Dunlop D803 Trials Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop D803 Trials Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 42 Reviews

Return to Dunlop D803 Trials Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop D803 Trials Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect trial tire for enduro

Philippe in QC

Comments On Jul 23, 2014:Great carcass for enduro trail riding. Stiff sidewall to reduce pinch flat. Traction is awesome everywhere.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Read the reviews first

Pete in CA

Comments On Jul 01, 2014:The tire performance is good as far as grip but the knobbies are cracking at the base after 3 or 4 rides(150-ish miles). Its getting worse and looking like they will eventually separate. I run about 13 or 14 psi and top speed is way below what the tire is rated at so everything is within its intended use. Also seems to be wearing faster than expected. I spoke to rockymountainatvmc.com chat support and was told the cracking is normal. I will be going to a different trials tire if I get another one. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EXTREME GRIP, almost no durability.

Eric in CA

Comments On Jun 22, 2014:Like you read in most of the other reviews this tire does not hold up. It grips great but after 75 miles it was worn down alot and missing center knobs and the other knobs where ready to come off as well. I've never ran the Michelin, i hear they are made the same as the Dunlop. I recommend you go with the Pirelli MT43. I rode the Big Bear Run in Big Bear City, CA with my buddies. We all put new trials tires on for it, they was running the MT43 and me with the D803 and at the end ( close to 200 miles) you would have thought I rode the Baja 1000.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

Dave in WA

Comments On May 26, 2014:Great tire for Pacific Northwest riding! I'm running 6psi with Tubliss. The tire sticks to the trail and tracks straight through the rough stuff. If it starts to spin, just back off the gas and it will hook right back up. Love it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop D803 Trials Tire

EDWARD in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC-F

Comments On May 22, 2014:Amazing tire! Buy one! I've been riding Knobbies all my life. These are amazing. I could crawl up hills, with ease, that a knobby would've been spinning and not making it up. These tires also absorb small roots and rocks. I'm sold.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This Tire Hooks Up

Derek in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Mar 28, 2014:This tire provides awesome traction. I like to run this tire at 8-10 PSI and it works great in almost every condition. It even works descent in sand as long as it isn't really deep. It doesn't work at all in slimy clay. it doesn't clear out but it works great on wet rocks and logs . It also lasts and lasts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for certain terrain

Justin in CA

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:Awesome tire for under 30 mph tough single track. Makes an excellent woods tire, used it in the sierra foothills and it gripped in the mud, awesome on rocks, and it absorbed impacts with roots and rocks without kicking the back around. However, if you aren't riding tough nasty single track and you're going fast on easier terrain, spinning the rear tire a lot, etc, this is not the tire for you.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mounted on KTM 350 for Hair Scrambles and Enduros

Rodney in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:Bought this Trials tire and never looked back. Lasts twice as long as knobby tires. Excellent in Mud, Grass, Roots and especially rocks. Will not race without it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Try I and you will never go knobby again.

Josh in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 400 XC-W

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:I decided to try this trial rear on the advice of a friend and I'm glad I did. Is short it is amazing! Beats my knobbies in every category, except deep sticky clay mud. When you get your air pressure set right there is nothing you can't grip. Wear is way better too because you are not constantly spinning out for grip like with a knobby. My only advice is don't put the trials on the front. Side wall is too soft for high speed turning, choose something more traditional.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

why spend more?

DOUG in CA

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:I've ridden these tires in Expert level trials for years. If you think you need a more expensive tire for amateur trials, you might want to consider practicing more, instead.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

much better than dot approved trials

BRENT in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:stick like glue to wet rocky nasty ruts in capitol forest wa

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unbelieveable control over roots and square edge b

todd in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HUSABERG FE 450

Comments On Jun 11, 2013:Superb. Used in a recent enduro. Awesome in dry hard terrain. Only bad thing, knobs are cracking after only one ride. But for a 100 mile race, it will do just fine and the performance is awesome. By the end of the race, I was launching off of angled roots without fear. The rear never stepped out once all day. Superb. If you can afford a $100 bill for a one race tire, this is a good deal. It's like a hand grabbing the hard terrain for traction. I ran Tubliss and 10 psi. I will use it again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

PNW trail killer

Wade in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:Sweet in the Rocks and slick roots . Perfect for the technical single track I ride. Just a little FYI .When you seat the bead it takes a lot more air pressure then a knobbie .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

trials tire

SCOTT in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Feb 08, 2013:its amazing how well this tire works. usually ride tough single with steep up and down with rocks. best traction ive ever had and last 2 times longer than typical knobbie. suffers at high speed braking and in the snow. otherwise, fantastic !

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expectations dashed.

John in New Hampshire – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA WR426F

Comments On Dec 26, 2012:Purchased the D803 expecting to get a great tire and my hopes were dashed soon after my first ride when I got a flat almost imediately in spite of using a ultra heavy duty tube as instructed and running the proper pressure as instructed. In all fairness the tire does grip well in hard terrain and on leafy rooty rocky steep trails but it is not holding up well at all and is chunking off and losing knobs after only a limited amount of of riding time thus far.All of the knobs have cracks at the base and I do not think it will be long before having to replace the tire.Not at all what I was expecting and in my opinion it is not a good tire for a larger cc four stroke with their known additional torque .I would not reccomend this tire and will not be buying another one myself.In my 35 years of riding I have never had a tire fail so quickly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great grip

MATTHEW in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 250 EXC

Comments On Dec 07, 2012:i have used this tire @ chadwick MO, the grip is great I am concerned about the wear tho. first time with this bike and a trial tire. it is a tall tire and has rubbed a lot on the mudflap. I do have lots more confidence on the rocks and did not see a disadvantage in some mud/soft dirt. I consider myself a novice trail rider.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tire is cheating!

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Jun 16, 2012:Installed on a 2004 WR450, I ride primarily in Northwestern NV. I can only rate this tire from a trail riding point of view and not a trials riding point of view. The tire does great on all the terrain that NV has to offer, IE: Lose dirt, hard pack, sand, and rocks. I do get a bit nervous in fast turns that require some lean angle as the tire is fairly square and dose not seem to have much side bite. The tire inspires confidence, as I began to notice the capabilities of the tire over my normal riding obstacles I began pushing my skills a bit further. Now I am constantly looking for obstacles that will test the tire and my abilities. The tire makes things so easy, I feel like I am cheating! Would recommend to a friend and will purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

ISAAC in AZ

Comments On May 21, 2012:I have tried others, but have good consistent performance from this tire.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

D803 made me a believer in trials tires

Alex in NC

Comments On Apr 22, 2012:It took me a couple years of guys preacing to me about trials tires to try one. Now I understand. There are places where a brand new knobby would do better, but for longevity a knobby cannot touch this tire. I have 1 enduro, 3 hare scrambles, approx 10 trail rides through rocky NC trails and ST. and the tire only looks about 2/3 worn, and still grips about 80% as good as it did brand new! knobs are cracking at the base like everyone says but none have ripped off for me yet. I'm shooting for about 2 more races and 2 more trail rides with this tire. I swear I would've used 3 knobbies in this amount of time!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor durability

MICHAEL in NC

Comments On Nov 26, 2011:This seems to be a recurring theme, the center knobs ripped off early on my tire. I thought the 520 torque and dual sporting was the cause but now it looks to be the tire is shite. Buy the Michelin, I have had one on a WR250F for over 2 years/150 hours with no knob breakage.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent For Trail Riding and Harescramble Racing

Jay in NC

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:I have ridden and raced the Dunlop D803 on my KTM 300 XCW for a few years now. It is far and away the very best tire for general trail riding and harescramble racing.
I have abused the living daylights out of this tire and it has never failed me. It outlasts any knobby by a huge margin and easily out performs a knobby on trails or when Harescramble racing. There is no scenario I have encountered where a knobby performs better than a D803. Traction is vastly superior on almost every surface providing confidence to tackle the most technical trails.
I use a heavy duty or ultra heavy duty tube and I've never had a flat on the trail or when racing. The highest air pressure I will run is 8psi if I'm riding higher speed trails with lots of waterbreak jumps. Usually, I keep air pressure in the 7psi range but have run as low as 5psi in sloppy conditions. Running higher pressures in the D803 decreases performance in my experience.
Without exception...every rider I personally know who has spooned on a D803 can not believe how good this tire is on the trail compared to a knobby. They become nearly instant converts. Some have decided to mount a knobby after their D803 finally wears out only to remove it and spoon on a new D803...yes, they really are that much better than a knobby.
Finally...another nice benifit to the D803 is that it's kind to the trail itself. A D803 does not tear up the trail as much as a knobby since there is no need to spin the tire and dig into the soil surface to find traction. The softer compound and the large number of knobbs on the D803 actually "grab" onto the trail surface...no matter if it's roots, rocks, mud, sand, hardpack, etc...and drives you forward.
Seriously...if you want ultimate traction, super-long usable tire life, and you like easily passing your buddies as they struggle with their knobby-clad rides on some nasty technical trail section...the D803 is your ticket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good, but wear too fast.

Josh in WA

Comments On Nov 13, 2009:I've been riding Knobbies all my life. These are amazing. I'm sold.
I could crawl up hills, with ease, that a knobby would've been spinning and not making it up. These tires also absorb small roots and rocks, taking the "hit" away, and allowing the bike to stay planted, and get even better traction.
A-mazing tire!
Buy one!
Additional Comments On Feb 23, 2010:I had to buy a WR rear wheel to have a trials tire, and the cost was worth the performance I'm getting. I still use a Dunlop MX51 on the track, but I can truly do things with the 803 Trials tire in the woods that I could never do with a standard knobby.
I'm expecting at least double or triple the life out of this tire, and will Surely buy another one. After 5 rides, the knobs are still in really good shape, even with a YZ250 and a heavy right hand. Strangely, all the knobs are slightly cracked at the base, but a buddy who has the Michelin Trials tire, and another buddy who has the Dunlop both have the exact cracking around the base of the knobs. They have a lot more rides on their tires, and NO knobs have ripped off, and no negative effects on traction for anyone.
Bottom line, Trials tires are Amazing.
Additional Comments On Sep 06, 2011:After going thru 2 of these (500-600 miles each), I still like them. But, as "Roger in NV" noted, both of them started tearing the center knobs off prematurely. Mine took 250+ miles to start tearing off. Both of my tires tore the knobs off at the same place - in the center, right where the seam/mold comes together. The side knobs didn't tear at all.
Several buddies run either Michelin or IRC and have never had knobs tear off. All variables were the same. So, I'm going to try a different brand this time around. I've heard the traction is about the same from brand to brand, so better durability wins.
That being said, I'd recommend this tire. Even with premature chunking, that's twice as many rides as I get with knobbies.
I highly recommend getting a trials tire for rocks, technical trials, pretty much anything except MX... they rock!
Additional Comments On Sep 06, 2011:After going thru 2 of these (500-600 miles each), I still like them. both of them started tearing the center knobs off prematurely. Mine took 250+ miles to start tearing off. Both of my tires tore the knobs off at the same place - in the center, right where the seam/mold comes together. The side knobs didn't tear at all.
Several buddies run either Michelin or IRC and have never had knobs tear off. All variables were the same. So, I'm going to try a different brand this time around. I've heard the traction is about the same from brand to brand, so better durability wins.
That being said, I'd recommend this tire. Even with premature chunking, that's twice as many rides as I get with knobbies.
I highly recommend getting a trials tire for rocks, technical trials, pretty much anything except MX... they rock!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

short tire life

Doug in OR

Comments On Sep 06, 2011:i bought this tire because of the price, and it is doing great as far as performance goes but i only have a few trips on it and there are large chuncks of the tread coming off, i think i might get one more short trip on the tire before i have to change it out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop D803 Trials Tire

Douglas in MI

Comments On Aug 10, 2011:Excellent product, good price, fast service.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This tire was junk (Buyer Beware)

ROGER in NV

Comments On Mar 26, 2011:I have experienced heaven in the past on the Michelin trials tire that is sold by RM so I thought lets save a few bucks and get a Dunlop... Here's how it went. Ride #1) 50 miles primarily single track. love riding on a new tire but at the end of the day the nobs are starting to crack at the base of the leading edge. Ride #2) 25 miles of single track, factory siping still visible but cracking becoming more severe. Ride #3) 50 more miles three nobs from the center groove gone. Ride #4)80 miles, over half of the nobs are now gone from the center groove. No more traction. Outer nobs look good. I'm removing the tire to put a Michelin back on. I didn't keep track of the miles of the first Michelin but I estimate that I had between 600-800 miles. For the money saved on the Dunlop I say it's definetly not worth it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop D803 Trials Tire

TOMMY in NC

Comments On Mar 14, 2011:Excellent excellent traction, Altough I have never had a flat, these tires are susptable to cracking. They last longer than a knobby. I ride mostly in very hard, rocky, rooty terrain. Can run low air pressure so the tire conforms to obsticals such as roots and rocks instead of sliding off. Much more stable on the trails than a knobby. I also prefer this tire in sand. I dont like the cracks, but maybe that is the price we pay to have such a soft tire. I will def keep buying this tire. It was not designed for my KTM 250 SX, but I won't run anything else on the rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trials tires

Kerry in TX

Comments On Dec 29, 2010: This is a great tire. I've tried three of the major brands and this one works perfect, especially on the budget. No deflecting off rocks and roots and techinal hills are much more managable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

James in MO

Comments On Oct 29, 2010:A must have for rock climbing. My son fights for it when we go anywhere there are lots of rocks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome traction

KEITH in CA

Comments On Apr 19, 2010:This is my first experience with a trials tire and I will never own a knobbie again. This tire has far superior traction in just about any riding conditions and even got a bit of snow involved. My bike is now a tractor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good TIre. really bad if you get a flat though

travis in OR

Comments On Aug 28, 2009:This tire hooks up awesome and love it. but if you get a flat you cant hardly ride your bike down a road. So if your a woods rider and hit rocks all the time dont recommend the tire. to much of a hastle if flat

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Incredible grip for woods riding

Tony in NC

Comments On Jul 07, 2009:I get lots of doubtful looks and comments about this tire - that is until we hit the trails. This tire offers unbeatable traction in roots and rocks. You can pull right out in places where you will sit and spin with a knobby. We've been in some pretty slimy and slick mud with the 803 too, and never felt it was a disadvantage compared to a knobby. The only place a knobby has a slight advantage is downhill braking. You don't want to lock up the 803 when braking. Very difficult to mount because this is a tubeless design. For that reason, I have switched to the Michelin tube type trials tire. But I think the Dunlop 803 grips better for woods riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

KYLE in UT

Comments On Mar 19, 2009:This is a great off-road tire. Keep the pressure around 15 psi and you will reduce the risk of pinch flats. It is easy on the trail, and easy on the rider. It is really a great tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction Knobs ripped away

Fred in OH

Comments On Dec 04, 2008:Had this tire on a DRZ400 for 100 miles of riding, single track,and woods riding. Great traction just didn't hold up to my riding style. It threw off the center knobs within the 100 miles of riding!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Soft for 450

YULIUS in OH

Comments On Nov 25, 2007:I bought 2 of these rear tires. I ordered the regulars, but received the tubeless. Put 1 on 07 KTM 250EXCF and the other on 07KTM 450 EXCF and took them on 2 days 150 mile ride on soft dirt and quite a bit of rocky areas. Both tires performed flawlessly in just about any riding condition, I can stop and go in just about any hill. Very little wheel spin on soft dirt or rocks, less hook up on really thick mud. However, the knobs, specially the middle row were chewed up pretty good, I can rotate it and get another ride out of it. On 250excf it shows little wear, not nearly as much as the one on 450. By the way, I live and ride in tropical asia.
Additional Comments On Jul 04, 2008:Update on my prev. review. On my 450, I rotated the tire after 350 miles, then at 900 miles some knobs were missing and I replaced it with another brand tire. On 250EXCF it's still going strong at 1100 miles, no missing knobs, about 1/8" left on knobs, and still grips like a glue on dry. Would like to see how long I can use this one, might get me in trouble when rainy season comes. By the way, I ride in tropical Asia. No regrets at all in using this tire. The only negative is you can lean as far as when you use reg. knobs, it also wallows on tarmac at 60mph. Tire pressure was as low as 5psi on wet. mostly I leave it at 8psi

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

out of stock!!!!!!

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:i love this tire. only problem is it's always OUT OF STOCK!!!! when ever i need one. i guess i'm not the only one who loves it. so rocky mountain if your listening PLEASE STOCK MORE!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction

GERALD in AZ

Comments On Feb 06, 2008:The best tire for single track. Great traction on all types of surfaces. The softness of the tire makes the rear suspension extra smooth, especially on rocks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Trials tires on dirtbikes!

MICHAEL in MO

Comments On Nov 07, 2007:"trials tires better than knobbies...no way!" WRONG! I tried it and found that a trials tire performs better for traction than a knobbie.....BUT if your driving style is just fly around spinning the wheel in the dirt...you won't like it because you can't spin it as much....if you like technical riding trials are a must! run 9-10lbs of air and a VERY HD tube! No flat yet and I ride rocky terrain!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best deal on trials tire.

JOHN in BC

Comments On Oct 28, 2007:They perform as good as any trials tire.I use them on both bikes,KDX and Sherco.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

SCOTT in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Best tire for every terrain!! Works on rocks,in mud, loam, gravel. and even light snow..try it..you'll love it. Lasts 4 to 1 over knobbies

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2 TO 4

WILLIAM in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007: MY 2 STROKE NOW HAS TRACTION LIKE MY 4 STROKE, LOVE THIS TIRE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great traction,good wear

JOE in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I have 1000 miles on this tire and it is still going strong.Best tire for rocks and roots.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great traction - decent wear

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:hooked up great but didn't last as long as the Michelin trials.

Was this review helpful?