Tusk Compact Control Switch With Headlights

Customer Reviews for Tusk Compact Control Switch With Headlights

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 27 Reviews

Return to Tusk Compact Control Switch With Headlights Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Compact Control Switch With Headlights Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome..

KIM in AZ

Comments On Apr 16, 2014:this switch was perfect.....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

paige in NJ

Comments On Mar 28, 2014:Good easy to fit switch for handle bars without much room

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk products are worth the money !!

PAT in CA

Comments On Jan 26, 2014:I purchased the Tusk Enduro lighting kit as the kit. The price was good considering all that comes with the kit. I installed it on my 07 450X and it went together very well !!! I was completely surprised how well thought out it was. The compact control switch is nice and works well. The turn signals front and rear look sick when the kit was completely installed. Much better than I had anticipated for sure... I ordered and extra break switch for the front brakes as well. Figured if I was going to do this to my bike, I had better do it right ! All parts went on easy . Lots of trimming with the rear fender tail light kit to make it look nice. But that's what you have to do with a one size fits all kit .. Would definitely recommend this kit to anyone who is going to make their bike street legal !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Dual Sport Kit

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:Great kit and easy enough to install. Less expensive than other systems. Durable so far....8months and counting. Ride lots of dual sport events...some pretty nasty stuff too. Works great. Have to remember to manual turn off power to the system...but so far. No issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It works well

Josh in AL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Can't beat the price. All of TUSK's product work very well. It does the trick!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

head light switch

WADE in ID

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:I have installed 8 of these switches from tusk and have it on my own bike. This last one had a faulty switch. I oped the tusk assembly found the metal was poorly assembled due to the customer leaving back to his home state I rebuilt it and re-bent the metal housing to fit the rocker switch to be tight and it had play which was why it was causing the low head light to work sometimes by pushing it in we found the switch was loose inside. overall I wish it was waterproof. then it would be a great switch, I will still order this switch again for customers bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the Price!

Grant in WA

Comments On Aug 11, 2013:Trying to get my DRZ street legal. Pretty nice set up and compared to the Baja kits you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Ivan in CO

Comments On Jun 05, 2013:excellent look and fits how it´s supposed to. worth the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect option for KTM EXC

Mike in NV

Comments On Apr 22, 2013:If you're looking for a narrow substitution for your stock EXC switch this is it. Pick up some Molex connectors and you can build your own harness to plug and play. Super easy and really clean. You'll get your clutch lever travel back!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product.

Landon in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:The switch works well and installed easily on the xr. Couldn't have done it better myself.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks good, works good.

Jonathon in MI

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:The plastic finish seems a tad cheap but seems fairly sturdy. Hooked up easy, came with clear instructions. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this switch

Dustin in CO

Comments On Nov 27, 2012:compact, easy to install, works great on my 1996 ktm 360 exc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super easy to install

Ryan in OK

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:This product coupled with the task universal wire harness was a god send. Easy to follow instructions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't Last in Dirt

Kyle in OR

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:I bought this switch to get rid of the multiple switches I had around my bike and put them all in one spot. I have only had it on my bike for a few months and already the turn signal switch quit working. I took it apart hoping it would be an easy fix such as cleaning it, but there was nothing apparently wrong with it. This may be a decent switch for a 100% street machine, but won't take the abuse of off-road.

Additional Comments On Sep 25, 2012:I bought this switch to get rid of the multiple switches I had around my bike and put them all in one spot. I have only had it on my bike for a few months and already the turn signal switch quit working. I took it apart hoping it would be an easy fix such as cleaning it, but the pivot point on the switch was broken. The pivot looks like it was a small plastic piece and is obviously a week point in the design. This may be a decent switch for a 100% street machine, but won't take the abuse of off-road.

Additional Comments On Sep 26, 2012:I bought this switch to get rid of the multiple switches I had around my bike and put them all in one spot. I have only had it on my bike for a few months and already the turn signal switch quit working. I took it apart hoping it would be an easy fix such as cleaning it, but the pivot point on the switch was broken. The pivot looks like it was a small plastic piece and is obviously a week point in the design. This may be a decent switch for a 100% street machine, but won't take the abuse of off-road.
Edit: Rockey mountain saw that I was not satisfied with this switch and sent a new one out to me no questions asked. Hopefully I just got the lemon. Once I have the new one on for a few months I'll update this review.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Thom in UT

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Good price and quick shipping thanks to RMATV. I installed an entire enduro kit on my WR450 and most the stuff is Tusk Brand. Compared to other switches this one is clean and more compact. The wiring is nice and the buttons/switches are solid.
The only complaint I have about this switch, is that even tightened all the way down it was still loose on the handlebar, I had to do several wraps with electrical tape on the bar and then put the switch over it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Control Switch

Juan in CA

Comments On Feb 29, 2012:Switch is simple and works great, very simple instalation and great price. This thing is almost identical to some others that cost much more. I had a small issue with my switch but Rocky Mountain took care of it very fast! This is why I refer my buddies to Tusk and Rocky Mountain, great products and support!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great, Easy Installation

WYATT in UT

Comments On Oct 28, 2011:I really like the look and feel of this switch on my bike. Was very easy to wire up and looks to be built well. Switches are crisp and responsive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend this product.

Chris in CO

Comments On Oct 14, 2011:I converted a 2007 WR450 to street and had absolutely no issues during inspection. Installation was easy, but you do have to have mechanical ability and follow simple directions. Couple of buddies got their kits elsewhere, they paid 3x the price and got no significant improvement in components. Suffice to say, they endorse the Tusk now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Value

CHRISTOPHER in UT

Comments On Aug 01, 2011:Switch functions as it should.
Be aware that that when wiring in a hi/lo Trail-tech X2 headlight it will not light both bulbs as the stock trail-tech switch does. There is a missing diode per Trail-tech support.
Also be aware that the " Black ? Headlight main " wire is actually the positive feed to the light, not the ground. The wording in the pdf could be better but if you watch the YouTube video Tusk Motorcycle Compact Control Switch Installation Instructions (Enduro lighting kit) to see the specifics all will be good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Mike in CA

Comments On Dec 17, 2010:Switch works great. I have had it almost a year now with no problems. I did have to give the horn button a shot of WD-40 about 6 months ago because it stuck a little. It has been fine since.
Additional Comments On Mar 29, 2011:just noticed the new install video. very helpful. I am putting a kit on my crf shortly. thanks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad

MATTHEW in MO

Comments On Nov 13, 2010:needs to put all lights on with brights.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works

John in IN

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:Got this in my enduro kit. It works well enough and all the buttons work. Only thing that I am worrying about is how it will hold up to weather. It really doesn't seem to have a really solid construction. Some silicon would probably go a long way.
Also another thing to realize is that the switch does not provide power when hooked up to the headlight, it is only a switch. Run a power lead into the black wire and then run the other power lead into the headlight. The light blue and blue go into the hi and lo beam leads from the light.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Complete junk during a little sprinkle and fog

rafael in AZ

Comments On Aug 18, 2010:As I write this I am currently on a dual sport ride in Mexico for 10 days. I am so disappointing with the switch. I decided to upgrade (so I thought) from the metal $10 one I had and used here last year on my wr450 w/HID. I am having major issues with this garbage. On the first light rain this switch decided to turn itself on. I have worked on it here more than four times, other than thinking it was something else shorting out(nope). It is not sealed and has no protection for very light water. It is an over rated $5 switch from China. I have siliconed all the soldered contacts, which seems to help a little, but now I have no hi. Do not waste your money here, and try to find a sport bike switch for the same price. OEM switches are sealed and finding a used one and converting it over is the real answer for real dual sport riders during all weather rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Have this on two bikes

LAUREN in OK

Comments On Jul 21, 2010:I have this bar switch on two dirt bikes. The fit is good, but is improved by wrapping a couple of layers of electrical tape around the bar under the switch. The compact design is great for bikes with hydraulic clutches, which make for a small amount of space between the bar and the lines. My biggest complaint is that the light switch has to be pressed pretty hard to get it to stay in the off position. This product is almost literally half the price of similar switches on other sites, and is exactly the same. Go with the Tusk!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great product!

Brett in WA

Comments On Jan 31, 2010:In the process of putting this on my KTM dualsport. Looks to be another great Tusk product: sturdy,slim design, and great looking, but is lacking a wiring diagram which makes it a little difficult for installing. Hopefully they'll start including one, 'till then you'll have to just experiment with what you get.
Tech Note: Instructions are on our website under the product details under the tab marked "PDF Documents".

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great product

clint in TN

Comments On Dec 21, 2009:used this to put lights on my ttr125le. works great with the polisport headlight. i don't use the blinker swithc(yet)but I use the horn button as the electric start button. works nice

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

tusk control switch

Tyler in IA

Comments On Dec 22, 2009:the control switch works great. i used it to replace the bulky one on my klr650. i had to make my own connectors to fit the klr, but it wasn't hard. just so you know the wires measure about 22 1/2 inches long. plenty long to get them where you need them. turn signal, horn, and light switch works great. great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful?