Tusk Aluminum Throttle Tube with Bearing

Customer Reviews for Tusk Aluminum Throttle Tube with Bearing

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 64 Reviews

Return to Tusk Aluminum Throttle Tube with Bearing Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Aluminum Throttle Tube with Bearing Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good if you don't use wrap around handguards

Sean in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Jun 26, 2014:This would be a great product if it didn't make installing wrap around handguards such a pita. The end of the throttle tube is closed and has a hole in it for your primary bolt, to install you have to drop the bar insert in the tube, manage to start your bolt in the insert with the grip and bar attached, slide it on the bike and then bolt everything up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too thick

Chad in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:I tore up a pair of brand new grips and managed to get my old grips on. But It was such a tight fit that I only safety wired it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

alex in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 24, 2014:little on the pricy side but a strong good product I recommend it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SMOOOOOOOOOTH!!!!

Jeff in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:Compared to my worn out plastic tube this thing is so smooth,installed easily.Nice product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome price!

CARMEN in PA

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:All the quality and half the price of other names.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price, small fitting issue

Weston in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Nov 23, 2013:Great price for being billet and bearing type throttle tube but the fitment was a little off. I had to sand down some off the edges where the cable locks in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Ian in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Sep 17, 2013:I will never ride a bike that I havent installed one of these on. It never binds, sticks, or breaks. The throttle always returns.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome throttle tube

Joe in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Very smooth and sturdy. Many drops in the sand and never clogged up. I just purchased a new one for my 13 rmz450 and will for every bike I own.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad

Jeffrie in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:really dosnt have any better or worse feeling over oem nylon throttle tubes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price.

Joshua in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jul 19, 2013:Easy install very smooth operation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great.

Gabe in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On May 22, 2013:very smooth..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best investment

adam in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On May 15, 2013:Best investment smothe throttle, no sticking AAA

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

looks good

Trenten in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Apr 29, 2013:looks good, but never used, can't use with bar protectors.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

smooooooooooth

kyle in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Mar 04, 2013:Throttle feels smooth all the way through. Bearing makes it glide

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great stuff

chase in ME

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:i always recomend tusk products. they are a great price and high quality stuff. this throttle tube rolls real nice and wont break when you dump the bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice twister.

Angel in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:Works great got one for all my bikes now.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

JAMES in UT

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:THIS TUSK THROTTLE TUBE IS THE BEST!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product and price

Mathew in PA

Comments On Aug 07, 2012:It takes some effort to cut this part down and remove the bearing for use with handguards. It is a well made piece and works well even without the bearing for off roaders.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great product

Brad in WA

Comments On Jul 09, 2012:Just got a "new to me" bike, wanted to equip it like my old one, except on a tighter budget. Tried this Tusk throttle tube and so far (6 months) I love it. Very smooth action, fits well and causes me no grief!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

none better

DEAN in CA

Comments On May 02, 2012:I have 5 different dirt bikes from 2002 to 2012. Everyone has this 30 dollar item on it. I won't settle for 2nd best. RMATVMC rocks!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

'03 KTM 250SX

Christa in TX

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:I got a pro taper gold tube on my '11 YZ450F and this one works just as good and the quality is just as good. I ate it big on a hill climb, bike landed on throttle, didnt break and it functions like new still. Smooth and controllable. Great price!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love it. i put this on every bike

matt in PA

Comments On Feb 07, 2012:works as it should. bolts right up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

much better than stock

CURT in IL

Comments On Jan 17, 2012:This really does make the throttle smoother and quite a bit more durable than the thin plastic stock one that breaks at a moments notice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

NICE

IAN in AZ

Comments On Jan 04, 2012:GREAT PRODUCT OPERATES VERY SMOOTH. NOTE IF YOU USE BARK BUSTER HANDGUARDS YOU CANNOT USE THIS TYPE OF THROTTLE

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tech Fitment question

BRIAN in IL

Comments On Jan 01, 2012:will this product fit the renthal fat bar? I know it doesn't fit the twin wall....
TECH NOTE: This will work on the Fat Bar.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Won't work with Bark Busters!

William in FL

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:I tried several things, but couldn't figure out how to keep the bearing and make it work with Bark Busters. I might try to pull out the bearing and cut the end off

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

shorrter than stock tube

hengliang in VA

Comments On Oct 03, 2011:This tube is shorter than the stock tube on my crf250r, though outside length is the same. I originally thought the bearing does not go all the way inside handle bar. Tried different bars and all had the same problem. Got a replacement and still had same problem. Hammering it and drill the inside of handle bar did not fix the problem either. Eventually I had to cut my handle bar by ~6.5mm to have it balanced with the left grip.
Other than this hassle, it seems to be a quality product especially considering the low cost.
BTW RMatv has awesome custom service.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

grip glue...

john in NV

Comments On Sep 23, 2011:they leave the end of the tube open if you want to use hand guards that wrap around, or what would you hook your right side guards up to ? as for the glue part. you should have been aware of that and covered it before gluing, hopefully tusk will put a warring in there later tubes about your mishap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Fit

Josh in WA

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:Seems to work good. Easy to install. Only had a few rides with it on, but seems to work well and hold up. Much better than stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price good quality

joel in NY

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:I have nothing to compare it to as far as other brands ...but it works good nice quality and looks as though it will hold up nice...trying to make my bike bullet proof on a budget and tusk has helped alot! thanks for carrying them RockyMountain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Question.

Jathen in CA

Comments On Aug 09, 2011:Will this fit Pro-Taper Contour handlebars?
Tech NOte: This will fit the Pro Taper Contour handlebars.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

throttle tube

BILL in OR

Comments On May 01, 2011:haven't had to use it yet. but it looks tough,and rotates nice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

smooth

Stan in ID

Comments On Jan 31, 2011:I am picky about my controls and this throttle tube is smooth as silk. thanks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Throttle tube for 03' CRF450

Toby in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:Works awesome, great upgrade from the factory plastic ones. I can tell this will last for a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Mike in CA

Comments On Jan 04, 2011:i put one on my YZ about a year ago. Works great! smooth feel. very nice!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy... it sticks

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Nov 23, 2010:Bought one for my cr250 since it was such a good price, but found out you get what you pay for. It seemed a little sticky initially, but figured it just need to be used. Rode with it and it got stuck off the face of a lip and caused my bike to flip and through me to the ground before I realized what happened.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

DAVE in AZ

Comments On Dec 11, 2010:If you cannot replace the bearing, then why would you leave the end open????? I'm sure these work great but unfortunately I got grip glue inside the bearing and the tube is shot. I checked with tech support and they do not sell the bearing nor do they recommend replacing them. Well, why leave the grip end open in the first place? Press the bearing into the tube and leave the end closed. No more worries of getting glue in it. This is the first Tusk item I've had an issue with and while I will buy other Tusk items, I will not be buying this again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

Neftali in NV

Comments On Nov 18, 2010:Its very strong and long lasting.I would get it again if i got a new bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Throw away your plastic throttle tube and get this

Scott in AL

Comments On Nov 09, 2010:Once again RMATV is offering another great TUSK product at an excellent price point. If you have never experienced the smoothness and ease of throttle control an aluminum throttle tube with bearings offers, now's your chance and at a price that can't be beat.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's okay, but there is better!

Aaron in CO

Comments On Sep 16, 2010:Works great against crashes, or another bike falling on your throttle tube. However after installing Pro-Taper's aluminum throttle tube I immediately notice a big difference. Spend the money and go with Pro-Taper's, it's so much smoother, doesn't rattle as much, it doesn't feel fat in your hand, and it has a grip stop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk thottle tube

James in MT

Comments On Sep 13, 2010:This is a must... I was so suprised with this aluminum tube. The bearing works great and is easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than Stock

Justin in PA

Comments On Jul 10, 2010:Def better than stock. Twists easier and you dont have to worry about the tube breaking when u go down.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very smooth

Travis in CA

Comments On May 19, 2010:it feels really sturdy on the bars and it is very smooth compared to my old plastic one. its a real nice upgrade and if u glue your grips on its alot easier to take off compared to plastic. good buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

crf450 tube

Justin in TX

Comments On May 06, 2010:This throttle tube fit precisely and works extremely well. Quality is superb, just like all of the Tusk products I have purchased. My only complaint is that it makes the throttle so smooth and easy that it is hard to adjust to. After I got used to it though, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome upgrade from stock plastic.

Barrett in NM

Comments On Apr 01, 2010:Just got this the other day. Installing was an ease. Someone complained about it being a little short on an RMZ250. I have an '06, and it worked perfectly. The grips are kind of close to the grommet on the throttle cable cover, but I have no snags. Throttle response is smooth, and it doesn't have that wiggle that you get from the stock plastic one. Thanks TUSK for yet again another great and inexpensive product. Keep doing what you do best. (Destroying the big names!!!)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Joshua in PA

Comments On Mar 23, 2010:This throttle tube works great. I have it on my 2007 crf250r and it makes throttle control much easier and smoother. Id definantly recommend buying this rather than buy the expensive ones. Its just as good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Aluminum Throttle Tube with Bearing

PAUL in UT

Comments On Feb 17, 2010:I haven't liked all of the Tusk products I've purchased but this one is great. Pro Taper used to sell a throttle tube with a bearing for over $60 and this one for half the price is just as high quality (if not better). It's smooth without the side to side jiggle I didn't like. Note: Suzuki's stock throttle tube is longer than the rest of the Japanese OEM's. And all the grips you buy will be the same length too. And like someone else said, you should put a penny or something over the end of the tube so the grip glue doesn't get into the bearing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product !!!

FRED in IA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Way better than a plastic one, very smooth and durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't go wrong with tusk.

JEFFREY in AZ

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:I've used the tusk throttle tube on several different bike, and really put it through its paces. It holds up great against whatever you throw at it. I've slammed the throttle on rocks, trees, and even had one bike fall off the trailer and drug the bike right on the throttle tube for almost fifty feet. Tube held up, and never got stuck.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

application:CRF250R Throttle tube

KEVIN in ID

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:With a little mechanical knowledge was easily installed. Make sure everything is well cleaned. You will notice any little bit of dirt and grime. Works like a charm. Nice smoth operation and takes wrecks well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good product but needs to be machine specific

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Aug 24, 2009:Overall the throttle tube was good but noticed it was 1/4" shorter than my stock tube on a RMZ250. This caused problems with intalling grips. I noticed the grip would make contact with the rubber throttle case protector and cause the throttle to stick. NOT GOOD!! I tried to solve this by pulling the grip back off the throttle tube a little but then I get about a 1/4" of over hang off the end of the tube. If you go down on that side it tears the grip very easily. Ultimatley since this throttle tube fits multiple machines I wouldn't buy this again, it needs to be machine specific to fit right unless your one of the lucky few that it will fit close enough to not make a difference.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Adam in CA

Comments On Aug 09, 2009:i broke my plastic on and this was eazy to install, smooth, and bullet proof

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

Kyle in KS

Comments On Jun 27, 2009:My bike came with the normal plastic throttle tube. After one day of riding the tube shattered and my throttle stuck. With this tube I don't have to worry about it shattering.
Another thing is the action of this tube is AMAZINGLY smooth! As soon as I release the throttle it snaps back to its original position. I have recommended this throttle tube to all of my friends.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product, works as advertised.

David in AR

Additional Comments On Jun 02, 2009:This throttle tube works as advertised, no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Impressive

Travis in FL

Comments On May 30, 2009:Fit, Finish, and Quality is better that other products that cost more $$$. I recomend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exelent!!!

Jonathan in MO

Comments On Apr 21, 2009:GREAT investment! twists smooth fits bars nice, great product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

will these fit

monique r in CA

Comments On Dec 29, 2008:will these fit the protaper kx high bars
Tech Note: These will work with thee particular bars.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twin-Wall fitment

Jason in CA

Comments On Dec 17, 2008:Do they fit Renthal Twin-Wall Handlebars?
Tech Note: These will not fit the Renthal Twinwall.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tusk aluminum throttle tube w/ bearing

JONATHAN in UT

Comments On Jun 09, 2008:As far as durability, this is THE BEST product I have purchased for my bike. It won't break! Just make sure to be conservative when applying a new grip. The grip glue will try to seize the bearing if you're not careful. One trick is to put a penny as a gap between the throttle tube and grip end to keep the bearing clear from the glue. GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

MICHAEL in IL

Comments On May 02, 2008:this fits and works great. i might buy one for every bike.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Why didn't I get this sooner?

Christian in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:For the price you can't beat it! Used it this weekend at the track and it worked awesome! Smooth opperation

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Jim in AZ

Comments On Nov 24, 2007:Smooth action, also nice that it is solid...no holes in the grips, no broken tube end.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

smooth as butter

Tyler in IA

Comments On Nov 15, 2007:I can't believe how smooth this thing works. great product. why buy anything else!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Product

JASON in NM

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Very light, stronger than plastic. Bearing is a nice touch. Fit perfectly. Was worried about the weight, but very light and won't break like plastic each time I lay the bike over.

Was this review helpful?