MSR Rear Shark Fin Disc Guard

Customer Reviews for MSR Rear Shark Fin Disc Guard

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 15 Reviews

Return to MSR Rear Shark Fin Disc Guard Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

MSR Rear Shark Fin Disc Guard Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit

AARON in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA XR250R

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:The bike I put it on was missing the stock plastic one so I orded this one to replace it with. It bolted right up and really looks nice. Looks like it would hold its own when it comes to protecting the rear rotor as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value!

RODGER in CA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:Great value and fit. Should provide excellent protection.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not sure if I got the right one.

Andrea in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Aug 10, 2013:This disc guard was built well. Very solid. However I ordered it for my machine and the one I got didn't attach to my machine well. I only have one screw on the bottom side of the swing arm. Don't know if I Got the wrong item or if it is just universal. However with only 1 place to tighten it soon became lost in the trails.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good buy

Joseph in OH

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:This bolted on easily for a xr400. Keeps the rocks and bigger junk out of the rear brake. Good product for the $

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stout fin!

Rick in OR

Comments On Nov 13, 2012:This is one stout shark fin! Bolted right on to my CR500. I have put a few small scratches in it, probably from hitting rocks and roots. No signs of damage and has kept my rotor safe so far. Looks good, and works good too. Would buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

looks good and stronger than stock

brian in AZ

Comments On Aug 10, 2012:i dont bounce my bike off trees or rocks but its still attached and undamaged

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Msr disk guard

jason in AB

Comments On Mar 16, 2012:Bought this disk guard for My 2004 Honda xr400 after smashing the stock plastic guard during some snowy winter riding. Great quality and was made of thicker material than expected. Awesome price and fast shipping. 5 days to my house in Alberta.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MSR Rear disk guard

Carlos in WA

Comments On Feb 21, 2011:This disk guard is great, I ride in a very rocky area and this guard has saved my rear disk more than once, it has paid itself several times over

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So far so good... but heavier than stock

Keith in CA

Comments On Oct 26, 2010:This guard is heavier than the stock plastic guard on my XR250r. It seems very durable. The included attachment nuts have hex key heads instead of bolts. This fin doesn't wrap around the disc like my stock guard did, so the front side of the disc isn't protected with something wrapped around it. Be aware of that before you purchase. If I had known that the metal didn't wrap around the disc, i probably wouldn't have ordered it. Now that I have it, it isn't bad... just not what I thought it was.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great item.

Jon in UT

Comments On Sep 26, 2010:I ride an ATK 605 so sharkfin options are more than limited. The universal-fit worked out great for my application, bolted right on.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Takes a beating

Bryant in NV

Comments On Aug 18, 2010:I ride a 92 RM 250, and I ride alot of woods and rocky desert trai. When I first bought my bike a couple of years ago the original disc guard was intact. But after a few rides through some gnarly stuff it gave up the ghost. But it did save my rear disc. The MSR Shark Fin is a tough S O B. Its beat up got some nasty gouges and scratches. And Im still running the original 92 rear disc.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

looks great

Mark in CA

Comments On May 26, 2009:looks very good and seems to be holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Breaks off & Breaks the tabs

Josh in WA

Comments On May 18, 2009:ANY of this type of "disc protector" suck. I'd give it a 0-rating if that was possible. Mine broke off (who knows when or where) on the first ride. To make things worse, they break off the aluminum tabs on the swing arm, so you Can't bolt the stock plastic guard back on! Now I have to buy the better one. I wish I would've known. :( * Buy the one that the axle goes thru, or don't buy anything at all!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great protection

JOHN in CA

Comments On Dec 22, 2007:Very good price, good quality perfect fit and good looks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome product

NATHAN in NH

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:very strong, and looks great. has held up to all sort of abuse and works great.

Was this review helpful?