Tusk Rim Protectors

Customer Reviews for Tusk Rim Protectors

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 32 Reviews

Return to Tusk Rim Protectors Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Rim Protectors Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good deal! Great products!

DEREK in CO

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:Good deal! Great products!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

protection plus

PETE in QLD

Comments On Nov 12, 2013:These rim protectors are easy to use & are very tough, highly recommend them. I have all the tusk tire & wheel accessories & find them excellent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must, especially for anodized/plated rims...

Erik in NY

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:These fit the lip of the rim great and are made from some pretty durable stuff. I've used them for several mounts/dismounts and they work great. I've pried on them REALLY hard, enough I figured they would crack or split - and they took it without issue. I have gold colored rims on my bike and they have no scratches or scuffs whatsoever from tire mounting thanks to these. I'll add my voice to the chorus and say order two packs for a total of four - you could get away with two, but four makes life a lot easier, and hey, they're cheap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

steven in MI

Comments On May 20, 2013:They work well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Rim Protectors

Lane in ID

Comments On Feb 28, 2013:I found them a little hard to use, but they did work.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not real functional rim protection

RICK in UT

Comments On Dec 28, 2012:Broke one on the first use. Don't know how you can use these when mounting a new, stiff tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Made things much harder for me

Thomas in VA

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:I bought these but found that they made it a lot harder to get the tires off the rim. I broke one due to the pressure on it as well as a tire spoon. Not a bad product but too bulky to be of much help and I found I did not scratch the rims without them if I was careful.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rim protectors

James in TN

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:These are a must have if you dont want to scratch up your rims changing tires, I would recomend ordering two sets of them, makes it alot easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice item

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked for me

Rick in NM

Comments On Aug 12, 2012:Bought these to use during my first ever M/C tire change on the back of my 2011 DL650A. Worked as advertised. Clamp tight to wheel and sure protected the wheel from my Ham Fisted initial attempts at getting the tire off the wheel. So far I've purchased a couple of "Tusk" branded items and all have been excellent items.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product.

Catherine in NH

Comments On May 25, 2012:For the price they can't be beat I would say just as good as the big name brands but keeps a few extra bucks in your pocket.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Work great

Trevor in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:Work as stated. Don't have to worry about scratches.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Use Protection

Chris in NC

Comments On Apr 03, 2012:I have used these a few times on supermoto rims and sport bike rims. Work very well!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rim portectors

Matthew in NC

Comments On Feb 01, 2012:Works OK. Kind of bulky. I broke one the first time I used it. They DO work if you want to protect your rims. If you are having a hard time changing a tire, slow down and try again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

Nicholas in PA

Comments On Sep 09, 2011:They are a PITA to use but did protect the wheel and seem pretty durable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Work just aswell as the dear ones

MATT in NSW

Comments On Aug 03, 2011:These work just the same as the motion pro ones. Make changing tires when you have colored rims alot better so your not scratching your rims. Pretty good gear.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get 2 pairs

Mark in PA

Comments On May 09, 2011:These do a great job, but as others have said, get 2 sets. It makes life a lot easier.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works Great.

Tyler in UT

Comments On Mar 13, 2011:Does what it says it does. I suggest buying two sets. They are super cheap and it made my life a bit easier changing a tire having four total rim guards to work with.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the money.

Dwight in MO

Comments On Mar 01, 2011:I had never used rim protectors until i bought these. I am very glad i did. I did not make a single scratch on my rim using these. They do take sometime to get used to. and like some people have said, maybe three or four are really needed, you can get by with two, but it does take a little longer. I would like them to be thinner, but then i suppose the material would be different, and they would cost more. For me mounting the last side of the tire was the most difficult it is hard to squeeze them in between the rim and tire, thats why i wish they were thinner. Good tire irons are needed because the rim protectors will place the end of the tire iron closer to the tube, increasing the chance of piniching it. I was careful, and had no problems. If i had colored rims i definely would have two sets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rim protectors

michael in FL

Comments On Jan 03, 2011:not even the slightest hint of a scratch, they worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great value

Mark in IA

Comments On Dec 23, 2010:These rim protectors pay for themselves by preventing any damage to your chrome or aluminum wheels. I used to use several layers of duct tape, and learned the hard way after gouging some soft alumiunum rims, never again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Jack in PA

Comments On Dec 12, 2010:Protects wheel when changing the tire. Holds up well. A must have in the tool box.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

caulin in OH

Comments On Nov 02, 2010:They work good but it would be so much better if the set came with 4 of them. even 3 would work fine. Buy 2 sets of them because having to move one every time you take a bit makes a lot more work and time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK rim protectors

Harry in GA

Comments On Oct 21, 2010:It took some getting use to. I think if I had an extra set of hands it would have worked better. They kept jumping off and once you leave go of the tire iron you are back to square one. I'll try them one more time but duct tape would have worked too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BUY TWO SETS OF RIM PROTECTORS

PETER in NJ

Comments On Oct 17, 2010:THEY WORK WELL, BETTER IF YOU HAVE 4 .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work good, take your time.

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:These work like they should but expect to take a little extra time if you dont want to scratch up your nice rims. Plus really need two sets if you want to speed up your task.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rim Protectors

Bruce in GA

Comments On Aug 25, 2010:Wish I got some of these a few years ago, would of saved me a from defacing my rims.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No scratches

Jack in FL

Comments On Aug 02, 2010:Keeps your rims looking great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent...just buy it.

JEREMY in MA

Comments On May 19, 2010:Got a set last time I ordered tires. Easy to use and no more damaged rims.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Some things you just don't need

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Dec 01, 2009:With three bikes, I change quite a few tires in a years time. And I really wanted these to work to help keep from marring my black rims when I change tires. But I quickly found that these Rim Protectors are more hassle than I want to deal with. Having to move them with each bite you take with your tire irons is a extremely large pain in the rear. It's much easier to put some tape on your tire irons, and take your time and be careful. Although they're well made, these are one of those tools that will never get lost, because they'll never get moved from the very bottom of my tool box.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

worked good

Tyler in IA

Comments On Jun 16, 2009:These are a little stiffer than the motion pro ones. I actually like the stiffer material better. They stay in place and are easy to maneuver. I changed my tire on my black wheels with zero scratches!

Was this review helpful?