Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor

Customer Reviews for Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 54 Reviews

Return to Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

BRANDON in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:Great quality and easy to install, 4 bolts off the old skid , put on the pro armor and bolt back into original place , plus very fast shipping awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armor

Chuck in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Mar 18, 2014:Product was excellent. Good heavy duty and very sturdy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Josh in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:easy to install, holds up very well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well done

chad in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2013:I have never been disappointed with the products purchased at Rocky mountain. They give back to the community and have my business.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

for more ground clearance,...

JEROME in QC

Comments On May 17, 2013:for more ground clearance, go for Armadillo. But for super nice finish , weld and look, go with this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super strong, not as much ground clearance as exp.

JEROME in QC

Comments On Apr 17, 2013:super strong, well made, fit 100% perfectly. Ground clearance is not as good as expected... I am XC racer and I tought that this was the solution for my kfx434, but I have a 3/4'' space between the skid and the chain/rotor that is ''loose''. I took a look to cut the spacer of the skid to make it closer, but not possible due to swing arm bolt that will took skid anyway. between the 2 ''waves'' for chain and rotor, space in maximised. On the other side, you can be 100% sure to not bent your rotor or chain, even if you bent the skid... and by the way it is designed, no chance to have a rock stick between the chain and skid, because clearance in lower at the entrence of chain than under the sprcoket... hope that help!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Josh in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:STRONG LIKE BULL!!! Way better than stock, and built very well. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Tank

STEVE in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:This thing is a beast, looks like it will take a hell of a beating. I guess we will find out. I'll check back in a couple of years.. Fit perfectly, installed fast.. Good to go..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

constructed very well needs longer spacers

nick in OH

Comments On Sep 13, 2012:I had to put 8 washers on rear bolts on each side then 4 on the middle bolts b/c it was hitting my chain coming aroung my rear sprocket. If your chain was new, you prolly wont have to do this!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well worth the extra coin

RONNIE in NV

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:i am very happy i spent the little extra...nice fit and everything about this kit is high standard...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2007 z400

Adam in IL

Comments On Dec 15, 2011:Has help up real good riding in the rocks in Kentucky and at Brimstone in Tennessee in the Appalachian mountains. I've slid over many of rocks and stumps and has not bent at all just a little scratched up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks great and takes a beating

Chris in NJ

Comments On Oct 28, 2011:Around here this is a must have. I've had this for about a month now and there is a few scratches and warping Thanks to the rocky trails around here. Compared to the stock skidplate this one seems bulletproof

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing skid plate!

JEFFREY in MA

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:this is extremely strong skid plate and would recommend it to everyone. it fit no problem and required no modifications to have the bolts fit and i have smashed it off many rocks without damaging anything on the swing arm! best bang for your buck in my eyes

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor is Poor Armor

SHANE in SC

Comments On Dec 25, 2007:The first day I rode with this swingarm skid installed, it bent more and more throughout the day on slow trails in first and second gear. I installed a armidillo skid and I have returned to the same trail multiple times and it hasn't failed in over a year. Pro Armor is Poor Armor in my book.
Additional Comments On Jun 19, 2011:It is now June 19, 2011 and I still have the same armadillo skid plate on the quad with no bends or breaks and I have been giving it the same punishment. I must say spend less money on a better product. I remember I called pro armor to get them to replace it or give my money back and they said "from the pictures it looks like it did it's job". Alot of money wasted with that company.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good fit on 03 Z400

Kevin in UT

Comments On Jun 16, 2011:great quality great fit, had a cheaper one and it rubbed and bent

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Honda 700xx

Doug in TX

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:Fits great and is a great way to cover the rear section of your frame.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy Duty

Duane in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:Great product. Very heavy duty. Adds some weight over the stock plastic one. You also give up an inch in ground clearance in the rear. Sits very low. Should be brought up a little. There's a lot of room between the bottom of the sprocket and the skid plate. Good for running a larger rear sprocket. Bad for getting high centered.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I desert race and these are okay. B+

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Jul 05, 2010:There are better ones for racing. Recreational they would be great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Adam in NS

Comments On Feb 19, 2010:Little pricey, but is very thick, and mounted easy.. Looks like it should hold up for a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wont ride without

MIKE in WA

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:I have been using the Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor on my TRX 450 for three years now and its still holding up very well. Bolts right up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok swingarm guard

JEFF in KY

Comments On Jun 28, 2009:Seems to be built tough. After first long trip with it, it was vibrating loos and bent in several spots. Bolts didn't come loose (snug as when I torqued them) but for some reason, the plate is no longer tight on there. Will need to add some thin washers. I'll probably try a different brand next time, this one was too expensive to have that many problems on it's first use.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2007 YFZ450 Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor

Nathan in TX

Comments On May 27, 2009:Positives: Strong, well constructed, bolt hole alignment perfect, great styling, light weight. Negatives: design could be improved, no chain guide, front of chain guard catches badly on rocks.
The front leading edge of the lower chain guard is blunt cut and terminates low in relation to the swingarm. It catches badly on rough terrain, stopping the ATV dead in it's tracks and often sends the rider over the bars. This area also scoops up rocks and limbs which can and have forced the chain loose from the rear sprocket on numerous occasions. Other manufactures have extended the length of the lower chain guard so that it terminates at a point higher up in relation to the swingarm and have tapered the edge upward so as to prevent it from catching on or scooping up debri.
Also, there is no chain guide. This allows the chain to roll off the sprocket when debri is scopped up and lodged between the chain and swingarm. I would not reccomend this product to anyone riding cross country terrain, and use of a swingarm guard is unnecessary in MX so I'm not sure I'd reccomend this product at all. Hunt for another manufacturer with a more intuitive design on the chain side of the piece.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Justin in CT

Comments On May 26, 2009:bought for kfx400. This Swing arm plate sucks. Its to heavy to small and the welds on the plate sucks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks and works very well

Michael in UT

Comments On May 07, 2009:This guard fit perfectly on my 400EX and is pretty sturdy as well. Easy to install and if you happen to hit a huge rock and bend it a little, it's not too hard to bend back into shape. When I did this, it did not seem to weaken it any. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Protection

Garett in TX

Comments On Mar 02, 2009:Added this to my DVX400 and bounced it off all kinds of rocks and stumps and it still looks brand new after my first outting. I was impressed also on just how beefy it looks. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST.

Alan in WA

Comments On Feb 28, 2009:The average quad and rider together are around 575 lbs, smash that into a rock at 35 to 45 mph. What do you want? nothing lasts forever taking a beating like that I dont care who made it. All you can ask for is the best that they can make for a price we all can afford and ProArmor is the best out there from fit to finish. I have used other brands over the years and I'm proud to say I have ProArmor protecting my quads because I don't slow down for no rock now that I'm using ProArmor. But you don't have to take my word for it you can find out the hard way.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product for price.

Shawn in WV

Comments On Nov 06, 2008:I bought this for my 08 YFZ450. It bolts on perfectly. It does take alot of abuse from rocks and seems to be holding up. It did bend up and bent my rotor after hitting a rock pretty good. Other than that, great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MUST HAVE!!!!!!!

TIM in KY

Comments On Oct 28, 2008:I HAVE A HONDA 300EX AND I'M A BIG BOY 330LBS AND I BOUNCE THIS OFF ROCKS ALL THE TIME AND IT IS STILL IN PERFECT SHAPE

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro armor swingarm skids

JORDAN in CT

Comments On Jul 09, 2008:easy instalation. only thing I dont like so far is that the bolt heads aren't protected. on the stock skid plate they were in somewhat of a hole. so I'm worried that I'll hit a rock with the bolt and it will snap off. I also don't like the noise it makes when you hit a rock, but that will come with any aluminum skid plate. it will just take some getting used to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough

timothy in PA

Comments On May 12, 2008:pro armor swing arm armor is awsome! it takes a beating off of rocks,down trees, and everything else you can hit.its worth every penny. fit great easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Lasts for ever

CASEY in CA

Comments On May 09, 2008:I have 3 years of Desert Racing, and many rocks so small dings is all that it has. Rock solid, a little heavy but I haven't had to replace parts in the swing arm yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Swing arm skid

jeremy in SC

Comments On Apr 11, 2008:Very tough and still holding up after a year of abuse. Mounted very easy, just use loc tight on the bolts.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

LTR450 '07

Dustin in AZ

Comments On Mar 23, 2008:It bolts right up to the swingarm but does bend pretty easy. And it doesn't cover the whole swing arm. Just enough for the chain and the brake rotor. Wouldn't buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

made my own!

Jason in CT

Comments On Mar 22, 2008:i bought one for my banshee. its 1/4 inch and is made out of 7075 alum.. Im a welder.. it doesnt get much better than that for alum skid plates.. but i destroyed my pro armor skid! made a great template for my new 3/16" stainless steel skid... bulletproof! yea... be jealous! :)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not for hard riding

JOSE in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2008:swing arm skid plate did not hold up to its name. Took it out for a couple of trips and got bent up the second trip out. If you gonna do some heavy riding and want to protect ur breake disk and chain this is not the skid plate for you.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as I hoped

LARRY in CA

Comments On Jan 11, 2008:I bought this for my LT-R450 Suzuki. It installs fine, except the stock chain guard/coupler has to be removed first, and it won't go back on when you're done. So basically your chain is loose, and drags on the armor. They need to re-think this piece of armor. I will put back the stock items and try another brand.
Additional Comments On Feb 29, 2008:Tightening the chain helped with the loose chain issues, however you still can't use the original chain guide with the armor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dont wast your money....

JOHN in NV

Comments On Dec 30, 2007:Had this swing arm plate for about 3 months and compleatly destroyed it. Sent it back to pro armor and they said that they dont temper them anymore.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

NOT BAD AT ALL!!!

KEVIN in AZ

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:I bought this skid plate and it holds up pretty well for the most part. I have some good dents in mine, but I ride my 400EX very hard and it seems to be holding up quite well. I would definitely recommend getting the 1/4 Inch and nothing less. very good product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong and Durable

GARY in CA

Comments On Nov 22, 2007:I have this on three quads and it works great for protection. As for bending as recent reviews have suggested...I haven't seen a skid plate protector yet that won't bend when you hit a rock hard. If it doesn't bend then something else will give..mounting brackets or cracking of the plate itself. Think about it... the plate is designed to take the impact and give. Worth the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

Daniel in NY

Comments On Nov 22, 2007:The plate gives more ground clearance than any plate ive seen before, is very think does not bend easily and it looks good too great item for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Swing Arm Guard

SCOTT in WA

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:Don't waste the extra money for the familiar name, read the Armadillo reviews and you will see why. I have had this for just over 1 year I spend more time bending it back into place than riding and it doesn't ever go back the same. If I would have had access to the reviews last year I wouldn't have bought the thing, sounds like the armadillo is the way to go because this thing isn't worth it on my 300ex.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit, Great Protection

MARK in CA

Comments On Nov 03, 2007:Cant say anything bad about this product. I put it to the test against some VERY rocky terrain and it help up wonderfully.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro armor

PHILLIP in NY

Comments On Oct 31, 2007:great stuff strong protects the whole swing arm a must have for under the bike protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Swing Arm Armor

DAVID in CA

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:Purchased for a YFZ450. After receiving the skid pan I was happy with the looks and the workmanship. After putting the skid pan on my bike I was not happy. The sides of the skid pan, after three rides, have bent up into my rotor and my chain and sprocket. I think there should have been a little more engenering on this item before they put it out on the market.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Protection

BLAKE in UT

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:On a Z400 the ground clearance is low, and with this plate it becomes lower. The proctection of the chain over outher brands is well worth the loss in ground clearance and the design is almost perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

swing arm needs more clearance

james in IN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:varry heavy duty. but it lacked ground clearance compared to stock. and the alumium tended to stick to rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very tough!

RICHARD in IN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:excellent, very durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!

KEITH in KY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This product is well worth the money. We ride in very rocky territory, through creeks and mountains and this is a MUST have item!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Exilant

Steven in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:best chouce oof my life

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

swing arm

JOEY in OH

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I like this product, around my chain and roter it gets bent up a little bit from the rocks I can just grab a hammer and beat down back into place that may sound silly but it works for me

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Met my expectation...

Randy in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Fits perfect and the hook for a tow strap is really cool. I have taken a few hits already and it is holding up to the abuse. The only thing that is keeping me from giving the product a 5/5 is that Pro Armor stuck the bolts to it with clear tape, which was a complete pain to remove. Also, the edges are a little sharp requiring a quick touch up with a file.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amateur Armor

CHAD in OR

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This skid plate has bent and basically shredded over the course of a year. It hasn't even really taken any hard hits, just dragging over rocks, etc...
It does its job, but has bent up and rubbed the chain and also the rear brake rotor...
What I do like about it is the towing point at the back of the skid. I've used that to drag buddies back to camp and to tie the quad down in my trailer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

BRYSON in WA

Comments On Oct 20, 2007:Does its job but is a little on the expensive side.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thought it would be better

Wade in RI

Comments On Oct 20, 2007:Seemed to be very tough and durable and i have had some hard hits with no problems,but then the part that hangs out to protect the chain bent upward enough to the point where it rubs my chain and is prematurely wearing it out.i can clearly see the rub marks on the chain caused by the skid plate.

Was this review helpful?