Pro Armor Frame Armor

Customer Reviews for Pro Armor Frame Armor

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 60 Reviews

Return to Pro Armor Frame Armor Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pro Armor Frame Armor Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits Well, Looks Great

James in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700R

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:This skid fits very well on my Raptor 700r and is a great upgrade from the stock plastic unit. I mounted the plate and went for a ride and the plate vibrated very bad and caused a horrible noise. I purchased some sticky backed weather stripping from Lowes and added it to the unit where it came in contact with the underside of the ATV and I haven't had an issue since. The cutouts also make cleaning easier as the mud and dirt can fall through the bottom of the plate. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to upgrade their stock skid guard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

Dustin in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 700XX

Comments On May 27, 2014:This is a beautiful piece lightweight easy to install just put it on a very good buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Choice for the trail rider

Casey in TX

Comments On Mar 27, 2014:Put this on my 08 Raptor 700R, great fit and quality that you would expect from Pro Armor. I added more weatherstripping where it comes in contact with the frame (from past experience with a Pro Armor full skid on another sport atv). The risers on the front that protect some of the front by the oil rezzy is a nice touch with some nice laser cuts. I had the Tusk Nerf bars and had to do some re-arranginging to get this skid plate to work with these bars due to the risers but finally I was able to get it to work. The chevron cuts are great for washing out durt and debris, one of the main reasons I chose this plate since I ride trails, fields, and anywhere else I can get to. A bit pricey but worth on the full body plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Glad to have

Neil in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA RAPTOR 250

Comments On Jun 20, 2013:Worth its weight in gold on the trails. Held up to the abuse of the Hatfield McCoy trails. WOuldnt ride there without it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid

James in GA

Comments On May 17, 2013:Great protection for trail riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Sean in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 10, 2013:perfect fit and really strong. this is a must have product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Top of the lIne

DONNY in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 POLARIS PREDATOR 500

Comments On Jan 05, 2013:Have had Pro Armor on this machine and also another preddy and current KTM, will take anything I crash into. Protection to the max. Fits well and its best to have some kind of cushin sticky strips to put between the frame and the plate, just because at one time or another you might hear a vibration after much severe use. Will continue to buy and install on other quads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks great

Garrett in NE – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:Didn't like the stock plastic skid plate so i got this. Really easy to install and looks great! Haven't tested it on big rocks or anything yet but it seems to be holding up really well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

cracked

Alan in WA

Comments On Sep 17, 2012:cracked on 2nd time out now it rattles, disappoined

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

does the job

Karla/Bryan in IA

Comments On Jun 26, 2012:would recommend this to anyone wants to protect there underside just put some more foam on it before putting on or it'll vibrate

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

work great

Adam in TN

Comments On Jun 01, 2012:these work awesome

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Raptor 700R

Brian in AL

Comments On May 09, 2012:Skid looks great. Assembled in 15mins with simple hand tools. Only thing thing was fittment with nerf bars, but they were adjusted to be out of the way.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awsome

RONNIE in NV

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:skid was really awsome ...fits well and looks way cool.....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love It!

Adam in IL

Comments On Feb 27, 2012:Just bought for my kfx450r and installed last night. Looks real nice and went on easy and fast shipping from RM. Can't wait to test it out!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

joseph in KS

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:durable and tough. you will not be disappointed. ive had it on my kfx450r for about 8 months trail riding and some track and dune. great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product!!

KEVIN in MN

Comments On Sep 07, 2011:I purchased the frame armor for my 09 YFZ450R. The look and fit are perfect, and everything lined up perfect. Have had on for a while now and no loose hardware (I did locktight all the hardware the first time). It has taken some hits and has some scratches from rocks, but has held up great!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great design

Aaron in CA

Comments On May 13, 2011:I like the fins that stick up and protect the oil tank and the coolant lines. The front/top of the skid plate curls up to protect the very front of the bottom of the frame. Great design, easy install, legendary longevity.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

STAY AWAYYY

chad in IL

Comments On May 04, 2011:this part is not worth your money. i put it on a z400 and 3 bracket grab the rest dont. i can promise you it will be a hassle to install. love pro armor but they messed up this one

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LTR 450

PABLO in FL

Comments On May 04, 2011:This is great, nice product, already hit a couple of rock and it's holding and almost any marks, have AC front bumper and had to modify it in order to work with this skid plate, other than that, great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Honda 450er and 700xx

Doug in TX

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:Love these things fit is great and if you dip the c clamps in rubber and also use rubber weather stripping the plate will not vibrate and the clamps hold better. Also use red locktite on the bolts to stop them from loosening up. Torque them to 16 lbs and your good to go. Very tough and have taken more than a few hits that could have messed some stuff up.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

DONALD in IL

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:This product is very strong and light weight, didnt realize how big this actually was. Skid plate covers from front of frame to rear of frame and mounts real easy. Bought for an 09 YFZ450R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Quality

BRENNA in UT

Comments On Jan 10, 2011:Great product, has indented holes so the bolts wont be damaged by rocks ect. Fits on my 2008 Honda TRX450R

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome coverage

Macon in VA

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:Installed in less than 15 minutes and mounted up great. A couple of the clamps came loose after a ride or two but thats just because I didnt tighten them up enough. Over 400 miles on it so far and none of the clamps have come off and it has saved my engine a couple times sliding over rocks. Great product. I got it for my honda trx450r. only downside is when you drain the tranny oil, it runs all over the skid plate but eventually will drain off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best buy i've made forr my 450r

Randy in IL

Comments On Nov 10, 2010:Really good skid every thing lined up intalled very easy best buy I've made wouldn't ever think about ride'n without it only thing is I cut another hole cus the 05 trx450r drain plug is on the side of the case and would drain right on the skid

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not What I Expected

Kyle in MA

Comments On Aug 27, 2010:i ordered this for a ltz400 and it looks awesome and fits the machine good but if you have nerf bars it will interfere and some of the bolts go in crooked no matter the length of the bolt and so that digs up the spots where the bolts sit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bought it for the KFX450R

Jeremiah in NC

Comments On Jun 16, 2010:It's a pretty good skid so far.
The only annoyance is the spacers on the very rear bolt. They used multiple spacers to get the stop right instead of a single one the right size. Put some JB Weld or something between them and let it set before installing. Also don't forget to put the supplied rubber pads on the frame. Else the skid will rattle insanely.
I do not like their swing arm skid for the KFX450R at all though. Buy a PRM swing arm skid instead.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks awesome, but not the best fit

Ira in MD

Comments On Jan 10, 2010:took some time to get it on the bike, some holes needed to be egged out and some extra spacers here and there. looks great. would have gave it a 5 star if it fit better

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

ADAM in NC

Comments On Aug 25, 2009:Bolted on my LTR with no problems. Fitment was great. Owned for over 2 years and have no complaints. Offers great protection for both MX and XC. Easy to take on and off for oil changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

could use oil drainage access holes

Eric in ON

Comments On Aug 20, 2009:Purchased for LTR450. good fit, just a pain to remove all of the time to change oil

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good protection

JEFF in KY

Comments On Jun 28, 2009:great skidplate, can be tricky to install with only 1 person but manageable. Setting the clamps around the frame can be a tight fit. Be sure to use a torque wrench when tightening the bolts or you may snap one. Used loctite and have had no problems with the mounts loosening up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Need a different shape

MISAEL in CA

Comments On Jun 01, 2009:I own a Arctic Cat which it's the same frame as an Susuki LTR. Sorry to say I was to happy with the way it was shaped.It really doe not line up to frame. Hardware doe not hold skit plate in place very long. With in the 3 rides I lost 2 bolts, up to now I have had it and 3 bots are barely holding. Also it needs to be a bit more thick in the area where the a-arms are, from bottoming out or rough riding. As if now I prob will not purchase a replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works okay, needs better clamping design

STEVE in CA

Comments On Apr 02, 2009:A couple of flaws with this aluminum skid plate are 1.) the "C" clamps suck and 2.) the plate vibrates on the frame. A trip to Home Depot for some adhesive weather stripping will help with the annoying vibration. Just line the skid plate along the area that fits up to the frame. As for the "C" clamps, get an extra set because they will surely strip out as you constantly have to retighten them. Pro Armor really needs to come up with a better clamping system. Durability is okay. Dents easily but works better than no skid plate at all. After trying this plate and then a carbon fiber plate from ebay (bad idea) I settled on a TAG Railer skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great, but be cautions when installing nerf bars

Robbie in PA

Comments On Feb 22, 2009:This is a great skid plate. It's held up through a lot of abuse and is still kickin! The only problem i've had was when I bought nerf bars. The front of the skid plate wraps around the frame and was in the way of the nerf bars. I had to take the skid plate off and cut a half cirle out of each side for the nerf bar to fit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT LOOK NO FURTHER

Luke in NJ

Comments On Feb 15, 2009:built tough, don't even bother lookin elsewhere if u have a raptor . it looks awesome, perfect fit, won't be dissapointed. Pro Armor is the best

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tougher than nails!

Hal in OH

Comments On Dec 22, 2008:I love pro armor skid plates. Have them on all my quads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worthless

Michael in NM

Comments On Nov 25, 2008:This skid plate is a piece. After two rides 4 of the clamps snapped off. I would like to mention that the plate itself has held up descently, it's the hardware used to attach it to the quad that is bad. Recommend a different company.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

Tim in OH

Comments On May 19, 2008:well its ok. looks good but the holes dont line up. not the only person with this problem and i read the reviews but tried it anyways. a little modifications and got it on my predator

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TOUGH

timothy in PA

Comments On May 14, 2008:pro armor frame armor is super tough. it will take some serious abuse. installs really easy, about 5-10 minutes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

waste of money!!!

DALE in MT

Comments On May 05, 2008:Purchased for an LTR450. I have rode with it twice and it has broke off twice i need say no more

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor

jeremy in SC

Comments On Apr 11, 2008:Has held up very well, installation is very easy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

Doug in LA

Comments On Apr 02, 2008:MUST REMOVE EACH TIME TO CHANGE OIL ON AN LTR...PAIN

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Banshee!!

Jason in CT

Comments On Mar 22, 2008:well.. i have a banshee and didn't have as many problems as that other guy! um.. maybe if you stand the quad up on the grab bar it would be easier to put on.. i had this skid for 2 years and i had to beat it flat a few months ago, the skid did its job.. i just beat it!! the bolts hold up. those alum peices that grab the frame strech out after awhile. It's not hard to maintain though. I'd buy another one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bad-a skid plate

phil in PA

Comments On Jan 15, 2008:sic was pretty to put on
Additional Comments On Mar 21, 2008:sic skid plate easy install it will take some pretty crazy abuse

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Raptor 700r

Joseph in MA

Comments On Feb 28, 2008:This fit perfect on my 700r. Works and looks great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

small modification needed

kelly in TX

Comments On Feb 07, 2008:the skid plate looks great and it is tough. it does have an easy access hole for the rear oil drain plug on the kfx400, however it is tough to get to the drain plug that is on the front of the motor (where you pour the oil in) also it took a little bit of modification for it to fit onto my quad because i have nerf bars, so if you have nerfs or are planning to get them i would recommend cutting off the small wings on the side of the skid plate, i only had to cut off about 2 inches or so. but overall it looks mean, and its tough, and other than the modification it went on without a problem

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

Sean in NJ

Comments On Jan 03, 2008:got one for a banshee..the bolt holes are drilled so far away from the frame that the clamps are barley long enough to wrap around the frame and still catch threads on the bolts,not to mention the bolts are about as cheap as they come,and should include washers as well. one of the holes is in about the worst possible spot on the stator side, the hole is so far back that the clamp is jammed in between the stator cover and frame, just absolutely HORRIBLE fit, i dont know who took the measurements for this thing but they clearly cannot read a tape measure. this is the first pro armor product i have ever bought, and certainly the last i will buy. im debating weather or not i should just take it off and send it back. this thing is horrible.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks good and holds up well.

DUANE in OK

Comments On Nov 25, 2007:One of the better looking skidplates out! Fit perfect on the Raptor 350 and has held up for the past 1 year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best ever

SHELBY in WA

Comments On Nov 15, 2007:BY far the best skid plate out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well built

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Nov 14, 2007:strong easy install a must for riding the rocks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Frame Armor

SCOTT in WA

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:Installed on a honda 300ex. Good frame armor for the price have taken several hits pretty hard and leaves small dents in the armor itself. Easy drain hole to access drain plug without a mess all over the armor itself. Easy to install, had it just over a year and is holdin' strong. I just wish the swing arm skid by pro armor was as good as this frame armor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Frame Armor

Matt in NE

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Excellent product, light weight and tough!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pro Armor Frame Armor

TRAVIS in KS

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:Purchased for a Raptor 350. Had to do a little trimming to make fit, will have to remove before oil change, good safety piece, but a bit of a hassle

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Great!

David in MO

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Looks Great, easy to install, fits perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

KEITH in KY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This armor is awesome. It provdes much needed protection to the frame and crank case of the ATV. I've snagged things at times and thought....man I'm glad I have that skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Steven in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this product could not have worked better best thing i put on my atv

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bullet Proof Armor

CASEY in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Thanks to this investment I have saved myself from replacing major components. I race desert, and have encounterd numerous rocks (big rocks) that have tossed me up on 2 wheels, and all I have is just some gouges on the plate. This is a must for anyone that is going to be tackling any terrain with rocks. I just wish my frame was as strong as the plate. I have had to retap, and use riv nuts to hold the plate on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice piece

Randy in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Had a problem with the first one that I got but the second was perfect. Fits better than expected.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great protection

AARON in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Has held the entire weight of the quad and no signs of damage.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent skid plate

CHAD in OR

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:When I bought this skid plate for my 700 Raptor I was expecting (for the price) a skid that was up to par with PRM skid plates. The first thing I noticed is that this is a nice looking skid plate that fits up very well. Then I realized that there was no drain hole for the oil tank. So...I used a hole saw and provided mine own drain hole. After riding in some rough/rocky trails (over about a year) my skid plate is trashed. I've had a PRM skid plate look better after 4-5 years of riding... I guess this skid does its job, but I don't see it lasting much longer than another year before I have to replace it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very strong and durable

Wade in RI

Comments On Oct 21, 2007:The chassis armor is worth the money. I ride very rocky terrain and this holds up awesome.very few scratches never dented or banged up.

Was this review helpful?