UM Performance Aluminum Oil Tank

Customer Reviews for UM Performance Aluminum Oil Tank

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 11 Reviews

Return to UM Performance Aluminum Oil Tank Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

UM Performance Aluminum Oil Tank Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

KEVIN in NC

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:installed easy looks great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

UM oil tank

Shane in AZ

Comments On Jul 11, 2012:Put this on my 2005 honda 400ex. Talk about a pain in the butt to install. Need to unbolt exhaust and leave oil tank unbolted to fit exhaust back were it goes then bolt exhaust then tank. Comes with no directions or fastening equipment. (bolts or rubber gromets) so dont throw away your old ones. Took me 6 hrs to change out my old oil tank and install this one. But it looks good and is bigger to help keep my bike cooler.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

660 Raptor

TOM in UT

Comments On Sep 13, 2011:Installed as an alternative to replacing with factory reservoir. Built much heavier with all fittings having nice welds. The extra capacity and heat shield help to lower oil temps. Only thing to keep in mind when installing is to hook up the upper oil line before putting tank in place but don't tighten fully until installed. You will also have to remove the exhaust headers to get the tank in. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Purchased new Oil Tank GREAT

TERRY in NV

Comments On Apr 26, 2011:Just purchased a oil tank for my raptor 660, Nice tank, takes a little while to install, but went right in, removed exhaust to get installed. Used a heat gun to take oil temp before and after install. 10 degrees cooler from my test. Thanks great product.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2006 ltz 400

rick in OH

Comments On Oct 30, 2008:oil tank arrived today. opened box and package. no instructions or hardware to put on heat shield. make sure you take the rubber grommets and the spacers off of your old tank. i went to tighten up the tank and realized i needed the grommets. also, there were complaints on other websites about this product leaking at the oil lines. make sure top & bottom lines are completely flush with tank. there were a few times i went to tighten up the lines and the line spacers wouldn't seat into the hole so be careful and pay close attention. other than that , it looks trick and mean. no leaks at all...
Additional Comments On Feb 09, 2011:Well after 2yrs. the bottom oil line started to leak oil. I am very disappointed in this product. I had to use JB weld to fix the leak. Also, I had to tap the oil tank hole where the oil line bolt screws into because I thought maybe I didn't tighten the bolts enough. I torqued the bolt to 12Nm ( newton meters )and that caused me to strip the hole. I gave this product 5 stars at first now I give it 1 star for poor quality.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Hard to install

RICK in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:This tank took all day to install, had to take fan, tank off. Bottom fitting needs a crowsfoot wrench to even get any kind of bit on the nut.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

NOT FOR LTR'S

NICK in UT

Comments On Sep 25, 2009:bught 06 ltr450. Well UM definately does not test fit their products because you have to bend the heck out of the mounting brackets just to make it fit on your bike. Oh yeah and it almost touches your pipe. NOT NEAR AS NICE AS STOCK.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just not sure......

Joseph in WA

Comments On Jun 29, 2009:Have the oil tank, still not installed. It arrived, no instructions or plug. Says the stock plug will work. Not even close. Had to hunt around town for something that would fit and still no luck. Just not what I thought it would be.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

raptor 660 oil tank

BRETT in AL

Comments On Jan 05, 2009:JUNK!! the right side bracket that holds the tank on broke lines leak now because of the bracket breaking.had to take it to a raidator shop and have them weld it back on cost me $50.00.to me its not worth 180.00 plus haveing to have it welded on for 50.00.....if your thinking he probably didnt tighten the bolts good.they were tight

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

BLAKE in UT

Comments On Nov 19, 2007:Kind of a pain to install. Works great though. Keeps the oil cooler than stock. I drove it for about 10 miles straight, stopped and put my hand on the tank, it was hot, but it didn't burn me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

get it

JOSH in CA

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:got this for my friends b-day he likes the look of it on his 06 yfz450 and he likes how it holds more oil

Was this review helpful?