Steahly Heavy Flywheel Weight

Customer Reviews for Steahly Heavy Flywheel Weight

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 48 Reviews

Return to Steahly Heavy Flywheel Weight Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Steahly Heavy Flywheel Weight Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

expired kit

Garrett in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Mar 04, 2014:WHEN I RECEIVED MY KIT, THE EPOXY THAT STEAHLY REQUIRES WAS EXPIRED BY OVER 5 MONTHS. STEAHLY WILL NOT WARRANTY THE PRODUCT IF EXPIRED EPOXY IS USED. CONTACTED ROCKY MOUNTAIN, AND THEY COULD NOT GIVE ME AN ESTIMATED TIME IN WHICH I WOULD RECEIVE MY WARRANTIED EPOXY KIT. TECH NOTE: THESE KITS HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND WILL BE MONITORED FOR EXPIRATION DATES.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Helps me out!

Kathleen in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:Adding the flywheel weight has made a noticeable different in the deliver of power. I believe its been a good addition to my bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great way to smooth the power

Gary in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:These are worth their weight in gold in nasty off road situations, great way to get a feel of more torque and to smooth the hit on a peaked out powerband.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good FWW

joseph in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jan 26, 2014:In my experiences with Steahly, their products have always been high quality. This FWW is no different. Comes with a tool to install the weight it takes roughly 20 minutes. Ive had it on for about 40 hours and check it often(as recommended) and so far set screws have stayed tight. As far as performance it did not necessarily take anything away from the hit but it did help prevent stalling and no other changes needed to be made to the bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Made my YZ250 much more enjoyable to ride

Jonathan in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 10, 2013:Made the bike track better, less stalling, and overall better riding experience. I went with a 13oz weight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good deal! Great products!

DEREK in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 200 EXC

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:Easy to install and works awesome! I got the 12oz and it didn't rob any power just made the power easier to get traction. Sweet!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Power to the ground, great for steep rocky hills

Jon in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Used on 2004 CR250R. 10 oz. weight. Completely changes power characteristics. With 13/51 gearing this bike climbs as good as any 450 4 stroke now. On acceleration the front tire tends to come off the ground easier, sometimes unexpectedly, due to better rear wheel hook up. Don't need flywheel puller for this bike, engine lock up tool is very handy though. Can have this weight on or off in under 10 minutes. Highly recommended for 2 strokes in the Utah deserts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good buy

Marylou in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX100

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:made a big difference before and after. Really helped me out since I'm just a beginner.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

FWW turns motocross bike into offroad machine

JAY in UT

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:many weights to choose from, I opted for 11oz on my YZ250. It is perfect for tight technical trails and offers the average rider better traction on the motocross track.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Wes in ID

Comments On Nov 03, 2012:I bought one for my sons CR 125. Really helped with the stalling of the bike. Just a good quality, American made product. Please buy this product. Lets keep Chuck Steahly in business.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great, but Horrible Instructions

Brad in TX

Comments On Oct 19, 2012:Let's start with the good. Works great. Much smoother engine response, less stalling, more manageable power, feels like you have more power/control at low throttle, easier to ride, etc. I couldn't be happier with what its done to the engine.
Now for the bad part. The instructions are really terrible. Installation is on a 2006 CR250R. Flywheel pics on Steahly's website and in instructions don't look like the item received although it is the same PN. Instructions say use threaded holes in front for special installation tool, but there are no threaded holes. Instructions say tighten set screws on outer rim, but there are no set screws. Locking nut is 5/8" when everything else on bike is metric. Included spacer is poorly machined white plastic - not grey (I assumed metal) like in the RATV pic. No longer screws included either. Everything works, yes, but for what this thing costs, I expected a little more. Would recommend going with the full flywheel replacement if you can afford it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent upgrade for CR85 for woods riding!

Jeff in MI

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:I was hesitant to put this 7oz weight on my little Honda CR85 because I didn't want it to kill the "hit" of the powerband, just wanted less stalling and less clutching. Wish I had purchased sooner, great product, no more stalling and much less clutching in the woods. One of the best upgrades I have added to this bike. If you have a mini and trail ride it or woods ride, don't think twice about adding this to your CR85 mini. It doesn't slow it down or kill the power, just makes it feel like it has more torque or bottom end and still revs just fine. This was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for beginners

Simon in QC

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:Got it for my wife's KX 100 and it made a very big difference. The engine is much more tame and confidence inspiring. It's less jumpy and more tractable, very useful on hard pack where traction is key. It also keeps the engine running longer and steadier so it's easier for beginners to get accustomed to the clutch.
Technically it doesn't rob of any power but it does impair the bike a bit in loamy dirt or sand, just not enough that we'd want to take out the weight in those situations.
Installation is easy as long as you have a lockup tool, get one along with the weight! Can't say about removal, may be a bit more tedious after its been sitting for a while. Don't plan on removing it any time soon though.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Required in my opinion

Adam in CA

Comments On Apr 06, 2012:Excellant product. A must have for me on my 2005 rm 250. Makes the bike way more tractable and allows you to get on top of the power more. Without it the bike feels like it just lights up the rear tire. With the 6ounce Chuck Steahly flywheel installed on my 05 rm 250 I fell the bikes power is perfect. Alows you to go faster because your putting more power to the ground. However, the stock Rm flywheel threads where machined a little crooked so the flywheel weight doesn't sit tottaly flat. I thought my flywheel weight was bent but its not. Chuck Steahly said its a common problem with RM's, but it usually doesnt cause any problems. Still works but you have to order a few more stock gaskets so that the flywheel weight nut doesnt rub on the stator cover.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome product

Josh in PA

Comments On Mar 29, 2012:Wish I didnt wait so long to purchase one for my cr 250 makes it so much more powerful on the bottom end, so easy to instal, just wish i would have purchase an engine lock up tool would have saved some time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for trail riding.

Gerard in WA

Comments On Feb 22, 2012:First I put a 10oz on a CR80, and was so impressed with how it improved traction (saves tires) and was able to crawl along on tight trails, that I picked a 12oz unit up for my CR250 also. I have read people say that the weight made their bike "rev lazy", but I haven't experienced any of that. Yes, you can tell the engine's character has a little more rotational enertia, but both bikes still hit really well and pull from down low with no problem. I honestly have a hard time saying the bike is any slower, because it hooks up better with the weight on there. I totally recommend this product for guys who want a better trail experience. 5 stars!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

marvin in WV

Comments On Feb 16, 2012:gives the bike a tractor like attitude in low rpms. is not even noticable in high rpms. makes the tourque much more usable and the rear wheel breaks loose alot less in slick conditions. if your a woods racer/rider this is the 1st product that should go on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not happy

taylor in WV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:the first one i bought for my 05 yz250 the threads on the weight stripped out, How? I have no clue...... In the mean time it messed the threads up on the end of my crankshaft, I finally got that fixed and Steahly sent me a new weight and the new one doesnt even thread on correctly, and its off balance. Never again am i wasting my hard earned money on junk like this again!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wouldnt do an off road race without it

Daniel in NY

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:This thing allows me to lug my yz250 down , and drag the rear brakes without worrying about stalling the bike , also tames the power down a bit making it a lot easier to ride on the trails. I don't think it would be too beneficial for MX racing , but this thing can't be beat off road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Smoother KTM 200

STEVEN in MT

Comments On Jul 27, 2011:Easy to install and comes with good instructions. Smoother on bottom with more chug and still revs out. Less tire spin down low and seems stronger when going on the pipe. Low speed off idle for slow tight trails much improved on 2006 KTM 200.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love it! Love it! Love it!

braden in CO

Comments On Jul 14, 2011:No more (well almost no more) stalling on steep hills. Didn't notice any loss of power, even with the 13 oz wt. Just seemed a little more smooth in delivery and wayyyy less stalls.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Should come with this...

Robert in IN

Comments On Jun 27, 2011:Installed on my 2003 YZ125, very easy install, improved lugging ability. Combined with lower gearing, POWER NOW, VForce Reeds, full FMF Fatty exhaust... it RIPS through the trails.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

hooks up better no loss in power

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 13, 2011:read about them every bike could use this item, smooths power and hooks up better still nice power

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

93' CR250

Kelly in WA

Comments On Mar 10, 2011:Put the 14oz weight on 93' CR250 for woods riding ... if I knew how much of a difference it make would have got one long ago! Simple to install, and now the bike doesn't stall. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Steahly Heavy Flywheel Weight

Jens in WA

Comments On Feb 04, 2011:Put this on my 2002 CR250R. Very Easy to install. Took only 10 min. Calmed down my revs a little, but chugs through the corners better. I recommend these to all my friends.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I like it

Billy in CA

Comments On Jan 15, 2011:Very impressed with the performance on the 250 2t. Would deff buy again if I had to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KDX 220

REGGIE in ID

Comments On Nov 05, 2010:Super easy to install!! What a torque monster now yet it still retains the same mid range and top end!! Why didn't the bike come with this from the factory??

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

01 YZ250 Flywheel weight

ALEXONDRA in NY

Comments On Aug 05, 2010:BEWARE! I bought the 13oz weight for my 01 YZ250. Easy bolt on installation if you use the proper method. 1st problem I encountered was the fact that I did not own a flywheel holder to stop the piston from rotating while tightening. Solution: Removed the spark plug and stuffed rubber tubing into the cylinder head and that stopped the piston from going to top dead center. Upon completing the install all I had left was the stator cover to put back on. 2nd problem, If you use a after market stator cover like me (Boyeson factory racing) your after market stator cover will not go back on due to the new weight protruding and blocking the cover to seal with the case. You might be able to get away with using 6 gaskets but I just put my stock stator cover back on. Dissapointed I must say that I now have a $150 stator cover that I might use as an ash tray. As for performance...this product is amazing!!
Additional Comments On Aug 14, 2010:Update! This flywheel weight officially melted a hole through my stator cover.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best investment ever for woods riding!!

richard in RI

Comments On Jul 07, 2010:the only thing i would look into is changing your oiil to gas ratio.. i was running 16oz to 4.5 gallons of 110 in my 2005 kx250 but now im lugging the bike more and i think its causing the oil to build up instead of burning off so i have beeen running 16 oz to 5 gallons and it runns alot better at the low rpms! other than that my bike can chug up a hill almost as good as my ktm now!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't live with out it.

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Jun 14, 2010:I'm still racing a 250 2-Stroke in hare scrambles. This is something you have to have. It allows you to keep your engine rpm up, but also smooths out the power to where I can get the power to the ground. If you're racing XC or HS and don't have one of these you're crazy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy install

David in OH

Comments On May 11, 2010:This was very easy to install into my YZ450F. Even the seemingly useless flywheel puller worked well. It has definitely helped stalling. Well worth the $$$. If I ever get another thumper it will get get a Steahly weight thrown in immediately. Thanks Rocky Mtn, flawless service and crazy fast shipping!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for a CRF150R

michael in UT

Comments On Jan 09, 2010:This is exactly what the crf150r needed to be tamed for all around riding. The bike is now perfect for my wife. Bike still has plenty of power but now its useable.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

SIngle track and woods riders must have

Stephen in ID

Comments On Oct 17, 2009:I have a 2004 RM250. I live in Idaho so my riding includes sand washes, rock climbing, hills, and tight woods. I have the 13 ounce flywheel which takes much of the spin out and lets me chug more without stalling at low rpms. Don't get me wrong I can still get the front end up whenever I want to but it is easier to control than without it. Very good bolt on product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

must have mod for your bike!

KYLE in RI

Comments On Aug 30, 2009:This is one of the first things I buy when I get a new dirt bike. Makes the power on a 2 stroke very predictable and extremely smooth. Also makes it a lot harder to stall, which is perfect for trails. Definitely decreases annoying wheelspin in loose terrain. This is a must have!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have!

EDWARD in WA

Comments On May 08, 2009:Ive been using Steahley weights for my past 6 bikes. Being a trail rider using MX bikes, I need these to be able to lug my motor, keep it from stalling, smooth out the ride. I have never noticed a loss in power or snap, keep your bike tuned and youll love it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mike

Michael in OH

Comments On Apr 20, 2009:Installed on a KX250, I do alot of hill climbing and woods riding where stalling and traction was a problem. The flywheel weight dramatically reduced the amount of stalling and also really improved the amount power and traction I know can get to the ground. Great product was able to install on my bike in about 10 minutes. If you ride in the same kinds of conditions by this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just what i needed

BRYAN in NY

Comments On Jan 25, 2009:don't ride single track with out it. a must have.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must for woods riding

Timothy in OK

Comments On Dec 01, 2008:Best $$$ spent on my 2-stroke for racing cross-country.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Steahly FWW

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2008:2002 YZ250 13oz. Steahly FWW...No loss of snap just smooths power delivery and helps control wheelspin. Saves energy on long rides. Improves performance drastically in technical terrain and in soft sand. Nice! Easy installation top quality mod.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

SWEET

William in NC

Comments On Mar 01, 2008:works great, big difference, installs so easy a caveman can do it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

steahly lockup tool

KEVIN in PA

Comments On Jan 20, 2008:a must have for several engine maintance jobs.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awesome

Sheldon in SC

Comments On Jan 14, 2008:i put a steahly flywheel weight on my kx100 it worked great

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for Woods Riding

MATT in MN

Comments On Oct 25, 2007:I bought 2 of the 10 ounce weights for my daughters' kx100's and they love them! It makes the 100 more managable in the woods. The weights were really easy to install, but I would recommend getting the engine lock-up tool to make it even easier.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Steahly 7oz flywheel

David in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The Steahly 7oz flywheel is a great product for anyone looking the offroad race a KX450. It makes the motor least prone to stalling and increases traction.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You need a flywheel weight

Rodney in NY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The Steahly flywheel weight goes on in minutes and sets you up for some good riding. You can chug along through technical rocky sections without stalling, and it smooths out the power so your not spinning so much.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Steahly Flywheel weight.

Jim in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Even taking your time, this product installed in less than half an hour. My bike stalls much less due to over braking, and has a bit more traction. It still revs up fast and really works great on tight trails.(less clutch) I bought the lighter weight, but would probably like the heavier weight unit even better. Well worth the price, and Rocky Mountain is simply the very best there is, bar none!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ktm Flywheel

DAVID in NV

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Made power delivery more manageable

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bigger is better on bigger

JAMES in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The calm-it-down mild/moderate/more rating system Steahly uses is deceiving for bigger bikes. If your bike has 45+ horsepower and you're trying to noticeably calm it down, then get the heaviest weight available. I can barely notice the 13 ounce weight on my 2000 CR500, except it doesn't stall quit as easy at lower RPM's.

Was this review helpful?