Pivot Works Shock Bearing Kit

Customer Reviews for Pivot Works Shock Bearing Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 22 Reviews

Return to Pivot Works Shock Bearing Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pivot Works Shock Bearing Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pivot Works Shock Bearing Kit

FREDRICK in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Sep 12, 2014:Great Kit that's easy to install, that lasts

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Little to much play for my liking

Kyle in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 200 MXC

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:These bearings seemed to have a lot of play even when they were installed right out of the box. Also the top shock bearing would not fit unless I rounded it off a little. Will not buy these again not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

ERIC in WV

Comments On Mar 23, 2014:better price and quality than oem

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wear very fast

Nicholas in VA

Comments On Dec 11, 2013:I only had them in the bike for 2 track rides and started loosening up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no problems with this kit!

mike in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On May 28, 2013:if installed properly, with a press not a hammer and socket, these bearings work great! I used these on my yz250f. I've seen a few reviews saying there was still slop after installing. yamahas pre 09 do inherently have a couple mm of play that comes from the design of the link and pivot, I've owned and worked on enough of these bikes to know that's just how they are. it's not the shock bearing!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent, not great.

Paul in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 05, 2013:I think the stock parts have tighter tolerances.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As good as OEM.

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Oct 30, 2012:As good as OEM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not impressed

Kyle in PA

Comments On Oct 06, 2012:After already purchasing a set of Pivot Works Shock Bearing earlier in the year i was very pleased with the quality. But this next set i received are completely worthless. As soon as the shock was on the bike and tightened up there was more slop and play in the shock than i had before i replaced the old bearings without even riding it yet. I dont think i will ever purchase another Pivot Works Bearing and am very dissappointed with the quality of the bearings. I will not reccomend Pivot Works Bearings to anyone .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

DAVID in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:just as good as oem

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Complete Junk

Jon in CA

Comments On Dec 01, 2011:If you are reading this review and are planning on buying any bearings from Pivot Works, DO NOT!!! The top shock bearing "designed" for a 2005 CRF-450 did not even come close to fitting. You could press it in to the shock body with your fingers and the design of the bearing was so off it would not allow the clip to go back in to the shock. The seals did not fit either and the bottom needle bearing race design is off on one side and will not allow the washers to glid smoothly. There is another review on this site descibing the same problems I am having. I also got a Pivot Works shock bearing kit for a 2007 KTM 300XC, and the seals were not the correct size. The customer service at Pivot Works sucks. I feel aftermarket parts should meet or exceed OEM specifications, and the products from Pivot Works are not even close to OEM. Save yourself the hassles and buy OEM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

yz 85

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:intalled on a yz 85 works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PIVOT WORKS!

DAVID in CA

Comments On Sep 16, 2011:Worked great for me and easy install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

Steven in NY

Comments On Apr 24, 2011:Well i picked up this set for my 2001 YZ250 and i must say i'm VERY upset with the quality of this product. the top bearing went in fine but the bottom is where it went down hill. first it looked like it was missing a needle bearing from the start. then installing them the needles fell out then the bearing and covers would not seat properly and had to grind one of the covers down to get the shock to fit. put less then ten minutes on it and the slop was even WORSE the then shot stock bearing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bad for Honda

DON in CO

Comments On Mar 22, 2011:I bought two of these, one for a 2006 crf450r and one for a 2007 crf250r. Both of these are Showa shocks and take the same Pivot Works part number. The lower bearing goes in and fits perfect but the seals do not fit correctly and fall out after a few minutes. The upper bearing is the big problem. The stock bearing has a larger bevel than the Pivot Works, when the new one is installed it will not seat in the groove and the circlip cannot be installed. I had to carefully grind both sides of the bearings to get the right depth and angle of the bevel to get them to fit. I will see how long they last after the modifications.
Additional Comments On Apr 06, 2011: the bearing will not center in the shock. Since the bearing does not center it will not fit in the frame.
I am currently working with Pivot Works to resolve the problem. They have been very helpful and I will post more information as it comes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Terrible bearings

ANTHONY in CA

Comments On Mar 10, 2010:I bought a set of PWs shock bearings for my WR, and when installed I still felt a slight slop in the shock. After no more than five rides the slop increased, and I replaced them with Yamaha factory bearings. A waste of time and money buying PWs bearings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great shock bearing kit

Michael in FL

Comments On Feb 10, 2010:comes with everything to do the job right

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Complete Kit

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Feb 19, 2009:It's great and simple. Comes with all the parts you need to do the job quick and right. Can't beat it.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poor product, even worse customer service

Kent in MD

Comments On Jul 28, 2008:Replaced my original 2000 cr250 upper shock bearing with a new PW bearing and it was just as bad! The new part has .010" play. By the time the play at the upper shock pivot is multiplied through the linkage it equates to about 1/4" at the rear wheel, I believe this is entirely unacceptable. Pivot Works Customer service was unresponsive for days at a time but when they did respond they tried to tell me that I hadn't really located the play in my suspension even though I made it clear in my initial email that the play was in their new spherical bearing. It took many days and many emails to find out just how much slop they feel is acceptable in their new parts but here is the offical response...
Kent, I am sorry for the delay in a response. I have been busy with warranty claims. .010? of play to myself, my manager, and our mechanic is acceptable. None of us have a spec and we did not find one in a service manual. If you would like you are more than welcome to call in and take a customer service survey. 515-402-8000 ext. 119 or 112 - Steve Not enough room here to show all of the emails leading up to their answer but I assure you it was a frustrating experience from start to finish.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pivot Works works

GREG in TN

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:Factory fit and easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't Go Wrong

DAVID in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What good value for a part.

BILL in FL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I appreciate good engineering. Pivot Works has this in droves.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Accept no subsitutes

JEFF in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I've tried the cheaper ones but the Pivot Works brand fits better.

Was this review helpful?