Primary Drive Chain Roller

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Chain Roller

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 90 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Chain Roller Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Chain Roller Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A+++

Tabitha in AL

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:Awesome!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works fine

Brandon in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jun 26, 2014:It makes a lot of noise when I engine brake, but it works good so I don't care too much

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wroks, but too noisy

JEROME in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KFX 400


Additional Comments On May 08, 2014:simply so Noisy, that I was looking for a problem on my bike! finaly found this was the problem... and bought another brand. primary drive chain and sprocket are good .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good cheap replacement

David in CA

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:just as good as oem so far, just double check the application. wheil restoring a 1980's cr250, this site said I needed the smaller size, when in fact I needed the larger one, no big deal, for the price they can sit in my toolbox until I need them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rollon

David in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA WR400F

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:I wasn't able to use the new hardware, as the length wasn't enough. Used the old gear with the new roller and it all worked fine. That being said, still no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product for the money

CHRISTOPHER in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On Mar 29, 2014:for the money they are ok - they last about a season of trail riding - but I would check them after every trip to make sure the bearings turn freely

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Laura in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Mar 25, 2014:Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Didn't fit.

Dusty in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 KAWASAKI KDX200

Comments On Jan 15, 2014:Bought for 96' kdx. It didn't fit as described. The quality seemed ok I guess. That's why I have it at a 3 star rating. If it was just on fit I would have given it a single 1 star

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain Roller

Anthony in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:I bought this because my chain roller on my bike wore down and broke off. This chain roller really impressed me especially for the price. It was a great deal too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

anthony in PA

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:love it..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

primary drive chain roller

john in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:only had 1 issue with the install had to drill out hole on frame so bolt would fit other than that works great nice oem replacment thanks rocky mountain another great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain Roller

Nick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:It was a little smaller in diameter than the stock one but it worked great. All the hardware to mount it. Put it one, adjust the chain and go ride. Piece of cake.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:wears out pretty quick but for the price can't complain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

matt in PA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:makes noise

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YZ 125 rollin deep....

Austin in WA

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:Purchased to replace a moose racing roller that was blown out by the sand here. Not bad, the bolt was a little short for the 2000 style yz mount (steel frame) used the moose bolt and even that was short (healthy dose of Loctite applied to threads for added security). Performance wise it has been holding up to A level abuse on track as well as trail, just a little noisy since it is a hard plastic. Sand still hasn't penetrated the seals after 2 months so I think I can deal with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Good

Ronny in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On Apr 25, 2013:Happy with the price and quality!!! Does the job!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good

Sandi in ME

Comments On Apr 16, 2013:I put this onto my 2003 Ltz 400 and works great the only problem I have with it is I need to purchase a longer bolt in order for it to fit other than that no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

have to buy a new one... makes noize

JEROME in QC

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:Sound super loud... due to hard plastic I guess. I will change it, my bike sound like crap on deceleration!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PRODUCT

chris in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:Still on the "Z" and workin" great....just keep it lubed!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality.

Evan in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 1993 HONDA XR600R

Comments On Jan 19, 2013:The roller is good quality, and a great price. No problems with it so far. It makes a little noise at low speeds, but not intolerable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not the same as OEM

Derrick in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:The size was a lot smaller than OEM. Had to make a spacer to fit inbetween the frame and roller to aline with chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ok roller

Nicholas in VA

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:The second roller I received worked better and seems to be lasting ok

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

should spend a little more money

Shawn in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 KTM 360 EXC

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:The description says sealed bearings, but the bearing has a simple metal retainer, not sealed. This will not work long in our sport, washing, riding in weather, anything will get water in the bearing and take it out. mine were so stiff to start with I did not even run them, and I didn't send them back, I will keep them for spares only. This is the only part that i have been disappointed with from rocky mountain, and I have been ordering for a long time. I highly recommend rocky mountain for parts and accesories.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain roller

Christian in MI

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:great price ,looks nice does the job at a low price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Ed in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 01, 2012:Worked great and fit perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive works fine for me

Rob in IL

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:Nice oem replacement. I've never had a problem running PD products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it rolls

Jonathan in AZ

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:Good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get one today

ART in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Better than OEM

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good replacement

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:and last a long time. Less expensive than stock.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Adequate but will go with different brand nxt time

Bob in NC

Comments On Jul 21, 2012:Rough/tight bearing right out of the box. I realize this isn't a super-critical part, but there is no place for rough bearings anywhere on a race bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does not fit 2005 CR 250R

Daniel in AR

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Ordered for a 2005 Honda CR250, it does not fit no matter what you do. Pulled out the bearings and put in old roller and worked great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just like oem

jon in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:chain rollers are chain rollers. works fine and price is right

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ROLLER

Paul in OK

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:DID NOT FIX I ORDERED THE WRONG ONE. MY FAULT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JOSH in VA

Comments On Jul 24, 2011:great OEM replacement

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ROLLER WORKS

Ray in NV

Comments On May 13, 2011:ROLLER WORKS BUT THE BOLT THAT CAME WITH IT WAS THE WRONG BOLT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works for me

Brent in AZ

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:Just installed on my YZ250,fit great and rolls smooth, can't beat that.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 13, 2009:My stock one didn't last long. This one has been on all year and still looks good.
Additional Comments On Apr 22, 2011:I just put new ones on my cr and they work great. the ones on my old yz lasted forever.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

roller is a roller

Stan in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:seems to be working fine. priced right. OEM ones are expensive

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way Loud on XR400

RYAN in MI

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:Roller works great but is really really loud,make all kinds of noise while slowing down and at road speeds it gets kinda annoying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fair roller

Keith in CT

Comments On Mar 19, 2011:I purchased this for my 07 CR250 lower chain roller. It was not teh correct roller as it was too thick and covered all the threads to hold it on with. I ended up knocking out the bearings and putting them into my OEM roller as my bearings were only shot on mine but the wheel was fine. Good thing the bearings were the same size

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work good

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:No problems on my banshee. Works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

held up for for years

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 08, 2011:still woriking two years later

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good roller but didn't fit my 2002 YZF 250

Dennis in TX

Comments On Mar 03, 2011:I ordered this for my 2002 Yamaha YZF 250. I double checked my order to make sure that I ordered the lower roller and not the upper roller (I needed the lower). It simply didn't fit. The quality is good, especially for the price. I will buy again. I like primary drive products.
Additional Comments On Mar 06, 2011:New info: The reason this roller didn't fit is because the bolt that is supplied is simply too short. I read some reviews on motosport.com as well. Apparently, this is a common issue. Everyone that ordered a lower chain roller for a WR 250 or YZF 250 had to take a trip to the hardware store to get a longer bolt.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK

NORMAN in CA

Comments On Jan 11, 2011:Lasted about 7 or 8 races and then the roller was destroyed. Not as good as OEM, but for the price, I can buy 3 or 4. Just watch it for wear. I bought again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As good as more expensive rollers.

Owen in WV

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:Way cheaper than TM Designworks and just as good on YZ250F's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Right size for '05 KX250F?

Larry in OK

Comments On Dec 03, 2010:Bought the lower roller for my 2005 KX250F, and it is quite a bit smaller than the stock roller, so I'm returning it. Otherwise it seems like good quality and I would have used it if it was the same size.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Chain Roller

Jim in CO

Comments On Nov 24, 2010:Just as good as OEM!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it works

Adam in MN

Comments On Nov 15, 2010:LOUD! it works fine but has a lot of noise on deceleration.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

poor

saule in TN

Comments On Nov 10, 2010:bearing seized up after few rides, oem bushing type the best,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain Roller

JEFF in CT

Comments On Sep 01, 2010:It rolled and made the chain not hit the frame. Still rolling great after a few years use!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

the fit is ok

Jeffrey in OR

Comments On Aug 04, 2010:the roller wobbled a little and it is pretty loud, overall if I was to buy another I would try a different brand. but for 10 dollars i am not too dissapointed

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

junk

NATHAN in MO

Comments On Jun 20, 2010:don't waste your money made of hard plastic sound like a wood chipper going down the trail. Also after washing the first time with garden hose not a pressure washer bearing took on moisture and started to seize.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ok for the price

WILLIAM in WA

Comments On Mar 09, 2010:Ran these and found they wear out a little too quickly. The bearings don't seem to last that long either. Maybe I just got a bad set. I might try them again though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So So

Paul in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2010:will work with some re-mod on Yamaha 2006 WR450F- both top & bottom but it was easier for the top. Bottom might be a problem, time will tell. could not use the mounting screw that came with it to short, had to use stock one but the Dia is smaller & some play in the roller bearing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok chain roller.

KYLE in CA

Comments On Feb 24, 2010:Bolted up fine fo a 07 yz 250. Its noisy like people have mentioned. If you power wash your bike you got to lube with a WD40 type product after vwashing to keep it from freezing up. I will probably try a different one next time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Yamaha Banshee

Charles in MI

Comments On Feb 07, 2010:Had to modify spacing to use on my 1996 Banshee, but will work just fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Good and Cheap

Martin in OH

Comments On Feb 04, 2010:Works great but it is a bit noisier then other brands. Great deal though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

everything you need and more

CLAYTON in UT

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:has all the hardware and looks great when color matched to the bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

terrible

Jimmy in CT

Comments On Jan 10, 2010:the roller itself is alright because it rolls on bearings however it doesnt even fit on my bike. i had to use my origianal mounting hardware to install this product. by the way this is for an 2003-2007 kx 125/250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth the money

ANTHONY in MA

Comments On Oct 18, 2009:quick and simple, replaces stock with a better cheaper price. fits and works like it should. no need for 30 dollar rollers

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too much noise

Mark in LA

Comments On Oct 10, 2009:This seems to be a well made roller with bearing and a hard composition to resist wear. However, the hardness of this roller makes it very noisy and after a few laps around the block, I decided to replaced it with a factory roller.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not good for a Banshee

TODD in KS

Comments On Oct 11, 2009:The bolt is short the spacer is not right for this application so i used my old one and used loctite and it was gone in 5 mins of riding. Usually I rate RMATV products a 9 out of 10 but this gets a zero for a banshee.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stiff

ella in NV

Comments On Aug 24, 2009:Not very impressed they were a little stiff. Didn't roll much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

noisy

Vicki in PA

Comments On May 10, 2009:This chain roller makes alot of noise i will not purchase another

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad at all

Andrew in OH

Comments On May 08, 2009:i put these rollers (top and bottom) on my 94 yz250 and they work great so far. supplied hardware didnt work on the bottom roller though

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bolt is to short

WARREN in NJ

Comments On Feb 23, 2009:Seems to be a good roller exept that the bolt is to short to screw the nut on, have a longer bolt ready or get ready to take a trip to the local hardware store like i had to do. 2001 Banshee
TECH NOTES: The bolt is a generic length to fit most applications. In most cases, the stock bolt will work.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks and works good but wore done quick

ALEX in PA

Comments On Oct 29, 2008:worked good for a couple months but then the bearings wore out and the roller locked up

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

PRIMARY DRIVE ROLLER HARDWARE ISSUES

JASON in PA

Comments On Sep 06, 2008:MADE GOOD BUT HARDWARE IS HORIBLE. IF YOU BUY THIS PRODUCT, BE READY TO BUY NEW BOLTS TO GO WITH IT. I BOUGHT IT FOR MY 98 CR 250 AND CAN'T RUN IT WITH ORIGINAL HARDWARE EITHER.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

DAVID in OH

Comments On May 13, 2008:holding up good but plan on buying a bolt to mount it bought 2 Different one for 2 different bikes and bolts that were supplied for both were to short.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bolt is too short

STEVE in GA

Comments On Apr 29, 2008:Rolls fine but the bolt they supply is not long enough. You can only get about 2 threads on the locknut. 99 YZ250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good OEM replacement

Jeremy in MO

Comments On Apr 22, 2008:good replacement for the wore out stocker.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

big improvement

ROBERT in NY

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:big improvement over stock lower roller on kx100

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWSOME

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:GREAT VALUE

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bearing failure after 3 rides

JAY in AZ

Comments On Feb 21, 2008:I bought one for my YZ250F. The bolt they supplied was two short so I had to source a longer one. One bearing froze solid on my third ride and the other bearing sounds rough and dry. RM was great and is sending me a replacement. Will see how well this one holds up. Giving it a 'fair' rating for now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great roller

DEREK in NM

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:This product held up to it standards and then some.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dual bearing design

KARL in TX

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:Another brand I'd tried had one sealed bearing, this one has two and it's much better constructed. Love RM products!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Roller excellent, but...

GREG in TN

Comments On Feb 04, 2008:Roller works great but I had to go to local fastener store to get a longer bolt to work on my YZ426. Description said it would fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT

David in WY

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:GOOD REPLACEMENT PART

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good, cheap

TRISTAN in IN

Comments On Jan 07, 2008:works just as described, made it through half a season so far. Good price too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better than oe rubber

FRANK in NJ

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:this part was not a direct fit for blaster put made it work was worth the trouble

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Sean in NJ

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:don't waste your money on the more expensive "name brands", these chain rollers work great.. rolls smooth, compound holds up to chain wear great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Banshee

Devin in IN

Comments On Nov 05, 2007:What's to say. It's cheap and it works.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long Lasting

Craig in AE

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:I've had it installed for over a year on several rides and stll holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bearings seized up within 2 months

MYLES in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The bearings in my roller seized up within 2 months. I would not buy one of these again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it

ZAC in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Looks good and works good but the bolt that it comes with were too short on my 03 kx250. I just used the old ones.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good roller

Chris in GA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Good spinning bearings, hard roller so its pretty long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT ROLLER!!

LUIS in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:STRONG, NICE LOOK. BANSHEE FIT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it

SHAWN in NY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Still working great. Came with plenty of hardware to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent Roller

BRUCE in WV

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This product is just o.k.,roller is well made but the mounting hardware is all the same, like there made the same for every bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rollin

JUSTIN in NH

Comments On Oct 19, 2007:Decent chain roller. Very hard platic roller not soft rubber.

Was this review helpful?