Outerwears Pre Filter For K&N Air Filter

Customer Reviews for Outerwears Pre Filter For K&N Air Filter

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 127 Reviews

Return to Outerwears Pre Filter For K&N Air Filter Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Outerwears Pre Filter For K&N Air Filter Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product for the money

CHRISTOPHER in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On Mar 29, 2014:all and all a pretty good product but for the one I use I feel the elastic could be a little wider

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for any trail riders

Shawn in IN

Comments On Mar 19, 2014:A must have to keep dirt and repel water if you run open air box

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love them

Kenny in AZ

Comments On Mar 13, 2014:a must have

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

outerwear sock

Erik in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:love this thing. keeps my filter clean.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice bit of extra protection

Steve in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Good tight fit, nice extra layer of protection for the intake.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

k&n filter

kayla – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Dec 18, 2013:very well done product! fits very well i have no complaints about this product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

MIKE in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Nov 13, 2013:Great fit, long lasting insurance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Filter

CHRIS in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 1986 SUZUKI LT250R QUADRACER

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap Insurance

Jeremiah in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Sep 26, 2013:Kept the sand out of the critical components on a recent dunes trip. Couple the pre-filter with a K&N and a little grease and the airbox is SEALED! Sure beats sucking sand into the carb...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Any product that adds engine longevity is good!!

Paul in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YFZ450R

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:Great idea & works well, only reason i didn't give 5 stars is it has no instructions about whether or not the pre filter should be oiled or not, fit was spot on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Protects the filter

Lee in TN

Comments On Jul 22, 2013:Was having to clean filter all the time now cuts it in half

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

really nice

Joe in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 29, 2013:Really nice peice of usually overlooked gear, a must have for K&N filter owners

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Helps keep the fine dust out

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On May 31, 2013:Great second layer of protection without the restriction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great cheap addition

JEFFREY in AZ

Comments On May 29, 2013:Repels water like crazy, not submersion obviously but splashes of water just bead up and roll off. Dirt and dust cleans off with a quick swat across your pant leg. If you get it muddy a quick rinse in the sink and you're back on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nothing wrong with extra protection

James in GA

Comments On May 17, 2013:one more thing to help your engine last for years!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

MICHAEL in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Vinson 500 4x4

Comments On Jan 13, 2013:Works like its supposed to good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YES, JUST DO IT..........IT IS IMPORTANT TO HAVE!

Gregg in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI BRUTE FORCE 650 4x4

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:Without this Pre-filter, your K&N filter pulls in fine particles of dust which can hurt your engine. Well worth the extra money if you're getting the K&N filter. Basically, this is a filter for your filter. Cleaner air....more power!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

K&N Filter's best friend

Rand in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 500 4X4

Comments On Nov 27, 2012:Every K&N Filter needs one. Best investment ever

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for K&N Filters

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:Keeps filter much cleaner in dusty and sandy conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Kevin in IA

Comments On Jul 19, 2012:keeps my filters cleaner. Keeps dirt out of engine a must have for dusty conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must

ADAM in RI

Comments On Apr 21, 2012:WILL not run a K@N ait filter without this. Works very good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excelent

Everardo in CA

Comments On Apr 12, 2012:this is a very good product. it helps the k&n filter stay clean

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good protection for the sand and dust

Alexander in -

Comments On Dec 12, 2011:Good to keep all the sand away from the filter and the engine. This is my second K&N Filter Outwear. It is easier to wash the filter after you have used Outwear. It wears out after more than a year but is making very good job. Will definitely buy more of these. Used it with my K & N filter on Suzuki LTZ 400

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:Works great, fits good, will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Filter outerwear

THOMAS in KS

Comments On Aug 31, 2011:A must for sand conditions. Keeps particles from getting into engine. Easy to install.
Additional Comments On Aug 31, 2011:Don't ride without it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

outerwears prefilter

JUSTIN in NM

Comments On Aug 25, 2011:absolute must if you ride at the dunes!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked good.

melanie in OR

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:These outerwears work great and last a long time. would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fit good

Kevin in UT

Comments On Jun 16, 2011:do what they should, k&n will allow dirt through without them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy it.

Douglas in CA

Comments On May 24, 2011:I ride in really dusty conditions with a open air box. This single piece of equipment has cut my filter maintaince in half! Easy wash out dry and replace. It grabs the majority of the small dust particals and continues to flow the required amount of air. It does what it designed to do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for silt and dusty riding

Aaron in CA

Comments On May 13, 2011:If you're always riding in the back of the pack, then the pre filter is for you. I was extremely impressed to find that the pre filter caught all the dust and silt that got sucked into the airbox. When the pre filter gets old, it becomes brittle and tears apart, but they last for a couple years before that happens.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

K&N Outerwears

Timothy in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2011:I've had K&N filters on all by cars and toys for years, but this is the first Outerwear that I ever purchased. What was I thinking? It makes it so much more convenient to clean the filter when these bad boys collect all the big stuff first!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

LOGAN in KY

Comments On Mar 06, 2011:outerwears work and look great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

should be factory; not aftermarket

Gary in VA

Comments On Feb 17, 2011:the first 2 things to buy before buying gas;K@N filter and Outerwears. more power, better gas miles, and last forever.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

05 400EX

James in TN

Comments On Feb 12, 2011:Fit perfectly on my 05 400EX. Came with several stickers of different sizes and design.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pre filter

Christopher in ND

Comments On Jan 26, 2011:an absolute necessity when you use a K&N

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

exc cover for a K@N air filter

GARRETT in PA

Comments On Sep 14, 2010:helps w/ water resisting also if you spray some "camp dry" silicon spray on

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

Jeremy in MO

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:I will never have a filter again without an outerwears pre-filter it works wonders traps all the big things out and keeps the filter clean its awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what its supposed to do

Frank in NM

Comments On Feb 16, 2010:Great pre-filter, water beads off it and stop A LOT of dust!! Definitely helps extend filter service intervals!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Keeps sound OUT!!

Roxey in UT

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:You must have this if you ride dunes, it keeps all the sand off your filter

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what it should

Carla in MO

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:It keeps bigger debris out of my k&n and it will keep out some mud and water.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have If U Ride In Dusty Conditions

FRED in WI

Comments On Dec 22, 2009:This is indispensable. It traps a lot of dirt/dust and saves having to clean and oil the air filter as often. Rinse it out, dry and put back over the air filter.
As another reviewer posted, I noticed it does tear a little around the elastic where it slides over the air filter. That's the only negative.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MUST HAVE

Josh in MO

Comments On Jul 19, 2009:This is a must have.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

TRAVIS in VT

Comments On Apr 14, 2009:this product helps my K&N filter with light water splashes, and dust. however it seems like every couple of years the elastic wears out, and it gets a tear or two in it. im not sure how it tears but it does. all in all for the price i dont mind buying them once in a while.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This just makes sense.

Cameron in CO

Comments On Apr 01, 2009:It just makes sense to prefilter your K&N. You'd be surprised what this prefilter will catch. You can shake that out on the trail and go again, effectively extending the time between real K&N cleanings.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I don't get it...

DOUGLAS in NY

Comments On Jan 05, 2009:Not sure what this does. It stays clean and the K&N filter is packed with dirt (on the outside of course). My guess is, whatever hits the pre-filter goes right through. So what's it for?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save ur Filter

Jeffrey in AR

Comments On Jan 05, 2009:If you have a K&N air filter, you should have this on it. It stops ALOT of dirt from making it to your filter. I have these on both my bikes and both my trucks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

DARRELL in OH

Comments On Dec 16, 2008:Fits perfect over my K&N. You can't beat the price. Very nice product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great with K&N

Steven in TN

Comments On Dec 17, 2008:A must have if you are going to use a K&N filter. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must Have

WALLACE in WA

Comments On Oct 19, 2008:We ride the sand all the time...if you do, this is a must have! keeps my K&N's cleaner longer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best money you can spend if you have a K&N

COLE in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2008:Love this thing! it keeps the filter so clean that after 2 weekend long trips to the sand dunes i still can't talk my self into cleaning it i inspect it after every ride and usually clean it but after i installed this prefilter it still looks way clean and all the oil is still on the filter and in good shape. I plan on cleaning the filter anyway because it's always better to play safe but after 4 days of riding in the sand it's still clean. I'm sure this prefilter will pay for its self with all the cleaner, oil and time i will save. now i want to buy one of these for all my bikes! and I Plan on it! I believe this is the filter for the longer K&N
Additional Comments On Aug 24, 2008:I believe I made a mistake, I think this filter is for the shorter K&N.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Jimmy in AZ

Comments On Jul 31, 2008:Does the job, keeps out the larger chunks and I just recently sunk my quad in a river and my airbox got water in it yet my quad still ran great! water repellent for sure. BUY IT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Michael in CO

Comments On Jun 05, 2008:really helpfull if you ride in dusty conditions. helps extend the life of your filter between cleanings

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

JOSHUA in ME

Comments On Jun 10, 2008:This is a must if you have a k&n air filter. I ride a lot of sand pits and dusty trails, and it works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good product

JOE in OR

Comments On May 28, 2008:I have been running this product for the last year and it has held up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Dave in ME

Comments On May 26, 2008:Works great and fits perfect, easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Kathleen in PA

Comments On May 15, 2008:great protection

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Must have for muddy conditions

JESSE in OK

Comments On Mar 20, 2008:This is a must have for deep water. Helps prevent the machine from stalling in water or mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

DAYLAN in IN

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:Great performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sick looking

Aaron in UT

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:sick looking

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:Saves on cleaning your K&N.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

must have

LARRY in WA

Comments On Mar 12, 2008:gotta get one if ur usin the k&n filter... use it for a week and see all the dirt/sand sitting in your airbox that could have been in your carb...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits Perfect

Allen in AZ

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:Fits on my k&n filter for my z400 perfectly. Definitely a must if you have no air filter lid too, keeps everything out of the engine

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

JASON in OR

Comments On Mar 12, 2008:Worked like it should

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't Ride Without One!

JESSE in FL

Comments On Mar 07, 2008:These are top notch products. i run them on all my bikes!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Great / Works Excellent

Brett in IL

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:Works exactly as designed and have no problems yet. A++++

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

prefilter

Dahlen in NV

Comments On Mar 03, 2008:Its a must if your goin with a k&n air filter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outer Wears

Tyler in MO

Comments On Feb 28, 2008:Worked pretty well to help keep sand out recommend lining boots with wheel bearing grease as well better safe than sorry.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

outerwear

JANA in AZ

Comments On Feb 20, 2008:really this does not work as well as others. because you must work it into place rather than just covering the filter. dirt has a tendency to get around the outerwear when it slips.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outerwears

Edward in NC

Comments On Feb 24, 2008:Do not run your K&N without this prefilter if you run your machine hard!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

yes

gerald in ME

Comments On Feb 21, 2008:a perficet way to top off a great filter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:No one should go without these. Keeps most of the dirt out and are easy to clean, LOVE them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

highly recommend

Joe in WA

Comments On Feb 09, 2008:These work great for all types of riding. I have them on all three of my quads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

insurance

JUSTIN in AL

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:a must have! cheap insurance for your quad and filter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

in the dust & sand you need 1 for your k&n

BRIAN in OK

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:they do a great job helping keep the stuff out of your k&n

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Prefilter

THOMAS in CA

Comments On Feb 06, 2008:I was impressed with the amount of dust this thing prevented from getting into the filter. I am using them on three different ATV's. They are a bit difficult to install but well worth the effort.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WORKS

SHANNON in MO

Comments On Feb 03, 2008:Does just what it says. Paired it with a K&N air filter. Keeps the sand out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have...

DAN in CT

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:If you ride in dusty, sandy, wet areas.... you need this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

Cody in UT

Comments On Feb 01, 2008:I run an open airbox and like to play in the water so this is a must have product. Keeps it breathing good and running strong

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy Clean

DOUGLAS in MO

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:Very easy to clean.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

STANLEY in PA

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:a must have for a 300ex it rocks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works well

BLAINE in ND

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:The prefilter worked well for the time that I had it on. I switched back to a foam filter for better dust protection.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

TRACY in NV

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:Wish they were a little stronger. More heavy duty with the same flow.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

CHRIS in WA

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

RUSSELL in DE

Comments On Jan 08, 2008:Fits over my K&N perfectly, cleans easy, and protects awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

DON'T RUN A K&N WITHOUT ONE

BRANDON in UT

Comments On Jan 02, 2008:Well unless you like to clean filters

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Protects great

scot in WA

Comments On Dec 18, 2007:Went to St. Anthony's dunes and it protected my K&N awesome. No sand on it after 4 days of riding. Great cover.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A little short

BLAKE in UT

Comments On Dec 10, 2007:The filter cover is made very well but on my 2 Suzk 400s they could have been at least 1/4 inch longer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a must have..

Sean in NJ

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:like title says, must have for anyone.. no matter what kind of riding, it stops all the big stuff so the filter doesn't get clogged up..they are great things.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must

MICHAEL in CA

Comments On Dec 05, 2007:This is a must for anyone running a K&N air filter and no cap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Best!!

LUZ in WA

Comments On Dec 02, 2007:The best protection you can buy for your K&N Filter

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pluses and minuses

TIM in OR

Comments On Nov 21, 2007:On the plus side, I does very well against sand and grit. On the down side, it doesn't resist abrasion well. Pluses outweigh the minuses for sure. Dirt in the motor = disaster.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good idea

JOSH in MN

Comments On Nov 15, 2007:good idea if you have no air box to protect the filter but im not so sure how well it will cling to the filter in rough riding

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I have always run a outerwear on my k&n

Lori in PA

Comments On Nov 13, 2007:This product works awesome no more clogged filters from dust and repels water so when u splash your filter the dust dont get stuck in the water.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cathces alot more dust

richard in MA

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:this bagnoticable helps to keep sand and dust off filter and out of engine. a must have to help filter preform its best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outerwears covers

Delisa in MS

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:works great, keeps everything off of my air filter including dust, water, and mud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

raptor

DEREK in IL

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:The outerwear wouldn't let enough air in when dirty and ripped easily. the k&n filter does the job good enough by itself.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

keeps the dirt off

vicki in NJ

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:I bought a k&n filter and it got really dirty so i bought this and it works great it keeps a lot of dirt and dust off the air filter and keeps it really clean. Good little thing to keep away from the hastle of trying to clean the filter.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Double Protection

RAYMOND in FL

Comments On Nov 03, 2007:have k&n filter outwear works great thanx

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

k&n's mate

CLIFF in NV

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:A must with any K&N filter.fits like a glove

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Banshee

Devin in IN

Comments On Oct 30, 2007:Pre-filtering is good in dusty conditions. Snug fit and easy to clean.

Was this review helpful?