Athena Big Bore Kit

Customer Reviews for Athena Big Bore Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 26 Reviews

Return to Athena Big Bore Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Athena Big Bore Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Athena 290 big bore wr/yz

DAVID in CA

Comments On Oct 12, 2011:I have ran this big bore for three years and have great success with it, makes great bottom end and mid range power. I have ran it on my 08 yz250f with a wr trans and rekluse clutch and hot cams, awesome woods bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

lost topend, but added cam to regain

JAMES in CO

Comments On Aug 27, 2011:installed on a 2005 crf250 - lost top end, but regained with a hotcams stage2 cam. awesome everywhere, but sometimes hard to figure out jetting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This Kit Absolutely Rips

Matthew in VA

Comments On May 15, 2011:Put this in my 2007 RMZ250 along with Intake and Exhaust Hotcams. It feels like I bought a new bike. With the big-bore I have the low end and midrange to blow up any berm. The Hotcams give me the top end that doesn't fall off either like some big-bores can. This is all with the stock pipe and silencer with a Pro-Moto Billet Endo's spark arrestor to quiet it down so I am <96db for Hare Scrambles racing. Don't waste money on a pipe get the big bore.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

More Power!!! Wow!

DEAN in UT

Comments On Apr 09, 2011:These are great! Put the 490cc kit on 2 crf450x's and wow! Incredible increase in power! We also put in the Hot Cam stage 2 with both big bore kits. The bikes sing! What suprised me most was the low end torgue and lugging ability with the 490CC kit. I thought it would be uncontrolable on techical single track stuff, but it's just the opposite. Great control down low and lots of mid and top end power! These bikes climb everything. Make sure you break them in good. At least 3 warm up and cool down cycles before you work them hard. Otherwise, you'll be putting in a new set of rings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Swapped torque for revs

Brad in UT

Comments On Nov 19, 2010:Application '05 Yamaha WR 250F w/pro-motto-billet quiet insert in stock exhaust. My goal was to give me more power for the sand and straight sections in Desert racing. Result more grunt down low and big improvement riding a gear high through whoops. Overall my top speed seemed to suffer. Conclusion: For Desert Racing not worth the money, for Woods riding totally worth it. Installation excellent. Durability incredible! Installed 03/2007 prior to a 10-race Desert Series. 2008/09 and 2010 averaged 60 hours/year ride time and competed in 3 additional Desert races. Today 11/2010 original Athena piston going strong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bad set up for yz125/144

brian in TX

Comments On Oct 09, 2010:do not buy this kit for the YZ125 unless you are ready to split the case and do some grinding and do not buy the kit unless you can get the new 1 part head . the older 2 part head will give you nothing but blown head gasket after blown head gasket
TECH NOTE: THIS KIT DOES REQUIRE SOME BORING OF THE ENGINE CASES FOR PROPER CLEARANCE BETWEEN THE CASES AND THE OVERSIZED PISTON.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

Linda in NC

Comments On Aug 13, 2010:Dont bye this To much money for what it does

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

guadalupe in FL

Comments On Jul 07, 2010:i have bought this product and it works great!! no problems only install and run!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

impressive

Whitney in ID

Comments On Mar 30, 2010:i recently purchased an 03 yz250f which needed some work so for a little more money and less work i went with this big bore and a hot rods crank. the bike already had hot cams in it. i havent ridden it a whole lot yet but so far its been like riding a pissed of little yamahama.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best performance for the money!

DENNIS in MO

Comments On Oct 29, 2009:I installed this big-bore kit on my 2006 YZ250F with no other modifications whatsoever....no jetting, cams, pipe, timing or NOTHIN'! It bolted right on, everything fit perfectly, and the improvement in power is much better than any pipe could give! Don't waste your money on a pipe! Buy this!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic performance increase!

Brandon in CO

Comments On Jun 09, 2009:Great quality parts, easy installation. +4 to 5 hp & tq from idle to 10K rpm on my '08 WR250F when properly jetted with no other mods!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

purchase this TRX450ER Honda Athena !!!!!!!!!

Devoron in TX

Comments On Oct 19, 2008:I purchase this 06 TRX450ER HONDA kit on the date of 01/30/08,was defect,said i could run on pump gas,and rings sested up in the piston,and pitted the cylinder,a certified mechahic installed it,sending it in to be warrantied through ATHENA!!!!!!!!!!I WILL LET U GUS KHOW HOW WILL THEY STAND BEHUND THERE PRODUCT, I hope so.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

'05 WR250F -- What a Difference!

WILLIAM in CA

Comments On Sep 05, 2008:With the Athena kit it's a whole 'nother bike! Roll on the power in 3rd and lift the front wheel. Power is smooth and she pulls right up to the rev limiter. Install was easy. Ceramic coated piston, quality gaskets. Excellent Product!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

LTR 450 490cc kit!

DAVID in MO

Comments On May 08, 2008:Every thing you need to bolt this on comes in the kit.I had no problems at all the gaskets held up for 20 hrs of race time with no problem!Great low end and mid gain.The engine still revs out nice but not as fast but it hits hard taking off.Make shure you have a heavy-duty clutch kit.Nice way to run from other ltr's or the big bore quads!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

JUAN in AZ

Comments On Mar 27, 2008:I bought a 478 Athena kit for my YFZ 450 last year around January put in about 30 hours of riding time and 3 oil changes, did perty good for a while but this last time I went to Glamis the piston Craked right down the middle so now I will be upgrading to a stroker kit.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Athena Big Bore Kit

MIKE in TN

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:I purchased the Athena fit for my 2006 CRF250R. Wow....What a difference the kit made. Kit was very easy to install and is still going strong after 44 hours. If you want more power, this kits for you.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Athena Big Bore Kit

MARK in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2008:This is a great kit. Easy installation and great instructions. Had no previous engine repair experience and it only took me a couple hrs but saved me hundreds of dollars! The price alone was better than any others! I have not hade any problems. I use the bike for track riding and trail riding. I noticed more torque and speed on the first lap!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great for the money

STEVE in UT

Comments On Jan 07, 2008:Nice product. Added a lot of torque and power to my CRF450. The bike definitely ran hotter requiring more attention to the coolant.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

ltz 400 athena big bore kit

ANDREW in KS

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:very easy to install if you have any mechanical ability,the instructions were very clear and easy to read,the sound difference is amazing,and the torque is crazy at all rpms,if you want a hassle free way to get big power this is the way to go

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Athena big bore kit

DUANE in CA

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:Great kit, comes with everything you need and gave great power gains.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Grunt

RYAN in NV

Comments On Dec 04, 2007:Overall the kit was easy to install with the factory manual. The included instructions are difficult to follow. I didn't really notice a huge difference in power of the bike, but it does seam to have that low end grunt where I can crawl up hills and over rocks without slipping the clutch whereas before, I'd have to stay up in the RPMs

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Arm ripping power.

JAMES in TN

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:This thing gave my Z400 arm ripping power. I consistently run up front with the 450s on the MX track. No one can believe that my Z is just a 400.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great price!

JASMINE in WA

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:This bore kit did amazing changes to my YZ250F had to place more stronger clutch on to cope with power increase, was sent perfectly looks great on bike the torque is amazing , easy to fit your self !

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Athena BB Kit

DAN in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is one of the best performance mods I have done to my Quad! Power increase is substanial! Well woth the money!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome vet setup

BRETT in CT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I have been racing for over 36 years and have had everything from mini's to full blown 500 two strokes. The new 250f's with an Athena big bore kit is about the best of everything. Lighter than the 450 but almost as much power. For the vet rider or smaller rider that wants to compete with the 450s but doesn't want to ride one this is the way to go. The best place to get on is right here at RM.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

torque - great quality!!!

MARTIN in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2007:This kit is worth every penny - the torque is amazing!

Was this review helpful?