Gaerne Balance Oiled Boot

Customer Reviews for Gaerne Balance Oiled Boot

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 11 Reviews

Return to Gaerne Balance Oiled Boot Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Gaerne Balance Oiled Boot Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Qualiy Boot!!

Wes in ID

Comments On Feb 08, 2013:This boot, out of the box is the most comfortable boot I have ever worn. It has probably the best sole for slick surfaces. It seriously fit and was easy to walk in right out of the box. It is true to the size I wear. When I took a chance on this boot I needed a something between a Motocross boot & everyday work boot. I believe this boot is in Gaerne's trials riding class of boot. I ride hard trails, but needed a boot I could walk in when I'm helping buddies with their bikes on rides. It offers enough protection for harder trail rides. It is not recommended for any Motocross. There is just not enough ankle support for that. The quality is second to none. I watched a review online that said you could re-sole them. All I can say is give this boot a try. It's not the norm, but performs great!!

Additional Comments On Apr 07, 2013:I"m getting back on to further my review after 300 miles of riding. My view has not change one bit. This is the most fantastic, most comfortable trail riding boot I have worn ever!!!! Now I can see why it's been around so long. Considering that most people trail ride I'm shocked I don't see them more often out on the trail.

Additional Comments On Oct 29, 2013:Well, it's been about 1200 miles later on these boots. They look a little worn, but I re-oil them often and they look great. I've added the gaerne metal toe guards on each boot to keep the sole and leather together. On all of my nasty, knarly, singletrack riding I have only had a hand full of times I thought I need more protection. All in all still one of the better purchases I have ever made for dirt biking.

Additional Comments On Mar 09, 2014:Well, just another update. Just got back from another trip from Moab, Utah. Over 100 miles of riding rocky, unforgiving terrain. Boots still perform how I expect. Never felt once that my feet were under protected for trail riding. Reconditioned the leather when I got home & they look good as new.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leather is the only protection you'll get.

Erik in NY

Comments On Sep 26, 2013:If youâ??ve done any research on these at all, you know the Gaerne Balance Oiled boots have a cult-like following. Itâ??s deserved. The quality of the leather is phenomenal, the craftsmanship superb, the fit-and-finish is outstanding. They are gorgeous to behold. All that being said, I returned mine. Why? One word: Protection. In my opinion, these boots offer no more protection than an ANSI work boot, if that. Yes, they have the shin guard and a work boot doesnâ??t, but the ANSI boot would have a steel/composite toe and these donâ??t. Some might say the midsoles of the Balance boots are stronger, but if the work boot has a steel shank I seriously doubt it. Having a friend punch you in the toe or ankle bone while wearing these would result in you hopping around and cursing (unless your friend is a wuss) and thatâ??s nothing compared to what a stump, rock, or the frame of your bike can do. To be fair, Gaerne designed these for trials riding, and as far as I know thatâ??s done at very low speeds and on lighter bikes. I didnâ??t expect these to be motocross boots by any means, but I expected something more than just a single layer of leather around the ankle/heel/toe areas. There is not even a wear pad where the shifter contacts the boot! Unless you only do VERY light off-road riding, I would strongly suggest considering something a little more protective. I hate only giving these 3 stars, because in a world of mass-produced junk footwear they truly are works of art, but I intend to use my boots, not put them in a display case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great boot

jamie in Ontario

Comments On Sep 30, 2013:Very happy with my perches. They are one of the nicest boots I have owned.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best BOOTS so FAR... Feed stay dry

Helmut in VIC

Comments On Aug 12, 2013:Awesome Boots. I use them Trailriding on my Quad, Feeds stay dry the hole day. My Buddys just Ordered some GAERNE SG 12. Alpinestar is not always the Star on the Sky... WILL BUY GAERNE BOOTS AGAIN.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very comfortable for wide feet

Nathan in UT

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:These boots are awesome. They feel secure and solid, but what is more important to me is that they are incredibly comfortable for my wide feet. They fit true to size as far as the number size, but they feel like an EE or so in width. They are comfortable out of the box, and really comfortable after a few days of wear. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great boot.

Stephen in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2013:Comfortable and give you solid protection. Leather got grinded down in a few spots but in moab but I think these will wear better on dirt trails where I plan to use them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love them

KEVIN in CO

Comments On Jan 30, 2013:comfortable out of the box

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Pleased

Stephen in UT

Comments On Jan 25, 2013:So, these are a little bit on the pricey end for what I could have purchased by way of boots, but for me these fit the bill perfectly. I ride an ATV, not quite as demanding or dangerous as MX, but certainly wet and dirty. These boots ARE WATERPROOF! I took them out as soon as I purchased them and spent hours in ankle deep wet and muck. Feet were toasty dry after the day was over. They are comfortable for walking long periods in and provide moderate safety on a quad. I don't feel like a stormtrooper in them either like other MX boots I have worn. If you are looking for a safe boot that looks great, comfortable to walk in and holds up to the elements, this is your boot!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very comfortable

Bill in WA

Comments On Jan 04, 2013:The comfort while walking is unsurpassed, it feels like a hiking boot! Waterproof....I'm the only one in our group with dry feet! The flexible gum rubber sole is not the best for stand-up riding. I had a bad case of plantar fasciitis after a long ride and can attribute it to the gum soles. Also, there isnt a lot of lateral ankle support. I would recommend this boot for casual trail riders, not for the aggressive type.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love this boot

Mike in CA

Comments On Oct 05, 2011:I bought this boot for the KLR adventure ride I had planned. Best choice I could have made! I love them. very comfy even hiking in. waterproof too - tested many times!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Truly waterproof and very comfortable

KEVIN in ID

Comments On Jul 05, 2011:Was a little skeptical about the waterproofness but after spending 15-20 minutes wading in 3-8" inches of fast moving very cold (still lots of snowmelt going on up high here in north idaho) creek water repairing part of a singletrack bridge my feet were completely dry and warm. Very comfortable, almost zero breakin and the gum rubber soles gave great traction on the slippery rocks while doing some bridge maintainance. About 2 inches shorter than normal so knee brace didnt stick into boot top. Fit seems to be true to size. Quality is typical Gaerne, excellent!
Additional Comments On Jul 05, 2011: Lightweight n easy to walk in.

Was this review helpful?