Trail Tech Complete Stator Kit

Customer Reviews for Trail Tech Complete Stator Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 17 Reviews

Return to Trail Tech Complete Stator Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Trail Tech Complete Stator Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I'm impressed.

KYLE in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:The side by side comparison with the factory part is what was really crazy. I don't wonder why my battery would always die. The factory stator just wasn't enough to keep up with the power the lighting would pull, much less be enough to keep the battery charged to turn the bike over.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tech Stator vs OEM Yamaha and Voyager GPS

PAUL in MD

Comments On Feb 28, 2014:After installing a dual-sport Baja kit to my 2011 Yamaha WR450 and making the modification to the stock OEM stator, the OEM stator didn't last very long. So I chose the Trail Tech stator because of good reviews and I had purchased other Quality Trail Tech Dirt Bike Speedometers/Computers before, with good success. In the picture at this link you can see how much better the Tail Tech Stator is. Its the one of the right,. The Trail Tech is much beefier. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xha0JmpI5Zg The real reason that I'm writing this review, is because after the Stator installation, a short was created . I finally located the problem in the original Baja kit. If you added a key switch, there is a blue wire between the Ignition Key (3 way plug) to the Middle harness (6 way plug). This wire caused the short. Note that the new Trail Tech stator comes with a Ignition Jumper which basically adds a single wire to the ignition from the new Trail Tech Regulator. So with the new Trail Tech Ignition wire installed and the blue wire mentioned above removed, the bike charges at a solid 13.7 volts. Even at a low idle and high beam on, it still charges at 12.5 volts or so. I also installed the Trail Tech Voyager GPS, which shows battery voltage and this is how I can monitor the performance of the new stator. The short described above caused me several hours of anguish and lots of 15A fuses. So I hope this helps you!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stator Failed

Stephen in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:I bought this stator to power the upgraded headlight needed to race in this years BITD Vegas to Reno. At mile 270 the bike died and wouldn't start after an hour trying to diagnose the problem. We had decided that it was most likely the ignition coil. However, after upon returning home and changing the coil sill no spark. I replaced the stator with the factory OEM and the bike started right up an runs fine. Very disappointed in this product and it ultimately cost me a DNF in the race, that I had planned on for months and spent thousands prepping for. Do not buy this product if you're doing any kind of long endurance rides or races. The product won't hold up.... I also read about a similar story same problem from someone who was riding down in Baja.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy install and working great

Jess in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Sep 13, 2013:Working great almost a year now with no issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy install, works good

MATTHEW in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Sep 02, 2013:Nice upgrade if you want to actually see at night or go really high-tech and run grip heaters or a GPS. Instructions were excellent and installation only took an hour. DON'T FORGET TO ORDER A STATOR GASKET!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tech help

Dusty in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:Is this kit all I would need to put light on yz450f.?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fixed it... 'nuff said

shaun in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KTM 400 EXC 4 Stroke

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:my KTM 400EXC overheated (impeller had dissolved away) I was stopped and idling watching rock crawlers for a few. .. i went up the hill, where my bike died... I feared the worst after I realized how hot my motor was.. But, we found the impeller issue 1st, and removed the guts from the thermostat that is questionable to have at all! ======================================================== after fixing impeller, next step was to look for spark . . . . no spark.. Replace old with new Trail Tech STATOR . . . POW@!!! immediate! great sparks off the spark plug was immediate. I though I was about to drop a pocket full $$$ on KTM Parts,,,,,, then you Trail Tech ... and the bonus - now I can run lights and be street legal in Oklahoma... very little dim at idle, headlight is brighter,
definately a good product, would recommend... IM THE GREATEST!! :-P

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

question about the stator

justin in Missouri

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:I have 1992 warrior. I have reviewed the tav's this product will fit. says nothing about the warrior. will this work for me?
TECH NOTE: This will not be compatible with the Warrior.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice having the extra juice

TRAVIS in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jan 11, 2013:I installed this because I wanted to run grip heaters, a thumb warmer, and some extra lights. It runs everything flawlessly!! Good instructions and installation was easy! Don't forget to order a new case gasket though!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stator kit

ROBERT in MO

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:Great product,user friendly and easy to install. Thanks would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good power up

PAUL in CA

Comments On May 21, 2012:No more dimming headlight with low throttle. Powers all acc no problem

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beware of short warrantys

Michael in QLD

Comments On Jun 01, 2011:Brought this kit in Jan 2011 for my KTM 530 excr, Got to use it twice before the regulator rectifier died. Trail tech offered me a $10 discount off a new part, big deal, going back to the KTM parts

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very impressive! Easy to install

Andrew in MO

Comments On Jan 22, 2011:Just purchased a 2006 YFZ 450 and was very impressed with how easy it was to install this stator.
GREAT directions. Very easy to install even for a non-mechanic like myself.
Now my lights come on at the turn of the key, don't have to turn the quad all the way on. Looking forward to adding some HID's in the future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

Ryan in CA

Comments On Dec 27, 2010:Put this on My YFZ now the lights come on with the key vice only when it was running, runs my new higher watt bulbs very nice and am also going to add more lights because of this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 18, 2010:Great Product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome yfz stator

MICHAEL in IN

Comments On Jan 13, 2010:My stock stator went out on my yfz bout a year after i got it and i replaced it with another stock one only to have it go out 6 months later. After that went out i put in this kit and havent had any troubles for 6 months so far. easy to put in any excellent instructions!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent fit and works great.

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Nov 02, 2009:I bought this for my Yfz 450, went right in with very detailed instructions. Works great. Good product.

Was this review helpful?