tank for dessert riding this is great for you; not annoyingly big but bigger then i expected.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this for a 2009 300 xcw, does not fit.

Jeff in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 20, 2014:I bought this for the simple reason to have a clear tank on my bike. I got it and to start if you put the fuel petcock in the correct way it hits the frame. I spun it 180 degrees and it fits on the bike. From the outside when you look if it says reserve that is actually on and on is reserve. That I could live with. The shrouds fit ok and so did the center bolt. The I tried to install the seat and the tank is about 1 inch to big so that the front of the seat hits the tank before it engages the catch. The one bolt that bolts the seat down is also about an inch from going into the hole. I called RMATV and they had me send pictures. They agreed it was not correct and are sending me by next day air the Acerbis tank as well as a shipping label to send this Clarke tank back. Thanks for the great customer service! That's what keeps me coming back.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad Fit

Eric in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Mar 22, 2014:Tank does not fit at all on my 250x. Can not got lower shroud bolts in, they are 1/4 inch to high. It does not seem to be molded right, no matter what i do or how I bend/tweak the shrouds it will not fit up. The hole for the fuel line wasn't big enough either. I expected more for this price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DR350SE Clarke aftermarket tank

Kyle in California

Comments On Feb 23, 2014:I purchased a 4+ gallon oversized tank for my wife's 1994 DR350SE dual sport. Having a choice between this tank and an Acerbis tank, I wish I had purchased the Acerbis. The Clarke tank is very well built, but due to only one petcock and the shape of the tank, I only get to use 3 gallons from the tank before completely running out of gas. That leaves 25% of the tank volume completely useless. Acerbis puts a second petcock to drain the right side of the tank. For the extra $, I should have gone with Acerbis.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clarke tank

Dave in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Perfect fit and finish!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

JUNK

Brandon in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 09, 2014:The Clarke oversize tank i recieved for my bike was garbage. It was all scrtached up. Mounting holes were crooked. Shrouds did not fit at all. Tank wouldnt mount right. Buy a ACERBIS one and it fit better then stock! Go with ACERBIS you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clarke tank

STEVE in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 09, 2014:fit great and works great. bolted right on. A little tight with steering stabilizer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor fit

Eli in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Dec 05, 2013:The tank fits the bike OK, however had the following issues:
1. The shrouds don't fit perfectly. You'll have to bend them. 2. The gas filter won't fit into the hole. Had to expand it with a knife. 3. I couldn't put the seat properly with the tank. No workaround...
Would NOT recommend!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shrouds won't fit

michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Sep 28, 2013:I exchanged a IMS tank that the shrouds would not align at all, for a Clarke tank. First, the Clarke tank seems slightly more narrow than The IMS and the finish on the plastic did not seem quite as good as the IMS. Both tanks looked pretty good on the bike. At $50 less the Clarke is probably the better tank. However, the shrouds do not fit well on the Clarke tank, they fit like factory on the bottom mount but there was not enough recess or the bolt insert in the tank was off on the upper mounts which made the shrouds misalign and stick out away from the tank. No amount of modifying the shrouds would make them fit either. When I order parts I expect a perfect fit, at the price of these tanks the manufacturer should be providing a part that works without expecting the customer to butcher parts to make them work. Rocky Mountain did provide easy exchange and refund to me at no cost. Hopefully they send these tanks back to the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits pretty good except

Frank in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:rubs a little on the right hand radiator edge, had to put some barrier between it and had some other rubbing marks / grooves which I just cover the rubs with aluminum tape whenever the tank is off and that seems to now keep it in check. So after a some hours better pull it and see where it rubs and take action.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extra capacity but cap stinks

Richard in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:Put this on a YZ125. Fit was good but had to modify the rubber strap that holds the rear of the tank (I had to extend the strap with a zip tie since the reach was longer than I thought the strap would be able to take). The gas cap lasted about 1 season and then cracked. I have the same tank on my YZ250 and the rubber cap seal ripped after a few seasons. Basically, the caps are junk and stock YZ caps won't fit so you have to buy a Clarke cap or maybe a Tusk.
Other than that the tank is doing it's job at the races.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clark tank

James in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ426F

Comments On Aug 09, 2013:bolted right in no leaks . works and looks great

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

CLARKE TANK KDX200

BRIAN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Jul 24, 2013:The fit is not great. Finish is not great. Overall average. The first tank I received had a manufacturer's defect in it. Received another. It does the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Almost a perfect fit-handy hint

Greg in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jul 13, 2013:The instructions say for and 2006-2012 YZ125 "you will need to reverse the aluminum bushings that are located in the rubber grommets in the original front mounts"
Do not do this, it is easier and a better fit to take the rubber grommet out and reverse them, insert the aluminum bushings back into the grommets as they were, that is, the mushroom head of the bushings facing each other.
The retaining bolt that holds the tank to the frame via the rubber (under the seat) is set in the tank too far forward, we had to use large pliers to get the strap over the bolt, this really stretched the rubber strap beyond it's normal operating range, we decided to not use the strap at all because of this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Tim in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Jul 04, 2013:Excellent fit and finish.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

COLE in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA XR650R

Comments On May 18, 2013:Might not hold exactly 4.3 gal but it does the trick. The color is a little off oem but it doesn't look bad

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

longer rides...

RENE in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ426F

Comments On Mar 08, 2013:love it....

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Clark see through tank

Douglas in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:I love this tank fit is tight but once you get it on the bike it flat doesn't move. I wouldn't have it any other way. Bike looks better with it then stock tank. I can do over 100 miles of trails and not worry about fuel issues. You know exactly where you are on gas always. You can see it. I mark on the tank with a Sharpe (where you can't see it) every gallon it holds. Never a guess on how many miles left I can go. Each gallon is good for a at least 35 miles. Much cheaper then the other company's tank. I have one of those on my 2006 YZ 250 and it is no better then this but much more money. I'M HAPPY!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Huge

Andrew in Florida – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Feb 16, 2013:The fit is pretty good. Its a little more work to remove the tank than the stock one because of 2 additional brackets. Ive had this tank for several years and it has never leaked or caused me any problems.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

YZ larger tank

TOM in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 10, 2013:I have used Clarke for so many bikes and will continue to do so..they have been the best value and have had ZERO problems.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great tank, but holds in the heat.

Zach in IA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 525 SX 4-Stroke

Comments On Jan 27, 2013:The tank will yellow a bit if you leave gas in it while in storage. No problems with leaking etc. It does however hold a bit more heat in, but this problem was solved by using the reflective tape, and header wrap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit larger capacity

robert in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:Over 100 hours on tank and zero problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Buy

david in NV

Comments On Oct 07, 2012:Got one for my 02 YZ250. Fits great, looks great. Kickstart lever rubs a little but that's an easy fix.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

vincent in NV

Comments On Oct 07, 2012:fit and finish are excellent and work well with the lines of the bike, radiators and plastics. my only complaint is the mounting bolt but that is more about me being lazy than the design. just make sure to blow the tank out before trying to use it, mine had some shavings from the manufacturing process. on my 01 cr250 i was able to get nearly 70 miles out of one tank. a must for desert racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tank

Kyle in VIC

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:tank fits great and looks the goods, no leaks, maybe a little snug on the front of the seat but everything lines up well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tight fit

Paul in OK

Comments On Sep 21, 2012:little big but needed the fuel 2.8 gal is always better then 2.4 in crosscrounty racing

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice tank

SCOTT in WA

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:Tank fits great and now I can ride further!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit on 07 WR450

MARVIN in WA

Comments On Aug 13, 2012:Tank fit like factory. Took about 20 mins total to install. Did have to mount fuel petcock backwards but you can still turn on and off. Extra fuel is great for those long dualsport rides.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

XR650R Terriable to fit

Geordie in QLD

Comments On Jul 21, 2012:This clarke was a complete struggle to fit, previous i had the ims tank this is not my 1st clakre but most probably my last,
1st i had to trim the frame support as the tank was to narrow to fit properly,
than have alot of trouble fitting the radiator shrouds and had to trim them these are stock honda items too,

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fits Great on 08 WR250F

MARKO in BC

Comments On Jul 08, 2012:Fits and looks great on my 08 WR250F. Stock plastics bolted right up. Tank bolted right up too, but it is taller so you must hold the tank slightly away from the frame rail and install both bolts very loosely, then tighten gradually. It'll settle right down if you do it that way. If you install the back bolt first, the front hole will not line up.
The stock petcock works fine but install it backwards (facing engine not facing out) or the fuel outlet line will point the wrong way. Still easy access to petcock. I chose the natural color which looks great. I bought the Tusk billet gas cap, and I wish I hadn't as the cap the Clarke tank comes with, altho plastic, is quite good. The tank looks really good as if it were made for the bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

feul tank

Andrew in NB

Comments On May 16, 2012:a must have for the trail rider

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

JOANN in UT

Comments On Apr 29, 2012:We got one for a CRF 150 and ended up sending it back. The tank didnt fit very good on the bottom or the top where it meets the shrouds. The thing looked ugly (red model) and then leaked around the petcock. We tried everything to fix the leak but had no luck. Then the last time we tried to take the whole tank off the bolt for the petcock stripped out inside the tank. I would go for the Acerbis or IMS.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit, easy install

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Apr 17, 2012:Honda 2012 CRF250R No fitment issues. No leaks. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DR 650

Brian in NJ

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:Works well but does not fit the stock radiator covers just have to push the tank down and they will move out of the way.

Additional Comments On Mar 29, 2012:by radiator cover i mean the shroud that shields the stock tank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Shaun in WA

Comments On Mar 28, 2012:Ktm 450 04 exc Perfect fit looks great would definately purchase this product again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great fit

chad in CO

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:Took less than an hour to install. Fits great and looks good. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tank

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:Easy to install & the fit was perfect. The filler neck of this desert tank is tall.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2.8 Gal YZ450 tank

Donald in CA

Comments On Feb 20, 2012:fits good, all the plastics lined up. Worked out great for my bike!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tank WR-450f - 2009

MIKE in CA

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:Great tank for my 2009 WR450f. Everything lined up perfect. I had to buy a new right hand petcock but after installing it, I now can ride over 100 miles on a full tank of gas. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2007 Honda 450X

chris in CA

Comments On Jan 31, 2012:Installing this tank was simple as can be, stock fuel cap and petcock can be used. Increased my range by about 30-40 miles, love it. The forks touch the tank at full lock to the left but does not damage anything as it comes in contact the the frame stop at the same time. This is the only reason I did not give this tank 5 stars. Happy with my buy, highly recommend Clarke tanks over IMS. Everyone I know who has an IMS has issues with fit and some with leaking. GO with Clarke and never look back, made in the USA.

Additional Comments On Feb 01, 2012:After I called Clarke about the fork tubes coming in contact with the tank they gave me a simple solution. I was able to get the clearance I needed with the tip they gave me and no more contact. 5 out of 5, great customer service by Clarke.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

never run out fuel again!

Daniel in AZ

Comments On Jan 22, 2012:I just replaced my stock fuel tank with the Clark 3.9gl tank and holy cow this thing is huge!No longer will I have to pull into the pits in the middle of race again.Look out fellow sigle trackers here I come. The tank fit perfectly,I cant tell any difference in weight at all tank looks great. Would definatly recommend Clark tanks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I expect better from Clark, especially for $200

JEREMY in WA

Comments On Nov 01, 2011:The tank looks good when it comes out of the box but that feeling goes away quickly once you try to mount it. I purchaced mine for my 2004 CR250R. Not one thing lines up, absolutely nothing. After 2 hours of pushing and pulling to get it on it finaly comes together but then another turn for the worse. The petcock didnt seal around the tank and poured fuel all over my shop.....Awesome right. I had to cut out a rubber gasket to seal it up. Would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Overall good; not the best fit!

Mike in NV

Comments On Oct 24, 2011:I have had this tank mounted on a 2009 WR450 for a couple of months. The capacity is great. The stock air deflectors fit pretty well, and the tank is pretty easy to remove for re-jetting by removing just the two lower screws at radiators. The problem I have is that putting the tank back on is a pain. The center-to-center dimension for the mounting points is to long. It makes it REALLY difficult to install the rear mounting bolt. I am only talking about a couple of millimeters, but it makes a big difference. Overall, seems like a good tank.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expensive for a poorly fitting recycled milk jug

Brian in OK

Comments On Aug 30, 2011:This so called fuel tank was immediately disappointing when I first received it. It was ugly, the plastic had a swirled, uneven finish, it looked like it was a ten year old abused junk yard gas tank you would pay 5 bucks for. The disappointment didn't end there. I went to test fit it to the bike hoping the seat and radiator shrouds would cover up this eyesore of a tank and the fit was as awesome as the finish. It pushed the seat up high enough that it would force you to change your riding position. It pushed the radiator shrouds out so far that the flanges that are supposed to fit under the seat were now sticking out like they were pried open with a crowbar. The best way I can describe it would be to say it looked like I put compressed air into a gas tank and expanded it until it looked it's most ridiculous. Once I had this disaster installed as best I could I turned the bars to check the clearance and guess what, there was none. The triple clamp hit the tank on both sides while turning lock to lock. I know these tanks have worked for many others but if you own any H model KDX200 or KDX220 DO NOT BUY THIS TANK. I couldn't send it back fast enough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

09 YZ450F

Justin in NV

Comments On Aug 11, 2011:Holes aren't pre drilled for the Petcock. Called Clarke and they told me this is one of the only tanks they don't drill holes for the petcock just in case someine wants to relocate the petcock over the scorching hot header pipe??????? The guy at Clarke was as perplexed as I was about this. Other than this it looks fine and the holes will be easy enough to drill. I have one on my 97 YZ 250 and it works great. I reomved the ball out of the gas cap on my 250 and will do the same on this one.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great fit and quality.

John in MT

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:Bolted right up to my KDX220. the extra fuel really comes in handy.
Additional Comments On Jul 13, 2011:Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good product but a little hard to fit

David in TAS

Comments On Jun 29, 2011:The tank didn't quite line up properly on my WR450(07). Had to drill out the top hole so I could line up the rubber grommit to bolt into the frame. And the fuel tap took quite a bit of fitting as the two holes were slightly out. Which surprised me given this is otherwise a quality product with a great reputation. Apart from that, the tank looks like it could have come from the factory and the extra size had little impact on the ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Things to note for 2008 TRX450ER

Gene in MN

Comments On Jun 14, 2011:I wish I had known the stock plastic tank cover would no longer work, would have ordered the natural. Also tank was full of plastic shavings and petcock hole was too small. I needed to bore out the hole. Other than that everything else is fine.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

'08 KTM 530-EXC

BRIAN in CA

Comments On May 17, 2011:Fits my '08 530-EXC with a cooling fan. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clear tanks rule!

DANIEL in CO

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:Love my natural Clark tank. The price was 50 bucks less than the IMS and it's perfect for regular guy trail riding. Increased the range of my 300 xc by 30 %.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

lance in NV

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:Bought this desert tank for my 99 cr250. Every thing fit perfectly. No leaks, no problems of any sort. It is slender and nice to ride with, and still allows room to change the spark plug without having to pull the tank. Great product, reasonably priced and rocky mountain atv mc got it to me quick!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a very good design

WAYNE in UT

Comments On Mar 17, 2011:I love having the extra fuel but this is a poor design. They have the fuel exiting to the front of the bike which means your going to end up with a kinked fuel line.. I turned my petcock around to exit to the carb but had to heat the tank to get the clearance. I think they could have thought it through a little better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2002 YZ250 install

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Mar 09, 2011:I installed this tank (3.1 gal) on a 2002 Yamaha YZ250. There is a gasket that is installed in addition to the stock fuel petcock o-ring. I have had no problems with leakage. The tank fit up like it was supposed to. I haven't had any problems with the fuel cap either. Maybe they updated it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

recommend for long hauls

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:great tank. fit very well on 2005 wr 250f

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not what I had hoped for

Shawn in WA

Comments On May 04, 2010:Put this tank on a 08 yz450f, I had to drill the holes and there was barely enough room to put the petcock on. fuel doesn't always get from one side to the other. its wider at the seat and overall doesn't fit that well. that being said, it does hold more fuel and is functional. but I put the stock tank on and only use this one if I have too. I had one on my 04 yz and it was great. they must have had a hard time making a tank for this bike.
Additional Comments On Dec 22, 2010:bought a new oem 2004 complete petcock assembly for $20, it is the exact same as the 08 except the fuel exits the opposite direction. So I spent time filing the tank surface flat and installed the 04 petcock and it works perfect. exits right at the carb, has lots of clearance between it and the engine. the tank is too wide and I am not that happy with it, but this makes it much better. no leaks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2005 crf 450

JEREMY in UT

Comments On Dec 23, 2010:These tanks are fantastic! Perfect fitment, easy install, natural color allows for easy fuel level check. I have had one on my 02 cr for over 5 years and have had no problems and I have put tons of miles on that bike. Highly recomended... Some people have complained about the cap cracking. They must be cranking it on too tight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clarke

TIM in MO

Comments On Dec 14, 2010: Worked good on my 2007 TRX450R. Lets me race a little longer. Fitment was good also.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Fuel Tank

john in NV

Comments On Dec 13, 2010:Fit and finish is very good and tank works with the fan on my KTM 525's.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Clarke 3.9 Gallon Tank for 2005 YZ250 (2-stroke)

ERIC in CO

Comments On Sep 24, 2010:Received the tank in good condition; however, to install the tank you have to swap all mounting brackets/screws/hardware/petcock from your original tank to the new tank.
Problem/Defect #1: The threaded brass inserts for the frame mounting brackets did not have the correct center-to-center spacing; thus, my brackets would not mount to the tank without modification. I chose not to modify the brackets to fit the tank and returned it (no hassles with Rocky Mountain).
Problem/Defect#2: The right side-panel/radiator shroud did not fit on the tank properly, once again the brass inserts were set incorrectly in the tank and made the right side panel stick up from the tank (not flush as it should be).
Problem #3: I have Works Performance Radiator Braces, the tank interfered with the right side brace; the brace could be easily bent to accommodate the extra girth of the tank but it was just one more strike against the product for me.
Issue/Opinion #1: The 3.9 gallon tank petcock hangs very low, about the same height as the fuel inlet to the carburetor. The stock fuel line would kink preventing fuel flow (even if cut to the appropriate length), so a new, longer "curly-Q" line would have to be installed for it to work.
Issue/Opinion #2: Due to the capacity (3.9 Gal.) the gas gap sticks up above the seat a good bit (potentially hostile if you know what I mean). I expected this for such a large capacity tank but decided it was too much after seeing it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

would buy again

matthew in FL

Comments On Aug 29, 2010:i bought one of these for a 08 yz250f. all holes lined up and didnt have any installation problems. my big complaint with them is the gas cap is cheap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clarke tank for Honda 350x ATC

Erwin in CA

Comments On Aug 13, 2010:Had some petcock leaking issues at first, had to get a seal for it, but Has been awesome after that

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tank

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 15, 2010:Excellent fitment on bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tank

Gary in NV

Comments On Jun 26, 2010:I have been racing for 2 mo. now with it and have had no problems.
installed very easy on my 08 wr450f .but don't for get to reverse your petcock .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extra capacity, average fit

Randy in AZ

Comments On Jun 01, 2010:bought for a crf450x. I have other brands on my dirt bikes and this one fits okay. Other brands do fit better. The forks hit the tank before they hit the turn stop, but it is not that big a deal (quarter inch). Since the tank cap sticks up more than others, you do have the possibility of hitting your chest on it, especially the vent stinger. It uses small clamps on the underside to hold in place, but they are a substandard methodology (inexpensive). Overall, it is a good value, but they could use a little more R&D on the fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating

Brian in UT

Comments On Apr 26, 2010:Picked up 2 of these tanks the other day from RM's showroom, 3 gallon for '09 CRF250X and 1.7 for '08CRF150R. I checked with Clarke before buying and they said the 250 tank would not work with Works Connection radiator braces, and the 150 'should be fine.' Given that both bikes have the braces, I knew I was going to need to do some mods at best, and trash the braces at worst. In the end, the braces on the 250 required about 2 minutes of thought and 5 minutes of modification (only to RT side). The 150 took about 1 hour of thought, and 1 hour of modifications. The 250 tank mounting is a joke. If you are not paying attention and mount this thing without radiator braces you WILL BEND YOUR RADIATORS! Clarke must know that the way they have you mount the tank is 1/4 inch high, which translates to 1/2 inch on one side if you bolt one side in first. To mount this properly you need to make a bracket that is above the tank, not under it as Clarke provides. Both tanks required work for the pet cock to fit (hole was 1/16 small), and gas caps are not the best quality so I also picked up some Tusk caps. Tanks are now on, look great, work well. Clarke needs to put more thought into the mounting and get the hole sizes right as the tanks themselves are high quality. 5* on the look and function once on, -1* on the experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tanks

Steven in TX

Comments On Apr 09, 2010:I have two of these tanks. Both have been excellent tanks and taken lots of abuse. The only issue I have had is the one on my crf450x did not fit with my GPR stabilizer. Be sure and call Clarke and ask about fitment if you have a steering stabilizer.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Fuel Tank 3.1gall ktm 530

Joseph in NSW

Comments On Mar 30, 2010:Fitted very well with my old shourds & fan.Good finnish on tank.Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit is so so , Bad seams

Keith in CA

Comments On Jan 27, 2010:Get this for my 2008 WR450F. It's is off white almost yellowish and transparent. I had to mess with all three holes to get it to install. The top bolt requires a swivel for you ratchet to get it in. The seams are pretty large and ugly. Other than this its fine. I'll keep it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Michael in OR

Comments On Dec 23, 2009:I purchased the 3 gallon tank for my '06 KX250 in the clear color and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a replacement tank. Fit was good and the stock petcock bolted up just fine. The shrouds didn't line up like stock but I guess that is understandable with the tank size increase. Great product and made in the USA.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's all good

Mimi in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2009:Bought a green tank for my 06 KX250. Color was a tad patchy, but most of that is covered by the shrouds anyway. Gas tap and shrouds lined up okay with tank and nothing leaked. Fits and looks good on my bike, which is now ready for desert or mountain trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellant gas tank...

Dustin in CO

Comments On May 17, 2009:but gas cap is cheap. Wise to upgrade.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Fuel Tank

michael in OR

Comments On May 04, 2009:I have a 450x and the fit was excellent.But make sure you put a new o-ring in petcock.YOU CAN BUY THEM AT ANY BEARING WAREHOUSE FOR 25 cents.THANKS ROCKY MOUNTAIN FOR HAVING ONE-STOP SHOPPING.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Tank

Randall in OR

Comments On Feb 27, 2009:Clarke Tank - XR400R
Excellent fitment, easy to install and I love the extended range for the longer trail rides!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

outstanding.

BRYAN in NY

Comments On Jan 25, 2009:this tank is great. perfect fit and doesn't bulge out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slight Trouble

Lee in WA

Comments On Jan 08, 2009:Fit and finish of the tank is great. I had a slight problem with the petcock leaking. A new, slightly larger O-ring did the trick, thanks to Justin from RM tech support!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Long Range Fuel Tank

Stephen in AZ

Comments On Dec 28, 2008:Tank was fairly easy to install, the blue matches my yamaha very well, and the desert tank is not too big. Has very good fit and finish, at least as good as the IMS tanks I've had on my last two bikes.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good product

Chad in OR

Comments On Nov 17, 2008:Great for carrying fuel, which is what it is designed to do of course. The tank fit on my bike very well and installation was easy EXCEPT for one problem. The mounting area for my stock petcock wasn't flat so the area leaked after installation. I had to take it off and use an air grinder to flatten the area so the petcock would seal properly. Doing this was easy with the right grinder and take your time to make it perfectly flat. It didn't screw up the threads for the petcock at all and now it's perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

3.8 Gallon Tank for XR400R

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Nov 10, 2008:The first tank I received had a major depression on one side, so I called RM and they were kind enough to exchange it. The second tank was better though not anywhere near the fit and finish of the OEM tank. Unlike the stock tank, it did not allow me to use my Scotts Steering Stabilizer with the bolt on post without having to modify the tank mounting plates. I guess that I expect more from a company whos only product is aftermarket fuel tanks. That and the fact that the Clarke warranty is pretty weak when compared to that of thier competitions. Next time, I'm going to look at what the other brands have to offer first.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke 4.3 / XR650r

Max in UT

Comments On Sep 09, 2008:This tank is flawless, the fit is perfect everything lines up perfect. I bought all new mounting brackets & petcock from the dealer to save time on swapping between this tank & stock. I would recommend this tank to any 650r owner I also would recommend if using stock petcock to order a new rubber o ring from the dealer, this will insure that the petcock will not leak, the old one will be mashed enough not allowing a good seal. This tank looks like it should have been put on the bike to begin with. I overall rate it a 11 on a scale of 1-10

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

great value!

TRISTAN in IN

Comments On Jul 31, 2008:looks great, works great, quality fit and finish, and tons cheaper than IMS!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tank!! good over all.

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jul 28, 2008:OK, first of all this tank is really nice, i got the clear one for my xr250 and my dad bought the red one for his xr400 and we love the tanks , no more worring about fuel stops here and there now we just go. I picked the clear one to see the fuel level and im very grateful for that my dad wishes he would have got the clear instead, so keep that in mind. they look really nice i would pick this one over another brand tank any day. seem good quality and nice over all. they do use the stock petcock and all the other stuff off your original tank. instalation was easy! i give this tank a 5 its great!! get it, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Tank Yamaha Blue

Jim in CO

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:Good tank, extended the trail range on my YZ450. Can't see the fuel level thru the "Yamaha Blue" tank, would have prefered the std white tank. Take your time putting it on, snug fit on all the bolts!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good.....but

Don in OR

Comments On May 28, 2008:Good fit utilizing all stock hardware but tank came with a defect on the side of the tank. I only use it for long desert rides so not that big of deal but seems like this tank should have been sold as a scratch and dent instead of new. XR400

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tank!

MATT in UT

Comments On May 03, 2008:Fit my XR400 perfectly. Looks very nice too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke

Luke in CO

Comments On Apr 02, 2008:Good fit on CRF 07 450, quick delivery from RM. Clarke makes a good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2007 KX250

WILLIAM in AZ

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:Tank fit great, simple install. However, the holes for the left radiator shroud did not line up. Also part of the tank near the petcock rubs against the radiator hose going to the head. Fixed both problems. Clarke could use some better quality control. Had the same problems with a tank for a 2007 KLX250S.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Tom in MT

Comments On Mar 01, 2008:I am really pleased with the fit and finish. great tank and looks cool.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

could fit better

LEE in NC

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:on my 04 450 sx the kick start rubs the tank bottom... the IMS has a nice cut out for the kicker.... compare the tanks before purchase.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

NICK in CA

Comments On Jan 29, 2008:i bought this tank for my 06 yz 250 and it fit perfect. everything mounted fine. just remember to use the rubber gasket they include for the petcock otherwise it will leak.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Fuel Tank

David in CA

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:The fit is perfect (YZ250) and no hassles during installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clarke Fuel Tank

KEN in CA

Comments On Jan 22, 2008:This is a great fuel tank. i have been running on my bike for about 2 years now and it has held up great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2006 ktm 250sx

vince in CA

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:sucked...petcock would not seat properly and gas would leak...what a waste of time and money...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

john in OR

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:I had to convince one of the screws to thread as the new tank was a little thicker, but everything lined up perfect.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

High quality, fitment OK

HOWARD in AZ

Comments On Jan 07, 2008:Purchased for a KTM450. Plastic and fasteners were af very high quality. However, screw inserts were a bit off and had to rotate kickstarter forward one tooth to clear bottom of tank, made kickstarter a bit awkward to use, thankfully bike was electric start.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

slim and confy

DENNIS in UT

Comments On Jan 06, 2008:put this tank on my 2005 yz 250 and couldn't even feel a difference in weight and can ride all day on a tank now

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NICE TANK!

TODD in CA

Comments On Dec 27, 2007:i got this tank in clear for my son who always runs out of gas at the worst time. now with a extra gallon theres no excuses. it is kinda hard to line up the bolts though. i'd still buy another one.

Was this review helpful?