STI Black Diamond XTR Radial ATV Tire

Customer Reviews for STI Black Diamond XTR Radial ATV Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 34 Reviews

Return to STI Black Diamond XTR Radial ATV Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

STI Black Diamond XTR Radial ATV Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good looking tire

cody in Kansas – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 570

Comments On Jul 30, 2014:Have not had a chance to test them out yet, just got them put on. I read a lot of mix reviews about the actual size. I ordered the 26x9x12 fronts and 26x11x12 rears. They are for sure a good looking tire, but, it is true they are not actual size. I put 10 psi in all four and they are smaller than stated, the tires say 18 psi max, so I'm sure they get the factory measurement from having them at max psi. On the bike the front measure 25x8 and rears measure 25x10, which is the only reason for the 4 star rating. So, if you are looking for a taller tire than stock go more than 1 inch bigger.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tyres Will buy again

Mark in NT – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 700 4x4

Comments On Jul 15, 2014:This is my second set. The first are on my 2013 Rincon. Cant fault them. Tough, reliable, and a good ride to boot. i ride mostly hard pack, but when it rains in the Northern Territory, Australia, the mud is thick and deep. These tyres have not let me down yet. Of course I have been bogged a couple of times, but with a bit of weight shifting they find traction and drag me out of every bog hole I can find. Need to run lower pressures than normal. I'm runing about 2.5 - 3 psi. the side walls are very stiff and I reckon I could run them flat ( lower speed of course) to get me out of trouble. Will definately buy these again. 650kms on the last set and they hardly look worn considering the amount of circle work I do... lol. Cheers Mark

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Tyres Ever

Mark in NT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA RINCON 680 4x4

Comments On Oct 25, 2013:Gidday from the Northern Territory Australia. I have to say these are the best tyres I've ridden on. I mainly do trail riding whilst I'm hunting and they have performed flawlessly over all terrain I've put them through. Not a big mudder, but they have seen plenty of it on the trails. thee tyres bite in very well. Shipping from RMATV was super fast to Australia.

Additional Comments On Jul 15, 2014:This is my second set now for my 2011 Grizzly 700. The first are on my 2013 Rincon. Cant fault them. Tough, reliable, and a good ride to boot. i ride mostly hard pack, but when it rains in the Northern Territory, Australia, the mud is thick and deep. These tyres have not let me down yet. Of course I have been bogged a couple of times, but with a bit of weight shifting they find traction and drag me out of every bog hole I can find. Need to run lower pressures than normal. I'm runing about 2.5 - 3 psi. the side walls are very stiff and I reckon I could run them flat ( lower speed of course) to get me out of trouble. Will definately buy these again. 650kms on the last set and they hardly look worn considering the amount of circle work I do... lol. Cheers Mark

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best so far

Jason in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 700 Twin 4x4

Comments On May 09, 2014:I fell in love with these tires right from the first ride. They just grip well no matter what terrain you are in. I have had numerous other tire models and non of them have performed as well in such varied terrain as the black diamonds. I must also say that pictures do not do these things justice. They look great on my machine. These are by far my favorite tire so far. So much so that I will probably order another set when I wear these ones out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

look great

david in NY

Comments On Apr 04, 2014:real diggers

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excelent Tire

Flavio in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 900

Comments On Nov 22, 2013:we have a excelent performance whit this tire

Additional Comments On Mar 28, 2014:Exelent Tire

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome performance on a snow ride

Ryan in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 660 4x4

Comments On Feb 08, 2014:I just put the Black Diamond XTR through its ultimate test, it passed with flying colors. I was on a local mountain trail riding in 12-15" of snow with some 2 foot snowdrift's thrown in. The XTR's just clawed and chewed their way to the top of every hill....I was very impressed! Lateral traction on off-camber sections was very good as well.
My dad was riding Bighorn 2.0's on a Grizzly 700 and those tires certainly did not outperform the XTR's, they did good, but not better than the XTR's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best radial tires

Robert in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 500 4x4 FOREMAN

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:I dont think one could find a better price and service than Rockey Mountain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best radial tires

Michael in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI King Quad 500AXi

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:Rockey Mountain service is the BEST HANDS DOWN. ! If you have a problem they replace it no hassle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best radial tires

Mike in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 BOMBARDIER Traxter 500 4x4

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:Reviews on these are the best because they are !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tires

Robert in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 CAN-AM Commander 800R

Comments On Jan 14, 2014:we are pleased with the tires thus far they were received in a very timely manner after the order was placed

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome bang for buck!

Jason in Wisconsin – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI BRUTE FORCE 750 4x4i

Comments On Jan 05, 2014:Bought these tires for my Brute to improve my snow capability, but not go extreme with giant paddles or anything. Have performed great. Aired down to 2.5psi they ride awesome and motor through the deep snow effortlessly. For the money an excellent choice, at least for my needs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Anthony in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER RZR 570

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:Bought 27s for my 570. Well worth the upgrade going to radials. Tires seem to run small mine are 26.5. For the price you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice tires

Steven in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 800 Twin 4x4 EFI

Comments On Dec 11, 2013:So far so good. These are some of the best tires that I have bought.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unique design

jim in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI PRAIRIE 700 4x4

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:This tire bridges the gap between an open lug tire designed for mud and snow, and an all terrain tire with lots of lugs lumped close together. The result is a tire that can tackle anything. I have 2400 miles on mine and there has been nothing that they couldn't handle. Can't say that about Bighorns. Got stuck in the mud with them too many times. The BD's just plow right through it. They may not last quite as long as BIghorns, but will probably go within 500 miles of it. Mine are now at about 3/4" depth at 2400 miles. They start off at 1 1/8". I would like to try some other tires just to get more experience with what's out on the market now, but I probably won't be able to jump ship on these Black Diamonds. They're just too good. My next set of shoes will be these!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TIRE TOO SMALL

BARRY in North Carolina – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 CAN-AM Outlander 1000R XT

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:GOT IN MY STI TIRES INSTALLED ON ATV TIRES LOOK TOO SMALL.RM SHOULD AD A DISCLAIMER SAYING THAT IF U WANT 26 INCH TIRES ORDER 27 INCH.TIRES ON RIM MEASURED UNDER 25 INCHES.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy with Confidence!

JULIAN in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 900

Comments On Oct 29, 2013:These tires are a phenomenal all around UTV Tire. They work excellent on my RZR XP 900. This is the 5th or 6th set of tires I have had on my RZR and I will be sticking with them. I will be ordering another set when these are worn out. They ride great in the dirt and have loads of grip on the trail. There is loads of grip on slick hill climbs yet they still allow for adequate wheel spin, even on heavily rooted hill climbs where other tires seem to grab too hard which can lead to broken axles. These tires offer great high speed stability, they are very predictable and ride awesome even on the road. They are competitively priced and I believe they are the best choice in their class. The tires wear good and don't chunk and tear. I find they even do quite well in deep mud as long as you have realistic expectations, these are not a "Mud tire"
I ride aggressively and love to spin tires and these take everything I dish out.
You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a true multipurpose tire. I recommend these to everyone I ride with. I hope STI decides to offer these tires in larger sizes in the future.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Size is not accurate

Rich in Arizona – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 CAN-AM Commander 1000 X

Comments On Sep 28, 2013:Installed these tires sept 2013. Track well and ride is excellent. Not very happy about tire sizing. Tires are 27-11-12 but are a full inch narrower than the Bighorns of the same size. This is a huge issue if your machine has a lot of power as traction is significantly reduced with the narrower contact patch. Not sure why they are selling a 10 inch tire as an 11?????

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best Tire

THOMAS in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 SUZUKI King Quad 750AXi

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:These tires are awesome in all conditions . and they are of the best quality and will last forever.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1000 trail miles and looking good!

Ryan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 660 4x4

Comments On Aug 03, 2013:I've now ridden these tires 1000 miles over very rough, rocky Colorado trails. The tires are wearing great, probably still at 90%. The traction on wet and dry rock is very good, they corner awesome and ride smooth on hard-pack. I'm completely sold on these tires! At 3 psi, they ride great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Smooth and very grippy

Ben in MN – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA RUBICON 500 4X4

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:So far so good! Looks great and very smooth with 3.0 psi. Going to north east mn on memorial to try on rocks, water and swamps . Will update then really good value.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires!

Ryan in Colorado

Comments On Mar 22, 2013:I bought thes tires about a month ago, to replace my crappy stock dunlops. These tires were priced right and the tread pattern caught my eye, they look awesome, especially on the quad.
So far, I've got 150 miles on them and they have been great. I've been in deep snow, the tires just chewed right through it. I've ridden hardpack trails, these tires have awesome cornering capabilities and they ride smooth. I've been in some light mud, the tires cleaned out and maintained traction. I'm very impressed!
I haven't had them on the rocks yet, but I have no reason to doubt their capability.
If I can get at least 2500 miles out them, I'll definitely buy another set.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome tires

Tyler in Alaska – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI BRUTE FORCE 650 4x4

Comments On Feb 23, 2013:These tires were awesome but they only lasted 9 month but AK miles are way different then another miles i would totally recommend these tires to people who want to play in the deep mud!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire

Vern in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:Aggressive tire, looks mean, rides well, good traction in dirt. DOT to get machine licensed.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Throws rocks

Bill in Arizona – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI King Quad 750AXi

Comments On Dec 06, 2012:Ride on the street and on rocks.. 21/2 lbs air. At very slow speeds they shake the frontend, powersteering helps some. Fills the skid pan and rear A arms were shocks attach with rocks. 4th Kingquad and over 27000 miles in last 7 years. Have 600 miles on them and will sell them. Back to Bighorns from Rocky mountain. Lost 1 3/8 in. clerance from Bighorns. Throws rocks and friends don't follow close, Hit in chest by rocks thrown forward that bounce up. Wear goggles on rock

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best tires on the market

John in Oregon

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:I ride very hard in very rough rocky country. These tires wear like iron, they still look like new. The traction is incredible, I can travel in deep snow and thick mud without any trouble at all. If these tires ever do wear out, I will buy the same brand from now on.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

All Purpose Tire

Michael in LA

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:Great prices from Rocky Mountain Atv! Fast Shipping and great customer service. The Black Diamond xtr's are great all purpose tire. They don't excell at any one thing but they do everything very well. Can't beat the 6 ply radial construction. They handle well and have a smooth ride. If your putting these on an atv, run between 2.5 to 3.5 lbs. of air to get the best ride.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

All the difference in the world.

Dennis in AZ

Comments On Sep 08, 2012:Received these tires mounted on ITP steel wheels and installed them immediately as the air pressure was already set at 3lbs,perfect. Took the initial ride and was totally impressed by the ride and handling difference over the stock tires. Steering on hardpack was improved vastly and on sand and gravel washes they did not want to follow the ruts like the old bias plys. They even rode smoother on the pavement and were quieter too! What more could you ask? One comment though,the 26x9x12 only measure 24.6" tall on 12x7 wheels.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

XTR 26x9x12 has deep tread, nice ride

willie in AR

Comments On Jun 10, 2012:Ordered on monday, arrived on friday, thats sweet. Now i gave them a 4 because they are shorter than what the STI website says they are. Was disappointed at first, but after riding on them not disappointed anymore. Awesome tire, has grip, but will still slide when you want too. My 450 Grizzly rides totally different now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great traction, poor rim protection

alton in AL

Comments On May 07, 2012:These tires have great bite and provide good traction in all terrains. They are more narrow than other tires of the same stated size and do not offer any protection for the rims. tread wear is good and after 600 miles on my 900XP there was plenty of tread left whereas the stock rear tires wear slicks in that amount of mileage

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire for the money

FRANK in PA

Comments On May 03, 2012:This is a good all around tire. Traction is good in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rough ride

John in CO

Comments On Dec 25, 2011:Tough tire, won't leave stranded on the side of the trail. BUT, rough ride.My last tire was another brand, and they ride sooo much smoother than the Black diamonds.Good tire but would not buy again,ride is just too rough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires!

Joe in PA

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:Got these from rockymountainatv and I'm totally impressed! They work great on everything from loose/hard pack dirt, rock, coal soot, mud and snow. I got around 700 miles on 'em and they still look new. FYI run the psi around 2.5-3 cause it totally changes the way the tire handles!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tires

Brad in IL

Comments On Nov 18, 2011:These are great tires. They are smooth on the road as well as offroad. Great mud cleaning capabilities. They also go great in the snow as well. Great price also for radial atv tires. I have one minor complaint but nothing big. That is that they do not grip the best on hard packed soil. Overall they are great tires and i would definitely buy another set.

Was this review helpful?