Pro X Piston Kit

Customer Reviews for Pro X Piston Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 62 Reviews

Return to Pro X Piston Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pro X Piston Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

Ty in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 50 SX

Comments On Jun 06, 2014:Works well only issues I had was working with circlips

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro X piston kit

Dave in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 27, 2014:I always run and trust Pro X!! not one issue to date!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Luke in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On May 24, 2014:bike runs better then ever. will for sure buy this same thing next year for the rebuild.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro X Piston

ammon in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Apr 10, 2014:I have about 15 to 20 hrs on this piston and seems to be doing the job and doing it well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Piston Kit

KOREY in LA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA Rancher 420 4x4

Comments On Mar 23, 2014:This piston kit comes with the piston, rings and the wrist pin and circlips. It is pretty straight forward to install except for the compression rings aren't stamped for top and bottom and after some research I found that the black one goes on the top and the silver on goes underneath. I think it would be very helpful if this information would come in the box.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still running great

David in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Pro x pistons are great to me. Even after alot of wide open riding on my little 125, it continues to run great.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

pro x

Borce in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Oct 13, 2013:piston lasts and will buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for Stock Bikes

Heather in UT

Comments On Sep 19, 2013:Awesome Piston kit, comes with everything you need, except a wrist pin bearing if your re-building a Two-Stroke. I Use this kit in all my customers mostly Stock bikes. As long as your bike isn't a fire breathing monster, this would be your best choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro X Piston Kit

cloyd in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Sep 11, 2013:The Best Out There.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Does this company care to match circlips w/piston?

Gary O in Connecticut – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI RMZ250

Comments On Aug 22, 2013:I always used OEM pistons with my Suzuki bikes (I own 3). I decided to try a Pro X since I read mainly good reviews on it minus a few bad reviews... which mainly included the circlips. Well, sure enough, the circlips are oversized and just will not fit. TECH NOTE: CIRCLIPS ARE TOUGH TO INSTALL ON SOME PISTONS BUT WILL FIT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Trae in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:easy to install, worked good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

matt in PA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:nice kit with black on walls to see if it scratches

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's Ok

Brandon in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Jul 31, 2013:It is okay for rebuilding an engine for a person who just wants a bit more compression. But I found that you pay for what you get!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Piston skirt

AMY in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 YAMAHA BLASTER 200

Comments On Jul 14, 2013:It ran fine for a week, but the next week I started it up went ripping down the trail and hit the jumps and when I got around the first corner it popped and blew the piston skirt. Now am considering getting a different brand piston.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No complaints

shaun in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 125 SX

Comments On Jul 28, 2013:about 20 hours so far and it is good. . I did not have problems installing the clips as mentioned in other reviews. Not sure if proX fixed that issue, or I got lucky.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Kit.

DAVID in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 27, 2013:My second Pro X Piston Kit for this bike. The first one lasted about 150hrs. Waited WAY too long to change the piston, but the old one was working great. Fit is perfect and as close to stock as you can get, but much cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Kyle in NC

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:I always use pro x, havent found anything that i like as well and with their new protective coating you cant beat it!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro xpiston kit

Alan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:works well gets me up an running again for next summer

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad wrist pin circlip

Jared in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI JR50/R

Comments On May 03, 2013:This OEM equivalent cast piston appears to be of good quality along with the wrist pin and piston rings. However, the wrist pin retainer circlip is poor quality. The circlip is oversized, overly stiff, and could not be installed without permanently bending it. Why bother making these parts if you mess up the easiest and cheapest component.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Average

Steven in KS

Comments On Apr 15, 2013:I went to three sets of rings

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

William in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:Complete engine rebuild with Pro-x piston, hotrods crank/conrod, kibblewhite valves and spring kit. 10 hrs in and bike is running awesome!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kit, Great value

Calvin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:Everything was included for easy installation. Works great. Super performance at a great price. Will use same kit next time,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro-x piston kit

MICHAEL in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 1991 SUZUKI RMX250

Comments On Dec 06, 2012:overall great piston kit pro-x fit and finish is on par with wiseco and oem. i would have loved a wristpin bearing included but otherwise im very happy.break in was perfect ,so far so good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the current application

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Nov 21, 2012:This isn't going to help much as I used this for my son's little JR50 dirt bike. All i can say is it works as it should and after about 15 to 20 hours all is well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Identical to stock, except one problem....

KENT in ID

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:I held this piston up next to my stock piston and could not see any difference at all. (A Wiseco, by contrast, looks quite different than the stock piston on my KTM 300 XC- W 2009.) There is one problem though, the wrist pin circlip is way way harder to install than on the stock piston or on a Wiseco. I looked carefully to see why and noticed the Pro-X circlip holder was not tapered, but was squared off. This is a minute difference you would never see, untril you try to "tap the circlip" into place and it won't go. If you are really dexterious this won't be a problem but I got very aggravated and decided not to buy one again. Once in, the piston has worked fine and been very durable, now having about 2,000 miles and only slight loss of compression.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor quality

DAVID in CA

Comments On Aug 30, 2012:Bought Pro-x instead of Vertex for the first time for my KTM 144sx. Piston was installed correctly into a good cylinder, synthetic premix, good jetting, heat cycles, etc. Piston scuffed and lost all compression after 15 min of riding. Installed the old Vertex (which was in great shape after 30hours ) and have been through 2 tanks of gas with the same premix and jetting, no problems. Pro-x said lack of lubrication and will not warranty. I will never buy their products again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro X Pistons

BRIAN in CA

Comments On Aug 17, 2012:I have bought several of these for different bikes and never had 1 problem and I ride hard!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Robert in NY

Comments On Jul 18, 2012:installed. no flaws with the design or product. It is a great product, but doesn't compare to the forged wiseco's. This pro x piston replaced a high end cast piston... i might buy again depending on how many hours i get out of this piston.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just like stock

Randy in NY

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:Fit and finish was great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent on ktm 250 xcfw 250 2008

JOSE LUIS in FL

Comments On Jun 18, 2012:Fitted perfectly

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Piston

Steven in ON

Comments On Jun 06, 2012:Same quality as an OEM piston at significantly less the cost.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pro-X Piston Kit for 2006 YZ250 (2-smoker)

ERIC in CO

Comments On May 15, 2012:As advertised, installed with ease, bike runs great. No problems with installation or the piston, rings, wrist pin, bearing, everything looked great and fit good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro xxxxxxx

IVANOVICH in FL

Comments On May 12, 2012:Long lasting piston, perfect for florida heat...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

as good as OEM

bryan in LA

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:Have ran 2 of these so far I always change them out at 25 hrs. My son runs this yz250 2 stroke on the rev limiter or real close to it all the time.we don't cut them any slack! Will buy pro-x over wiseco junk any day of the week.just idle engine till warm then give them hell! And change them out at 25hrs.you and your engine will be happy!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great low cost piston kit

jon in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:just like oem in my opinion.
fit great and lasted 200+ hours of trail riding and DS in my ktm 250exc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

terrible for 01 ktm 250 exc.

Angela in MO

Comments On Apr 03, 2012:Bought this piston hoping it was coated like the one i bought for my yz was (also a pro-x piston) the yz piston was perfect. This one was terrible. Full of burrs and not coated. And the ring gaps were set almost right on top of eachother! not even a centimeter apart. Will never buy this piston set again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pro x junk piston

brian in VA

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:after 2 rides and 1 race the guide pin for the ring came out and wasted my cylinder and cap so nice of pro x to market such a piece of junk. Dont buy pro x pistons esp for a 125

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm 450 excr 08

tony in VIC

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:Brilliant wear. on my second ring set after doing 80 hours and the mechanic said leave it on for another set of rings. happy and with the price

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice!!

Greg in OK

Comments On Feb 12, 2012:Nice fit, no issues at all, dropped right into honed cylinder. Bike has like new performance

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Pablo in FL

Comments On Dec 08, 2011:Excellent

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

yz 85

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:great piston and ring will use again

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Piston for KTM

Dwayne in BC

Comments On Jun 27, 2011:Just put this in my 2009 KTM 250xcw. I had 181 hours on my stock piston and was losing power. Put the ProX piston in and got all my bottom end back. The piston installed very easily. The measured ring gap was perfect, which meant no filing or anything. These prox pistons are high quality like OEM at a great savings. I will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pro X Piston Kit

LONNIE in AZ

Comments On May 25, 2011:good valued kit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MUCH BETER THAN FORGED PISTON

Ray in NV

Comments On May 16, 2011:OEM quality at a great price and once again unbeatable service from RM-ATV!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great no issues

NATHAN in AZ

Comments On Nov 11, 2010:Put this piston in my 02 KX250 back in April 2010. Works great; absolutely no issues. Good piston, great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great power

Shon in IL

Comments On Jul 27, 2010:put 1 in my 99 yz250, wheelies each gear, and now putting 1 in a cr125 and will continue to buy pro x.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

JIM in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:This is a good piston at a good value.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Jun 27, 2010:Put this kit in a 07 YZ250 and so far seems to be holding up well. I race hare scrambles and have rapped the motor out plenty of times with no issues. Install went well with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Piston Kit for the Money

Keith in UT

Comments On Jun 17, 2010:Great Piston Kit. Easy installation and great power.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for the price

JEFFREY in AZ

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:Installed in my 250sx. Went in fine, runs fine. But nothing special. For the lower price, it does the job. But didn't last as long as i'd hope with absolute abuse. Good piston kit for a weekend warrior, but the serious thrasher might have an issue with it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great buy!!!!

william in WV

Comments On Dec 01, 2009:i have a 1994 rm 125 i put this piston in it and it runs amazing!! its the best piston for the price im very pleased and will be useing pro x pistons from now on

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Deal on a Great Product.

PAUL in MO

Comments On Dec 06, 2009:I have purchased 4 piston kits this year for 1 two stroke 3 four strokes. All were different bikes and each piston kit was right in specs for the bore it was intended for. Will use these when ever possible.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

big 2 stroke power

william in WA

Comments On Nov 17, 2009:i put this piston in my 1990 cr500. its a great piston i almost break my leg every time i start it from the compression it got me. the bike just screams i will use it in all my future rebuilds.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just Like OEM

Craig in AE

Comments On Nov 14, 2009:Looks and fits like my stock piston. My bike has been running great since the install, very happy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BUY

jessie in IL

Comments On Oct 30, 2009:my bike news like a top it has WAY more compression now so great price great buy

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

5th Gear Wheelie?!

DJ

Comments On May 12, 2009:I put this kit in my 2002 CR125 and it pulls up in 5th gear!I acutally went over backwards and snapped my fender.Way cheap and way good quality.Added alot of power to my bike.Will definatly buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fast

clint in TN

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:My bike has more grunt for sure

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just like oem

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:nice japanese piston. Same as stock on my YZ. It has worked great!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

Richard in FL

Comments On Jan 30, 2009:My son races his KTM65. Our stock piston compression was down to 145 psi so we decided to put a piston and ring in before the next race. We were at the track 1 week before the race with the new Pro X installed and at 1rst seemed ok but the engine just did not have the top end pull. At the end of practice and adjustments about 4 hours of ride time I took another compression reading and was shocked to see the pressure around 95 psi! I ordered another brand of piston had it 2nd dayed and installed it in time for the race. There is no comparison! The bike has never had so much power. We took 2nd place in both Motos thanks to Rocky Mountain ATV and their sevice!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good Kit

Jeremie in NE

Comments On Apr 16, 2008:I ordered this kit for my 02 cr250. Fits with no problems. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with a wristpin bearing so make sure you get one if you plan on changing that as well. My fault I didn't read info close enough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

REBECCA in FL

Comments On Feb 26, 2008:great product had no problem would buy again

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

So Far So Good

KEVIN in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:No problems and everything was as advertised

Was this review helpful?