Ricochet Full Chassis Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Ricochet Full Chassis Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 48 Reviews

Return to Ricochet Full Chassis Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Ricochet Full Chassis Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Skid Plate

Ron in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA Rancher 420 4x4

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:Nice skid plate. If you have a plow, be advised that minor modifications need to be made to the skid for the plow bracket U bolts to fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Skid Plates

Aaron in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 700 4x4

Comments On May 19, 2014:These are NICE! Really wish it included the hitch protector though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Skid Plates I've found

Steve in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 CAN-AM Renegade 500

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Fit was great, easy to install. Definitely feel confident the machine is better protected. Only knock is the hardware supplied isn't the greatest. I'm not a fan of torx bit bolts...I reused a lot of the original hardware to install it. I think the newer versions might come with better hardware.
Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough Plate

Kendall in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 525 XC

Comments On Jan 28, 2014:Good product. Fits great and strong. Not a fan of the bolts it uses.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Lightweight and Durable

S in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YFZ450R

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Installation was easy everything lined up properly. Just as a note for the front make sure to remove the black plastic cap on the frame. You can then clamp it on the inside where the screws are lined up. Skid plate itself is lightweight but tough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does its job.

Blake in MO

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:Had this skid plate on my 07 honda rancher 4x4 and it worked wonders. Did alot of heavy creek riding over some big rocks and it held up way better that the factory plastic one. Only complaint was the two bolts up in the front were hard to get on with my winch mounted.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Andrew in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 21, 2012:I love this skid plate. Have it on my 05 trx450r and it has taken a few rocks without denting. It is ver strong and light. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skidplate for my Warrior

James in AZ

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:Good skidplate, had to make some modifications to fit a 1988 Warrior. Good quality, required a little work to make it fit, would definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good protection but causes overheating

Devon in OH


Additional Comments On Sep 27, 2012:The product keeps a Kawasaki Brute Force protected from the rocks, but it makes the machine run hot and overheat very fast even when just riding on a gravel road. I know this because I previously installed a temperature gauge on the atv. It makes it unfit to ride actually. You'll be at over 230 degrees in less than 10 min just riding through the woods. I had to take it to a machinist to have holes drilled in it like the factory ones. VERY VERY POOR product for the amount of money it costs.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

brute 750 eps 2012

Paul in WA

Comments On Jul 07, 2012:lazer cutting was spot on but needed more clamps, lucky i had some to fit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

09 bruteforce 650

Nathan in MA

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:This fit my machine perfectly, great price compared to other products on the market. after a year of use still looks like I just put it on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet

Joe in PA

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:Great quality and fit as always and they can take a real beating

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy to Install

Dave in GA

Comments On Dec 03, 2011:I purchased this for my Yamaha Big Bear easy to install, instructions could be a little clearer, the only problem I ran into is I have a winch on the front of my quad. I had to do a little grinding to get it to fit but other than that everyone that sees it say's it looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2011 Rancher 4x4 Looks OK in the end.....but....

GUY in LA

Comments On Sep 22, 2011:This thing was a bear to put on my 2011 Honda Rancher. First off the supplied clamps make no use of the stock mounting points, and the clamps were impossible to get on the middle set of holes closest to the oil drain hole, there was just no room on the frame rail where they had to be mounted, and getting those welded-on nuts to line up was a problem. The front part that goes under the winch(yes it came in two pieces) was very difficult to install as you have to press it against the main skid plate and put the bolts through both pieces into those clamps while trying to get the holes in both plates and those nuts on the clamps to all line up properly. Almost sent it back several times out of pure frustration. Took me over 4 hours to get it on. I did have to do it without tipping the ATV over, but I have lots of ground clearance to work with and I used a floor jack. The two small bolts that mount the top of the front plate are too short to get the nut on. Everything looks O.K., but I still don't have those middle holes clamped to the frame, or the top of the front plate bolted down. All in all, I would not do this again, even if they paid me. Just my .02 cents.
Additional Comments On Sep 22, 2011:No Torx wrenches provided and there were two sizes, but I have my own. Minimal mounting instructions, diagram basically useless. I have no problem with the actual plate itself, it looks solid enough for sure, but the mounting system for my model is poorly designed.
Additional Comments On Sep 22, 2011:I thought I was getting a single full chasis skid plate, not two parts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to install.

Bryson in FL

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:I bought this for my 2001 yamaha blaster. This skid plate was very easy to install. It just bolts right on with clamps no drilling in the frame was required just an easy bolt on. the money is well worth the peace of mind. Its made of .160 grade aluminum and seems pretty strong. It looks nice

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Engine skid plate for 400EX

BILL in NY

Comments On Mar 26, 2011:Disappointing install. Should have gotten the Armadillo like I have on my other 400EX. I bought the Ricochet since the Armadillo was out of stock. The bolt holes did not line up in back and I needed to drill new holes in the plate. The holes are also so far back unlike the Armadillo, the wide steel mounts make contact with the welds for the foot pegs making it difficult to go around the frame. I needed to use the 1 1/8 larger center mounts to mount in the rear and reform the 1" mounts to fit the middle mounts, reversing their intended position. Additionally the front stock bumper plate needs to be removed and bent out at bottom to fit the skid plate front lip angle under it before being able to align the bolt holes to put the stock front bumper. Finally, the mounting bolts are not recessed like the Armadillo plate and expose the Torx head bolts risking impact and shearing off. It is stated a Torx head wrench is also supposed to be included but it is not.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

QUALITY, QUALITY, QUALITY

michael in QLD

Comments On Mar 15, 2011:WOW this thing looks bomb proof! Fits like a glove and high quality.....very impressive! I doubt if I will ever need to buy another skid for my Brute 650 sra!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

Jonathan in KY

Comments On Feb 22, 2011:Very high quality. Only problem was that it requires a special wrench to tighten the bolts, I used an Allen wrench but need a t-40 torq wrench to fully tighten and secure the skid plate. But other than that, very nice and worth the money!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality!!!

Jeff in IN

Comments On Jan 25, 2011:Ricochet makes a quality product, easy to install and tough!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

GORDY in ND

Comments On Aug 08, 2010:I would highly recommend the Ricochet Full Chassis and A-arm skid plates. I just installed them on my 2009 Kawasaki 750 Brute Force,the fit was perfect and the installation could not have been easier. Thanks Ricochet and Rocky Mountain ATV for a high quality product!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME !!!!!

Jeffrey in PA

Comments On May 19, 2010:I Just got this full chassis skid plate for my '09 Yamaha Big Bear 400 IRS , along with the A-Arm guards. Upon first opening the boxes I was impressed right away by the thickness of the plate & guards !! I got to work & about 2 hours later I had everything in place & tightened up ! And I did all of this by myself with no help at all !!!! :-) Richochet makes an easy to install & totally awesome looking product !! Thanx Rocky Mountain & Richochet !!!! I can't wait to go to Rock Run Recreation ATV Park in Patton, Pa & try them out !!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Apr 25, 2010:Put on a 09 LTZ400. Bolts that came with it too short. Had to straighten a bit to fit but otherwise fits and looks fine.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best chassis skid plate

sidea in -

Comments On Mar 09, 2010:very strong, very easy to instal, best quality on the market!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Peace of Mind

Craig in ME

Comments On Jul 27, 2009: I am a first time atv owner and I was told the first thing I needed to add onto my 650 Brute Force was skid plate protection before any other add on and boys were my friends correct. Going thru water troughs up to the racks on the atv because our local trails are muddy due to excessive rains this year here in Maine one can not see the large rocks. With the Ricochet plates I now have "peace of mind" to traverse over most any situation. Full skid and a-arm plates were very easy to install and they look great too. Thanks Rocky Mountain for a great product...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy to install and sturdy

Michael in UT

Comments On May 07, 2009:I highly recommend this product if you ride over any larger rocks or in the woods, off the beaten path.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Ones Tried Yet!!!!

Edward in MA

Comments On May 01, 2009:I bought the Full Set of Ricochet Skids for my 07 Trx 450r. They are by far the best ones I've bought yet. I Have tried the Pro Armor and some other crappy set that I can remember the name. The Pro Armor ones I had Trouble with keeping them tight so they kept rattling, and the swing arm guard bent on me so it rubs against the chain. These here were a breeze to put on (except for two of the brackets were a pain because my BlingStar nerfs were in the way. But over all very east to instal and VERY RUGGED. I would say i'd buy these again but i will never need to!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

easy install and tough

joshua in MO

Comments On Apr 12, 2009:install was easy on my 07 400ex, has taken some pretty good hits on some rocks, the only thing i wish it had was recessed bolt holes. but still has proven to be strong and sturdy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

danm good

ZACHARY in OK

Comments On Mar 30, 2009:this is a good product. it is a good thickness much better then the cheap plastic crap that comes stock. also this is one of the fist products for the new big bear 400 irs. they do need to get rid of the bottom head allen head and use hex head bolts in the kit. otherwise if you dont have a good set of allen wrench you will strip out the head.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Support

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Oct 13, 2008:The skid plates went on easy. I needed one bracket replaced from Ricochet. They were very responsive and quick to send the bracket.
The skid plates are very strong and effective. I recommend this product for all riding styles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Jerry in MS

Comments On Aug 21, 2008:I have the full chassis protection and the swing arm and stick stoppers. All fit great and look great also. Can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

350 WARRIOR

HENRY in NJ

Comments On Jun 30, 2008:EASY TO INSTALL! GREAT FIT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A MUST HAVE!!!!

Matt in MI

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:These skid plates are awesome! They saved me a few times riding through the woods jumping over rocks and logs. Definitely worth the money!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Brand in Market

Doug in ND

Comments On May 22, 2008:I have these on both my 2 Kaw BF750 and they have saved me major $$ in repairs. Just recently the full weight of me and my quad (800lbs) smashed down on a rock in to the chasis plate leaving only a minor dent!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product for 07 Grizzly 450

roddy in TX

Comments On Mar 16, 2008:Fits nicely, easy to install. The clamps seem a little cheesy at first, but work out alright after you get every thing tightened down. 10 times better than the stock, plastic skidders

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

like a bullet proof vest

frank in CA

Comments On Feb 09, 2008:lets you slide over rocks with no damage to the quad, don't brake a engine case buy this

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

LTZ400

rick in OH

Comments On Feb 06, 2008:first of all this skid plate handles well on rough stuff . big rocks , rail road tracks etc. I wish the allen bolts were flush with the skid plate. I used locktite on the bolts ( so far so good ) thumbs up for me!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Skid Plate!

Rebecca in FL

Comments On Jan 28, 2008:This skid plate was a replacement for an UM skid plate. Very well made. Much nicer than the UM product. The entire process went very smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Skid Plate for brute Force

James in IL

Comments On Jan 28, 2008:Installation was pretty easy. 1/4" longer bolts would have made the install much easier. Product is very strong and protective. Fit well. I installed the plate while the ATV was on its trailer. Made it easier for me. Also bought the A-arm guards which are also a great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Richard in AZ

Comments On Jan 27, 2008:This is a must have if your into rough trails and making your own trails, this allows me to slide right over rocks, logs, etc.. with out the worry of damage.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good coverage!!

Kurt in IA

Comments On Dec 31, 2007:I ordered these after a lot of searching. Very sturdy without a lot of additional weight. Installation was a cinch as I parked my Vinson on the ramp and used clamps to hold the plates in place while installing the brackets. Everything lined up. Only thing I would improve upon would be the coverage on the sides of the winch area; the plates do not cover as much as the original plastic ones. Not concerned enough to dock the rating, though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Aluminum Skid Plates

BRIAN in IN

Comments On Dec 23, 2007:These are the most awesome skid plates that I have ever seen. They bolt on easily and provide much better protection than the factory skid plates. The only drawback to them is that they do not have recessed holes for the bolt heads. I recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unstopable

CRAIG in AL

Comments On Dec 14, 2007:Replaced the crappy plastic skids on my eiger with this beefy one. So far nothing has damaged it, just some lovely scratches.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

full protection

jon in TN

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:this is a top quality product fit like a glove i did have a problem with my order but rm handled it lightning fast i am a rm customer for life thanx

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This should come stock on every ATV !!

RYAN in MO

Comments On Oct 26, 2007:I ride a 2005 Kodiak 400 and I ripped off the center section of the stock skid plate my first trip out going over a log.I knew then I needed something beefier.And the Ricochet skid plate is it.This thing is thick and will take a very severe beating on some of the largest rocks I can find.
I found mounting the skid plate very easy with the ATV standing on it's rear end.I used zip ties to help hold it in place while I positioned the clamps and allen screws.Be sure to buy a good set of allen wrenches before you mount this.It will make the job much quicker.
I have not had any issues with oil changes thanks to the drain plug hole.
I do have to spend a couple more minutes getting the mud off the top side of it after a long day.
But it is a very small price to pay for this quality and protection.
You won't be disappointed to have one regardless what brand you ride.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Does the job!

Daniel in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Thick metal, pre-drilled holes (that actually match the mounting spots) and a large cut out for doing the routine oil change. The skid plate is connected to the ATV with U bolts - some are tricky to get on, but nothing to worry about.
The issue a few people have had is attempting to tip the ATV upright to install the skid plate. The instructions recommend you do this to make life easier, but it can be difficult to lift the ATV up without a winch or safe place to hook the winch upto. I just left the ATV horizontal and installed the skid plate underneath on the floor. It wasn't that difficult.
Something I felt might be useful for others is to use a jack to hold the skid place "up close" to the ATV and then you can screw the nuts on the U bolts. This way the skid plate should be flush with the ATV before you screw in the U bolts...
If you've never taken a good look at your stock skid plates, you should. When you get around to removing your stock skid plates to install the Ricochet skid plate, it's almost scary to see the plastic the manufacturer covered your ATV internals with.
I've (accidentally) run over some boulders that were covered in snow and hidden and I did actually skid over them with minimal damage.
You should consider this an investment rather than an accessory. It'll pay for its self one day...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEST Skid Plates

Bruce in NM

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Perfect fit, excellent design, easy to install, great Protection. Blows away the Stock thin plastic skid plates. Have used other aftermarket Brands of Skid Plates but nothing Beats the Ricochet.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ricochet Full Chassis Skid Plate

JEFF in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:It's a lot tougher than the flimsy stock skid plate. I've taken some hard hits and the quad just ricocheted from the rocks, no pun inteded!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ricochet full chassis skid plate

THOMAS in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:great product and even greater protection. very well built. awesome add on for a utility or sport atv

Was this review helpful?