Magura Hydraulic Clutch

Customer Reviews for Magura Hydraulic Clutch

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 38 Reviews

Return to Magura Hydraulic Clutch Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Magura Hydraulic Clutch Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Reduced Arm Pump

Jordan in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jul 10, 2014:This clutch paired with a Midwest Mountain Engineering easy pull lever reduced my clutch pull tremendously. Definately less arm pump in my motos. Great buy if your stock cable pull clutch is heavy/stiff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice upgrade from stock cable clutch

Brett in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On May 09, 2014:This is a nice mod to the bike. Lever actuation force went down about 30%, and the action is smooth and easy. Installation was tricky. The bike had an aftermarket clutch in it, and the stack height was slight different than the Yamaha OEM. This made it impossible to set the amount of pull play specified by Magura. Replaced the aftermarket clutch with the Yamaha OEM clutch, and everything lined up perfectly. The hydraulic tube is about 6 inches too long, and the slack causes the tube to arc up at the handlebars. Noticeable, but so far not a problem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits my WR 450

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:Bought the clutch and installed it today. It all went in fine. The instructions are hard to understand. It took me a good hour id say. Just because i tried to fit it different ways. Does it make the clutch pull easier on the WR. No. I dont find it to be easier. I have heard the same thing from other WR owners with magura clutch. I will take it on a long ride soon and update. Short ride it did its job. Looking forward to consistent clutch pull when in trails.

Additional Comments On Aug 25, 2013:So i had to modify the mount a bit. The way it was sitting it bent the clutch puller a bit when fully engaged. So i bent it a bit towards the clutch actuator arm a bit. Works good now.

Additional Comments On Mar 17, 2014:If you decide to get this, the stock master cylinder is 10.5. for a WR 450. If you want easier clutch pull. Get a 9.5 master cylinder. Contact magura or your local dealer for more info.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth every penny!

Rick in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 1992 HONDA CR500R

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:I put off buying this setup for several years. I read reviews saying how well it worked, and others that said it did little to nothing to improve clutch action. The CR500 has a stiffer than average clutch pull and even with new cables, the clutch pull was difficult enough that 99% of the time I would just let it lug down to get through nasty rocky sections. Now, I can actually feather the clutch and ride with more finesse through these sections. Much less arm fatigue from pulling the clutch. I didn't do any before and after measurements, but there is no comparison. Wouldn't ride without it again.
I do think it could use a little more stroke. With everything adjusted all the way up, it still won't roll with the clutch pulled in, but once the engine is running, it works like butter.
I have been riding with this setup for a couple years now and have had no issues with it. If you have a bike that only requires one finger to actuate the clutch, this probably won't help any. If you ride a CR500, I would HIGHLY recommend this setup!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money smooth as butter

Robert in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:Just installed a Magura Hydraulic Clutch system on my crf250 and all I can say is wow. Smooth as butter and consistent pull all the time. Pull effort is half than a cable system. A unbreakable style lever would make the kit better.Just had to bend the stock bracket slightly and install went well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not much better than the original cable...

Charlie in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1988 HONDA TRX 250R FOURTRAX

Comments On Aug 24, 2013:Installation was very easy & only took about a half hour, however I am disappointed that this "upgrade" doesn't make the clutch any easier to pull in. The force required to pull the clutch in is the exact same as a fresh cable. The only two real positives is the clutch does have a consistant feel throughout the full pull/release of the clutch & the cool factor of have the hyd. clutch over cable, but thats just cosmetic. The money is better spent on other real upgrades!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing difference

Blair in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Jul 16, 2013:installed in about five minutes and made my clutch feel amazing.. great product!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love the hydro clutch

Scott in WV

Comments On May 17, 2013:much easier clutch pull. smooth and consistant. Has been very reliable. Would definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Won't fit correctly and vague instructions

JOHNNY in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:I ordered the exact one for my model bike and it came with a cute little bracket along with the manual (which is the same for all bikes) and very vague in expalining anything. I'm sure it fits certain bikes easily but mine not so much. Instructions will tell you certain models will use the stock cable bracket and others will use new one along with telling you to bend them possibly to make the right angles. I tried to find a way to use the new bracket and it wouldn't work at all and the stock one would not leave enough free-play thus causing the clutch to be in constant pull and would overheat the bike even if the thing didn't slip too much. For the price of such an add-on i feel like they could print off a 2 dollar Machine-Specific instruction sheet and all neccesary brackets. I gave it 3 stars only because i know the gain i will get as far as endurance will outweigh the initial pains of getting it hooked up right.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Andrew in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:I had purchased this product from this website and put it on in an hour. It was awesome. I had a few problems on the way, but not significant enough to lower stars. You can tell it is universal when you get it because the mounting bract they gave you was a little too close to the clutch lever mounted on the engine. This was a little aggravating, but I just used the stock mount and took it out for a drive (05 trx450r) and noticed that the sock mount was a little too far away from the engine clutch lever because it would not fully engage. I could tell this because when I punched it it basically felt like the clutch was pulled and it did not move. I jet used a grinder and filed it down a few millimeters and it engaged fine.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Five stars in spite of the awful instructions

KATHLEEN in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:This thing is really well made. Despite the current pictures it is a Gen 2 model with folding lever. The instructions are totally generic. Routing, what needs to come off, what to loosen, where/what to tie wrap are all missing. The end product is great; reduced lever pull and super smooth action are worth the expense.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

THIS CLUTCH IS THE BEST!

SCOTT in PA

Comments On Aug 22, 2012:I HAVE AN 06 CRF450R. THE CLUTCH WAS VERY STIFF NO MATTER WHAT I DID. WITH THE MAGURA I AM ABLE TO USE ONE FINGER INSTEAD OF TWO AND I EXPERIENCE LESS FATIGUE WHEN FORCED TO RIDE THE CLUTCH A LOT, LIKE WHEN I AM STUCK IN TRAFFIC ON A POKER RUN.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Does not work

Colin in NM

Comments On Jul 10, 2012:This doesn't work on a 02 YZ125 out of the box without modification.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Bret in MI

Comments On May 15, 2012:Smooth pull and self adjusting for longer plate life on my kids 125.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Magura-Hydraulic-Clutch on Yamaha Banshee

BRIAN in UT

Comments On May 14, 2012:I had just installed a Tusk clutch kit with Heavy duty springs and hated how hard it was to pull in the clutch. I liked the performance of the new clutch with the springs but hated how my arm hurt so bad after a day riding. I heard that the hydraulic kit helped to reduce fatigue so I gave it a shot. I cannot believe how much of a difference it made. My clutch is now easier to pull in than a stock clutch and the kit took 15 minutes to install. I would definately get this part again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Biggest bang for your buck upgrade.

Jason in MI

Comments On Apr 07, 2012:I wish I had bought this for my other dirtbikes. Hands down the best upgrade there is. Amazing control the pull force is greatly reduced as well as the amount of throw necessary to slip or disengage clutch. Will have one on every bike I own in the future.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what I had in mind...

BRENT in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:The clutch arrived yesterday...no directions for my bike, not sure what to do with the bracket they sent. I managed to figure out how it was supposed to go on, and while it did have a decent clutch pull, the slave was sitting against the engine cylinder, and there was quite a bit of slack where the slave could probably fall out and I'd have no clutch until I put it back on. They say to shim it, but I think it should be ready to go for your bike. I've read more about them and hear they can leak and rattle off and it's not something I want to deal with during a race, so I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2008 TRX 400 ex

Randal in OK

Comments On Nov 27, 2011:Wow. no more hand cramps. easy to install. it removes the clutch position sensor so i can start in gear with the clutch out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

PETE in QLD

Comments On May 25, 2010:Had difficulty with the instructions & some left over parts. Tried to fit it to my banshee with carbs in place , almost impossible. Once carbs were removed it was so easy, & so easy to bleed. Most of all it works great.
Additional Comments On Sep 03, 2011:After sixteen months still going strong, the best thing I did to my banshee was add this clutch. Had to replace the braided line due to a big crash, you gotta expect that.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2010 crf250r GREAT!!!!!

Kris in CA

Comments On May 30, 2011:2010 crf250r -The best aftermarket part you can get for a bike. The clutch works great. Its at least %40 easier to pull in even with stiff clutch springs , and doesnt hurt you finger or hands after a long ride. Way better feeling and control perfect for inside ruts. the system is great and easy to install but the only problem i had was that it came with air in the line so i had to bleed it which is nothing big and something to expect just buy the magura blood when you buy this item.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well, mine leaks

RONALD in CO

Comments On Mar 14, 2010:This clutch was easy to install and made the pull on my YZ250 2 stroke noticeably easier and the modulation is awesome. Unfortunately it has been leaking slightly on the lever side (plunger) since I installed it. The slight leaking has not caused a problem until recently after the bike sat for a couple months. I had to adjust the lever reach out to compensate for the loss of fluid/air in the system. I need to buy a fairly expensive seal kit (probably from a KTM dealer as they use the same clutch on older KTM?s) and bleed the system for it to work 100% again.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Magura Hydraulic Clutch

Michael in CA

Comments On Jan 18, 2010:This clutch worked great on my CR500. It reduced the clutch tension to about nothing while still engaging and releasing the motor like normal. Easy to install and awesome look too.
Additional Comments On Feb 19, 2010:I crashed about a week ago and the bike flipped a couple times and the clutch wasn't even out of place. Cool design, holds up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than the cable?

Nathan in CT

Comments On May 16, 2009:I have been riding on the JACK clutch for almost a year now. The unit has proven to be quite durable as I have not had problem one with its functionality. This unit has drastically reduced the clutch pull effort. The install is quite easy and straight forward if you are mechanical and a little creative. It took me about two weeks of tweeking to get the clutch function properly, but it has been great since. If it keeps this up for one more season it will definatetly be worth the inflated price tag.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Garbage... Mostly.

DARYL in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2009:Very dissapointed with this one. Don't buy it unless you also buy, or already have handguards (Like the Acerbis Rally Pro) or plan on buying them before you ride. The lever's internal mechanism broke within the first few crashes and the metal used for the master cylindr is very fragile, it will break. It did help the feel of the clutch, which is not real easy on my 2003 YZ 250F.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Magura Hydraulic Clutch

Jason in CA

Comments On May 02, 2008:Awesome product! Made a major difference on my 95 cr500. Clutch is not only easier but also has way more precision to it. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

smooth as a baby's behind

Tyler in IA

Comments On Apr 17, 2008:It installed fairly easily and feels great. I love the smooth hydraulic action.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be careful

GEORGE in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2008:Read the booklet thoroughly. Do not pull lever until mounted. I have trouble with having enough pull to fully disengage the clutch. Bought the bleed kit but no help. The Magura factory seems to assume that callers with difficulties are not intelligent enough to understand how their clutch works. Found a broken spring inside the slave. Talked to magura, waitng 2 weeks now for a return autho # emailed reminders. Still nothing. I will need to call agian to be talked down to just so hopefully I can get my $200.00 that I spent working on my bike. My advice, cables are predictable, buy with caution.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

clutch line

JASON in MO

Comments On Apr 11, 2008:this is really good item but be sure you spend a little extra for a steel braided line, the plastic line will cause you problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best upgrade ever for Banshee

Phil in UT

Comments On Feb 15, 2008:I installed this on my 91 Banshee, the difference is night and day. Before pulling the clutch in all day long hurt my hand and wrist. Now it is not a problem, it is almost effortless. Thanks alot RM.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Had a part missing

KARL in TX

Comments On Feb 08, 2008:Originally had a part missing but called Magura and they sent it at no charge.
Clutch works great!
Rocky Mountain had the best price I could find.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ltz400 clutch

ANDREW in KS

Comments On Feb 05, 2008:love it love it love it your hand will too

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

ERIK in NV

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:After installing a super-heavy duty clutch/springs I had to be the incredible hulk to pull the clutch lever back... during a race my forearm would give out quickly... the Magura clutch solved this problem, after installing it, I could easily pull it with 2 fingers.. it was like night and day! I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

hydraulic clutch

TONY in FL

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this was the best money spent on after marketpart.the pull is very easy and you don't have to adjust it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Smooth as silk clutch

MICHAEL in MN

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:One of the best mods I've done to date

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awsome!

ROBERT in CT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this cluch is the best ever. it should be a standard stock product when buying a atv.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

magura clutch

THOMAS in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I was having problems keeping my 400EX from burning up clutch cables and making the clutch pull terribly stiff(400EX clutch cables are routed between the two head pipes). I bought one of these kits and it is awesome. It was simple to install, cut back the clutch pull drastically, and has held up well to everything ive put it through so far. The lines are also long enough that they can be ran in a better location, great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

magura hydralic clutch

KIRK in MT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:this hydralic kit for my ktm works awsome took a little persuasion to get it in the bike but when complete no problems.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

magura hydraulic clutch

CONNELL in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Best money spent.Installed this on an 06 honda 450f what a difference.This clutch is a must have.It installed in about 20 minutes and needs no adjustment.I now have over 40 hours of use and it works flawless.The clutch pull at the lever feels like a 50 % reduction.Great product.

Was this review helpful?