Tusk Full Chassis Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Tusk Full Chassis Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 35 Reviews

Return to Tusk Full Chassis Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Full Chassis Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

JUDEX in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KFX 400

Comments On Jun 09, 2014:Very nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent fit and finish...and price!

ANTHONY in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On May 20, 2014:This thing went on without a hitch and has saved me from big bangs, damages, and ultimately costly repairs. With Rocky Mountain ATV, you get quality and value!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product, little disappointed

MATT in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Dec 27, 2013:The product does what its intended to do however, its a 2 piece skid plate and I thought it was a one piece. No where in the discription does it say its a 2 piece skid plate. TECH NOTE: THIS HAS BEEN ADDED TO THE DESCRIPTION ON THE 2 PIECE KITS.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

CHRIS in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A big let down

JAKE in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 POLARIS PREDATOR 500

Comments On Aug 07, 2013:Pros: its thick.........
Cons: 2 piece design, bolts are not recessed in, hardware included was useless because the bolts were the wrong thread pitch, oil drain holes are a little off center.
This skid plate will do its job... Until a rock snaps a bolt head off... Really poor design.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

SHANE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jul 28, 2013:Works great!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy it

Tim in New Jersey – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On May 11, 2013:First off it is in 2 pieces, second the bolts are not recessed so I can see them getting taken off by the first couple rocks. The fit looks good until I started it up. There are no brackets toward the back, so it vibrates like crazy at high rpm. I will have to drill more holes and make new brackets. Called rmatv and they said I have to take pictures and email it to them before I can get my money back. I had this rush delivered for a trip that I will now have to take with this skid plate and just have to buy a better one when i get home. Save the money and get a nicer one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

was not impressed

Cody in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 21, 2013:Like everything Tusk except this. Bolt didnt line up. Don't recomend this. Everything else Tusk has been great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2009 trx450er

Borce in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:decent skid plate downside is that it is in two pieces also drain holes don't line up properly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

review engine skid plate

P. Anthony in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:Light weight, better coverage then stock plastic plate. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

kyle in HI

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:No instructions. But not to bad to install just had to put it under the atv to see the mounting points. Had to drill hole so could service the trans side fo the case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Robert in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2012:Fits great very strong and looks cool. I ride in the desert so lots of rocks and other debris hits the bottom. Lets you enjoy the ride and not worry about punching a hole in your engine case

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2007 Polaris Predator 500

Ted in WA

Comments On May 30, 2012:Great fit. Two piece but who cares? No instructions, who needes them anyways? It's a skid plate not much thinking envolved. Thanks for the great price and skid plate RMATV\MC!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Raptor 700R (needed few adjustments)

ADAM in PA

Comments On Oct 12, 2010:Great plate, great price. Just some fitment issues. Obviously, you get what you pay for, though. All that really needed done was the two front holes on the main part of the plate needed elongated. Just drilled another 1/4" hole and filed the inside edges and then it fit perfect, but it took about 15 minutes of wrestling it on and off the bike to figure out this is what needed done. All other fasteners, washers and frame hooks worked perfect.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

Brandon in MI

Comments On Sep 28, 2010:The skid plate arrived and had no instructions so i had to call and get some, then when i got the skid plate installed it rattled alot at high rpms on my TRX450ER, had to put some rubber inbetween to stop the vibraiton.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

not quite!

brian in MN

Comments On Jun 18, 2010:just got my quote un quote 08 skid plate for my 450r. # 1 it has no paperwork. install instructions. some questionable missing or wrong parts in bolt bag. its also marked for an o4- o5 honda. and il hafta drill a hole or two for the overflow tube. huh. .. well get what u pay for??? Tech Note: Skid plates will only have oil drain hole.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

protection

aaron in IN

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:If you ever been riding in the woods or on any surfaces with rocks and sticks then youknow this is a good investment.It allows you to go over any obstacle without getting hung up on any foreign surface or rocks hitting the bottom of your motor.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Installed on '07 Honda TRX450ER

Scott in NV

Comments On Nov 09, 2009:Overall: quality product. I just needed something to make sure the rocks of Nevada didn't bust anything. No instructions but not difficult to install. The only bad thing was the EXTREME vibration. But nothing some rubber tape didn't fix. I really like the price and overall design. I would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2003 kfx 400

ANDRZEJ in MA

Comments On Aug 20, 2009:I bought this skid plate and I cant say they look really nice. But the only problem is it doesn't come with any instruction. But its not so hard, you need to figure it out.
Additional Comments On Aug 20, 2009:good skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

for 400ex

Christal in PA

Comments On May 08, 2009:at first i thought this was going to be just one full plate but it comes in 2 pieces which doesnt matter really the front piece bolts on just fine but the chassis piece it only bolts on towards the front but you would think it bolts on towards the back to but it doesn't the drilled holes are directly under the motor which makes no sense but with just the 2 it fits and holds on just fine!...also when u start it up theirs no rattle

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Z400

Donald in KS

Comments On Apr 22, 2009:love this skid plate holds up great easy to install includes all hardware buy it worth every doller

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

03 ltz 400

Alex in NH

Comments On Apr 14, 2009:fits right on my bike so far so good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

KFX450R

ANDREW in NE

Comments On Jan 16, 2009: GOOD PRODUCT, FIT EXACTLY, HARWARE WAS OK BUT DIDN'T BUY IT FOR HARDWARE JUST USED MY OEM. MADE ONE MOD DRILLED HOLE FOR BACK MOUNTING BOLT AND USED A PIECE OF TEFLON PLASTIC FOR A SPACER. COULD OF HAD RECESSED HOLES FOR BOLTS, BUT DECENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, PAY MORE. DON'T COMPLAIN ABOUT A CHEAPER PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

KFX 450 r

Joe in UT

Comments On Nov 21, 2008:Horrible fit, no instuctions which didnt make a difference pretty much a direct bolt on hated the metal tab that slid into the frame rail all it does is hum thought there was something wrong with my new bike could extend all the way up the frame to the front of the bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

Mark in CA

Comments On Sep 18, 2008:Easy to install and seems to be holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worst product ever

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Sep 07, 2008:I have purchased other Tusk products and have been happy but, this belly pan is not even close to what I expected. No instructions, bolts not recessed, and the two piece design is just waiting to fall off during a ride.I have also applied foam trying to loose the vibration with no luck. I love Rocky Mountain but this product should be reviewed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks good, but where are the instructions?

JARRED in OH

Comments On Jul 01, 2008:I had no real problem installing the skid plate, because I have installed one before. But for the noob, where are the instructions? I just bolted this onto my Z400, all holes lined up, etc. Install took about 15 minutes total. Use some loc-tite on the bolts so they don't back out. All in all, so far a good product!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

agravating instalation

thomas in NC

Comments On Feb 29, 2008:Purchased for Raptor 700. some of the bolts are not long enough and the bolt holes dont line up so you have to alter your brand new skidplate be prepared to spend a few extra dollars before you get started.
TECH NOTES - Hardware and bolt hole alignment has been fixed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 PREDATOR TLD

DAVID in WV

Comments On May 08, 2008:The Tusk skid plates do not have a recessed area for the bolt heads to be protected.Had some hole alignment issues but nothing a drill cant fix.Except for the bolt heads being exposed in about the worst place possible,they are pretty decent skids and a good price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

you get what you pay for

Cory

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:Had to make a front bracket for the 400ex version. We are also going to have to figure out a way to keep it from vibrating against the frame at high RPMs . First Tusk product I am disappointed with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty

Jeff in AR

Comments On Apr 11, 2008:This is thicker than the Pro Armor plate on my friends EX. Mounting was easy enough, just needs longer frame mount bolts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good quality aluminum skids

BILL in OR

Comments On Mar 06, 2008:nice fit/good qualit/best bang for the buck/heavy duty/holes for mounting needed reamed out a little

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Yes Yes

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:Love it, fit perfect and cannot wait to dent it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

longer bolts needed

PAUL in CA

Comments On Jan 25, 2008:purchased for a KFX400. fits good, looks good . large mount bolts need to be about 1/2 inch longer

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great product

Tyler in IA

Comments On Jan 15, 2008:I got this for a Z400 and love it. This is a high quality product and the price is amazing. It bolted up real easy. I highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful?