Ricochet Bullet Swing Arm Guard

Customer Reviews for Ricochet Bullet Swing Arm Guard

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 43 Reviews

Return to Ricochet Bullet Swing Arm Guard Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Ricochet Bullet Swing Arm Guard Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best swingarm bash plate i've seen.

Paul in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YFZ450R

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Extremely well made item, even the chain runner is really tough looking & quality, would definately recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesnt cover Shock

S in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YFZ450R

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:The swing arm guard itself is good and durable. Just a bit upset it didn't cover up to my rear shock. It was also missing a plate for spacing out the chain guard when I received it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 400ex

Jerry in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Sep 14, 2013:Had to modify. The Brake rotor did not clear the plate. It was a easy fix. I used a cutting wheel and made a grove in the plate. Richocet makes great products. I have there Skid plates on my 1994 kx500 and 2001 400ex. excellent product. Takes hits without a mark to show. worth the time to modify. Very strong! Still my first choice in skid plates.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice!

Kevin in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jul 14, 2013:it took me longer to drink my beer then it did to bolt this on to my 2006 Honda TRX400EX. the new bolts it comes with are torx, but i ended up finding an allen wrench that fit it perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Neat Built in Chain Guide...

DAVID in AE – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:The product does exactly what is supposed to do. It provides great protection for the swing arm. The cool thing is the built is chain guide. This is a good product and I would definately recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very solid

Seth in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On May 20, 2013:Put this guy on with blue locktite and loving it so far. Metal is very thick and solid.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I would buy again

JOSEPH in AZ

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:works great. easy to install

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tough Product

STEVE in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 05, 2013:Bolt holes werent lined up perfectly but i did manage to get the bolts in without modifying the piece. I have had it on for 2 years and holds up to the tough PA rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What rocks!

JASON in NY

Comments On Jun 23, 2012:A high quality, heavy duty necessary piece of your quad...I've had DG and Pro Armor skids on my 400 EX and battled with alignment but the Ricochet swingarm plate lifted right into place the first time and is way tougher and more durable than the stock unit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400EX

ANDREW in CO

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:Great skid plate. Exact fit. Its a little heavy, about 15 lbs.This is a must have if you ride trail .If you ride MX, then you could get away with the other skid plate RICOCHET offers its smaller and made from lighter material.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Holy Sheep Sh*t

Chris in AL

Comments On Jan 04, 2012:I never write reviews. I have been riding Honda sport quads for over 23 years and this is the best single product I have every purchased for an ATV.
If you want swingarm protection, look at no other product than the bulletline series from Ricochet. This thing will take a BEATING! 1/4" and it will handle anything. I ride on nothing but rocky rocky rocky terrain. Had it on for about 8 months now and no problems at all. Easy install, just make sure to center your chain between the guard or it will rub the guard away.
A++++++ to Ricochet for a super solid product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice !

Kevin in QC

Comments On Jul 12, 2011:Very nice product, it's a must !

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Guard for a YFZ450

Jeremy in MI

Comments On May 24, 2011:Great guard, no rattles. Chain guide holding good so far. One screw did strip but it could have been the hole in the swing arm. I used lock-tite anyways so it should be fine.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

MUST BUY

Mark in TX

Comments On Apr 01, 2011:I rarly write reveiws for any products but this one deserves one. I ride and work at Hidden Falls Adventure Park in the Texas hill country. Our trails are some of the most demanding trails that I have ever ridin. I have one word to describe the terrain "ROCKS". With that being said, I put a pro-armor swingarm gaurd on my YFZ450 2 months ago and it could not handle the rocks, it constanly bent into my rear brake, and I had to bend it back into place after each ride. After much frustration, I decided to try the Ricochet gaurd. The difference is like night and day, I have been riding for one month with it and have hit countless rocks and it has not bent one time. DO NOT BUY PRO ARMOR! This product is the one you want!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great for raptor 700

Varga in -

Comments On Feb 20, 2011:excellent product thick and tough,great protection(even on the bottom of the rear shock)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough!!!!

Jeff in IN

Comments On Jan 25, 2011:Super tough, easy to install, quality product!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

'05 400EX

Bernard in AZ

Comments On Oct 11, 2010:I normally do not write reviews, but this product warrants it. I was out trail riding (in a wash) right around the top end of fourth gear when I noticed a decent sized rock right in my path. I thought I could clear it (thought being the word of the day) but I was waaaayy wrong - I nailed the rock with this swing arm guard and it saved my day, and my quad. If I would have had the OEM plastic guard on for that impact, I guarantee I would have been walking back to my truck. The impact did leave some decent scrapes/dings, but that is what it is meant for. Strong product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Larry D in TX

Comments On Oct 03, 2010:works just like it should, i beat the crap out of it and it held up perfect!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great overall

JP in GA

Comments On Sep 04, 2010:Absolutely no complaints with this one. Couldn't be any easier to install, mounted straight up to where the stock plastic guard mounted on my Raptor. Very sturdy, though it adds a little weight to the ATV, but not enough to be noticeable. The extra weight is definitely better than throwing a chain 5 miles deep on the trails.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

KFX 450R

Todd in ON

Comments On Nov 08, 2009:Great guard. Buy one, it's worth it. Doesn't bend or break or dent like others. Welds are good quality as well.
Additional Comments On Aug 14, 2010:After a year of abuse and some hard hits, it is holding up great. Obviously there are dents an scratches now but no cracks or broken welds. Great skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome!

Andrew in MN

Comments On Jul 11, 2010:everyone should have one of these on their wheeler...especially trail riders

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very strong but heavy

JONATHAN in FL

Comments On Apr 18, 2010:I have abused the hell out of this gurad on my KFX450 hitting rocks,roots,stumps,ect. holds up very well. The built in chain guard is great the chain rubbed the plastic sliders at first but wore in now dose a great job protecting the swing arm and chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

only a good?

John in MO

Comments On Mar 05, 2010:reason I posted as good instead of excellent is because I have yet to test it out. But believe me 10X beefer than a normal skid. even the chain guid is cased in metal for protect. I believe I wil love this skid. My moose one cracked after a year of riding. If this one dont hold up im moving to steal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

like it!

Steven in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:was a little hard to install, but does its job like its supposed too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy Great product!

NATHAN in CO

Comments On Jan 08, 2010:After owning Ricochet on my Grizz 700 I thought I would replace my broken GYTR plate with this one on my 08 Raptor 700.All I can say is WOW there is Nothing not to like. Ricochet is the skid to have and you will see me buying again on my next new quad.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Protection

Mario in CA

Comments On Dec 19, 2009:This product is very tough and has good welds,even after more than 10 rides. However, the screws that come with it are low grade and tend to break. Better off using the stock screws. Otherwise, nice product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Fit

Stephen in CA

Comments On Dec 08, 2009:Bought it for my Raptor 700. It fits so perfect, looks awesome, and very beefy. Easy install. Cant wait to see how it takes those rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 Yamaha Raptor 700

Steve in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:This skid plate is beefy. Bolted on in about 5-6 minutes. All holes lined up perfectly and this thing looks like it can take some abuse. Built in chain guide is a plus.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Jeff in UT

Comments On Jul 15, 2009:it took me about 5 minutes to take off the stock swingarm protector off a 07 trx450 and put the new swingarm on and bolted down. bolt holes lined up perfectly and bolts that cane with it were the right ones.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400EX

Michael in TN

Comments On Jul 01, 2009:Decent skid for my application. had to do some creative spacing to clear my 41T rear sprocket. I would buy the original ricochet if I had to do it again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

RAPTOR 700

ROGER in VA

Comments On Mar 04, 2009:What can I say, this thing is strong. I ride in a lot of rocky places and this thing seems unbreakable. It fit great and still gives me plenty of ground clearance.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

John in OK

Comments On Nov 16, 2008:Got this guard for my 07 TRX400EX after the factory plastic one was torn up on the rocky trails I ride. Install was stupidly simple and only took a few minutes. I have ridden the same trails that tore up the factory plastic skid, and I see no damage at all. I know I bounced off quite a few rocks at decent speed and nothing other than expected scratches to the surface. I don't feel like I lost any ground clearance. This is a big, sturdy hunk of aluminum that seems to do the job very well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Price

ROBERT in CA

Comments On Nov 13, 2008:Placed the Ricochet Swingarm Guard on 2004 400EX and has taken a beaten over the years with no damage to sprocket, brake rotor or chain...Great product to protect your ride on rocky-boulder type trails...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WOW

JAMES in CA

Comments On Nov 02, 2008:WOW,not because I love it but because it was a pain in the @## to install. I just bought this 07 LTR450 In excellent condition but the stock chain guard had taken a hit before I got to it and slightly bent the mounting bracket under the axle to the left. You can hardly see the bend but it was enough for the holes on the new skid not to line-up with the existing holes. There is no play tolerance on the new skid. The mounting bracket is between the sprocket and disc and no good way to get at it to bend it back. I tried a large cresent wrench tightened up on the bracket and several blows with a hammer and had it lookin pretty straight. Now the holes on the bracket are slightly off from the bending, again no tolerance here. Can't get a drill in there to ream it out. I reamed out one of the questionable holes on the skid to give me some more play but since it's double thickness at that point to allow a countersunk bolt the provided washers no longer fit, UGH! Long story short I got it on there after several hours and some choice words that always seem to help. I haven't tried it yet but it looks like an awesome skid that will take a beating. Except for the install I think it's great. Oh, almost forgot. I love instructions with pictures. Unfortunately these don't have any so you'll give some strange looks when figuring which direction it goes on. Ride On!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!

Jimmy in AZ

Comments On Sep 30, 2008:Great fit and was easy to install, and I can tell you that this skid plate can take one heck of a beating! many many LARGE rocks and it is still straight. Great Product!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2003 Yamaha Warrior

MICHAEL in TN

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:Outstanding, great fit and looks good. I don't think I could dent this thing if I hit it with a 10 lb hammer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Peice of work

Jamie in WA

Comments On Feb 02, 2008:This fit perfect on my Raptor 660. I love the chain guide, I bet if I slacked my chain off the full adjustment and rode it would still not come off! (But I'm not trying it sorry! ...LOL)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Sean in NJ

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:very very happy with the quality of this swingarm skid, the quality of material and welds are great, very heavy duty and recessed area in the middle for more ground clearance , awesome craftsmanship, very pleased!! got some weight to it, very heavy duty, looks like its gona hold up great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A GOOD IMPROVMENT FROM THE STOCK PART

JASON in IA

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:THIS PRODUCT WAS EASY TO INSTALL AND WORKS GOOD.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maximum Protection

SHELBY in CA

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:The skid plate is solid I have hit rocks that slowed me down and this thing can take it. The only problem is the mounting on the YFZ 450 is weak and I had to tap the holes for bigger bolts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice product!

Brent in CA

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:This is the nicest skid plate I've used or seen. The craftsmanship is excellent!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get 1!!

FREDDIE in TN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The title says it all! Bulletproof through all sorts of riding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hit it hard

BRYAN in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Thia is a top notch product, I have tis on my quad I have hit, beat, and banged and I haven't damaged it yet. It was certainly worth the money.

Was this review helpful?