Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Customer Reviews for Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 279 Reviews

Return to Armadillo Swing Arm Guard Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Armadillo Swing Arm Guard Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Swing Arm Plate

Casey in TX

Comments On Mar 27, 2014:Have this on my 08 Raptor 700R, can't say enough good things about this plate. It has a perfect fit, very thick, and the aluminum seems to be a perfect balance between hard and soft so it doesn't crack or bend to easy. Something that I really like about this plate was that that the chain guard is long and the wear strip is just as long, not a shorty like some of the others where something could catch the front of the guard easier. This being said, one thing I would have like to have seen was the square corners cut at a 45 degree angle on the front. I can easily do it myself. The squareness seems like it would be prone to catch though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Jeff in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:Perfect fitment, No instructions for install but none needed. Looks very stout and im sure it will hold up well. Reuses stock hardware. I put some low strength lock tight just to be safe. Extremely happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Rodney in AR – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:Armadillo makes an excellent product, you can trust it to protect your machine!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Matt in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:It does a great job of protecting the swingarm, without it my swingarm would be in horrible shape

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

THAD in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:This skid plate bolted right up and is very tough. Would buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

what a beast

dale in West Virginia – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Dec 08, 2013:It did take me a bit longer then expected to install this but once it was on all I can say is awesome. I bought my atv used a few months ago and ive been putting money into it so it will last for years and rocky mountain has been grate. You cant beat their prices and so far my orders have arived earlier then expected. A big shout out to rocky mountain you have all my business.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

super tough

Scott in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:by far the best out there I ride alot of trails with big rocks and stumps, works above all of my expectations!!! will be sticking with armadillo products!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price.

Jacobo in AZ

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:So far I have not taken it on any rough terrain but will update on that later. In comparison to other swing arms, you can tell it can take a beating. the only difference is that it does not have a chain guard and the welds are not that impressive, there are two sections that are not welded. I did take it for a dune ride after the install and had no problems with the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Though and great price!!!

Jacobo in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:So far I have not taken it on any rough terrain but will update on that later. In comparison to other swing arms, you can tell it can take a beating. the only difference is that it does not have a chain guard and the welds are not that impressive, there are two sections that are not welded. I did take it for a dune ride after the install and had no problems with the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid!

Joel in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Nov 16, 2013:This thing is a beast. Solid as a rock. Took me 10 minutes to stand up my z400 and get this installed. Now it takes huge hits and stands up to anything. Great piece of mind. And as always Rocky Mountain ATV was fantastic start to finish!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice and beefy

MICHAEL in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:I like this one the best for the price...its nice and beefy for the least amount. lots of rocks here in AZ...so it does the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not come with bolts

Brendan in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Sep 23, 2013:Good skid plate, but disappointed it did not come with bolts or nuts to mount. It came with just 2 washers that fit between the rear end of the skid plate and swingarm to fill in the gap. TECH NOTE: WE CONTACTED ARMADILLO, THIS PLATE REQUIRES THE USE OF THE STOCK HARDWARE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product, Great price!!

Steve in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Fit as it should. Was cake to install and came with the required bolts and washers. They could have put about 6 more inches of weld on the part as it looks like they just stopped before it was complete, I guess time will tell if that makes a difference. All and all it seems to be well made, the thickness of the material was thicker than I expected for the price which is a good thing and as usual RMATV shipped it fast and for free. Provided this thing holds up for 20 hours or so of riding I will buy more Armadillo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Jim in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:This thing has taking a beating and is still great shape.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Taking big hits and still in one piece

Evan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:Installed this on my wife's YFZ for some trail protection. She has beat the snot out of his thing and its still going.
Would recommend and buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Full skid Plate

CHRIS in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:its a very good thing to have a full skid plate on any atv so the it will protect your engine from and damage on rough terrain
I highly recommend this this skid plate its a wise choice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great plates

William in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Aug 03, 2013:These plates are worth there weight in gold. I have had them for about 5 months now and they have taken some abuse, landed on huge rocks slid on logs and even hit a jump and slightly bottomed out and they have barley gotten scratched! Also make sure to Loctite some of the bolts in, never hurts. Would buy again and again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Richard in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Aug 02, 2013:Very good quality and fit perfecly on the machine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Built Like a Brick

Kyle in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:Not really concerned with how it looks like a lot of people seem to be. It's a skid plate, it's meant to be bashed off of rocks so pretty doesn't really cut it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Justin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jul 02, 2013:This guard has taken some pretty hits and holds up really nice. Make sure you put lock tight on the bolts. I almost lost mine on a trail. Would recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

John in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:Pros: ¬ Thick where it needs to be ¬ Chain runner included ¬ Looks nice ¬ Still gives good clearance ¬ Good pricing
Cons: ¬ Had to ream one of the holes to line up perfectly.
Overall: 4/5, would buy from Armadillo again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect!

Blake in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:Great skid plate! fits and looks great! reccomend to everyone!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was good while it lasted!!

DEVON in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:So I ordered my skid plate last Monday and received it Thursday which I was very impressed with. Installation was very straight forward and easy also. After about 30 minutes of riding with the new skid plate I stopped and checked all the bolts to make sure they were tight still. Later that afternoon somewhere, somehow it had managed to rattle loose and fall off. Needs some modifications to secure to ATV better, otherwise a good product

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must have for any extreme trails

Kyla in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:Best money I ever spent. Bolted right up in less then 20 minutes. Took my quad down trails with huge rocks and stumps. Couldn't be happier with this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

don't looking for style, but quality

JEROME in QC

Comments On May 17, 2013:I bought this skid for my kfx440 for xc racing, after loosing my brand new Pro Armor in a race, due to vibration (without putting lock tight, my mistake) Just got this one, and looks as strong as pro armor. Ground clearance under rotor and sprcket are nearly the same, but this one will give about 1/2 to 3/4 inch better clearance between, by the way it is made. So for racing, when every MM counts, I would go with this one. Yes it is heavy, but Pro Armor as well. BUT, if you want great look, perfect precision and super well made skid, pro armor is yours. In my case, I did really care, since it is under the bike, but I do understand people who love their bike, like their girlfriend :) both are super great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

KEVIN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1988 SUZUKI LT250R QUADRACER

Comments On May 13, 2013:Bolted on easy and provided great protection from big rocks, super thick!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Skid Plate

Rulon in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On May 10, 2013:A little heavy for the Banshee but would rather have the protection. Very tough and works great with larger sprockets.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

strong but not the best fit

stefan in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On May 07, 2013:the guard is very thick and light weight. gives great protection however fitment was a little tight and didnt bolt on as easily as i would have liked

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Harder then rock

joshua in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 09, 2013:One is all you'll ever need!! Fast and easy swap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Takes a beating

matt in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 01, 2013:bolts up perfect only took a few min to install fits perfect high quality rode all the trails at Majestic in pa had rocks hammering the rear end and not so much as a scratch. great buy for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Jeremy in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2013:No more broken chains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect customer service

Austin in UT

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:I just bought this rear swingarm skid plate. When I tried to install it yesterday, it wasn't fitting. I tried to tighten it down, but it was hitting against my (stock size) rear sprocket. I called Armadillo's customer service to figure out what to do. Without talking to any computers, I got straight through to Brian.
Instead of just telling me to return it (which I expected), he actually talked to the other guys to get some ideas. They told me they would return it or ship me some spacers if I wanted, but thought I may want to check that the axle cam (used to tighten the chain) was in the right orientation.
Sure enough, I went and checked, and the cam was the wrong way, making the sprocket drop 1/2" instead of raise 1/2". I corrected the orientation, which raised the sprocket enough that the skid plate fits perfectly.
I just wanted to praise their friendliness and excellent customer service. If I decide to go with front swingarm covers as well, it will definitely be Armadillo. Just an excellent experience overall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy

Keith in Arizona

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:Pretty beeffy skid plate, definitely sturdy. Although I got the skid plate without mounting bolts? No big deal for me since I have plenty of hardware in my garage. Just think it should be supplied with new mounting bolts. Also, whoever welded this piece did an OK job, not great, kinda snotty, and missed one of the welds.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!

CHRIS in NJ

Comments On Apr 05, 2013:Armadillo is the absolute best swingarm skid plate available

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Zachary in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:It worked really well until the stock bolts blasted off. Just wish it would have came with grade 8 bolts and nuts to keep it on there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

Jason in CT

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:I had to cut this guard to get it to fit my 99 warrior. The welds and metal finish edges were a bit rough in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks beefy, but not like Stock

Brandon in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:Haven't put this on yet. I bought this because my factory one bent up into the rotor after smacking a rock. I placed it under the swing arm to see how it would do, and noticed it doesn't reach all the way up the chain like my stock one. This bothered me, but not as bad as paying almost twice as much for the factory replacement. So I compromised, I bent the plastic/metal skid plate back, replaced the brake rotor (and pads), and went on my merry way trying to avoid rocks. I'm saving it for when I -really- need one, and I'll tune back in and let you know when I do. Other than not using it, it looks beef and well constructed (chain glide comes attached), I just wish they put a little more thought into it to get it closer to what the stock one covers.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great product

carol in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:im using bolted right up no problems took it on couple good hard rides we have some nasty rocks that pop out after good heavy rains and 4x4 jeeps n trucks rutting paths out didnt even tweak it highly reconmened

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent buy

Daniel in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:2 minute install, takes a bashing 10/10

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great swing skid

Mark in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:I ride in the forest and logging trails of WA, where there are stumps and rocks reaching out to grab your quad everywhere. When I got my quad the stock plastic skid had chunks missing and had obviously seen better days. I knew I needed a new heavy duty skid as soon as possible. I like that the Armadillo piece uses 1/4" plate instead of the competitors 3/16". Sure it adds a few ounces but I don't care about that, I want protection. It's also cheaper than the competition. This part installed like a breeze, no misaligned holes or anything, and has already taken a few bashings and hasn't budged at all. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Mark in AE – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:Honestly!!! This may be a little much if you are doing a lot of dune riding or riding in low terrain ares. I do recommend it if you're riding rocky trials and washes. It fits perfect and will take less than 5 minutes to put on. Some people said it was SUPER heavy. I was actually surprised how light it was for how heavy duty it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2009 trx450er

Borce in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:Excellent swing arm skid plate bolted on perfectly and was nice and thick looks great as well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

KENNETH in TN

Comments On Nov 10, 2012:Istalled on a 400ex, Fits perfect, has held up great. Ride in a lot of rock in East TN. It gets hit a lot, still in good shape potecting sprocket and brk. disc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I really like the quality and fit of this.

Jason in IN

Comments On Nov 07, 2012:I would highly recomend this product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked on my Banshee.

Emmanuel in NC

Comments On Oct 26, 2012:Replaced a plastic guard with this one and it held up waaay better. Tough product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400ex great fit great quality

Raymond in OH

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:Just got mine in today seems super sturdy mounted up in 10 min. No instructions but not much to it. Even comes with a spacer for the rear Incase your running a large rear sprocket. Will edit once it gets some use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

HEAVY duty

CLAY in KS

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:If you want tank armor then this is your skid plate. I have a 450 sport quad, this was over kill and sent it back. if you aren't concerned about the weight then this is for you, very solid, very heavy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty

Donald in PA

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:This thing is heavy and can take a big hit. 7 xc races this year and not as much as a dent. The only down side is it really reduces ground clearance. Must use tall tires with this plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best swing arm gaurd I have ever bought armadillo

chris in PA

Comments On Sep 19, 2012:I have to say I put a swingarm guard befor this one an it got trashed. The last two rides I had where very rocky an it sounded bad I did not think it was going to hold up. But at the end of the ride just some nicks an scratches an it has held up great ever since. Best one I have bought yet

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does it's job.

Rick in WV

Comments On Aug 21, 2012:Super light weight yet ultra durable. I raced an extemely rocky and rough xc race last weekend and saw several dfferent quad parts laying all around the track. My swingarm hit a few rocks extremely hard and I did not have any issues at all. Great buy, just ordered the full chassis skid from same company.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

takes a beating well

Maurice in RI

Comments On Aug 17, 2012:have has this skid on my 08 kaw kfx 450r going on 3 yrs no welds have broke its a little bent but other than that it fits well and does the job its supouse to do i would buy another one price was good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seems like it will work as intended

Rand in WY

Comments On Aug 07, 2012:Bolted right on my 06 yfz450. No issues yet

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Item

Helmut in VIC

Comments On Jul 15, 2012:Great Protection and easy to Install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Steven in UT

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:the armadillo fit to my bike (kawasaki 450 KFX) perfectly and I've been very happy with its performance. I've had it on for about 6 months and had no problems out of it. It does its job well and I no longer have to worry about damage when crossing rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough Skid Plate

Stefan in MA

Comments On Jun 06, 2012:I have the chassis skid too, Had them both for a few years now I ride rough trails with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good fit, but...

BRANDON in ID

Comments On May 04, 2012:Remove all stock parts, rear chain guide, disk guard. Fits great, but the front of the new part is too high and rubs the chain. I don't run my chain loose, so i'm not sure how this isn't a problem for all buyers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Protection!

Matthew in MO

Comments On May 08, 2012:I have beat the tar out of this thing for 2 years at Chadwick in the Mark Twain National Forest. Held up great against all that shelf rock and loose riverbed debris. Easy to install/remove also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Protection

Ankit in NJ

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:Offers maximum protection for my 450R swingarm. Eases the pain when I hit a huge rock.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Banshee and LTZ400 fit great

MONTY in AB

Comments On Apr 28, 2012:Bought one for my Banshee and brother in law's Z400. Both fit great. I have geared my Banshee down to 46 tooth rear sprocket and even with the big sprocket the guard fit great. I had to modify the stock one to fit the big sprocket...not this one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

seems to be very strong

tim in NJ

Comments On Apr 17, 2012:ride in alot of rocky areas and it has held up very well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Swing Arm Guard

Harold in PA

Comments On Mar 22, 2012:Saves my break disc. 100% better than the stock yamaha gaurd.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice skid

RONNIE in NV

Comments On Mar 07, 2012:I was a little unsure due to not knowing the company that makes them....i have installed it and i am very surprized on the welds and the fit...... awsome skid for the price....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Scott in RI

Comments On Dec 26, 2011:Awesome product, really takes a beating.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

KEVIN in AZ

Comments On Dec 19, 2011:THIS IS THE BEST SWINGARM GUARD FOR THE MONEY. THICKER THAN MOST OTHER BRANDS.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

for the kfx400 Awesome!

Adam in MN

Comments On Dec 14, 2011:I installed the Armadillo swing arm guard on my Kawasaki KFX 400. The swing arm guard fit right on, is very thick and well built. Also the chain guard and rub strip is a nice touch. Defiantly a good buy!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Would by again

Randal in OK

Comments On Nov 27, 2011:tough part would by agiain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice product

Curtis in NV

Comments On Nov 14, 2011:very nice product and very durable..good price as well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LTZ400

Brendan in NJ

Comments On Oct 19, 2011:Fits and works great, much stronger than my old one(Pro Armor)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Chris in WA

Comments On Sep 29, 2011:Fits perfect. Works well have saved my swing arm a couple times with the rocks up here in the PNW

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Upgrade

michael in WY

Comments On Sep 20, 2011:This is a great upgrade from the factory one that had some miles of wear and tear on it. It fits and looks great. Now I can even hear what I am hitting as I fly over it :). Great buy and service. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great purchase

Jesse in NC

Comments On Aug 23, 2011:this was super easy to install on my 05 400ex.lined up perfect.no rattles.very durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

TOM in UT

Comments On Aug 19, 2011:Got tired of having to deal with bent rotors and sprockets. Bought swing arm skid plate and problem solved. Bolted right up. Great protection and can still service and maintain everything without having to take the skid plate off. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo makes a Great Product

NATHAN in AR

Comments On Aug 06, 2011:Just Put this swing arm guard on my wife's 2000 Yamaha Blaster. the install was easy. But you will need Three fine thread screws about a 1/2" to 3/4" long, phillips heads will work great too. Armadillo only sends one allen head fine thread screw for the countersink on the side of the guard where the sprocket is. yes you will have to loosen the two lock nuts on the axle to slide the sprocket over about 2" to get the allen head screw in. It really is a easy install. it's a thick guard and works great ,looks good too. Happy with This Product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

armadillo skid on TRX450R

Nick in CA

Comments On Jul 17, 2011:It's thick, but I was not too impressed with the weld job. It's not complete down the sides of the skid. Also, the plate that protrudes to protect the rear linkage could be longer. As of now, a precisely sized and precisely shaped rock could still get to part of the linkage before it hits the skid. Just barely though. I haven't hit anything large with it yet, but nevertheless, I'm confident it will hold up well. Overall a good product for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

guard for yfz

shawn in ME

Comments On Jul 05, 2011:works great hit a couple good size rocks with it and it still looks like new, only problem that i have is that it only protects half of the chain but it still does its job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Protect #1

WILLIAM in PA

Comments On May 30, 2011:Looks Sexy, easy install. Overall lightweight. Its worth every penny to protect whats underneath.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for casual trail riding

Aaron in CA

Comments On May 13, 2011:I recommend this skid plate for casual trail riding. I am an expert desert racer and would consider this a 1 hour skid plate, because that is how long it would last on my LTR450 before I destroy it. This plate holds up to almost everything except for extreme race conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit On 07' 400ex

Brian in NY

Comments On May 06, 2011:I purchased this swing arm skid plate to replace the crappy plastic one on my 400ex. It's pretty heavy duty. The welds are good. All mounting holes lined up spot on. Would buy again if I had to. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Swing Arm Guard

Ken in GA

Comments On Apr 27, 2011:Great Product. Bolted right up with no problems. A lot better than stock. Recommended !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kawa 450R

Brian J in MA

Comments On Apr 27, 2011:Nice and solid guard....its a little smaller than the proarmor one but its great for the money. I had to buy the 4 bolts though.... awesome piece...excellant fit... go for it....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Honda 450er

Doug in TX

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:Great product. Had no problem with the fit and looks good enough for what it is. Been running over rocks with it and it hasn't bent yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

MICHEL in QC

Comments On Apr 09, 2011:Very good product and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Deal

Jefferey in CA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Great deal! Had to shim the guard to eliminate a rattle after installation, but the guard has held up great to some harsh abuse on rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

not great

Andrew in NC

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:The quality of the part is nice, but didn't fit great when installed on a aftermarket swingarm when the stock one fit it. Not sure who to blame on that one but this guard, oh well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Swing arm guard/ 2003 Z400

Kevin in CO

Comments On Feb 23, 2011:I bought this to replace the POS factory arm guard. This thing has taken quite the beating from the Colorado ATV trails and hold up great! It's got a few ding and bends in it now, but no damage to the sprocket or brake rotor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's strong

Jeffrey in AR

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:I beat the crap outta this thing everytime we hit the trail, it's still in once piece and not bent or mangled, if I ever get another bike i'll get one of these for it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400EX

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Feb 13, 2011:This is a well made product, has held up well dispite many hard hits with rocks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good solid product.

Korbin in ID

Comments On Feb 07, 2011:Bought for a Suzuki LTZ 400. Fit was great and has bounced off many rocks. Still holding up strong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

CODY in CO

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:bought this for my 06 yfz450 and it works great. i hit a rock one day and the weld broke. i called armadillo and they sent me another one right away great products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400ex

Jared in VA

Comments On Jan 06, 2011:Ive got this on my 400ex. I ride alot of trails and creeks and have hit many rocks with it and so far its not bent at all. Im very happy with this guard, would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2005 400ex

Kenny in NY

Comments On Dec 26, 2010:perfect, I banged it hard on some rocks and not a scratch. took 10 minutes to install and fit like a glove, could use some instructions but its pretty self explanitory, I'm 14 and it was a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

incredible

laraine in MO

Comments On Dec 25, 2010:first look is very impressive. very thick and has plastic slider on chain side, just got it today so havent rode.. but will write another when its put to the test

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

raptor660

matthew in WA

Comments On Dec 17, 2010:fit like a glove!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

ken in NV

Comments On Dec 08, 2010:nice and sturdy..my one reccomendation is only tighten each screw a few threads before tighting all becuase it wont line up perfect but will fit and way better protection than stock crappy one..suzuki 450R

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great job

gregg in WV

Comments On Nov 09, 2010:a good deal for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TRX450R

Jeremy in AZ

Comments On Nov 08, 2010:WENT ON FLAWLESSLY, BOLTED UP GREAT CLEARED EVERYTHING EXCELLENT PEICE FOR THE $$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

KEVIN in NC

Comments On Nov 06, 2010:one of the best you can get

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Skid plate!

Daniel in VA

Comments On Oct 19, 2010:I have a 08' 400ex and do a lot of trail riding up in the blue ridge mountains where there are a lot of rocks the can pulverize your undercarriage. The skid plate held up considerably well after taking a lot hard hits that make you cringe when you see them coming. Hardly dented or scraped the bottom up at all. Am very impressed with the product and will buy another one when I get another ATV. Did not come with any installation instructions although its not hard to figure out and takes 10 mins to put on. Don't hesitate, buy it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Guard, Great Price

Steve in CA

Comments On Oct 15, 2010:The guard fit my 05 KFX400 perfect, installed in about 10 minutes. As reported by some other reviewers, the welds are a little messy but only a little. One thing that was nice was that the chain side of the guard has a nylon strip riveted to the guard (just like the stock guard) that prevents the chain from rubbing chain metal against guard metal. Other guards that I've seen that are more expensive don't have this feature.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo swingarm gaurd

Susan in PA

Comments On Oct 06, 2010:I put this on my 08 400ex about 2-3 months ago and no bends or anything! GREAT ITEM

Was this review helpful?