Thunder Products Dial-A-Jet

Customer Reviews for Thunder Products Dial-A-Jet

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 20 Reviews

Return to Thunder Products Dial-A-Jet Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Thunder Products Dial-A-Jet Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

For only 3 easy payments of ......

Jeremiah in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 1986 HONDA ATC 350X

Comments On Sep 10, 2013:Product installed pretty easily, but somehow I believe it to be one of those corny items you buy that's not all its cracked up to be. Bike still ran ok, but it ran ok before the install. If you are one of those people that buys crap from those weird info-mercials then this is right up your ally. BUT WAIT THERES MORE......just kidding that's all I got.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing results

Mandy in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jul 30, 2013:after making small jet adjustments and getting everthing tuned i noticed a major differance at how smooth the powerband kicked in after installing the dial a jet. i started riding at 4365 ft elevation in wyomings northern hills and went past 9000ft in its rocky mountains without ever adjusting anything but the dial a jet and never fouled a plug. the dial a jet worked great and i recommend this product to anyone tired of changing jets on 2 strokes. ive rode over 40 hours so far with the dial a jet and never had to do anything but fill up with gas. amazing product!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quick and easy install

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On May 31, 2013:Works pretty well to make adjustments on the fly.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Something to TAME the BEAST!

DONALD in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KFX 700

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:I have this system on all four of my quads, 2 Z-400s , Artic Cat DVX 300 and the Beast a KFX-700. I mainly run in the sand so we push em hard! The KFX-700 has been the hardest to jet as it has 2 carbs and is very thirsty. As stated this system WILL require some jetting changes but it is all for the better- now all i have to do to go from 4800ft run down to 2600ft run or at 800ft is turn the dial. The system does add power as it acts like an on command fuel injection when your motor needs it only, like when climbing a 500ft dune-killer.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expensive

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:but beat disassembling your carb for jetting changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dial a Jet

Ken in GA

Comments On Oct 02, 2011:Easy installation. I can tell the mid range is much better. My z400 pulls alot harder. Highly recommended. Must buy snorkle kit. Why not included ?

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Seems flawed to me

MONTY in AB

Comments On Jun 05, 2011:In it's design it takes unfiltered air and mixes it with fuel and put the UNFILTERED air into the engine. They do offer the snorkel kit which they recommend for off road use...but a small piece of open cell foam doesn't seem like a great filter. Also depending on your carbs/intake system it may be VERY tricky to install. My Banshee was not as nice and easy as it would install on my Scrambler. I like the priciple...not the actual product. I eventually opted to NOT install the kit on my Banshee. I ride the foothills and felt the adjustability would be nice...but ultimately introducing UNFILTERED air into my engine seemed like engine rebuilds waiting to happen.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

way better than jetting all the time

DAVID in OH

Comments On May 06, 2008:have a 660 raptor and it works great! this makes life simple since have 2 carbs to jet. change jets initially and never touch carbs again. just turn the dial a jet. makes alot of difference in bottom snap. Now runs like injected 700s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Jetting Alternative

Neal in AR

Comments On Mar 11, 2008:If you're upgrading your quad with a pipe and a high flow filter and you need to re-jet just skip ahead to the Dial-A-Jet. This adds a ton of throttle responce down low. It's so easy to install you'll swear you missed a step.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good

WAYNE in CA

Comments On Feb 26, 2008:It works but i would have to say its not a complete replacement for a jet kit as it only allows for more fuel to be delivered and cannot lean out the fuel mixture so if you do a lot of higher altitude riding its useless, I run it in conjunction with a fmf jet kit and it works quite well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As advertized

Cody in UT

Comments On Feb 01, 2008:Works like it says it does. I really don't know why more people don't have these! I ride anywhere from 4500 ft to 10,000 ft and turning a dial is a lot easier than re-jetting all the time. Very straightforward install. Great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quick install

ELIZABETH in MA

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:takes 30 minutes to install and a few laps to adjust. only makes a difference if you have a few engine mods. the snorkle kit is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dial-A-Jet

LEE in IN

Comments On Dec 18, 2007:Great product, easy to install although dialing it in can be a little work, a lot of trial end error. I do a lot of winter riding and travel to Colorado to ride, I like not having to re-jet for the altitude or the weather, just turn the dial and you are off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

JAMES in CA

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:It works great. It solved all my jetting problems. It is easy to install and comes with good directions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dial a Jet Power.

MATTHEW in CO

Comments On Dec 08, 2007:This is what your engine wants, ideal for all types of machines. Easy to install and great benefits, you will love it ,I do!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Altitude is everything

Raymond in NH

Comments On Nov 18, 2007:I agree with the 1st review. unless you are going up and down in elevation, don't bother. your jetting, if correct, will do just fine. besides, unless you can get to your carb easily, you have to pull the plastic to adjust everytime. I have an 07 trx and it's a P.I.T.A!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother unless you ride in the mountains.

JOSEPH in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The quality of the product is decent. It's fairly well-made, the instructions are decent and it works as advertised.
Most people seem to have a misconception that this is a performance upgrade. It DOES NOT increase horsepower. What it WILL do is make it easier to tweak your jetting to match your riding conditions. In my case, I found that I never needed to change jetting, so I never had a reason to adjust it. So, in my case it was a waste. On the other hand, if you live in the mountains or someplace that has wide variations in temperature and humidity (or other issues that require frequent jetting changes) this little device might be a great convenience. Say you start out near sea level at the beginning of the day and ascend a couple thousand feet, you might need to back down your jetting a bit to maintain peak performance at higher altitude. Dial-A-Jet can help keep you running spot-on all day long with just an occasional turn of a screw.
Again, and I cannot stress this enough, DO NOT expect this to increase the performance. That is NOT what it is intended to do. It makes minor jetting adjustments easier and that's all. It contributes to performance in the sense that it makes it easier to maintain optimal tuning under varying conditions.
Most people would benefit more from taking the time to get the jetting right the conventional way. Setting up the Dial-A-Jet requires an understanding of how to select the right carburetor jet, so you're going to have to do your homework anyway.
If your machine is correctly jetted and your riding conditions seldom vary, put your money toward something else.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good add-on for the money

JOHN in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The product does what the advertising says -- it gives adjustable jetting (for wide open throttle at least) and helps to run leaner for better fuel mileage. It can be a little tough to tune at first...I still have a little stumbling when I chop the throttle from wide open after many jetting changes. Still, it's a good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This product is superb!

Brandon in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is the one of the best products I have bought so far... no more jetting, just turn the dial!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

dial a jet

THOMAS in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:this is a good purchase rather than the hassle of standard jetting, it makes everything so much easier and is simple to install

Was this review helpful?