Acerbis Rally III Handguards

Customer Reviews for Acerbis Rally III Handguards

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 14 Reviews

Return to Acerbis Rally III Handguards Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Acerbis Rally III Handguards Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

Robert in VIC

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:Fit well and work

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not to impressed

joshua in PA

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:Was disappointed there isn't a aluminum brace through the entire guard and clamps don't fit to great on the stock bars on a yz 450f. They do look awesome though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks strong enough. White isn't white.

Benjamin in CO

Comments On Dec 31, 2013:The white on the blue/white handguards did not match my '12 WR450's headlight plastic. It was a light greenish blue tint. Not bright white like my bike, so I returned them. Five stars to RM for a no-hassle return.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Plastic hand guards

SHAWN in AB

Comments On Dec 31, 2013:I found these hand guards easy to install, mostly because they're more flexible than aluminum ones. They're nice & light, provide great protection, and as it turns out very durable. My only problem was due to my repetitive falling... The little alloy tabs that go in the end just got soft from all the bending:) I made some replacements out of cold rolled steel, no more bending:) otherwise, great hand guards:)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's all good until you open the box...

Erik in NY

Comments On Aug 09, 2013:I bought these Acerbis 3 handguards because the styling looked good and all the advertising on them claims they are a well-designed and sturdy piece of safety gear: "light weight and great protection" "optimum protection in all conditions" "maximum protection". I did not fret about their aluminum/plastic composite construction, because composite materials can be substantially rugged when engineered correctly. I was very disappointed when I opened the box and found the construction of these is nowhere near as stout as I expected. The cherry on the sundae was the multiple notes and stickers found only INSIDE the box that read: "WARNING: These handguards will not prevent injury in the event of a crash. They are designed to protect the hands from cold weather and impact with small branches you might hit and flying debris." Huh?! Cold weather?! SMALL branches?! What happened to the "great/optimum/maximum protection" hype for crying out loud? If you're considering these because you're under the impression they're built rugged like your typical bark buster/handguard of similar design (like I was) then I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed. These appear to be only light duty shields, and Acerbis pretty much admits that once you buy them and get the box open. I feel taken, because for the same money or a little less, I could have had a seriously rugged set of bark busters (like the Tusk D-Flex). The Acerbis mounting kit is well designed, but they apparently forgot to mill one of the perches, it was .040" thicker than its counterpart. It took 15 minutes with the Dremel tool to get the radius ground down enough for the bar bushing to fit. Ugh. The only upside here is that once I was able to bolt them to the bike, they fit well and look very sharp (in my opinion). I'm only giving them 2-stars, basis the fact they are NOT what they are advertised to be and are WAY expensive for the level of protection they afford. I know Rocky Mountain probably would have taken these back, but to save us both the hassle I am going to run them and see how well they hold up. The only reason I am risking it is because they are installed on a small, lightweight bike that is not ridden hard. No way would I trust these on a full size bike or one that is ridden aggressively. I will report back and revise my rating of the Acerbis 3's according to how well they do, hopefully they will surprise me

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rally 3 handguards--KTM 250sx and 505xcf

tod in CO

Comments On May 15, 2013:I really like the new version. It routes the cables better. There is plenty of hand room. I have really big hands 3xl and the new spacers keep them from rubbing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Took them back without installing

BRIAN in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:These look pretty good in the photo, but once seeing them in person no way they were going on the bike. Been running bark buster type guards for years, mostly Acerbis, so I have some pretty high expectations. These are plastic and constructed in a manner that makes me think they would shatter and cut my fingers off on a good hit - hope Acerbis would make sure this does not happen in testing, but I need to feel comfortable. Also, in person these have a hard edge look. Kind of like they took a rectangle and put a 90 in it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great idea and material, but

Jared in TN

Comments On Dec 30, 2012:First, these guards seem to stick out a good foot from your grip. The fitment is good, the material is very good, plenty sturdy, and far lighter than the aluminum frame type. But they look odd, and don't offer as much protection because the guard protrudes so far out to the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not durable!!

Brendan in Massachusetts

Comments On Nov 15, 2012:I was so very exited to come home to new hand gaurds on the table. I rip open the package and started franticly searching for the bark busters built in. They were not there. If you are looking for bark busters, they are not here. If you are looking for a crazy expensive plastic hand gaurd, you have found it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but could be better

Justin in WA

Comments On Oct 13, 2012:I bought one of these and it is great ready to install and looks great good protection but not a full aluminum support and black plastic unhooked from white holder. Would buy again would like to see same model with full reinforcement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good hand gaurds...

andrew in WV

Comments On Jul 31, 2012:Good product.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tip-Top quality

Frank in NM

Comments On Jul 03, 2012:Nice fit on proTaper bars with mounting hardware!These rally III's can take a beating and not get bent out of shape like the rally II's did! I'm guessing they'll last a lot longer.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great handgaurds for my YZ450F

BRIAN in UT

Comments On May 07, 2012:I normally run the Acerbis Rally II, but decided it was time to try the new Rally III. The mounted up nicely and they look great and fit the bike perfectly.
I have not had a hard crash with these yet but I am a firm believer in the all plastic full wrap around. When you crash the hold up and keep your levers from breaking but they flex right back so no bending hand guards.
Compared the the Rally II, the Rally III are quite a bit stiffer overall, but they are said to be lighter weight. I am very happy with these and will probably buy more when they are needed

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good product but not my cup of tea

Shaun in NC

Comments On Mar 13, 2012:I've been riding woods and trails for 15 years now. I've been through my fair share of bark busters. My favorite guards are the Acerbis Rally Pro guards I bought back in 2001 for my KTM 300. Those are awesome! The material is flexable and can withstand one heck of a beating. I was really hoping these Rally 3 guards would be the same. Unfortunately, as soon as I pulled these out of the box I knew they were going back. The material is hard and (in my opinion) would break or shatter after a hard crash. Especially if it is cold outside. There is no alum bar in these guards. It is all plastic. Hard plastic... To be fair I never mounted or rode with these on my bike. I was scared that I would destroy them in the first few rides. Which means I would have wasted $85. So I sent these back and ordered the Tusk D-Flex Handguards.
The Rally 3 guards look great.. but I am not 100% sure they will be able to withstand the serious abuse that I can deliver.

Was this review helpful?