Acerbis Fuel Tank

Customer Reviews for Acerbis Fuel Tank

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 39 Reviews

Return to Acerbis Fuel Tank Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Acerbis Fuel Tank Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Kelby in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:this tank was easy to install on my 09 crf450r, very satisfied with how much fuel it holds and well it works

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

james in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:When I race my SX in Hare Scrambles I put this big tank on.. Piece of mind that I won't run out and don't have to stop for a refuel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice tank but extremely big

AARON in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On May 30, 2014:I love the tank for my 09 yz 450f but it's not the coolest looking tank. The tank is really big and the Percock feels cheap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I don't run out of gas anymore

Jon in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 16, 2014:Fairly easy to install. Only problem was making sure the gasket was in the correct position when bolting on the fuel pump. My bad for not being more careful, but it could have been designed to be a bit more user friendly. However, the problem is mostly on me. Just be careful and watch what you are doing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality but....

DAVE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Apr 10, 2014:This is a quality tank. Good stiff plastic. Nice cap. But the left side of the tank should be deeper so the petcock is at the lowest point. Not the tank wings. Not anything to stress over. I'm sure it was to make the carb more accessible which it does. But I wonder if I'll get to use that last quart of gas.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits good.

KACY in MN – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 18, 2014:Fits good. front mount is cheesy. They say to reuse the stock side panel bolts but they are too small for the holes in the tank. Had to use hardware store bolts until I find something better. Love the extra range.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tank

Chris in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:I got the 3.7 gallon version for my 530 KTM in black. It looks stylish and is not too much larger than the stock/fairing setup; fuel weight is kept pretty low too. The fit is a little bit of a pain, I had to swap around different bolt/spacer/washer setups before the tank would eventually mount to the frame posts. I don't like the quick fill cap, it's huge leaks a little and to me totally useless. I would very much prefer the ability to use the stock cap. The tank shell is also porous, as all my attempts at putting decals on the tank have failed...they bubble off in a few weeks leaving an impossible sticky goo to remove. All and all, the best option for my ktm at the ~3 gallon mark. I would buy it again all said and done.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice fit but it is yellow right out of the box

Jason Johnson in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:The tank fits nicely and looks good, other than the fact it is yellow. Im not sure why its yellow before any fuel was ever put in when its supposed to be natural.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Big !

JOHN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:I sent this tank back due to how big it was, and could not use with aftermarket bigger radiators and also radiator guards , no room. It was for a 2007 Honda CRF450X

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tank

Tyler in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jan 15, 2014:This tank was easy to install, you just need a few of your stock tank's parts. Other than that it fit right in and looks great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PERFECT

Brandon in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 09, 2014:I bought a Clarke oversize tank for my bike and it was absolute garbage! nothing was even close to being correct. so i was hesitant on buying this acerbis one but boy am i glad i did. this tank fit beautifuly and even fit easier then the stock one believe it or not. and i like the 2 pet-cock idea. will DEFFINITELY order from again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

jeremy in Id

jeremy in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jan 02, 2014:great fit and can ride much longer

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tank poor cap

DYLAN in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Dec 22, 2013:I really like the way that this tank fit on my 2010 YZ450. It looks good and fits within the frame so you can hardly tell that its there. However, I hate the cap that comes with it. It doesn't really work for a quick fill and it it allows dirt to get in. I would rather just have a regular gas cap, but my stock gas cap didn't fit so I was stuck with the Acerbis one.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Fit

Jason in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 03, 2013:Installed this on my '14 300 XC. Fit perfect. Absolutely no hassles. Dry Break ready but comes with a regular screw cap. Mine did not come with an MDR cap, but I'm okay with that. Seems like the same material as the stock tank. Overall much better experience than my last 2 IMS tanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tank - Fits well

Chris in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 30, 2013:2.7 Gallons is nice for long rides. Tank fit well and seems to be of good quality. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2010 yz450f

edward in IA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:Great fitment. Stock parts bolted right on w/o problems or leaks. MDR gas cap feels like it weighs a half pound. I wish it came with a normal gas cap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 XR650L

Gary in Nevada

Comments On Aug 06, 2013:Tank fits perfect. Used on '01 XRL with RSW top triple with three inch bar risers and Scotts sub mount kit. Easy install. Comes with everything you need, including very clear mounting instructions. Range is now well over 250 miles per tank. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Big Tank

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Jul 25, 2013:This tank is huge! 3.4 gallons to be exact. I bought this for a long trail ride & when the guys I was riding with were getting nervous about fuel, I had all the confidence in the world. It's a really great fit on my bike, & looks like it was meant to be there. I had to swap over my petcock, but that was no big deal. The only thing that was wrong was the vent hose was a little short. Also no big deal. I got a color matched one for my bike locally anyway. Way to go ACERBIS!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CLOSED COURSE TANK

BR in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 500 EXC

Comments On May 07, 2013:There is no mention that this tank requires the removal of the fuel catch can for the 500exc and technically makes it illegal to ride on the street. Not that it would have effected my decision, but thought people should be know. Otherwise it fits well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2008 Honda XR650L

AARON in WA

Comments On Apr 16, 2013:This tank is a "challange" to install on the XR650L. It took me and my buddy a couple hours and we are both very good with wrenches. Once its on then it fits pretty good. You will have to move the front blikers up or out to make clearance for the tank and the triple clamp on full turns. This tank makes the bike a true all day riding machine though. I would do it again as it is a quality product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit...High Quality

Tim in AZ

Comments On Mar 28, 2013:More compact with same capacity than OEM tank...However, had to trim kickstarter to clear lower right side of tank

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great fit and quick postage

Craig in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 11, 2013:this tank bolted straight in and used oem radiator guards. The tank kit was spot on.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Fit

Scott in CO

Comments On Mar 09, 2013:Great fit, easy to fill, easy to see fuel level, petcock is exposed to damage. Order the lightweight gas cap.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

glenn in VC – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jan 27, 2013:Fitted well had all the bits and peices, fitting the old pump out of the old tank was a bit of a pain the o ring can be tricky.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

there are better ones

JA in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Nov 17, 2012:They cap on this is their quick fill and they leak- leak bad too. Also said it included petcock if needed?? mine didn't come with one- well they are needed folks... beware of the extra expense for both a decent cap (I got a TUSK cap for yamaha that fit since my cap from my older YZ fit this tank for my KTM) and the cost of the petcock- you don't want to swap out the petcock when swapping tanks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

CRF250R 2011

Gareth in WA

Comments On Oct 17, 2012:Fit was good and fairly simple. After a few rides a leak appeared around the fuel pump, removing the pump and refiting has cured the issue. The flange at the bottom to mount the fuel pump to is a bit flimsy, the standard tank is far sturdier in this area. Also the fuel cap leaks slightly out of the quick fill coupling when the tank is full. Overall not bad but I think I would try another brand of tank before buying an Acerbis tank again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The design could be better.

JOE in CA

Comments On Aug 19, 2012:I purchased this tank for my 2012 ktm200. For only being less than a half gallon larger than my stock tank, it carries all the fuel on top. This tank could have easily held that fuel lower as there is much more space under this tank than the stock one. I believe this tank is meant to fit four strokes as well and that would make sence for the extra room. Also, I have to run my steering stop bolt out on the left side to keep my top triple clamp from hitting the tank! In my opinion, very poor design!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Acerbis fuel tank

Lane in ID

Comments On Aug 03, 2012:Nice tank it fit perfect and looks awsome on my 2010 yz450f

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2007 XR650L Acerbis tank

Robert in SD

Comments On Apr 27, 2012:very good tank over all, instructions are very poor. had to do small modifications to the bike to get it to fit, and fitting is a two person job. very worth the money though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tank!

JOANN in UT

Comments On Apr 29, 2012:Fits the shrouds pretty awesome and doesnt look too bad on my CRF250R. The cap looks great as well. I have had it on for a year now and it still looks new. I put a GPR stabilizer on and had to heat up the front and dent it in a little so that the front of the tank wouldnt rub the stabilizer stem rub but nothing major. We got a Clarke tank for my sisters 150r and it sucked. It looked ugly and leaked. Bad. I would recommend this tank to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tank but bad cap

patrick in NM

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:Great fit on the bike but the gas cap's qwick fill leaks, I had to silicone the cap to end the leaking.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2012 yz450

clint in OR

Comments On Feb 20, 2012:I purchased this tank for my 2012 YZ450f. The tank fit very well, everything lined up nicely. The MDR gas cap is neat but probably not something I'll take advantage of. The bike is now capable of 35-55 mile range depending on my riding style. It is slim and the extra capacity is hardly noticable. Overall I am very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tank

Jared in MT

Comments On Dec 26, 2011:Bought for my 06crf450r was a perfect fit I was worried after reading a review that they didn't fit if you have a Scott's stabilizer not the case on Honda's at least.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't fit if you have a Scotts Stabilizer

Ken in UT

Comments On May 20, 2011:The front of the tank (where the bolt mounts into frame) hits the stabilizer. Why would they design a "Desert Tank" that isn't compatible with one of the most prevalent stabilizers??
TECH NOTE: FRONT OF TANK INTERFERES WITH SCOTTS STABILIZER POST ON KX/KLX 450

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Acerbis Tank

William in SA

Comments On May 10, 2011:Great tank. Fits my '09 200 EXC and 2010 505 SX-F. The clear tank is much more practical than the black ones. I had to buy a normal type cap as the stupid Acerbis Quick Fill cap that came with the tank kept leaking fuel onto my groin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Product.

Jeremy in AB

Comments On May 04, 2011:Bit of a tight fit with rad guards but other than a little sweat, went on nicely. Great looking.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tank....Hard Fit

Clayton

Comments On Apr 23, 2011:I got this tank for my 2007 Honda XR650L. I wanted a tank that would get me farther than 90 miles. I decided I wanted the 5.8gallon since I do a lot of riding and touring. So.... Pros: 1. Very Nice Tank 2. Supplies all the hardware 3. Great Tank for the $ (Very Affordable) 4. FAST Shipping (Ordered and recieved 3 day shipping...actually got here in 48 hours)
Cons: 1. Terrible Instructions (You cant see any of the descriptions or pictures) 2. You do need to modify the bike (Grind off part of the original tank support) 3. It was verfy tough to get this tank to fit. 4. There was a leak in the petcock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

5 stars quality

JOAQUIM JORGE in 10

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:the best choice for this kind of product

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Acerbis is the answer

Simon in VIC

Comments On Oct 18, 2010:This is a great fit and uses the original fuel pump mounting system on the CRF450R 09-onwards. Shrouds and all fittings mount well.

Was this review helpful?