Tusk Crankcase Splitter/Separator

Customer Reviews for Tusk Crankcase Splitter/Separator

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 80 Reviews

Return to Tusk Crankcase Splitter/Separator Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Crankcase Splitter/Separator Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK CRANKCASE SPLITTER

JEREMY in AL

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:CRACKED THE FIRST TIME I USED IT. BUT WELDED IT BACK TOGETHER AND HAVE USED IT ABOUT 5 TIMES

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Tabitha in AL

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:Awesome company

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool!

TIMOTHY in VA

Comments On Jul 03, 2014:I have split cases the wrong way before. This tool made the job much easier while not damaging the cases. The right tool does make the job easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

Bob in BC

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Worked great on our KX65...Line up jaws even for error free pull.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

.

Johnny in CT

Comments On Mar 01, 2014:Works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked great!

Gustavo in TX

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:Used this tool to do my complete rebuild and it was very useful in splitting the cases and centering the crank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works like a charm.

Bill in MD

Comments On Jan 06, 2014:Worked well. No problems using this tool!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so easy

jayce in TX

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:i have never split a case and this tool made everything so easy i recommend to everybody

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

crankcase splitter

Darren in ON

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:This tool is a must . I made my my own and didnt work nearly as good as this . Definitely worth the buy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality tool

Phillip in MS

Comments On Aug 12, 2013:I bought this for my kx250 bottom end rebuild and it worked great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Time Saver!!!!

Phillip in AL

Comments On Jul 29, 2013:When the manual stated I needed to use a case splitter they were not kidding. This thing simply works and works well. Follow the direction and I tap the case a little as pressure builds. When you hear the "pop", you are moving in the right direction. Cases come apart without beating up the outsides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good!!

ROBERT in WA

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:I use to be El-Cheapo and use a sears steering wheel puller. I was able to use this tool, a friends. I really liked it, it made the job easier...and plus its being done correctly versus using makeshift tools. Quality is standard Tusk--great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have!

Jason in SK

Comments On Jun 18, 2013:The ONLY way to split a case! it doesn't take much to ruin a case by prying on the wrong things, with this splitter its just too easy! Worked on both my CR85 and my YZ250F with ease!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just what it says, separator

Timothy in MI

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:can't believe i ever split a case without this tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

Joshua in NB

Comments On May 21, 2013:Works amazing, very easy to use and built in a way that makes it fit almost any crank case. This is also 1/3 the price of most other case splitters.
The reason I gave it 4 stars is my puller bolts had a slight bow to them out of the box, I believe it was due to the weight of the puller sitting on them during shipping, they still work just not perfect like you would expect from something new.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to the shop

Michael in NH

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:I recently purchased this tool to rip down and inspect the bottom end of my 1997 KX 125. The crank sits very tight in the crank bearings and would have been a complete PITA without this tool. Yes, it can be done without this tool, but I decided to save myself the trouble and spend a few bucks instead of messing up my case halfs or something else. It took me all of 2 minutes to split the case halves with this crank splitter. Comes off nice and even. Tap it the opposite side of the case if it starts to come off unevenly. I've only used it once so far so I cannot speak of the reliability of this tool. However, I'm a DIY kind of guy, so I will be using this tool again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have tool

Neal in ON

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:this tool worked great very happy with it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

Zachary in NY

Comments On Feb 21, 2013:If you are splitting your bottom end, just buy this thing. It works great. I've seen videos online of homemade ones being used. Save yourself some time and just buy this one. It works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Jeff in MI

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:works really good, just have to watch that the cases are splitting evenly. When pushing the crank out the threaded rod was a few turns too short on a yz85. I just stuck a piece of metal in it and pressed from there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tool

Stoney in Texas

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:I used this tool and tusk crank puller to build my motor. Tusk tools are great just buy it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

ROB in OH

Comments On Jan 09, 2013:first one i bought broke the first time i used it because of a weak weld on one of the arms. RM shipped me a new one no charge. Ive split 5 or 6 cases with it so far and no problem. Good product and great customer service, cant ask for much more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400ex worked great

Raymond in OH

Comments On Oct 11, 2012:Bought this for a complete rebuild on my 03 400ex. Worked awesome super sturdy. Would definitely buy again of this was ever lost or stollen cause it sure isn't breaking

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Crankcase-Splitter

LARRY in IN

Comments On Oct 05, 2012:works great after using it the right way ha ha

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very nice

DEAN in CA

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:When I had to rebuild my 250f this tool was worth its weight in gold. Was so glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

splitting cases

Rick in KS

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:wont try splitting one without it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk crankcase separator

Travis in NJ

Comments On Aug 22, 2012:great item made rebuilding engines a much easier task

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price for an awesome tool!

JARRED in OH

Comments On Jul 25, 2012:This is the second Tusk splitter I have purchased. The first was sold when I got out of riding a couple years ago. I have since picked up a 2002 KX250 in need of work. The Tusk splitter was the tool for the job. It is well built, comes with a total of six all threads and necessary hardware to secure all threads on splitter. The three arms on the splitter rotate to whatever position you need to start the job.
I HIGHLY recommend this tool, it is well built and the price is great (compared to the MP stuff for triple the cost). You cannot go wrong with having the correct tools for the job. Buy this and your riding buddies will never leave you alone!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well.

Kelly in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:I have used this tool to split to engines now, a KDX200 and a KX250. Both times it worked perfectly. I very happy with this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way better than an automotive puller!!

LARRY in AL

Comments On Jul 16, 2012:I have split a few cases with a hammer and/or automotive steering puller. I purchased this to do rebuild on my sons YZ125 - Piece of cake - just take your time to level and center on the crankshaft.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great!

Tyler in OH

Comments On Jul 11, 2012:works great! ive used this on numerous bottom ends and havent had one problem! dont pay for the name for motion pro or others, get the tusk tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

CARMINE in CA

Comments On Jun 22, 2012:Split the cases on a CR250 and was a piece of cake. The video from Rocky Mountain was also top notch. Great value. Pays for itself in one job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

James in CA

Comments On Jun 07, 2012:Worked great with my WR250F!!! Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have

STEVE in IN

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:Good tool for a good price. Just used it again on another engine that I just bought. Perfect!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Made the job EASY

Kyle in KS

Comments On Jan 27, 2012:I ordered this and when I got it, I was so excited to use it, after trying to seperate the cases, 1 of the 3 fingers broke off...The weld wasnt very good, so I called RMC and they sent me a new one no questions asked. I cant say that Motosport would have done this... Im very impressed, Thank you for a hassel free customer support center RMC.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have for bottem end work!

richard in RI

Comments On Jan 27, 2012:works very good simple to use and always good to have around

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Crankcase Splitter

Brendon in MO

Comments On Jan 01, 2012:This splitter works fantastic for the money. I have used it numerous times without fail. It is essential for any atv home mechanic!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

Spencer in UT

Comments On Nov 23, 2011:Does what it says, and doesn't complain about it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Splitter wroked great!

Mat in UT

Comments On Oct 19, 2011:Product worked just like it did in the how to video, it is must for anyone rebuilding the lower end, and I highly recommend the product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is like cheating

Michael in ON

Comments On Sep 25, 2011:I've never had an easier to use tool for a tough job than this. It made splitting the cases simple and easy as twisting a wrench. a MUST HAVE for anyone serious about doing the job right.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the money!

Larry in IA

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:I had no choice but to do the bottom end rebuild myself; the shop estimates doubled what I paid for my sons 1996 yz 80. After some research I decided to give it a try; after all I had nothing to lose, the bike was not operational and I could not afford shop rates. I am thankful I stumbled on to rocky mountains web site and "how to" videos. The information and products saved me hundreds of dollars!! The Tusk Crankcase splitter worked awsome!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tool

Rygel in WY

Comments On Aug 15, 2011:This tool makes a motor rebuild so much easier! I consider it a must have and Tusk offers the tool for a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

France in QC

Comments On Aug 10, 2011:perfect

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect!

SCOTT in -

Comments On Aug 09, 2011:I dont know why i have never done my own bottem end rebuilds before. This was my 1st time doing my honda cr 250 and this tool made my 1st attempt easy as can be. Great quality and i split my cases in 20 minutes from start to finish with these tusk rebuild tools. Works perfectly and with the help of the videos you guys supply you made me a believer in doing my own work, saving me money and its fun! Thanks RM and tusk, hands down the best company on the net.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's cheap but works like an expensive one!

Allan in WA

Comments On Aug 02, 2011:A must have tool for splitting cases without damaging them. It works perfectly and seems strong enough to last forever. I have split cases using other types of tools in the past, but now I have this, I'll never use anything else again. Do yourself a favour and grab one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

workes great!!

Mike in CA

Comments On Jun 24, 2011:I have split several cases with this tool and it fits and works perfectly on every one! i love it and love the price. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality tool!!!

William in FL

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:The Tusk Case Slitter is a quality tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tool for the price.

RANDY in CA

Comments On Jun 02, 2011:I use this case spilter on my 04 CRF450R. It worked great. I used to crack cases the old way using a good plastic hammer but this tool made it so much easier. The price is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

must have

Brent in AZ

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:If you are splitting a motor this is a must have tool. I have used it several times on not only my motors, but other peoples as well, and it does exactly as intended to each time with no issues.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

worked great!

Tyler in IA

Comments On Oct 18, 2007:Made splitting my case a breeze. way better than the old wheel puller I used to use. bolts and rotating fingers adjust to any bolt pattern. A++
Additional Comments On Apr 22, 2011:I just split a Z400 and a crf450r this past weekend. This is the 8th time using this too. Still Works great! I Love it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

Stan in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:This is a must have tool if you are splitting cases. I seem to be the neighborhood go-to guy when it comes to tearing down bikes and this tool has worked perfectly everytime i have used it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Tim in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:Tusk makes good tools that are made for specific jobs and this one is no different. It works great on my CRF250R and my sons KX250F. The studs could be a little better grade but those can be easily replaced so it's really not a big deal.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pot Metal Puller???

William in PA

Comments On Mar 15, 2011:I don't know if this thing is pot metal or what, but one of the arms snapped off of the collar on the first use. I tried to get a guy to weld it and he wouldn't even touch it. So we said screw it and tried to split the case with just two arms attached and guess what? It worked. Figure that one out. Spend the extra money and buy a better one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Perfect

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Feb 28, 2011:Just rebuilt the top and bottom end of my '01 Cr250. This tool worked great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool

Ben in IA

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:wish i would of got one of these years ago a must have tool if your cases require a puller to split them and way cheaper that the competitors over priced tool

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Who knew...

brian in MA

Comments On Jan 26, 2011:Splitting cases is easy with this tool. Could have made a tool myself for very little money but it's completely worth it. I like that it has 3 arms for more evenly distributing pressure on the cases.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Case Splitter

Toby in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:Awesome, Tusk has a great warranty. My splitter broke at one of the arms the second time I used it and RMATV had a new one in the mail almost immediatley with absolutly no hassle. Second one worked flawlessly. Will deffinitly continue to buy Tusk products.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Absolute MUST HAVE Don't risk messing up your case

David in CO

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Please please PLEASE! Do not attempt to break apart an engine case without one of these tools! Project I just completed a rebuild on was torn apart by a hack mechanic that used screw drivers to pry the engine case apart and messed up the case. Replacement engine cases are very expensive if not hard to come by! Don't ruin your case before you get to even fix what went wrong. Tool worked great on my other project rebuild and made the tear down a breeze. Tried pulling the case apart by hand and banging with a rubber mallet first and got me no where fast... applied this tool and a couple taps with the rubber mallet and POP! case was apart in no time flat. Get it lined up straight and snug it in place and things should come right apart for you! If things aren't moving check your alignment before you apply to much pressure and break the tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another must have for rebuilds

Brett in SC

Comments On Dec 02, 2010:Makes it feel like your a pro when you use the right equipment. Performs just as well as the more expensive brand and has the same outcome. Very easy to use and has rebuilt a few engines so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A++++

Jimmy in CT

Comments On Oct 19, 2010:Such a high quality tool at less than half the cost of its competitors.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Tool

Mike in AB

Comments On Aug 17, 2010:Excellent Tool...made the job really easy...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Purchase!

Samer in -

Comments On Aug 13, 2010:When I bought this tool together with the Tusk Crank Installer, I was skeptical at first and I was afraid it wouldn't work on my machine. However, if you use it the right way (like shown on the RockyMountain Youtube videos) the whole process of splitting the cases will be just a snap. It's so easy! Installing the crank is a bit tricky at first, especially if the threads don't fit. I got around that by using the original flywheel nut and flipping it the opposite way. Worked like magic! Moreover, the quality of the Tusk Crank tools is awesome!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool!!!

Shane in NC

Comments On Jul 26, 2010:This tool is a must have for anyone needing to split the cases on a bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

THANK YOU!!!

montana in CA

Comments On Jul 24, 2010:Perfect to split your cases

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool great price same as ones 3x more money

nate in IN

Comments On Jun 25, 2010:Tusk is good i have alot of there products on quad and tools in my box very highly recomemded

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality

Shannon in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2010:bought several tusk tools to split my case and change crank, all the tools lived up to the job excellent quality and cheap price. loved them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WARNING

John in TN

Comments On Mar 03, 2010:One of the arms broke off during separation of cases on a YZ-250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Mike in CT

Comments On Feb 12, 2010:Made splitting cases a breeze, must have tool for the garage

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Crank Case Splitter

BRENT in CA

Comments On Nov 29, 2007:Fantastic tool at a great price. Worked very well to split cases, pull bearings and insert bearings on my 450 and my son's 85.
Additional Comments On Sep 20, 2009:I have found I can get cases split most times without this tool, but it is great to have available.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have Tool!!!

Darrell in GA

Comments On Apr 28, 2009:I recently completed a major rebuild of a RM 250 and this tool is a must have. This tool made splitting the cases a breeze. It easy to use and works perfectly. If you're planning a rebuild, you need this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth The $

Jacob in CO

Comments On Apr 21, 2009:This tool works perfect. I used it on a 125 and have no complaints. It is an absolute must for anyone who will be splitting their case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tool

JAMES in CA

Comments On Feb 14, 2009:As others have stated, this is a great investment for your tool box. Used this on an old CR125 restoration project and it worked great, much better than the wheel pullers I've used before. WAY cost effective as well; in actual cost and money saved by taking it to a mechanic to get it done. Don't even think about it, if you are going to do your own motor work you need this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

life and $ saver

JOSH in UT

Comments On Feb 14, 2009:$800 for honda to rebuild a bottom end on a cr 250, $400 to do it yourself and do the top end too. need i say more

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

dale in NJ

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:split the crank case with ease within 5 minutes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

case splitter

WILL in PA

Comments On Sep 24, 2008: This is a must have for the do it yourself mechanic! Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

worth it? yep.

ryan in MO

Comments On Aug 25, 2008:the press part of the spliter could be a little longer. I found that I had to readjust it to pull the cases all the way apart. But over all definately worth its money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Crankcase Splitter

Philip in MO

Comments On Feb 03, 2008:I had a vintage Hodaka Ace 100 engine lower end which had obviously been sitting out in the weather a very long time. The crankshaft had rusted solid to both crankshaft bearings. All other methods had failed so it was time for a professional tool. This, plus the help of a electric impact gun had the lower end split and the crank pushed out the other side in no time. I'm so happy with it I have recommended it to another vintage enthusiast who is going to buy one on Monday. Are there any kickbacks for referrals?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Dennis in AZ

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Easy to use and works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great splitter

lamon in CO

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:this tool works great I split 4 engines last weak.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Crankcase Spitter

AARON in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:A+ Love Pulls Case Nice And Even

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Splitter

TIM in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great tool to have for a motor tear down save on time and money no more screwdrivers messing up the case halfs reel easy to work too.

Was this review helpful?