T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 1 Rear Chain Guide

Customer Reviews for T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 1 Rear Chain Guide

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 52 Reviews

Return to T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 1 Rear Chain Guide Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 1 Rear Chain Guide Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works awesome

david in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On May 12, 2014:I have the rk 520 chain and it does not run at all I recommend this product if u get a larger chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Everything seems good.

KEVIN in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 11, 2014:Install wasn't a problem. All the hardware was included and everything lined up well. The product seems to be built well and you don't have to take the chain off to put it on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

david in NY

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

richard in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ250

Comments On Jan 05, 2014:There is no other guide to use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love this thing

anthony in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:no noise,,helps chain life..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain guide

shawn in NY

Comments On Aug 21, 2013:This a must if you race. Keeps my chain from popping off. Only complaint I have is the bolt it comes with are to small I snapped off one of the bolts but I drilled and tapped my swing arm and put in bigger bolts and haven't had a problem sense

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brrrraaappp

Robert in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jul 24, 2013:Lined up great.. Easy install. Rode through rock gardens and over huge logs. Still works great!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tm designs chain guide

John in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On May 31, 2013:About five rides now, product is holding up and looking great. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super easy install, looks good

Marco in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 24, 2013:Great replacement for the OEM chain guide, which was completely chewed up. This also holds up pretty well to the bashing against rocks it gets up here in the northeast.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

durable chain guard

CHRISTOPHER in CA

Comments On May 25, 2013:bends but does not break. Great durability

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain guide

Mark in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:Bent my stock. This one's not the cheapest, but I think it may be the bestest.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Stuff

Jim in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Feb 16, 2013:Huge improvment over the stock chain guide

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Larry in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:Good replacement, works sweet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Chain Guide

Wade in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:I have been running this chain guide for a couple of months. 450's are pretty hard on all drive train components and this guide has held up like a champ. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT!!!!!

JAMES in UT

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:HAVE USED ALMOST EVERY BRAND BEFORE. THIS IS THE BEST!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Aug 05, 2012:works great. love this chain guide

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no problems

RALPH in CA

Comments On Jul 07, 2012:used them on many bikes, usually keep bikes 3 years, they last 3 years plus

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really take a beating!

Frank in NM

Comments On Jul 03, 2012:Do yourself a favor and upgrade you stock aluminum chain guide before it gets bent out of shape and derails your chain from the sprocket when your miles out on the trail and have to do bike first-aid in the mud like I had to!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great,wears a little fast.

glenn in PA

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:Very durable,they used to last longer a few years ago.mine last 1yr if im lucky.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works way better than stock.

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:Buy it enough said!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

decent

Tony in VIC

Comments On Feb 28, 2012:works, fits well and is wearing

Additional Comments On Feb 28, 2012:fits and looks good, well priced and is wearing well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Top of the line

Samuel in TX

Comments On Jan 04, 2012:No more info needed. The best!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks good ,works good ,wears good

JOHN in NJ

Comments On Apr 19, 2011:looks good ,works good,wears good ,its goood

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

JOEL in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2010:Better alternative to the OEM guide. Very durable and tough. Works like it should although for the price, I feel it could be made cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding product

Allen in CA

Comments On Oct 28, 2010:Stood a full season of desert racing here near California, many National hare and hound races. Has taken some big hits and nothing brakes it. Excellent product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A bit pricy, but works great.

WILLIAM in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2010:Although they are expensive, this guide is much better in rocky terrain than the stock Yamaha guide. It deforms slightly then returns to the original shape when it takes a hit. Bottom line, I'm glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

you need it

lewis in MD

Comments On Sep 03, 2010:yes it is noisy.not as loud than your exhaust.works well.if and when it wears out i will buy another one. no installation problems at all.great product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love it - tough

JIM in OH

Comments On Jul 02, 2010:Has a year warranty, but last two years. No need for a replacable wear block since if your buying this kind of item it needs replaced every two years anyhow. The whole unit gets beat just due to its location on the bike!
Bought it - beat it to death- will buy another.
Why is plastic so expensive???
RM-MC is The Best!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not for Rocky Trail Rides

DIRK in WY

Comments On May 19, 2010:This is probably fine if you only ride the track, but if you ride any type of rocky trails the guide is to flexible and will bend causing your chain to pop off the sproket. I didn't consider that when I bought it - otherwise works perfect and is durable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could be better

Michael in CA

Comments On May 10, 2010:Doesn't come with inner wear blocks.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

had to modify

RICHARD in AZ

Comments On Feb 23, 2010:I had to use different bolts to mount it to my swingarm and this is the only reason I gave it 4 stars. Other than that, its the best replacement or aftermarket rear chain guide there is bar none. Its been on my bike for years and I run it with the tm designs chain slider and rollers. Yeah, the tm designs products are a little pricey, but more than worth the cost. And, when it comes to quality and longevity you can't beat it. I will purchase nothing else. Listen to someone who races motocross because they know if a product is worth it or not.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

ANTHONY in MA

Comments On Oct 18, 2009:strong, easy bolt-on, does the job well. get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hard to fit

TYLER in IL

Comments On May 30, 2009:Purchased for Banshee. Had to force it to line up and bolt to the swingarm because the stock skid plate was interfering. The skid plate isn't bent either. The chain doesn't roll on the rollers but slides on the top part of the guide instead. Wasn't really worth the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best

JIMMY in GA

Comments On Mar 29, 2009:This is definitely worth the money....will have on all my quads.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Lori in OH

Comments On Jul 17, 2008:works great but hits aftermarket skidplate and kind of loud

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Must have for riding in rocks

Phil in CA

Comments On May 25, 2008:Pricy and kinda noisy on the CRF250x. Works very well in the rocks. Does not make noise on any of my 2 strokes. Have them on on every bike

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very strong

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:this product holds up so will you will go throw about 4 or 5 chains before it STARTS! to wear out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

T.M. rear chain guide

Tony in KS

Comments On Mar 02, 2008:The T.M. rear chain guide is just what it proclams. Iron proof. A Must have.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

T.M. Rear Chain Guide

DAVE in CA

Comments On Mar 02, 2008:Pricey but works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Feb 25, 2008:Great product, kinda of pricy though

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The best made?

MIKE in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:Takes all the abuse....never seems to wear out! Worth every cent!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect

JEFF in OR

Comments On Jan 04, 2008:this went on smooth and functioned perfect

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very tough

ERIC in AZ

Comments On Dec 19, 2007:Good fit & works well, very smooth for less drag.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rear chain guide

PAT in CA

Comments On Dec 09, 2007:looks good and seems to be holding up good.
although a little piece of it chipped from a rock the day first time i rode with it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain guide

JASON in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Nice looking unit, but makes a lot of noise when chain hits it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TRX450R Chain Tensioner

JONATHAN in OH

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The Tensioner work well, but the mounting hardware is weak. The mounting bolts need to be replaced with grade 8 or equivelent bolts mine broke off into the swingarm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough Chain Guide

Paul in CO

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I was worried about a non-metal enclosed chain guide. Those worries are now dispelled after riding the rocks and canyons of Utah.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you're fast you must have this!!

TODD in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:You must have a chain guide if you're a fast pro level rider, period. These are absolutely mandatory if you are hammering through whoops wide open. If you've ever thrown a chain and broken the cases as a result, you'd understand. Buy this...NOW!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

T.M. is top notch...

ERIC in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:T.M. Designs makes a real tough & durable product... much better than OEM. I put one on my 250X trail bike and like it a lot... If you ride in the rocks get this chain guide... you won't regret it..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Chris in AL

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Excellent construction. The rollers should really help with chain life. A Must for extended swing arms.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A great product

PETER in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I love this chain guide. I was weary of constantly bending the stock chain guide back into shape and this guide has ended that. It is a very high quality product that comes with nylock mounting hardware. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong

DARRELL in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I was looking for a replacement chain guide for my KLX 400 and thought I would try the T.M, designworks. The stock guide was bent badly do to my habit of riding in large rocks here in Arizona. I was really happy with the T.M. It is very durable and has held up to some very hard hits. It shows some surface scratchs but it has not broken or bent. I recommend this product whole heartedly.

Was this review helpful?