Acerbis Plastic MC Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for Acerbis Plastic MC Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 59 Reviews

Return to Acerbis Plastic MC Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Acerbis Plastic MC Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hard to fit

Wayne in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Aug 19, 2014:protection wise it's great and fits secure but is a PITA to take off/put on when servicing the bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Holds up well

Jonathan in NJ

Comments On Aug 25, 2014:This skid plate holds up will and given that its plastic it doesn't effect frame movement. Used for a Hancock, NY ride with plently of rocks, roots, and obstacles and it did its job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not so good, great customer service from Acerbis

hall in Arkansas – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Jul 10, 2014:I previously reviewed this plate after it fell off the first time I cased a jump. The single mounting screw pulled through the plate. ACERBIS did send me another complete skid plate for free when I called and explained what happened. I think the plate might work with modifications to the mounting. Guess I will try it and see what happens. Definitely not the best plate if you need serious protection.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great after adding an additional bracket

Rich Black in Utah

Comments On May 03, 2014:After reading the reviews and knowing I'm hard on skid plates. I added an additional bracket to beef it up and make sure it didn't fall off. I recently finished both days at the Ought six enduro in Montana and round one of Geico endurocross. And so far no issues. However. Without the additional bracket. I don't think it would of held up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buy the good stuff

Damian in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Apr 28, 2014:I bought the plastic skid plate to compare against the aluminum one I had been using. The plastic is nice because it's light and doesn't make as much noise when it vibrates from the engine running. However, it did crack on the first ride and I had to zip tie some stitching to keep it together.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Nathan in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:no problems, 6 hours in. no rattles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Jody in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 SUZUKI RMZ250

Comments On Apr 18, 2014:I really like mine. People have been complaining about there's falling off. I haven't had any problems with it. Very easy to take off and put on for cleaning and changing oil. I like how it has the hole template so u can drill your own holes for venting. Plastic is kinda flemsy on the sides but I think it gives plenty of protection. I also like that it's very light weight and it's not loud. I recommend and I would buy again!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks great

Brent in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Apr 20, 2014:I bought this for my 2014 Husqvarna TC 250 and it fits great and easy to install with one bolt installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Ryan in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Apr 05, 2014:Skid plate has a nice, easy fit and has stood up well to several hard hits crossing logs and rocks. Very good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLX450R

Comments On Jan 14, 2014:Fits really nice. Looks sharp. Holding up well. Only ride single track

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good fit!

DYLAN in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Dec 22, 2013:So far I am really happy with this skid plate. I prefer the lighter more flexible plastic skid plates over others that I have tried. This one fits great and is easy to get on and off for cleaning.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't buy anything else

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Dec 08, 2013:Super easy install/removal, lightweight and durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

simple

David in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Nov 14, 2013:easy to put on and fits perfect. Light weight and so far has protected as intended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid skid plate

ANDREW in OR

Comments On Nov 07, 2013:Use it on a KTM 350 xc, fits great, uses only one bolt to hold it on for easy cleaning. Good protection, could be little thicker plastic, but still pretty good protection.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good guard

David in SA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:Fitts well, has taken the hits, not heavy or loud like alloy plates, i did screw in 2 text screws at the rear of the plate on the underside of the bash plate because its fits a bit loose there, on the 250 there no reason to ever take it off

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

NOT FOR OFF ROAD!!

Matt in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Sep 29, 2013:This skid plate fits nice and looks good but the first ride i went out with it on i hit a rock and it pushed the skid plate in and broke my ignition cover like i never had a skid plate on which dumped all my oil and i got to push my bike out, second ride, made it about 5 miles up a canyon and the guy i was with asked me why i don't run a skid plate? turns out a log i hopped at the first off the canyon took my skid plate off so i went back and got it and installed a larger washer on the one bolt that holds it on and thought it would be ok, third and last ride with this skid plate was at a motocross track, i did some laps and came back to the truck and i guess someone had found my skid plate in the track and left it on my truck, i have no idea how it fell off on a moto track because my bolt was still tight the skid plate just fell apart. It looks awesome and is quick on and off but for sure not for off road riding go with enduro engineering aluminum skid its awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate!

Kat in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Sep 27, 2013:It's plastic and that is really good because it 1) is lightweight 2) it doesn't deform and bend and 3) when rocks get caught in it, it doesn't make rattling noises. The aluminum ones are nice and lightweight, but they bend and when rocks get stuck you will hear them rattle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fell Off

JOHN in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 EXC-F

Comments On Sep 24, 2013:I did like this plate for the time it stayed on the bike. While only having a single bolt makes it easy to install and remove, if the bolt gets dinged by a rock, the mounting pieces where it attaches to the frame rail also gets damaged and no longer holds well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy protection

JEFFREY in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:I like the fact that this is a one bolt easy on easy off piece. That being said, I have pulled it partially off where it snaps into place, when riding over a log. Would still buy again as it has decent protection for the frame. Could use more case protection on both sides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Hunter in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jul 10, 2013:Ran into a pretty large rock. Thought the skid plate was going to be chipped or cracked but just left a mark. Very durable and I would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fits well, but not as sturdy as expected.

Gill in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jul 02, 2013:good for light enduro, will not stop rocks from bashing into your frame

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy but had to drill

david in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:Decent skid plate its got a template on the inside so you can drill out holes if you want to and it looks factory. I had to drill out all the holes bigger on the bottom . Also had to dril a totally new hole for the engine guard mount on the side of the frame . About 1cm up and to the right of it . good construction just bad fit .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

William in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:Ditched my heavy, noisy welded aluminum skid plate and went with this. Very light, does not resonate, and is super easy to remove and install for service/cleaning. It has take some pretty good hits on logs and rocks, skid plate has gouges but frame remains undamaged. Seems to slide over the really big logs smoother and easier too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Coleman in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 500 XC-W

Comments On May 11, 2013:This thing is very durable and you don't get the annoying rocky bang noise like on metal skid plates.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great plate

Chad in WA

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:excellent product. easy to take on and off and still takes a good beating

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!

Samuel in NSW

Comments On Mar 30, 2013:*CRF250R 2005* This is the best skid plate i have ever had. It stands up to everything it needs too and was a perfect fit. Easy to fit and and doesn't need to be removed for services. Highly Recommended!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit for my machine

Craig in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 11, 2013:perfect fit for my machine and I love how you don't get any noise like the metal ones just as tough though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Acerbis Plastic Skid Plate

Juan in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:Good price easy to install and durable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EZ on and off

DAVID in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 01, 2013:EZ on and off and tough as nails! looks good too~

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Patrick in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:overall good product easy to take on and off. do not over tighten bolt on side of skid mine cracked first install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good for the track - Rock riders need not apply

KATHLEEN in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:If you ride where it's mostly dirt/sand with a few rocks this plate will be fine. Those that hit logs of any size and/or rock gardens should look elsewhere. FWIW, the plate is easy to install (and remove for oil changes) and fits well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good protection

Michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Nov 19, 2012:I use on my moto bike 350xf. Fit was right on and easy to install. Good protection for the track and desert.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best skid plate ever

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:I will not run any other skid plate after this one. I have had it on three bikes and each one has lasted well over 100 hrs of rocky PA single track riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate for KTM 350

Chris in AZ

Comments On Sep 22, 2012:Installed this on my '12 KTM 350 XCF. Installation was a cinch, fit perfectly. Best part is its only 1 bolt to remove for oit changes or bike cleaning. Good side protection around the water pump, etc.... Rock tested and a nice alternative to an aluminum skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Bret in MI

Comments On May 15, 2012:Good protection and doesn't effect frame rigidity but price seems high for a molded peice of plastic.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

Keith in NC

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:great product, have put it to the test many times with no problems, install is very easy and quick

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough as nails!

Kenny in UT

Comments On Mar 18, 2012:I have had this on my crf450x for 2 years now and it still is doing a great job protecting my bike. Comes off fast and easy for cleaning and oil changes, perfect fit and doesn't rattle like metal skid plates. Don't think that plastic can't protect your bike because it works fantastic, extremely durable. Install takes about 2 minutes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not enough protection

Todd in ID

Comments On Dec 27, 2011:Made of strong plastic but the protection was less than the stock plastic guard on my WR250F. Didn't install it and sent it back. Still using the stock guard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

arthur in NY

Comments On Feb 20, 2011:fit perfectly on 2009 kx 250f. i drilled out all of the vent holes for max cooling, no problems whatsoever. looks great protects waterpump and left case nicely, oil drain lines right up, looks good. nice product.
Additional Comments On Nov 28, 2011:one season over and still happy with product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish I didn't have to modify

bruce in FL

Comments On Nov 20, 2011:Good coverage but I had to grind some of the skid to get it to fit my 08' KTM450EXC properly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quick release is nice bu breaks easy

MICHAEL in ME

Comments On Oct 30, 2011:love fit and quick release but had it for a month and it broke in two and left it on the trail first ride a peice broke an a rock near shifter. its all about the quick release that makes it nice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy on, Easy off - needs ears

Sean in OH

Comments On Oct 16, 2011:Using mine on an '05 CRF250X Honda. It is held on by one bolt on the left that was originally used to hold the nylon oil filter guard on the frame and a "hook" that catches the rear lower frame cross member at the back of the engine. Remove both the water pump and oil filter nylon protective "ears", slide the skid plate to the rear. It hooks on the frame, rotate the front up toward the frame rails and hit the bottom with your fist and it "pops" right into place, Install the 10mm bolt and it's on. You can go from installation to removal to reinstall in about one minute. You may have to slightly widen the mounting hole at first for proper alignment (or quicker alignment, perhaps). The drawback is the ears you remove. The Acerbis (Ah Chur Bees)skid plate has some protection under the oil/water pump protrusions but does not stick out far enough to protect them if you fall over in rocks. Should have made the sides a little wider or allowed for keeping the stock "ears". It is incredibly light and fits so tightly that it collects almost no mud. For my riding style (65, fast but not furious) it works great in muddy southern Ohio.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

David in CA

Comments On Jun 20, 2011:great fit easy to install and looks good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broke on the second ride, never saw it again

BILL in AZ

Comments On May 24, 2011:I loved how easy it went on, I loved how quit the motor was with it on. I thought I was hooked with the one bolt method. Then on the second ride I came back and all that was there was the plastic under the bolt the whole rest of the skid plate was gone. Looks like I wasted $75.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product for CRF450X

Seth in PA

Comments On May 10, 2011:Fantastic skid plate for the Honda CRF450X. Very easy to install and remove for maintenance. Does not use hangers like other products, which is a huge benefit. Does not reflect engine noise back to the rider being not made of metal. Very durable for "plastic".

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Brad in CA

Comments On May 09, 2011:This skid plate fits nice looks good and offers superb protection while still looking sleek and not too bulky.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works

kyle in UT

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:works for awhile but spend the extra buck and get a nice one this one i would only recommend for a track cause off road will eat it alive

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Durable and Lite..

JAMES in KY

Comments On Apr 01, 2011:Perfect protection for my son's Honda CRF250R, not heavy but still offers the protection for the rough and rocky eastern tracks. Very quick and easy to remove for cleaning and oil changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

JESSE in OK

Comments On Mar 21, 2011:I have had the skid on for half a race season and it has held up good. Good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One of the best skidplates you can buy...

DEREK in AZ

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:Aluminum is very strong, but it also prevents the engine from cooling. They're also loud when rocks hit it and vibrate. This is the same skidplate JCR Honda Team uses for BAJA. I think it's proven itself.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It works

JEFF in CA

Comments On Jan 28, 2011:Bike: 2008 Kawi KLX450 - This skid plate seems to be holding up to abuse just fine. Excellent fit and easy installation. No engine noise refleced like the aluminum skid plates. Fits tight against frame/engine and doesnt collect much debris. Overall a good piece. The main reason I went with plastic is the noise, aluminum plates are going to be stronger but reflect to much engine noise for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid Plate

Matt in QLD

Comments On Oct 27, 2010:Excellent product. Easy bolt on. Provides good coverage and protection. Light weight and looks good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not that great

SCOTT in AZ

Comments On Sep 08, 2010:It has good protection but the bolt holes did not line up on my bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I'd buy it again

Jack in NV

Comments On Jul 06, 2010:It's isn't the most indestructable thing out there, but it more than serves it's purpose on my bikes. The skid plate took about a minute to install and is pretty strudy, again not as strong as the aluminum ones, but good enough for the riding I do. I have one on my CRF250R and I just bought another for my CRF450R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I really like mine, but not as strong as aluminum

Evan in NY

Comments On Jun 13, 2010:'07 CRF450X
This plate is light weight, really easy to remove, perfect fit, fits up close so it doesn't pack with dirt like a shovel. Much better protection that stock. The plate covers the entire underside of the frame, too. It has some "give" to absorb impacts.
However, it's not as strong as an aluminum plate. I was running at speed and the front wheel kicked up a flat rock, nailing the skid plate right at the frame cradle. The plate did it's job and protected the frame, but the plate had a hole in it from the impact. Also, the impact cracked the plate around the bolt holes. Had the impact hit someplace like the water pump area, I don't think I would have been so lucky!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice, but not a lot of protection

Brian in ID

Comments On Feb 18, 2010:Fit and finish were excellent. The sides of the engine were not protected very well on my WR450F. Great if you don't ride in rocks or lots of down trees.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good skidplate option for WR250F

Jason in TN

Comments On Jan 08, 2010:Installed on 2007 WR250F. It fit perfectly. It must be drilled out to match the bolt holes but there are markers showing you where to drill so it is no big deal. The oil change holes do not match up on the WR but that's not a big deal either since the stock skid plate didn't have them. Good product overall.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great stuff worth the money big time

JOSEPH in CO

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:I just got this for my 2006 crf 250 i love it its a great buy strong, perfect fit and very snug. what they don't show is you do not have to remove to change oil, it already has a drain hole. i have recommended it to all my friends.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Acerbis Skid Plate

Robert A. in PA

Comments On Feb 17, 2009:I just installed the new Acerbis skid plate on a CFR 450 R I'm converting to enduro. This is a very nice plate. Its made of very heavy and thick plastic and covers all the engine sides and keeps mud from hitting the underside of your controls. The pan also extends all the way to the rear tire also. The undercarriage is very smooth so nothing gets hung-up when crawling over logs.
Installation required minor enlarging of the 2 mounting holes. No rattling mounts, fits snug. Removes with 2 bolts for under carriage cleaning. The pan does not stick out as far as stock "wings" either. I had trouble with the rear brake lever hitting the pan. Instead of trimming the pan I used a spacer to bring the rear brake lever out slightly.
I'm glad I waited and Acerbis came to the rescue. I don't like the aluminum glide plates, they rattle, mounting is tough and look bad quickly. You won't be disappointed with Acerbis quality.

Was this review helpful?