Trail Tech Vapor Speedometer/Tachometer

Customer Reviews for Trail Tech Vapor Speedometer/Tachometer

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 70 Reviews

Return to Trail Tech Vapor Speedometer/Tachometer Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Trail Tech Vapor Speedometer/Tachometer Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!

Jessie in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:this computer is so easy to use and very easy to install, cant wait to use the stop watch

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must have

Cody in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:A must have for an serious off road rider. Helps to track maintenance timing. You can get a good ball park idea of range for your bike. The warning lights are EXTREMELY valuaeable tool..they let me know I am about to overheat BEFORE I spew fluid out. Fully customizeable for you and your bikes needs. I will never own a bike without one. Have been running a VAPOR since 2009.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but cost misleadng!

Bill in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 450 SX 4-Stroke

Comments On Aug 19, 2013:This product is great, but doesnt cost $116.99, add another $50 for the metal bracket! The plastic one that comes with the kit is good for about 1 mile of wash board gravel road. Be warned! Absolute garbage plastic clamp!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

Logan in Pennsylvania – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Aug 13, 2013:Only had one issue and trail tech was real good at answering my questions but my rpm wire was bad but no big deals i ll have a new one in 3 days but as far as speed they need to read off the back tires but no biggie seems accurate easy to program easy on install just drill a hole on you spindle replace a rotor bolt cut you coolant line install temp sensor wrap wire around you spak plug wire then zip tie everything up real nice plug them in and boom your done.......Would definitely buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

All works well, but speedometer cable breaks down

Peter in CA

Comments On Jul 28, 2013:I bought the Vapor in late 2008 for my XR650L. Overall, everything has worked well, including the engine oil heat sensor, the tachometer, and the radiant temp as well as all of the timing configurations. After about 5,000 miles and 4 years the speedo cable gave out. The mechanism in the end of the unit that screws into the brake caliper broke down and started being unpredictable: not working by giving a 0mph reading at high speeds to ranging all over the place at whim. I noticed in rain or after giving the bike a wash, the speedo started working again, but only very briefly. So, I replaced it this April. After about 1,000 more miles - now in July - the speedo cable gave out again, this time completely. The Trail Tech guys told me that the cable lasts 5-10 years, so the first one I had was okay, but this last one broke down in 3 months. The replacement is around $25, and the breakdown is unpredictable, so for that reason I'm giving the Vapor 3 stars. It's possible at this rate to spend more on replacement cables than the entire cost of the computer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Many features

Joshua in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA TRX 700XX

Comments On Jul 22, 2013:Great product. Nice features, including some you don't need. Completely customize the speed settings to make it very accurate with your tires. 2nd one i've owned. I'll buy another one if i need it on another machine. RPM tach might have jumping numbers, but trailtech will send you a wire with a built in resistor if you have this issue. good customer service.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice unit

Joe in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 POLARIS PREDATOR 500

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:A really nice unit, the only complaint is the cheesy bar clamp that comes with it, kindof a pain to install and calibrate but not too badair temp, tach, dual shift lights and more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product.

Darrin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On May 29, 2013:This Tac is great and would recommend it to anybody who asked about it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Trevor in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On May 04, 2013:Works great and the install was easy. a little modifications need to be done to the speedometer bracket for it to fit the banshee but nothing too hard. Works great, looks great, couldnt ask for anything better.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love this thing on our KX250F

Jeffrey in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:Why just buy an hour meter when you can have a speedo, tach, trip timer, odo, temp gauge, etc. Probably not checking speed on an MX bike, but it keeps top speed, so that's pretty cool. Install was a breeze once I figured out what to do. The temp sensor on the KX should be mounted on the left side radiator hose. We also had to fab mounting hardware to make it look right. That cost about $3, since we used a copper pipe hanger from Home Depot to do the job. Works great! Highly recommended. No issues yet, with lots of abuse (rain, mud, crashes, etc.) PS if you do buy this, get a 9-volt battery connector from Radio Shack and hook it up to the power. The light stays on and it's much brighter. I hear the 9-volt lasts a long time (maybe the season?) Anyway, we could not be happier with this thing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These dashes are brilliant

Paul in NSW

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:These are so good, no water gets under the screen, can be fitted to virtually anything. Fitted to my CR500 with no battery with no dramas & all functions worked perfectly, would highly recommend these to all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Information, Good Reliability

STEPHEN in CO

Comments On Apr 07, 2013:Good for the quad with no speedo and no tach, Odo, machine temp, outside temp, speed are the features I use most.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great add on for street legal kit

Landon in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:I just installed this computer to my 2000 xr 650r. Gotta say im pretty impressed. The mounting hardware is a little weak though. Some things to keep in mind: getting the thermocopel to fit into the radiator hose is quiet the trick. Use some kind of lube and it will help you out a ton. If you your bike doesn't have a onboard battery, no problem just tap into the bikes existing dc system. If your bike runs on ac pick up a four dollar full wave rectifier from radioshack and run off your ac system. If after you install the thermocopel unit your vapor doesn't register a temperature, don't freak out. It doesn't pick up a temp until about 100 F. Overall I rate this product excellent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

ANTHONY in UT

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:the vapor speedometer works excellent. easy setup took less than 30 min

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

david in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:Works great. Great features and durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cool Piece

Jake in Georgia – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Dec 29, 2012:Nice Product, good quality. Easy to install just time conuming which is to be expected! would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great but not super tough

Garrett in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:This was pretty easy to install, but took a little time. I love the speedomter and tachometer on it! I couldn't get the tach to work real great just wrapping a wire around the spark plug wire. I eventually crimped a new spade end on the wire coming from the coil and put the tach wire in with it. That worked perfect. Everything seems to be working great on it after a few months but somehow cracked the corner of the lcd screen and the right shift light broke. I think i hit some tree branches going pretty fast so i'm not surprised that happened.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Vapor gets vapor inside

BRYAN in GU

Comments On Oct 21, 2012:Have owned several vapor and other trail tech products. The Vapor will get water and condensation in it even just riding in the rain, sent them back several times. Still same thing. I don't recommend this to anyone who rides when it rains!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great trail computer

JOHN in IA

Comments On Jul 16, 2012:I am back for my second one as the first was on a bike that was stolen. Had the first one for about 5 years on a bike stored in a non-insulated shed - temps between -10*F and 100*F - never any problems other than changing the internal battery a couple times. Has about everything you need to monitor and then some. Very bright backlight/HUD lights when its connected to stator power on my YZ250F.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Works good on my 05 450x

William in AZ

Comments On May 02, 2012:Installed in about 40 min. Directions were helpful. Havent used the coolant temp gauge yet. Tach and speedo seem accurate. I am using the plastic mount, and have had a few crashes, I dont feel the need for the aluminum brace for it. I have proof on 87.2 mph on my 450x for bragging now. I am glad I bought this!
Note,,,,,,I wrap a ziplock bag over it when its time to wash the bike!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

SPENCER in UT

Comments On Mar 23, 2012:Install took 30-45 min (temp sensor was the longest), does take some mechanical know how, follow the instructions and they have great tech support for questions. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good BUT

RICHARD in OH

Comments On Jan 31, 2012:The complaint I have is that the control wires are extremely thin, shorted out after 20 hours ride time, not good for a sport quad. I did scuff guard and sheath them when installed. While installing them I did make the comment to a friend "I will have problems with these".

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trail tech

Paul in FL

Comments On Dec 19, 2011:This an exellent product.
Additional Comments On Dec 19, 2011:Works perfect

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Product

Jeffrey in GA

Comments On Sep 25, 2011:I bought this for my 2004 CRF250R, and it works great. It gives you mph, miles, rpm, tach, ride time, and engine temp. It also gives you the max for each.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Trail tech computer

THOMAS in KS

Comments On Aug 31, 2011:Easy to install. Easy to program. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! Great addition to my Outlaw 525S

David in WA

Comments On Jun 12, 2011:This thing is great!! Fairly easy to install, RPM's are right on the money, Highly recommended on a 2008 Polaris Outlaw 525S!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 yamaha raptor 350

DAVID in FL

Comments On Jun 04, 2011:Great product. I have had this on my raptor for a year now and has worked great and easy to install. water resistant, I have had it riding in the rain and when I clean it I use a wet soapy rag and quickly spray off with water hose, everything still works like new. Easy to see the display in sunlight and great during night rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Vapor xr650r

Andrew in UT

Comments On May 31, 2011:Works nice, love the features (rpm, trip, mph, water temp etc..)

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

pretty neat

Varga in -

Comments On Feb 20, 2011:it is the 3 time a have this setup an my bikes(use it on Ltr450,Ltz 400 and now on Raptor 700)and i love it one complain though,it is water resistant not water prof,this may be a pain.....

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice feature set

Dean in NSW

Comments On Dec 01, 2010:Great replacement for OEM unit. Mounting pieces are not great, but otherwise it's a great unit. You get a magnetic bolt as well as a button magnet which is nice as it gives options.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Installion on 2009 CRF450R

BRAD in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2010:Overall product is great. It's easy to navigate functions, and functions are very useful for trail riders. Also, Accumulated Ride Time (ART) allows you to keep track of your operating time if you're particular about maintenance like I am.
I've installed the TT Vapor on my 2009 CRF450R and my brother's 2006 CRF450R. My only complaint is the tachometer functionality. The tach function works fine on my brother's 2006; however, does not work on my 2009. I have tried several different suggestions from TT technical support (creating isolated tach ground, moving supply voltage from DC voltage to AC voltage directly from alternator, connecting directly to coil) trying to get the tach to work properly, but nothing seems to help. When I ran the tach wire around the outside of the bike (i.e. not near the engine or other wiring), the tach did work properly. I am starting to wonder if the tach wire is picking up noise from other electrical components on the bike since there are so many on the 2009 CRF450R; fuel injection with more than the typical number of sensors. If this is the case, TT should supply wiring that shields the tach wiring.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

BRIAN in OK

Comments On Jul 12, 2010:Took a little installation time but easy to install. Works great. It's been on the bike for about 6 months with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

trail tech vapor speedometer tachometer

ANDY in MI

Comments On Jul 08, 2010:love it. very nice to have. Tells your speed, time,temp,mileage, ext. Great to have on long rides.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bitchin!

BRYCE in UT

Comments On Feb 03, 2010:Fantastic bling and features can't be beat. I hate that it has a plastic mount though! And the bar clamp kit with Vapor adaptor is no stronger than the stock Vapor mount kit. Could be better!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

07 400EX

Matthew in OK

Comments On Oct 01, 2009:Everything works great but the engine temp sensor does not fit down into the motor very easy at all on the 400EX. Many people are unable to get them in at all and if you do it is extremely tight.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vapor

Joe in CO

Comments On Jun 12, 2009:If you take your time installing and think out your routing of the wires its super easy and dependable. I have had mine 1 and a half years. Froze up on me once but trail tech had no problem replacing it due to a softwhare issue. I have flipped, rolled, slammed and slid this thing on the ground countless times and still works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

BRETT in AL

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:seems to be holding up pretty well haven't had any problems with it yet...had it 2 months

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So-So

jose in CA

Comments On Oct 26, 2008:Wr 250 F bought one installed it, temp sensor went bad..... it's kind of cheap... if it's in direct sun too long or gets too hott... the screen fades.. SO-SO....

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

!!!!!JUNK!!!!!JUNK!!!!!!!JUNK!!!!!!!!:(

RODNEY in KY

Comments On Jul 18, 2008:I purchased one of the vapors about 7 months ago, when first install it occured to me ? what if i get unit wet during riding or washing of machine, so i called the company at trail tech and specificaly asked them IF WATER WOULD DAMAGE UNIT and there reply was NO!!!! so after about 6 mounth unit feld do to water. sent back unit to factory for waranty repair, They denied fix unit and blamed it on a strong chemical such as gasoline or strong cleaning agent wich nither were ever incontact of the unit, ONLY WATER so BEWARE!!!!
Additional Comments On Jul 19, 2008:.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

cheaply made

Keegan in MN

Comments On Aug 10, 2008:good idea but cheap sensors speedometer and tachometer sensor broke after 3 rides

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome!!!!!!

john in NY

Comments On Aug 07, 2008:Installed on raptor 700. This thing is awesome, it takes some time to put in but its very easy. I love the odometer the most, because you can keep track of the miles you can ride before you run out of gas. And trail tech's customer service is great too, the temp sensor went bad on me and they sent one out for FREE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't ride without it

Juston in MN

Comments On Jun 29, 2008:Great product! A little work to install. A must for any mod'd quad!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice features.

SCOTT in SD

Comments On Apr 08, 2008:Fairly easy install but had to drill hole for wheel sensor to line up. Once installed it works great very accurate speed once wheel size is programmed correctly. I really like the backlight for night riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best

JAKE in NY

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:i had the endurance and it was good but this vapor is the best ever! and trail tech has the best customer service i have seen.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Useful Tool

Michael in NC

Comments On Mar 15, 2008:Easy to install, provides alot of good data, is easy to calibrate, is a solid way of keeping track of what your quad is doing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tech is a stand up company

BEN in NM

Comments On Mar 07, 2008:The unit is great. Has everything you would want to know. My only complaint is that the air temp doesn't seem to be very accurate. Mine acted up after one year. I called Trail Tech and they shipped me a new one without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awsome buy

EVAN in KY

Comments On Mar 04, 2008:very handy works great

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome product.

Matt in IL

Comments On Feb 10, 2008:Works great and helps me keep track of things like oil change intervals and has a shift light for when I drag race. Also its infinitely adjustable for the speedometer for different tire sizes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

very nice

mike in NM

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:works great ,,,i like the tach and water temp....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tech Speedo/Tachometer

THOMAS in CA

Comments On Feb 06, 2008:This thing is very nice and I was pleased it was easier to install than I expected. My only complaints are the mounting system needs help, I had to make a bracket. And the numbers could be larger.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice features for the money

BLAINE in ND

Comments On Jan 24, 2008:Good features for the money. Tach is a little off and slow reacting though. Trail Tech offers good service post sale...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just what I wanted

SCOTT in NV

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:This thing has it all, and installation was a snap. I only wish the wire leads from the actual display were longer so I could hide the plugs....other than that it seems to work great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The coolest gadget ever

STEVE in OH

Comments On Dec 21, 2007:I added one of these to my ds650 and was amazed at how accurate it is. Its really cool to look down and see 80mph.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

TONY in CA

Comments On Dec 17, 2007:This computer works great, the install was straight forward, and best of all the price is GREAT.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good overall product

STEVE in WA

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:The functionality of the Vapor is great but the installation could be better.I would have liked to have had plug and play adapter harnesses rather than having to splice into the factory harnesses. The mounting hardware is a bit flimsy and wouldn't work for my application so I had to fabricate my own. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to buy this product again but would pay more to have more convenient installation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Liked this speedo

DON in OK

Comments On Nov 23, 2007:Very good. Every thing worked like it should. Very easy hook up every thing you need comes in the package. Also very good price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

450YFZ Vapor

Craig in MO

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:It was a little tricky hooking up the speedo cable and adjusting the distance to calibrate the speedo, but over all and outstanding piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product !!!!!!!!

JEREMY in AL

Comments On Oct 26, 2007:Definitely everybody needs this product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Vapor

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Pretty good..no Issues...All in all a good product....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tachometer

Brady in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:the directions are a little iffy but thats trail tech not RMATV. just read the directions really close a couple times and you should be able to install it no problmem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Once you get TT, you cant go back!

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Seriously, once you get this you'll wonder how you survived without it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Zachary in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Easy Installation, but I'm lucky i am a member on www.raptorforum.com because thats where I found instructions on how to install it because the directions that comes with it arent very good. other than that it is a very good investment.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tech Vapor

AARON in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I Love This Product If You Got A 4-Storke You Need This To Watch Your Temp Ect Bay It You Won't Regret It

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

DONAVAN in LA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great item, basically easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

VAPOR

JOHN in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:THIS THING TAKES A BEATING!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Dean in WI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Trail tech makes a very good product. I have had the vapor for some time and love it. The vapor is very well built and holds up to the toughest conditions. The vapor was easy to install and put on my quad.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tech Tachometer

THOMAS in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tach is sweet, tells you everything and is very easy to use. the only thing i didnt like is the way you mount it is with plastic, doesnt seem like it would stand up to alot of heavy riding so i made my own but still very easy to use and awesome

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mounting for Trail Tech Vapor Tachometer

MARK in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I am very satisfied with the Trail Tech Vapor Tachometer, however the mounting accesories that come with the tachometer are totally unacceptable. They do not work for a 2006 CRF450X. A seperate Trail Tech Speedometer Protector, handle bar mounted, must be purchased to utilize this instrument.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not great.

David in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I installed this thing on a 2005 TRX450R and it is useful, but less than I expected. First, the tach doesn't seem to function correctly (it only reads up to about 3,000/rpms and then stays flat). There is probably a setting somewhere to fix this, but it's a little annoying. Also, the speedo is nice, but the numbers could be a little larger (hard to read when moving fast), and some of the other functions (total riding time, trip time, etc.) seem like they don't work correctly.
The coolant temp sensor does work perfectly, but it's not really that exciting....it stays around 180 all the time when riding, then if I stop and idle it will rise to about 217 degrees, then the aux fan cuts on and drops it back down a bit. Interesting, but not exactly thrilling.
Most of my complaints could probably be solved by spending more time reading the manual (I glanced through it before installing), but in this age of technology, they should make stuff that is intuitive so you don't have to find a manual that explains how you need to hold down two buttons for 3 seconds and then choose sub-option "b", etc.; make it work out of the box, and make it simple and obvious!
Having said all that, this thing is worth having, and if you get it all set up, it's probably pretty useful. I wired it into the quad's battery system so it lights up when I turn on the key...seems pretty cool, and it looks fairly stock (I installed it right in the center of the plastic cover over the bars....had to move the key which wasn't that hard).

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

GERARDO in CA

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:Best price I could find on the Internet.

Was this review helpful?