Motion Pro Twist Throttle Kit

Customer Reviews for Motion Pro Twist Throttle Kit

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 82 Reviews

Return to Motion Pro Twist Throttle Kit Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Motion Pro Twist Throttle Kit Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product.........

jim in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KFX 400

Comments On Mar 19, 2014:great product.........

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good kit

JOE in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA BLASTER 200

Comments On Feb 12, 2014:Nice kit to get rid of t.o.r.s

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great upgrade

Rick in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 02, 2014:don't wait, order. sons loves it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

david in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Twist throttle

Jeff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Dec 05, 2013:Awsome upgrade

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well

Leah in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Sep 26, 2013:Easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have for serious riders

JASON in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA RAPTOR 250

Comments On Sep 10, 2013:Love the twist. I've had one on my 450 for years and finally installed it on my sons 250 Raptor.......No more breaks in the dunes to stretch the thumb.....easy to install and it actually came with grips!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

two big thumbs up

STEVE in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 YAMAHA BLASTER 200

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:way better then DG twist throttle, make and fit and design highly recommended ditch the thumb throttle and grip and rip

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy install

Rob in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Aug 09, 2013:First time I installed a throttle of any kind. This went in really easy and it works great. No mas thumb aches.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

smooth

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 30, 2013:great fit and finish

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!!

Troy in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jul 25, 2013:Absolutely love it makes riding a breeze.... installation took about an hour but really straight forward only problem the fuel tank needs to be removed to reach the carburetor.. definitely would recommend this to someone else..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Jeff in SK – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 POLARIS PREDATOR 500

Comments On Jul 23, 2013:Worked great lasted two years before having to purchase another one but the price is fair

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JACK in UT

Comments On Jul 18, 2013:no worries

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Reason for thumb throttles

Mark in UT

Comments On May 31, 2013:For Todd in CA. Riding techniques between ATV's and motorcycles are different. The thumb throttle on my ATV triggers different instinctive reactions than the twist on my two-wheelers. That may be too deep but it is the reason I still use a thumb throttle (I don't really like it either).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

ROGER in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 250EX

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:the only way to go !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great kit. But a word of caution.....

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 31, 2013:The kit itself is great. Good product. Make sure you are comfortable with twist throttles before converting your atv. It's very different.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome!

christopher in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:welcomed addition to my sons 300ex! easy install and a great price and product overall!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Drag bike throttle.

KEVIN & JULIE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:I use this on my R-1 conversion Raptor drag bike. For a drag use, there is no better throttle kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

JAMES in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:was slick install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good price

Nakona in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Dec 03, 2012:great twist throttle. Just needs to be cleaned if you live in dusty areas

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked just as expected

Bryan in CA

Comments On Nov 11, 2012:yup. it worked flawlessly. I rode an atv for one trip and refused to use a thumb throttle. Threw this baby on and loved it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why do they make thumb throttles to begin with?

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2012:Answer - to sell a twist throttle kit. When a rider 'freaks', the thumb sticks and even the 'roll on' throttle wll pin the throttle WFO either way. So thumb throttles provide no greater safety. This kit is easy and clear in instructions. Follow it to the letter and you will have an easy install. Make sure to buy the idle screw kit if required - saves time and frustration. Hardest part is tapping the carb for the idle screw. Two screws needed for the Yamaha Banshee. As the insturctions say, " If not experienced in this, have a shop do it for you." Wiser words were never written. If you or an accomplished bike mechanic buddy have tapping experience - go for it! Wish I had bought it sooner.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twist Throttle

Vladimir in AZ

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:great product installation a breeze but the new grip installation sucks..... should of bought the vortex one though since this CR is a 1/2 throttle and vortex is 1/4 turn.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

twist throttle motion pro

Eric in OR

Comments On Jul 09, 2012:works well and installed easy and as advertised. Took about 40 min. and I took my time. must use grips that fit on twist grip not just ATV grips. ATV grips for thumb throttle are too small for the twist grip.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works and fit great

Shane in UT

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:No problems

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

Kevin in CO

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:Does exactly what it says it does, absolutely no fit problems. I installed it on a Yamaha Raptor 700. Can't beat the price at Rocky Mountain!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works good

thomas in AR

Comments On Jan 01, 2012:got this over a yr ago and it still works nothing wrong with it, not the best on the market but works just as good as the others

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

brap

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:installed on a honda recon. i love the twist throttle. helped me out so much

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for Motorcyclists who also ride ATVs

kenneth in NC

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:Thumb throttles have their place in ATV riding. When motorcyclists experience comfort with twist grip throttles, it is ideal to have this capability on an ATV. The Motion Pro twist grip ATV throttle works great for me on my Can Am Renegade 800XXC. It has allowed me to ride more aggressively and for longer distances without "thumb fatigue", which is prevalent among ATV riders.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kit works great.

Kevin in PA

Comments On May 29, 2011:I have it on a 08 kfx450r. Kit works as it should and looks good on the quad. i personally just didnt like a twist throttle on a quad.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No more sore thumb

Aaron in CA

Comments On May 13, 2011:What else is there to say? Well here's what else: the installation was really easy, and it works great. Just be sure that you leave a little space between the end of the handlebar and the end of the twist tube so that when you twist the throttle it doesn't bind up on the bar.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome throtle

Drew in LA

Comments On Apr 13, 2011:i bought this twist throtle for my recon. i bought a 250 ex one and it fit perfect. it gave much more throtle respones than a thumb one. i would buy this again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Price - Great Product

ARTHUR R in TX

Comments On Feb 21, 2011:This is a very good product for ATVs of engine sizes less than maybe 100cc. Reason is, on powerful ATVs (like mine) they make for a very jerky ride at anything less than full throttle. It is much easier (I said,"easier") controlling engine power with a lever than a twist throttle. Save your money and stick with the lever cuz you're gonna reinstall the lever after using the twisty!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

chris in CA

Comments On Jan 25, 2011:I couldn't make it through a race without my hand going dead from the thumb throttle. Switched over to this and it was a huge difference. Installed without any problems and is good quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great customer service

Duane in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:Easy install. When tightening bolts one of the clamps broke. Called customer service at motion pro. They sent a new part the next day, no cost to me. Motion Pro has great customer service and a great product. Just take it easy when tightening the clamps.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Twist to think about

Robert in NJ

Comments On Nov 07, 2010:Great product but Im going back to thumb to have a little better control. I hesitated (screw up on my part) and did not let go when grabbing the brake lever (thumb kept the throttle open) and crashed hard, broke 3 ribs in doing so. I think twist is great on my motorcycle and dirt bike not ATV. 6 Months till Dr said I could ride I'm going for 3 though ;-)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

dustin in PA

Comments On Aug 22, 2010:i put one on my 1988 honda trx 250x it feels more comfortable than the thumb throttle and it has alot more throttle response

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brad in CO

Comments On Jul 12, 2010:I bought this throttle for my Raptor and it works awesome I just bought a yfz 450 so I put it on it as well and it woke it up with the stock thumb throttle it was stiff and seemed like it hesitated at low rpm now as soon as I hit the throttle it instantly hooks up and takes off im not sayin it will cure all hesitation problems but it worked on mine I LOVE THIS THROTTLE if you like a twist this is the one to buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good easy twister

James in NV

Comments On Jul 10, 2010:Works great and very easy to install. Only took about 15 minutes and i was free from that stupid thumb thing. I guess if your used to the twist of the wrist and not the thumb thing, this is the only way to go. The only down side is i can't find a way to more return tension. GREAT PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

im not a twist throttle guy

Bryan in KS

Comments On Jun 14, 2010:buddy of mine told me to get a twist throttle for my quad. thought it sounded like a good idea. HOWEVER, do not buy a twist throttle if you aren't a twist throttle person. some people naturally ride better with a twist and others with a thumb. material twist is made out of is decent. easy to install once you remove the front plastic and fuel tank and trs cover. takes an hour or so to get everything taken off, put together, and put back on. might take a little longer to get everything calibrated right. took the twist OFF after the first weekend at the dunes. only time i've ever been thrown was when i was hanging on to a twist. if ur good with thumb, stay with thumb.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well worth the switch

Matt in NV

Comments On Jun 11, 2010:I mounted this on my '07 TRX 450R and it works great! Instructions could be more detailed on install, but got it on and running the next day.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

way better than thumb throttle

Douglas in WA

Comments On Jun 10, 2010:this throttle kit is awesome, way better than the thumb throttle, and responds quick for my 1993 yamaha warrior, i also put some lubricant on the handlebars that helped to throttle tube stick, and it comes with a alen wrench in the box, it didnt take long to hook it up i had to take the carberator off because the frame was in the way of one of the bolts on the side of the carborator, but i really like the twist throttle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy installation and works great. Good price.

STEVE in CA

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:Installed this on my buddies KFX700. Took less than an hour and he was ripping up the desert the following weekend. Thanks again RMATV/MC!!! The local shop had it for $80, half price is always nice...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

08 YFZ 450

Jon in UT

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:Only had it on for 1 ride at the dunes. So far its great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice product

hirai in UT

Comments On Nov 03, 2009:Been wanting a twist throttle for a while now, and man is it great. Installation was very easy, and the throttle tube holds up well. No problems here, just gotta keep it cleaned. id say the only thing that was a pain on this was getting that grip on there lol!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

suzuki 400 quadsport

Mary in KY

Comments On Sep 11, 2009:i bought the motion pro throttle and put it on my 4-wheeler in the winter. about 2 weeks later i wash my 4-wheeler and some water got in the throttle cable and frozen. the next time i rode the 4-wheeler throttle was frozen and it would stick wide open when you get the 4-wheeler gas.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

could be better

David in IL

Comments On May 05, 2009:needed to do some modifying to the black plastic guide that you put in to make sure the cable is inline but other than that just keep it oiled and lubed and its awesome. No more throttle thumb

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty good

BRETT in AL

Comments On Mar 23, 2009:when dirt gets in it's hard to twist...so you have to take it apart and clean it then it works good again until it gets dirt in it again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

06 Polaris Predator

Joshua in CA

Comments On Mar 17, 2009:I wish I would of installed this sooner, for installation it was pretty straight foward. I wouldn't recommend this for a beginner rider cause of the sensitivity of the throttle. It seems more sensitive because you no longer have that extra spring which is located in the thumb throttle. On a side note if you like hitting the woops hard you'll really enjoy this product, you'll never have to worry about dropping your thumb off the throttle and going over the handle bars ever again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Guy in AZ

Comments On Mar 09, 2009:it takes a little getting used to, but once you get a feel for it you will never use a thumb throttle again! MotionPro makes the best one out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Motion pro is the way to go!

Justin in OH

Comments On Feb 28, 2009:Had a Motion Pro twist kit on my 400ex and just bought one for my 250r. Pain free installation and smooth movement. ATV twist throttles are mixed in popularity, but I personally won't have a 4 wheeler without one and it will always be a Motion Pro!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product!

MATT in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2009:Fit my '00 TRX400EX perfectly. Smooth operation

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This thing is awsome!

JW in UT

Comments On Nov 03, 2008:I have been looking for this for my daughters Chinese 110 ATV. Her thumb just isn't strong enough to ride very long without it. I called the MF and they said they will custom make one of these for ya but it was more than double the price. I decided to take a chance and ordered for the Suzuki 90 model. The cable housing is about 4 inches longer than the Chinese 110. But that is no problem. The one thing I did have to do was shorten the housing on the carburator side by about 3/4 of an inch. With the way it came it was holding the throttle open at idle on the grip. I just used a dremel and carefully cut the housing so the distance from the cable end to the housing was 3 5/16". If you are doing this for your Chinese ATV I would recomed measuring your old cable before install for a perfect match. There is some adjustment at the grip end if you need it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth every penny

Justin in AZ

Comments On Oct 31, 2008:Very easy to install and everything worked out great. Just make sure you read the instructions on how to bypass any electronics that the kit eliminates.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

10

Chad in CA

Comments On Aug 24, 2008:10

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Motion Pro Twist Throttle Kit Warrior 350

Gregg in TX

Comments On Aug 04, 2008:Works perfect. Easy to install. Great product at great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy

Kathleen in PA

Comments On May 15, 2008:works great and easy installation will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Everything you need

Kevin in OK

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:If you want a twist this is the way to go. I put one on my '07 trx450er and have had no problems.It takes a little getting used to a twist after having a thumb throttle but after a few hours of riding you won't want to go back!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Twist Grip Throttle

Ryan in NE

Comments On Feb 27, 2008:The twist grip throttle makes shifting the quad easier. The only problem with and twist grip throttle is every time you hit a bump the engine revs up unlike a thumb throttle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exclent Product

CHRIS in OR

Comments On Jan 26, 2008:I bought this to replace my STIFF YFZ450 thumb throttle and I wish I would have bought it when I first bought my quad!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice.

SHAAN in UT

Comments On Jan 21, 2008:Long lasting great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

TRACY in NV

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:It works good wish it had a shorter throw. I did get one with a shorter throw later.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great..

David in WY

Comments On Jan 13, 2008:Super smooth, easy adjust...

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

best mod so far

ETHAN in NC

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:As a longtime motorcycle rider, this is the best modification to my quad so far. I don't see any logic to thumb throttles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

With a twist

KEN in CA

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:This thing is great. You twisty and she go.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didnt suit me

ZACH in CA

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:Its an ok install. The grip and cable worked and looked fine. I just didnt like the twist.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love it

KRISTOPHER in NM

Comments On Oct 26, 2007:This has to be the best purchase that i have made so far for my quad. It makes even the longest most grueling rides very bearable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

easy install

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Oct 28, 2007:very easy to install works nice

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twist throttle

MARK in OK

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:This is a great and very inexspnsive way to save your thumb on a banshee. It was very easy to install, and the instructions were easy to follow.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

twist throttle

RUSTY in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:twist throttles rule. this was the easiest install on any i've ever had. very smooth action. highly recomend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

JODY in OR

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:works great,easy to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LT80 throttle conversion

DARREN in OR

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Excellent, easy to install kit. Made my son's riding much more enjoyable without having thumb fatigue. The only disadvantage is you lose the limiter screw on the stock throttle control.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This throttle works good but I'd like to see better quality bolts on the housing, these are cheap allen heads that rust instantly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

ROY in LA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:one word..outstanding

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pro twist throttle rocks

APRIL in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:can't complain works great easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TWIST KIT

ROSS in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:WOKRS GOOD, ALTHOUGH I RECOMEND BUYING A METAL THROTTLE TUBE. I HAVE BROKEN THE INNER PLASTIC ONE TWICE AND LUCKILY FOUND A REPLAC AT VENDOR ROW AT THE DUNES.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice twisty!!

Daniel in MD

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great twist throttle once installed! Just be careful when tightening to the unit to the handlebars b/c the aluminum housing cracked on mine. And, no, I wasn't leaning on it while tightening like a moron. Other than having to replace it, great product!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Twist throttle kit

MICHAEL in NV

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:My wife has problems with her right thumb so I bought this kit. It's worked great for 3 riding seasons. Just don't forget to purchase motorcycle grips instead of atv grips from now on!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

No More Thumb Fatique

ROY in NM

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:A good product for riders that previously rode motorcycles. Great for long distance cruising or climbing hills. A larger selection of motorcycle grips, and replacement throttle tubes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect!

JAEGER in MD

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This twist throttle was just what I was looking forward to. Even easy to install!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

MATTHEW in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:fits good and good instructions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

JONATHAN in NC

Comments On Oct 18, 2007:the only thing i didnt like wich isnt the products fault) is that it doesnt state what full throttle is as far as how far u turn it btw its 1/4 turn on my yfz.installed super easy on the yfz

Was this review helpful?